Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

goat shooting

• 13-04-2010 3:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26

whats the story with shooting wild goats. are we aloud ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

Yes, but don't go to town on them and waste them. Kid is tasty. It might make good practice for you to gralloch a few goats before you start on the deer:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Jonty wrote: »
    Yes, but don't go to town on them and waste them. Kid is tasty. It might make good practice for you to gralloch a few goats before you start on the deer:D

Be careful, Wild goats can become peoples pets when shot!
    I know a lad who had to pay for the goats he shot, even though they were feral roaming across a large area of multiple farm lands.
    They are an alien species in a wild habitat and like all aliens are not afford protection under the law.
    One would have to apply a safe calibre to shoot, IMHO .223 for kid larger for Pucks as they have a very hard skull with a lot of bone.

And kid goat is quite like lamb, but make sure it's female as the smell of Puck's musk from a young age taints the meat.
    And if you know the smell you will never forget it!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

Rabbits, deer targets and now goats, by god man you are keen.

IMO, slow down and get used to shooting, if you have a friend that shoots a good bit ask him to bring you along and help you out. When it comes to hunting deer or goats, pulling the trigger is the easy bit.

By all means check out all the different types of hunting available to you, but don't take to the field in a big rush, learn your trade and hone your skills.

I know it's hard to slow down but it's best.

Fish

Rabbits, deer targets and now goats, by god man you are keen.

IMO, slow down and get used to shooting, if you have a friend that shoots a good bit ask him to bring you along and help you out. When it comes to hunting deer or goats, pulling the trigger is the easy bit.

By all means check out all the different types of hunting available to you, but don't take to the field in a big rush, learn your trade and hone your skills.

I know it's hard to slow down but it's best.

Fish

Good point, I assumed that OP was not a novice.
    Goats are a smelly and i mean smelly fecker to hunt.
    I had to burn my clothes after shooting a couple for a farmer a few years ago

Did I say they were smelly?:D

And it is Vital Importance that the Goats if you are considering Hunting are Feral and causing damage etc.
    Make sure you have the landowners permission, and if in doubt ask your local wildlife ranger for advise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

if you shoot a wild goat it becomes yours ,there fore you have to dispose of the carcass .
    leaving it where its shot is illegal .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Rabbits with a 270 be some craic:D I presume op has a more suitable calibre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭thedragon

jwshooter wrote: »
    if you shoot a wild goat it becomes yours ,there fore you have to dispose of the carcass .
    leaving it where its shot is illegal .
    :D;) ha ha!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

thedragon wrote: »

Did I miss a joke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

thedragon wrote: »
    Mellor wrote: »
    Did I miss a joke?[/QUOTE]

Only joke here is thedragon.

I see thedragon is now back and his/her input is not giving any meaningful input.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭thedragon

clivej wrote: »
    Mellor wrote: »
    Did I miss a joke?[/QUOTE]

Only joke here is thedragon.

I see thedragon is now back and his/her input is not giving any meaningful input.
    Im little bit like a pig in poke am'nt I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭itsnotmyname

he/she must b kid ding ?????? .......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭A Country Voice

mayoman24 wrote: »
    whats the story with shooting wild goats. are we aloud ??

I shot about thirty of the feckers in newly planted forestry a few years back over about 6 months. They used to love trampling, eating the new trees and walking through fences. I used a 22 hornet, no problem dropping any of em within 100 yards. I agree with the rest of the lads, seriously smelly animals!!!!

You're supposed to dispose of carcasses but I didnt bother. It was our own forestry land and within a week of dropping any carcass was picked clean I assume by foxes, rats, crows etc.
    I did clear it with the local guard at the station nearest the plantation just in case, but as far as I know once theyre definitely feral goats and are doing damage then theyre treated like foxes, ie classed as vermin and thus have no protection under the law.

A Country Voice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Wait for it...........
    mayoman24 wrote: »
    Anyone know of any good wild goat shooting spots in Mayo??

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Ferreter

Maybe a stupid question, but reading above, It would be legal to Hunt goats with dogs? Ie, Lurcher?

Ferreter wrote: »
    Maybe a stupid question, but reading above, It would be legal to Hunt goats with dogs? Ie, Lurcher?

not with in 800yds of me any way .

