Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Summer Ball 2010

• 13-04-2010 12:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭

Seen the email from Melanie today about the Summer Ball. any details of what will be involved. Any decent acts?

also, just an idea, but if it going to be a beach party theme, can some area of campus actually become a beach, like put lots of sand on the green infront of the HUB maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭Urizen

OrionsBelt wrote: »
    also, just an idea, but if it going to be a beach party theme, can some area of campus actually become a beach, like put lots of sand on the green infront of the HUB maybe

You think the SU are made of money?

Ha, been waiting WEEKS for an excuse to say that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Gothamite

Does anyone really care about 'great acts' any more though? I think the biggest events in recent times have proven that if anything, students just want a well coordinated night with lots of drinks promotions and different styles of music in each room. Gimmicks like those oxygen things at the RAG ball, the omnipresent silent-disco and the occasional bucking bronco are fun too.

I'm quite happy to pay a tenner and have a great time and have plenty of money left to spend on drinks, rather than spent €50 (or whatever UCD are charging, I don't care) in order to see Jedward who (if I was masochistic enough) I could have seen in the Helix a week ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭Nekro Man

Gothamite wrote: »
    Gimmicks like those oxygen things at the RAG ball, the omnipresent silent-disco and the occasional bucking bronco are fun too.

The bronco was epic last year, till every hammered joe soap rushed at it the second someone fell off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Gothamite wrote: »
    different styles of music in each room

I dont think so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭carlowboy

Seen the email from Melanie today about the Summer Ball. any details of what will be involved. Any decent acts?

Did that 2 years ago, it was good fun.

carlowboy wrote: »
    Did that 2 years ago, it was good fun.

is it feasible tho? would there not be a massive clean up after? is the chance of a repeat of this years paint party to likely/fresh in peoples minds?

Nekro Man wrote: »
    is it feasible tho? would there not be a massive clean up after? is the chance of a repeat of this years paint party to likely/fresh in peoples minds?

Can't see why not. Unless of course they lost a lot of money what with the rag ball not selling out.

carlowboy wrote: »
    Can't see why not. Unless of course they lost a lot of money what with the rag ball not selling out.

unless? from what i heard (and this is what i heard, not fact) they were selling rag tickets on the door this year. I couldnt go because it was too expensive for me but i did go last year and tickets were like hens teeth for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭douglashyde

Was it last year's summer ball that the strippers wrestled in the jelly?

that was a rugby shindig, toga night unless i'm mistaken

ohhh yeah, now i remember. that was an interesting night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭manlad

calvin harris confirmed at Carlow I.Ts summer ball surely we should be able to compete in some way with that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

manlad wrote: »
    calvin harris confirmed at Carlow I.Ts summer ball surely we should be able to compete in some way with that

CH "DJ sets" are ****e tbh. Not worth seeing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭manlad

discus wrote: »
    CH "DJ sets" are ****e tbh. Not worth seeing.

I can sumwhat agree with you but Calvin Harris compared to who we had last year (think it was swamp thing or sumtin)would be a big improvement. I'm more glad to see its a summer theme at least this year so not too worried bout who plays. Party shorts at the ready!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭YourName

It says beach party on the posters around campus, does that mean we could soon see a few tonnes of sand backing up into DCU ! ? ! ? ! ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭OrionsBelt

YourName wrote: »
    It says beach party on the posters around campus, does that mean we could soon see a few tonnes of sand backing up into DCU ! ? ! ? ! ?

thats already been asked in the thread. would be fitting for a beach party. put down a big sheet of plastic and put the sand on top that way there's no clean up.

as for the cost, sure get alan keegan to do a few trips back and forth to a beach to load up his car and there you have it, free sand

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

as for the cost, sure get alan keegan to do a few trips back and forth to a beach to load up his car and there you have it, free sand
    Heh, suspect there might be laws against that

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Heh, suspect there might be laws against that

i want to see someone up in court on charges of sand theft... who would the prosecution be? erosion?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

i want to see someone up in court on charges of sand theft... who would the prosecution be? erosion?
    For environmental reasons, they had to seek permission earlier in the year for using beach sand for salting the road http://alanshaw.ie/?p=347

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

I don't imagine that it would be beach sand.

Plastic sheet idea is good; however I see things getting messy when some lads decide they want to build a sand castle and realise that they need to wet the sand first!

Does no one remember the sand two years ago? And the various and disgusting problems that went with it?

I talk, of course, of people using it as a giant human litter tray. And various cats also following this example.

Sand is a bad idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Einstein?

redbrick + ...sand?

..no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 one a the lads like !

I'd love to see a beech party above. Would be serious craic. How can we have a beech theme without sand like?

Generally these events in DCU are quite poor. IMO the social scene here is terrible. It seems people only go to dcu to win a sigerson or make it to the olympics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭public_enemy

It seems people only go to dcu to win a sigerson or make it to the olympics.

Yep, that's why I'm here anyway. It's the thought of having that gold medal around my neck that gets me through all these sandless Summer Balls.

