Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good spots to let my irish setter run free

• 13-04-2010 12:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46

Does anyone else have a dog who likes to run for 2 hours non stop ? i have an irish setter and this is the case, hes a luny!!!! but adorable of course!!
    Anyway we have just moved to Galway and are wondering if there are any good spots around the city/outside the city to let him run off some energy safely?
    Also, if anyone has one of these gorgeous dogs, would be great to let them hook up and play about, as the problem with mine is he wants to play with every dog he meets , which is not always the case for the other dog.
    Cheers in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭moikey

Bus Eireann station!

Kidding!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 oatsareclass

lol :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭moikey

Dangan seems to be the place, lots of running space its up past the university...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

I have a Labrador who seems to have the same personality. Thing is his recall isn't to be trusted so I don't let him off lead (I do have a 20ft lead that does the trick for most things though)

Welcome to Galway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

South Park aka the swamp. Here

Loads of space and within walking distance of town. It's used a lot buy soccer, tag rugby teams but there are plenty of times when it's quiet.

Maybe Grattan Beach too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I see lots of playing dogs at the soccer pitches up at Barna woods. Also a nice walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭dafunk

GAA pitches in Knocknacarra beside Barna woods, assuming he gets on well with other dogs or out beside the Marine Institute in Oranmore, someone else can probably shed some light on what that area is called. There's loads of open space and what Galway would refer to as a 'forest or wood', i.e. a couple of spindly twigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Does anyone else have a dog who likes to run for 2 hours non stop ? i have an irish setter and this is the case, hes a luny!!!! but adorable of course!!
    Anyway we have just moved to Galway and are wondering if there are any good spots around the city/outside the city to let him run off some energy safely?
    Also, if anyone has one of these gorgeous dogs, would be great to let them hook up and play about, as the problem with mine is he wants to play with every dog he meets , which is not always the case for the other dog.
    Cheers in advance

Anybody else think he/she wasn't talking about a dog here!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

Cheers in advance

Try Gentian Hill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭toadfly

dafunk wrote: »
    out beside the Marine Institute in Oranmore, someone else can probably shed some light on what that area is called.

Its called Renville Park its gorgeous out there. There are signs up that dogs are to be on a leash, most people dont heed this though which is fine if your dog has good recall/good with other dogs.

Welcome to Galway BTW!

Coole Park (Gort) might be a bit far but is lovely for weekend stroll!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

In case anyone with a smaller dog reads this in the future, I've been told (not verified it myself) that Merlin Woods isn't a good place to take small dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I have a friend that has a red setter and they go to a local football field, I don't know which one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭toadfly

JustMary wrote: »
    In case anyone with a smaller dog reads this in the future, I've been told (not verified it myself) that Merlin Woods isn't a good place to take small dogs.

Why??:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭alibabba

TillyGirl wrote: »
    Its called Renville Park its gorgeous out there. There are signs up that dogs are to be on a leash, most people dont heed this though which is fine if your dog has good recall/good with other dogs.

Welcome to Galway BTW!

Coole Park (Gort) might be a bit far but is lovely for weekend stroll!

Keep your luny dog away from Coole Park, unless he is kept on a leash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭claw14

Keep your dog on a leash......

"By law all dogs must be kept under effective control – owners may be held liable for any injury or damage caused if their dog attacks a person or livestock. The law requires also that all dogs be licensed and there are penalties for non-compliance. There are some exemptions from the licensing requirements, for example, dogs used in official duties by the Gardai, Defence Forces, Custom & Excise Service, etc."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Eviledna

Whatever you do, don't take him to the swamp/claddagh park near the causeway to mutton island, there are a good few gaps in the wall there that the leash-less doggy can escape straight into the path of oncoming traffic.

Had the very unfortunate experience of having a skittish young doggy run straight out into the wheel of my car there recently. Thank god we were going slow anyway, we swirved and the poor little thing was fine. But if there had of been an oncoming car we would have been in big trouble.

They really should have some barriers the other side of those gaps in the walls there, because so many people run dogs down there. It's not safe for speedy kids either!

