Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lenihan apologises for recession

• 15-04-2010 8:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭

Jesus that's very big of him to do that when you consider that it was Ahern and Cowen that f&%K up the country in the first place.

I wonder if he is trying to distance himself from Biffo before the **** hits the fan for FF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

[citation needed]

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

It was the banks that fucked up the world, not just the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Finance Minister Brian Lenihan has apologised for any role he had in the lead up to the economic meltdown.
    Lenihan has insisted there were numerous other factors at play in the banking crisis and recession.
    He has again insisted that Nama would be ruthlessly pursuing those developers who owe money to the banks.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/lenihan-apologises-for-recession-454064.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Wecome to the forum by the way, mysons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

FF playing the old rogue card again , they get the one peolpe seem to have sometime for and get him out there with the sob story. There are people who will lap this sh1t up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭mysons

Thanks,I will try my best to play fair !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Did he do it Father Jack style? "I'm soooo, soooo, sooooo, soooo... sorry".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I've a sword he can fall on if he's really sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

That man has went up big time in my opinion after that.

Fair play.

Its pity no one else would do it. Brian Cowen are ya listening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Considering how little he has to do with the mess were in, serious amount of respect for him as he's the only one who's taken the blame so far.

If you blame the current financial crisis on Lenihan, you're seriously ignorant of what caused this recession and who is it fault.

of course he is,I heard he's on Boards (wink wink) all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

RMD wrote: »
    Considering how little he has to do with the mess were in, serious amount of respect for him as he's the only one who's taken the blame so far.

If you blame the current financial crisis on Lenihan, you're seriously ignorant of what caused this recession and who is it fault.

Brian Lenihan is the only one of the government that I've any respect for. Fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

It was the banks that fucked up the world, not just the country.

I would also include:
    Greedy morons buying houses they cant afford (ya Carlow is a great investment.. lol)
    Incompetent 'government' officials
    Morons voting for said 'government' officials (look at wille o dea for instance, htf did he get elected, i wouldnt have him running the local under 18 disco)

Everyone had a hand to play in it. Except me, I kept my money and Emigrated :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

That man has went up big time in my opinion after that.

Fair play.

Its pity no one else would do it. Brian Cowen are ya listening.

No offence to you but I don't give a fiddlers whether they apologise or not. What difference does that make.

There are 435,000 people unemployed in this country, 1 in every 28 mortgages have been defaulted by 3 months or more. I wonder how him saying sorry washes with those people.

They should resign not apologise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I think someone has their eye on Cowen's job.

Orange69 wrote: »
    Morons voting for said 'government' officials (look at wille o dea for instance, htf did he get elected, i wouldnt have him running the local under 18 disco)

Not with that Tash anyway, he looks well dodgy to me :D

we all know who it was but we also know who let them do it and get away with.

lets put it this way,a former bank chairman robbed 8.6 million and did not even have to wear a mask.

Brian Lenihan is the only one of the government that I've any respect for. Fair play to him.

He's the only politician in this country with the balls to tackle the problem head on and take the blame for it, I dislike FF, but they're the only party I'll vote for at this stage in hope they'll put him in power. No other politician I truly respect in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

CoalBucket wrote: »
    No offence to you but I don't give a fiddlers whether they apologise or not. What difference does that make.

There are 435,000 people unemployed in this country, 1 in every 28 mortgages have been defaulted by 3 months or more. I wonder how him saying sorry washes with those people.

I get your point. But who going replace them eh?

and im a FF hater as much as the next person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I'm the only one who read that as "lesbian apologises for recession" so am I?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I'm the only one who read that as "lesbian apologises for recession" so am I?

Lesbians on the brain.
    I get that too.

He essentially had the economic crisis handed to him in the form of a giant **** on a plate by Bertie, Brian and a combined force of bankers. What would him resigning accomplish when he's the only one actually making a good attempt at getting us out of the recession?

What I want to see is Bertie and Brian Cowen taking responsibility for this, it's their mess.