Dude, if you have such problems, the Union are more than happy to accept suggestions. Don't just sit there and whine that there's no social life. Which there is. In abundance. This ball being a prime example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

Generally these events in DCU are quite poor. IMO the social scene here is terrible. It seems people only go to dcu to win a sigerson or make it to the olympics.

I read people saying this before, how the social life's terrible, load of rubbish really. I'm in first year CA, which is possibly the worst course ever for anything social related, tell a girl you're in it and you may as well take a dump in her handbag. Even with this, i'm out at least twice a week with different people having a whaaaaale of a time.

It's what you make it, find friends, don't get stabbed and you're sorted.

As for the summer Ball, even with unkown generic acts, it'll be a hoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Exactly, as the 'ol FAQ for the forum says...
    Is DCU any Fun?
    This question is asked repeatedly here by CAO candidates when considering their choice of college/university. The most common response is that: "College is what you make of it". If you want to go to DCU to party, you will find yourself partying. DCU is neither boring nor lacks social life. People are boring and lack social lives. DCU contains some of these people. Other colleges contain some of these people. Other colleges contain people who party hard. DCU contains people who party hard.

Couldn't agree with that more. :D

I'd love to see a beech party above. Would be serious craic. How can we have a beech theme without sand like?

Yeah because all 10,000 students went here with a view to being an athlete.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Benny Lava

Exotic Cocktail Bar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Tazer

Tickets are sold out I heard..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Benny Lava

Tazer wrote: »
    Tickets are sold out I heard..

Indeed. Let the "I have a spare ticket" threads begin.

atomicent wrote: »

I'm confussed?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 45 cartman555

looking for tickets as well, willing to pay €15 for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭snowcrazie

Why not open the old bar and sell a few more tickets? make a bit of money back after the rag ball, its never as good without the old bar. Surely the licence wudn't be too hard to sort out.

They are giving us exactly what we asked for, simple and cheap :) - good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

bleh, never got around to buying one. pm plz if you're selling!

Does anyone know how many people do be on the guest list for the balls?

pretty sure it's how ever many people buy guest tickets i think...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 cbassful

Would love a ticket if there are any going around! Will pay slightly over the odds if needs be :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭public_enemy

pretty sure it's how ever many people buy guest tickets i think...

I think he meant guest list as in people getting in free by being put on said list. In which case it's probably about 20-30 people. All of the exec have a +1 and whatever artists are playing will get a few people in too.

ah my bad :D thats how i learn :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Landa2

not to mention Ferdi always gets a ticket if he wishes to use it :)

or at least that was the case in the past..

Some pr*cks of security eh, ruined the night for a lot of people. These people are, in my opinion, the lowest people in society, doing a s*it job at something that it could be relatively easy to be sound about. Yet they think that they are the best people around, and are constantly on a power trip. I ain't stuck up, but the way they treated people last night and the way that they spoke to people was sub-human, if people didn't need to put up with them just to have a good night they would probably have some serious problems on their plate, because talking to people like they do and treating people the same way, in general society on day to day life would be 100% out of order.

Sorry about the rant, and please don't start picking it apart people and analysing every word.

I agree, however a lot of people where trying to sneak in last night so they really did have a tough time.

My MASSIVE problem with last night is that some gob****e security guards tied shut the fire escapes to stop people sneaking in......... Tying shut the fire escape is not only extremly dangerous, it is also illegal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 naturejinx

I had a few run-ins with security, was insulted a few times and told I was only arguing because I was drunk- I don't drink.

I noticed the fire escapes, and although I appreciate that it can't be fun or easy to stop people sneaking in, fires aren't fun or easy either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Fiftysix

They should have locked the fire escapes when the glee yoke was on and burnt all those ****ers.

I agree, however a lot of people where trying to sneak in last night so they really did have a tough time.

My MASSIVE problem with last night is that some gob****e security guards tied shut the fire escapes to stop people sneaking in......... Tying shut the fire escape is not only extremely dangerous, it is also ilegal!

I seen that too actually, reminds me of a famous fire in a nightclub a good few years ago ! ! ! ! !

I noticed that a lot of people were trying to sneak in, but people have busy/hard days at work every day, a little respect isn't much to ask. As I said above, in my opinion, it all comes down to these id*iots power tripping because they think they are big and powerful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Fiftysix wrote: »
    They should have locked the fire escapes when the glee yoke was on and burnt all those ****ers.

Banned.

Who's this you ask? Well some of you may have noticed gizmo has decided to step down as DCU mod after a few years service, and I've been asked to take over. Tbh if I do half as good as he's done down the years I'll be doing pretty well!

So yeah, carry on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Nice one Daysha, congratulations!

/off topic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭TheChrisD

Daysha wrote: »
    Who's this you ask? Well some of you may have noticed gizmo has decided to step down as DCU mod after a few years service, and I've been asked to take over. Tbh if I do half as good as he's done down the years I'll be doing pretty well!

He did...?

Oh well, there goes backseat moderating to gizmo in #gamessoc on Redbrick... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭MonaghanPenguin

Daysha wrote: »
    Banned.

So yeah, carry on :)

What makes this even funnier is that Fiftysix was in Glee. Got banned for taking the piss of his own show.