I recommend cappagh park,but ensure that your doggy will come when called, because the locals there demand all dogs are kept close by due to an old woman being knocked over by a dog there recently.
    It's really a two sides of the fence issue!:)

OpenBake wrote: »
    It's really a two sides of the fence issue!:)
    Control your dog and be within the law or don't control your dog and cause traffic to swerve and old ladies to be knocked down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭howyanow

glenard park in salthill,very quiet park,big open space,relatively secure entrances on both sides so dog wont just run straight out also silverstrand when quiet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭Blueprint

claw14 wrote: »

"By law all dogs must be kept under effective control – owners may be held liable for any injury or damage caused if their dog attacks a person or livestock. The law requires also that all dogs be licensed and there are penalties for non-compliance. There are some exemptions from the licensing requirements, for example, dogs used in official duties by the Gardai, Defence Forces, Custom & Excise Service, etc."

Effective control does not mean the dog has to be kept on a leash! It just means it has to have good recall and not cause a nuisance to other people by running up to them etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

TillyGirl wrote: »
    Why??:confused:

Greyhounds.

I'm soooooo not saying any more. Just repeating what I've been told by people who've lived in Galway for a long time, who were very specific about "the locals all just know".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

Loughrea Lake is a brilliant place for energetic dogs, it's about 20 mins outside the city but it's lovely. My dog is mental, boundless energy, but an hour running around the grass and swimming out to get her tyre, back again, out again (you get the idea!) and she is pooped. Lots of people bring their dogs there, all the dogs run around like mad yokes and have a great time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

claw14 wrote: »

Well, seeing as your asking about a location for your dog to have a good run I will not go on about legal requirment ect...:p
    It all depends on how well your dog is around other dogs and obedience.. Any sporting field is grand, just time it so it's not to busy, some people frown upon it.. I let my staff have a run in the late evenings as people who are uneducated are afraid of the look of her (very playful but very friendly).
    Where abouts are you located as it would be easier to give you a suitable location..
    Slightly of topic here but regarding drivers swerving to avoid a dog, afaik you are not ment to swerve to avoid a dog sized animal(or at least it's poor driving practice)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭RANIA

renville is destroyed by irresponsible dog owners,there is dog crap everywhere.hare dog owners who do not clean up,actually do any of them.i second the poster who says keep pout of coole pk.its illegal to have a dog off a leash,think about other s and those with young kids,oh and loughrea is aslo filled with dog crap.gee thanks dog owners

RANIA wrote: »
    renville is destroyed by irresponsible dog owners,there is dog crap everywhere.hare dog owners who do not clean up,actually do any of them.i second the poster who says keep pout of coole pk.its illegal to have a dog off a leash,think about other s and those with young kids,oh and loughrea is aslo filled with dog crap.gee thanks dog owners

I understand your annoyance with the dog crap, but not all dog owners leave the mess there without cleaning it up.
    And yes, coole park imo is not a suitable location for free running dogs..

ok not all but i have never ever in my 30 years seen a dog owner cleaning up after their dog.,i was so disgusted whn we went to renville couple of months back,i had to keep pulling my child away from the crap and also form all the unleashed dogs that were there.its a county council park with signs saying no unleashed dogs,if i were to let my 2 year old crap on the ground and walk away from it i am sure someone would tell me its unhygenic..

I was at Loughrea today and didn't see an ounce of dog poo, tonnes of litter though, most likely from those with young kids, lots of ice cream and tayto wrappers. gee thanks kid owners.

My dog has never pooed there though, not one for an audience, but if she did I would clear it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭doubleglaze

Seafóid.

Spadina wrote: »
    I was at Loughrea today and didn't see an ounce of dog poo, tonnes of litter though, most likely from those with young kids, lots of ice cream and tayto wrappers. gee thanks kid owners.

My dog has never pooed there though, not one for an audience, but if she did I would clear it up.

i am there a lot and have seen plenty of dog crap.actually there is lots of bread wrappers from people feeding the ducks and the county council not emptying the bins.i have never left any rubbish there ,and unlike children its illegal to have your dog off a leash

Seafóid.

no its not.renville is gross thanks to dog owners.