Oh balls,FF have been in power 18 out of the last 19 years.

Ok I would not vote for E Kenny but if this country is continuing to vote for the "devil we know"then we give them licence to really **** us over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭shano1888

I think it says a lot about the man that he is held in such high esteem (relative to his colleages anyway) esp given the two budgets he has delivered. He seems to be the only one with any bit of public rating at all. Himself and Bruton are the only two i've any respect for. f'ing country is a joke. Hav'nt bought a newspaper in two months for health and safety reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

mysons wrote: »
    Oh balls,FF have been in power 18 out of the last 19 years.

I make it 20.5 of the last 23 years. Still pretty shocking. Almost a dictatorship. A gombeenership.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Ali Babba

Lenihan is only after Cowens job, just another cute whore out to feather his own nest, there was never any love lost between the two of them anyway. If you think things are bad now you ain't seen nothing yet!!!!! If FG or others get in they'll just tell us we're ten times worse off than FF told us and we'll get f**ked over ten times as much. Nearly all my friends have left the country now as a result and it's looking like i'll have to go soon too, there's not a hope of making any money here anymore.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭veryangryman

No offence to you but I don't give a fiddlers whether they apologise or not.

Yeah..."they"

Lenihan was not around when the damage was being done. TBH he has little to apologise for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I've a nice, silver, goblet of hemlock he can have, its in the "Free" section on Adverts. . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Ali Babba wrote: »
    there's not a hope of making any money here anymore.:(

On the plus side you do have that treasure.;)

I get your point. But who going replace them eh?

and im a FF hater as much as the next person

Ah anybody else, i don't vote Fine Gael but tbh i'd be happy to see The Monster Raving Screaming Loony Party take over from FF. At least they are only idiots rather than corrupt idiots.

mysons wrote: »
    Ok I would not vote for E Kenny but if this country is continuing to vote for the "devil we know"then we give them licence to really **** us over.

Why's that then?
    Let me guess, no charisma etc? Well done.

A pure FG government would be good for this country business/jobs wise. What we'll get is FG/Lab and Lab will tie their hands. But yeah, FF at least are helping to clean up the mess they made during the party.

And respect to Lenihan who's keeping this country afloat right now, while he's dying I might add.

Ah anybody else, i don't vote Fine Gael but tbh i'd be happy to see The Monster Raving Screaming Loony Party take over from FF. At least they are only idiots rather than corrupt idiots.

What policies of FG do you disagree with?

Let me guess..
    you haven't a clue

So what exactly is it that would say place Labour or the Greens above and ahead of FF? Or FG for that matter, or "anybody" else. Do you even know how or why they'd perform a better job than FF?

I'm not a fan of FF, but it's people with your attitude who will run this country into the ground come the next general election.

Yeah..."they"

Lenihan was not around when the damage was being done. TBH he has little to apologise for.

They as in his party as a whole. He's been a member of the Dail since 1996 and a minister since 2007. He has to be accountable. As a TD he voted with the FF government either under Bertie or Cowen. As a minister he sat at the cabinet table which approved government policy. Just because he was neither the Taoiseach or Minister for Finance at the time of the collapse of the economy doesn't admonish him or any Fianna Fail TD of responsibility.

Indeed you can also include the PDs (If they still exist), the greens and all those "I'm alright Jack" Independent TDs like Healy Rae.

So what exactly is it that would say place Labour or the Greens above and ahead of FF? Or FG for that matter, or "anybody" else. Do you even know how or why they'd perform a better job than FF?

I'm not a fan of FF, but it's people with your attitude who will run this country into the ground come the next general election.

The Country has already been run into the ground. It's people who continually vote for Fianna Fail who are responsible for running the country into the ground and who believe that only a corrupt party can run the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Ali Babba wrote: »
    Lenihan is only after Cowens job, just another cute whore out to feather his own nest, there was never any love lost between the two of them anyway.