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Bring it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭welsummer

not with in 800yds of me any way

are you talking about ferreter, the dog or the goat and at that distance how much would you lead him if he was running flat out

welsummer wrote: »
    not with in 800yds of me any way

are you talking about ferreter, the dog or the goat and at that distance how much would you lead him if he was running flat out

the ferret the dog or the goat ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭andyone

where can these goats be found???:cool:

in any good music store

ha ha.. think i'll down load it....

andyone wrote: »
    ha ha.. think i'll down load it....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dL_PXBt85rY

There ya go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

Or here you go,Ronald McDonald.:eek::D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N3lFdaStNbU

marlin vs wrote: »
    Or here you go,Ronald McDonald.:eek::D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N3lFdaStNbU

A great film, I saw it around 92 or 93 on a bootleg VHS:D:D

funny out lads..... needed that laugh tack....:D:D thanks

[QUOTE=andyone;6588779
    3]funny out lads..... needed that laugh tack....:D:D thanks[/QUOTE]

The purists might give out for going off topic
    so we'll get back to goats!

Urinating:
    As bucks mature and go into rut, the male equivalent of heat (in the Fall), they will start peeing on their front legs and faces. They have a kind of "spray attachment" on the penis and can really spray. He will spray his urine into his mouth and then curl up his lip to get a good whiff. His legs, face and beard will eventually be coated with a sticky layer of urine (irresistible to a doe). Once rut is over (in the Winter) he may, or may not, stop peeing on himself.

One drawback to this urinating is that if you spend time around the buck when he is in this habit, you could possibly get sprayed on as well (time to change your clothes again).:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

... they will start peeing on their front legs and faces. They have a kind of "spray attachment" on the penis and can really spray. He will spray his urine into his mouth and then curl up his lip to get a good whiff. His legs, face and beard will eventually be coated with a sticky layer of urine

Sounds like an average nightclub on the weekend :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭kerryman12

anyone use a lamp on them?

I am assuming this is legal as they are classed vermin, correct me if I am wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Deerhunter2

kerryman12 wrote: »
    anyone use a lamp on them?

I am assuming this is legal as they are classed vermin, correct me if I am wrong.

no point, they are a thick as f^^k, i wouldn't put dog on them, could be dun for cruelty. 9 pellet buck shot is the best jhob for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Depends on who owns them as to whether they are vermin.;)
    I would tread carefully shooting them, they may turn out to belong to someone.

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Depends on who owns them as to whether they are vermin.;)
    I would tread carefully shooting them, they may turn out to belong to someone.

It's a common Irish occurrence for something to become valuable when somebody wants it!

Good Advice CJ, Hot water if caught shooting "milkers"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭pat58

Humm goats are vermin untill it happens then they can be mans best friend,just know whare you are shooting;)

good point CJ but I am sure on this occassion. This is a farmer that I shoot deer for, his farm is at the butt of some mountains, believe it or not herds of 20/30 wander in at a time. I met a few last year stalking but had no reason to cull them so let them on there way. Problem now is that they are doing a lot of damage in this instance.

Problem is it costs €25 for the knacker to take them away, so 20-30 gets expensive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Problem is it costs €25 for the knacker to take them away, so 20-30 gets expensive!

They would be classed wild animals as opposed to livestock, would you not be able to bury them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Well the way I see it is if there wandering on the farm that you shoot deer on and robbing feed from his livestock and the farmer wants em out....There fair game..
    Im sure the females would make good dog meat and I hear the kids make a great curry..

If you need a hand My 300 winnie is itching for a bit of action;)
    And my dog could do with some fresh meat...
    And im fond of a good curry...

johngalway wrote: »

They would be classed wild animals as opposed to livestock, would you not be able to bury them?

It's a very grey area, you willfully killed them, so for environmental reasons if you want not to pollute water etc the €25 route to me is the simplest option, Your knacker might do a good deal on a few.
    Bodhrán makers either, although greyhounds make better bodhráns these days

I can't stand the smell of goat, i have shot a few and had to burn the clothes after

For €5-750 you can be sure I'd be closely examining any shade of grey in relation to that! That is, if the Dept of Ag are bothering to answer their phones yet, bunch of to... :rolleyes:

dwighet wrote: »
    Well the way I see it is if there wandering on the farm that you shoot deer on and robbing feed from his livestock and the farmer wants em out....There fair game..
    Im sure the females would make good dog meat and I hear the kids make a great curry..

If you need a hand My 300 winnie is itching for a bit of action;)
    And my dog could do with some fresh meat...
    And im fond of a good curry...

u have no shame ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

u have no shame ;)
    mate, my dog likes a good feed and so do I......;)

It's a very grey area, you willfully killed them, so for environmental reasons if you want not to pollute water etc the €25 route to me is the simplest option, Your knacker might do a good deal on a few.
    Bodhrán makers either, although greyhounds make better bodhráns these days

I can't stand the smell of goat, i have shot a few and had to burn the clothes after

Just of out interest (not to be argumentative) I emailed AG last night, got this email as reply today;

"John,

as you state in your email there is a prohibition on the burial of fallen stock, except in remote areas where it is permitted under licence. This prohibition is set out in the EU regulations on animal by-products, notably Regulation (EC) No 1774/2002. Those regulations do not apply to wild animals.