Spadina wrote: »
    More's the pity with some people.

oh you have to resort to rude do you.instead of admiting letting your dog **** everywhere is disgusting and illegal.

oh spadina you deleted your nasty comment why

oh you have to resort to rude do you.instead of admiting letting your dog **** everywhere is disgusting and illegal.

Ah dammit I had just deleted it and all. First of all, MY dog doesn't do that, she never poos anywhere other than our own garden, which is clearly her own issues but even if she did do it in public I personally would clear it, so less of the "your dog".

Anyway back on topic, if you promise to clear up after your dog Loughrea is a lovely place to go, and in summer the water is lovely for them, when there are people in the water I bring her in with me on her lead and kids love it.

Edit: I deleted it because after a momentary flash of anger at people who think that because they have kids they can give out to everyone else I decided not to get into the dogs are good/dogs are bad fight that you want this thread to degrade to.

this thread is about where to let a dog run unleashed.its illegal and loughrea lake with a playground certainly is not the place to do this whether you clean up their dirt or not.

Lookit, I bring my dog there all the time, there are two public areas around that lake, one with a playground and one with grass, swimming area, picnic benches. Obviously I take her to the side without a playground, for two reasons - there are lots of kids around there and my dog isn't so into playground as she is wide open grassy spaces and things to dive off of.

When there are lots of people and children I keep her on the lead, when it's winter or a quiet day and the place is empty I see no problem with letting her off the lead, she is a very well trained dog and has never disobeyed a recall order, so when it's just us and/or other like minded dog owners there there is no problem, the guards have pulled up there many times when there have been lots of dogs running around, as I said we have the common sense not to let dogs run free when there are children around.

its illegal to have your dog off a leash

Tuilleadh seafóide, unless you're referring to certain summer periods.

Dog control: By law, all dogs must be kept under effective control – owners may be held liable for any injury or damage caused if their dog attacks a person or livestock. Dogs should not be allowed to roam free in public areas, green areas or around neighbourhoods. A dog should be under the effectual control of their owner at all times and must wear a means of identification of the owner, such as a collar with name tag or badge. Dangerous breeds should be kept on a lead and muzzled.

its illegal to have a dog off a leash

Its not. Its illegal to have certain dogs off a leash but most dogs are allowed of the leash if kept under control and once they are not vicious. You better keep away from the country side as dogs are never on a leash

You would swear all dogs were blood thirsty monsters intent on attacking people and dirtying the place. Judging by some of the threads here about some unsavory characters around Galway I think maybe certain people need to be on a leash more than dogs.

Nobody asked about the legality of it....

martyboy48 wrote: »

and there is my point about most dog owners summed up nicely.do what suits ye and sod others using the same public space.

Dangerous breeds should be kept on a lead and muzzled.

Big difference between the above law and your earlier insistence that it is always illegal to have dogs off-leash in public areas.

If I were you, I'd be more worried about the potential dangers of the glass broken in public parks by out-of-control and off-leash bush-drinking teenagers.

Maybe if there was a law to leash and muzzle those phuckers, people's dogs wouldn't be getting bad paw injuries from the deliberately smashed bucky bottles.

and there is my point about most dog owners summed up nicely.do what suits ye and sod others using the same public space.

Encore du seafóid.

ooh how many languages can you write crap in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Dog control: By law, all dogs must be kept under effective control – owners may be held liable for any injury or damage caused if their dog attacks a person or livestock. Dogs should not be allowed to roam free in public areas, green areas or around neighbourhoods. A dog should be under the effectual control of their owner at all times and must wear a means of identification of the owner, such as a collar with name tag or badge. Dangerous breeds should be kept on a lead and muzzled.

Read your own posts.

Effective Control does not mean on a leash.

And I would also wager a lot of money that the people on this forum who bring dogs for walks are proper animal lovers and clean up after their dogs.

The crap that your seeing is probably from stray dogs or owners who don't care about them.