Seriously? What a completely ignorant post.

For a start, it was Cowen who promoted him after Bertie Ahern kept Lenihan on the back benches.

Secondly, Lenihan is pretty ill - he was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer at Christmas. That's a particularly nasty disease that, on average, will kill the person in a matter of months after diagnosis. Hopefully it's not as serious as first reported - but even still, I doubt that taking the main job is one his immediate to-do list. He's had to cut back on his own duties as it is.

Finally - he's a very capable man who should have had a senior role long ago. For all the bitching some Irish might do about him, the International financial community feel that he is getting our house in order, which is more important that what the likes of the champagne socialist union leaders think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Pyridine

Isn't that great! I wonder will he forgo his exorbitant salary and pension if he finds himself guilty of incompetence? No...didn't think so!

Anyway at least the people of Iceland might have learned from our mistakes!!! :mad:

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    What policies of FG do you disagree with?

Let me guess..
    you haven't a clue

Don't assume because you vote for Fine Gael that nobody else has a clue when it comes to politics. Either way my vote counts as much as yours and everybody else. If I decide to vote for Fine Gael I don't feel I have to justify it to you. Over 30% of the population didn't vote for either FF or FG in the last election.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

biko wrote: »
    He has again insisted that Nama would be ruthlessly pursuing those developers who owe money to the banks.

In the same way the new regulator will persue companys till the go under and lose jobs?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

The Country has already been run into the ground. It's people who continually vote for Fianna Fail who are responsible for running the country into the ground and who believe that only a corrupt party can run the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Its threads like these than seriously make me weep for our future

The amount of absolute fcuking nonsence spouted is gargantuan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

MidlandsM wrote: »
    In the same way the new regulator will persue companys till the go under and lose jobs?

They're doing exactly what they've been told to do. It was the lack of regulation that helped get us in the mess we're in now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Raising VAT was one of his policies as minister for finance. It saw a deluge of shoppers head north.

NAMA is a bailout for Fianna Fail's developer and banker friends. Thats all his doing.

The nationalisation of Anglo- Irish

Bank recapitalisations

Bank guarantee

Lenihan may not have caused the recession in the first place, but he is doing a great job prolonging it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Don't assume because you vote for Fine Gael that nobody else has a clue when it comes to politics. Either way my vote counts as much as yours and everybody else. If I decide to vote for Fine Gael I don't feel I have to justify it to you. Over 30% of the population didn't vote for either FF or FG in the last election.

you still didn't answer his question though.
    Tbh, I think the reason most people don't like FG is that Enda Kenny has a real bogger accent. And I'm serious saying that.

Politics is so fcuking fickle

Tbh, I think the reason most people don't like FG is that Enda Kenny has a real bogger accent. And I'm serious saying that.

You're 100% right. What usually follows is: "If only Bruton was in charge!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Good political move by Lenihan. Apologise for something that most people don't hold you responsible for anyway. No-lose situation.

When the seeds of the recession were sown, Lenihan was "Minister for Children" - courtesy of Bertie's aversion to having intelligent people at the cabinet table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

More alternative policies less finger pointing would be my main problem.. I would have no problem with FG in government.

A labour only government mixed with a dollop of Joe Higgins and a sprinkling of the Green party and im going to build a bunker and start hoarding food and fuel

Could'nt agree more. I genuinely believe FG would be a shoe in for the next election if Kenny was from Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,378 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

nah i think it's more so because he can't sieze the moment. look at dick spring, ff politicans hated having to face him... dick spring in relatively good economic times, used to love saying this budget is a disaster, if he were around now he would be destroying Cowen and co. Kenny just isn't able to do that. Ahern and Cowen have no respect for Kenny as an adversary, they have treated him with contempt at times.
    Kenny is a good organiser but he seemingly just can't connect with the electorate and inspire them.

shano1888 wrote: »

Could'nt agree more. I genuinely believe FG would be a shoe in for the next election if Kenny was from Dublin.