I am not aware of a specific provision banning the burial of wild animals.

Regards,

Animal By-products Section
    Department of Agriculture, Fisheries & Food
    Block B, Grattan Business Centre
    Portlaoise
    Co. Laois
    Ireland"

Not sure it solves the issue, lol.

Just of out interest (not to be argumentative) I emailed AG last night, got this email as reply today;

"John,

as you state in your email there is a prohibition on the burial of fallen stock, except in remote areas where it is permitted under licence. This prohibition is set out in the EU regulations on animal by-products, notably Regulation (EC) No 1774/2002. Those regulations do not apply to wild animals.

I am not aware of a specific provision banning the burial of wild animals.

Regards,

Animal By-products Section
    Department of Agriculture, Fisheries & Food
    Block B, Grattan Business Centre
    Portlaoise
    Co. Laois
    Ireland"

Not sure it solves the issue, lol.

The Devil can quote scripture for his own purpose.
    I understand that answer. However, If one shot 30 goats and buried them in a mass grave it would be on a different department it would be more an EPA issue.

1 WILD goat may be ok to bury, but 20-30 could be seen as beyond the ethos of the animal by products section.

I'm not disagreeing, it's just giving the caveat that it is a grey area.
    If you take a dump in the woods it is OK, once you bury it. If you empty your septic tank in it it's a different story.

Maybe I am been too cautious but i'd prefer not to get caught by an EPA rep trying to make a name for themselves.

I have some knowledge of the EPA and they are very powerful about anything to do with the environment.

So I would shoot 1 at a time ;) And bury 1 at a time, thats my point

The Devil can quote scripture for his own purpose.
    I understand that answer. However, If one shot 30 goats and buried them in a mass grave it would be on a different department it would be more an EPA issue.

1 WILD goat may be ok to bury, but 20-30 could be seen as beyond the ethos of the animal by products section.

I'm not disagreeing, it's just giving the caveat that it is a grey area.
    If you take a dump in the woods it is OK, once you bury it. If you empty your septic tank in it it's a different story.

Maybe I am been too cautious but i'd prefer not to get caught by an EPA rep trying to make a name for themselves.

I have some knowledge of the EPA and they are very powerful about anything to do with the environment.

So I would shoot 1 at a time ;) And bury 1 at a time, thats my point

Ah, I think you may have mistaken my meaning earlier, we're actually in agreement. I was not saying to bury them "on the quiet" and hope not to get caught, so as to save a few Euro. That's why I said I'd carefully examine the grey areas, so as to find a license or other permission to get a lad in with a machine, and do it properly in the right location.

The only familiarity I have with goat shooting is the reports of two other lads on a different site. Get 30 at the one time :D 5-7 was the most I saw in any photo.

€5-750 I'd be expecting the problem to be solved either permanently or for a very long time!

Ah, I think you may have mistaken my meaning earlier, we're actually in agreement. I was not saying to bury them "on the quiet" and hope not to get caught, so as to save a few Euro. That's why I said I'd carefully examine the grey areas, so as to find a license or other permission to get a lad in with a machine, and do it properly in the right location.

The only familiarity I have with goat shooting is the reports of two other lads on a different site. Get 30 at the one time :D 5-7 was the most I saw in any photo.

€5-750 I'd be expecting the problem to be solved either permanently or for a very long time!

I know, and you know. Now everbody else knows too!;)
    I was just making sure we were both reading from the same hymn sheet:D

It might discourage a mass cull, in favor of a more traditional approach.

I know of a few herds of Goats! They are supposed to bring good luck, they eat a lot of Toxic weeds that do cattle harm
    And they are owned by the Fairy's :D:D

just to clarify no one is talking about a mass cull here guys - if everyone here went out each time to shoot every thing in sight it wouldnt be long before their is nothing left to shoot!

Anywith big horns and a nice cape black or brown?

shoot away ta fxxx , Dwight and his dog will eat em :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

I have experience with them and they only do something if it actually suits them to do so.
    Much like a lot of things here.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Ferreter

I have it IN WRITING from all bodies concerned, that assuming you have permission on the land, the goats are genuinely "Feral", alas, it is completely legal to hunt them with either a gun or a dog.

I dont own a gun suitable...So Im sure Rover would oblige at copeing a goat or three.