Rania, I was simply stating that the OP just wanted to kmow a location. I'm not trying to get 'one up' here or anything but your comment is so untrue. Most dog owners I know put others first.
    Could you answer me something, and this is not ment to be insulting or 'smart' in any way. Is it just dog owners you have a problem with or is it the actual dogs?? Have you ever been bitten or 'atacked' by a dog??
    I'm just trying to see if there is an underlying problem you have with dogs.
    As there are 2 sides to most arguements debates, I would really like to hear your reasoning.. Thanks for your input..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

Not expressing a view on the various rants here one way or the other, but the prom on Sunday was disgusting. Dog Sh*t everywhere; truly disgusting.

no i have never been bitten thankfully,i just find it really dirty to have to push a buggy on a road while trying to avoid dog dirt,i find it difficult to explain to a 2 year old why she cannot run wild in a park as there is dog dirt everywhere and as there are dogs unleashed.people often say to me ,its a childs dog,but its not my childs dog,i cannot trust a strange animal near my kid,nor my kid near a strange animal.
    its sheer frustration,loughrea is really full of dog poo on the path to town,renville is really full of dog poo and unleashed dogs even in the playground.fine if its all the neglected strays etc,but there are an awful lot of them..i saw a woman let her dog crap on my front garden,i ran down the stairs to tackle her sadly i am very preg and could not run fast enough..
    i have a problem with peole who let their dogs treat public spaces as toilets and i have problems with people who have their dogs unleashed where there are children.

no i have never been bitten thankfully,i just find it really dirty to have to push a buggy on a road while trying to avoid dog dirt,i find it difficult to explain to a 2 year old why she cannot run wild in a park as there is dog dirt everywhere and as there are dogs unleashed.people often say to me ,its a childs dog,but its not my childs dog,i cannot trust a strange animal near my kid,nor my kid near a strange animal.
    its sheer frustration,loughrea is really full of dog poo on the path to town,renville is really full of dog poo and unleashed dogs even in the playground.fine if its all the neglected strays etc,but there are an awful lot of them..i saw a woman let her dog crap on my front garden,i ran down the stairs to tackle her sadly i am very preg and could not run fast enough..
    i have a problem with peole who let their dogs treat public spaces as toilets and i have problems with people who have their dogs unleashed where there are children.

Ok.. so, this post I have absolutely no problem with, sorry, problem not the correct term but you know what I mean.
    Also, I must say, I agree with it wholeheartedly.. I think all real dog lovers/responsible dog owners would agree 100% as well.
    Dog poo mine fields are disgusting and a real nuisance, even for responsible dog owners. And regarding a case like MY dog YOUR child, the dog owner should have the dog under effective control..
    It's just that your earlier posts seemed to be against all dog owners, but now I see where you are comming form, and I hope you see where I am comming from regarding responsible dog owners... Thank you for clearing things up..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

There seems to be an equal amount of dog lovers and dog haters on here.

"Effectual Control" does not, as stated earlier, mean that the dog must be on a leash. However, local by-laws ban dogs from areas like beaches between certain hours over certain months, and a lot of public areas have signage which implore dog owners to keep their dogs on a leash.

There are a huge number of people who do carry bags for dog excrement. You may also note other threads in the Galway forum refering to this, and a lack of pooper scoopers in the holders on the prom, which I believe a lot of people assume will always be full (not that they should assume this).

I will go out on a limb here and hazard a guess that the same people who let their dogs defacate and leave it there are the same ones who let their children litter and throw rubbish out of their car windows. These people need to be hit hard in the pocket to change their behaviour in order for the rest of us to be allowed to enjoy our beautiful country in an unspoilt state.
    Thank you for clearing things up..

Was the bad pun intentional?

^^^^
    No pun intended.... I would be ashamed of that muck:(:(:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

I always clean up after my dog, and I am realistic about his recall, which is sadly non-existent if there is another dog around. There is absolutely nothing in the world (I've tried: freeze dried salmon or other awesome treats, play, lots of ear scratches and praise) that he would want more than to play with another dog, which is why recall is currently off the table. I've had labradors my whole life though, and they generally "get" recall sometime between the ages of 2 and 3, so I've got another year and a bit to go.

Anyway. What I'm trying to say is that not everyone who has a dog is irresponsible.