Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sportsworld 5 Mile Classic : May 16th @ 10am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

That new route is very flat, cutting out the hill around Bushy Park.

Will there be stewards at the Wainsfort roundabout? There's a serious corner to cut there...

mapped a single loop on mapmyrun, to confirm the elevation profile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭emerald007

good man raycun, but could you not have done the full course to saved me the job of a five mile run later in the week! I'll get the garmin 405 on it later this week for a complete profile.

We'll have stewards at all major junctions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I'll be doing this again this year. It's a little bit downhill down the Wainsfort Rd and a little bit uphill up the Whitehall Rd, but really very flat overall. I really like last years course too, but it is much of a muchness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

Ah, nice one, didnt realise the route had changed. Practically passes my front door now. One loop of that course it literally one of my short runs I do on a regular basis. I'll have no excuse to have a great time for this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Its a week after kildare half but feck it, really enjoyed this race last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Just after my exams, looks like a good one to blast the cobwebs from the legs and it's quite close to home :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭foleyalan

Cant wait for this run. This is the race i have been training for. Gonna try and break the 30 minutes for this!:D Bring it on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 dietryin

Supose I better do it now, thought it was on on the same day as Kildare, no excuse now, hope to break the 43min barrier that always eludes me:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭gmurran

Should be a good one for those that like a fast course.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

If I don't do this I'll be there on the bike to cheer yee on. Had planned on using it as a build up to Edinburgh race. We shall see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Dotcomdolly

I'm looking forward to this now, will be a nice change from all those hills yesterday in the park!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Wonder the reason for the change of course? Personally i loved the old course was really fast and no major hills (only one was coming back up into Terenure)

Couldn't get the Gardai to close the roads on the old route, AFAIK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Thats cool. And I would'nt mind having to stop at the traffic lights if I could run it that fast:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Great idea emerald, all races should have to do that. I reckon 4:10 into the video you so wanted to break that light, you could see you were thinking about it :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Can't quite plan that far ahead at the moment, so will there be entries available on the day?

robinph wrote: »
    Can't quite plan that far ahead at the moment, so will there be entries available on the day?

I'm positive there will be as there has been every other year, for such a good race they only ever get a turn out of 3 to 5 hundred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭racheljev

Still contemplating this one - I'm such a northsider, I might get a nosebleed if I'm that far over the south...;)

Registeed for this today. It is fast becoming a target race (aren't they all) hoping for 33:xx . I have to prove my credentials for the relay team in Cork :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

racheljev wrote: »
    Still contemplating this one - I'm such a northsider, I might get a nosebleed if I'm that far over the south...;)

...it's worth losing blood for!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭foleyalan

geld wrote: »
    ...it's worth losing blood for!!!:D

I totally agree, this is a great race. Ive always loved running this one. Well worth it. Ill be there, hoping for sub 30. Thats if i dont go out at a mental pace and burn up over the last mile!!

OK, just signed up for this, bib 206. Low bib number making me slightly worried now that I'll be the slowest and last over the line - two communion parties the day before might put a spanner in the works. Now, off to get my passport stamped so I can head over the Southside for a few hours..;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

OK, just signed up for this, bib 206. Low bib number making me slightly worried now that I'll be the slowest and last over the line - two communion parties the day before might put a spanner in the works. Now, off to get my passport stamped so I can head over the Southside for a few hours..;)

This race always attracts a good crowd so you can be sure that there will be alot more than 200 people. Most likely there will be a fair few on the day entries.

Dont worry there is always a bunch of people signing up in the last week. This is standard. Also many people will register old style (offline) and the number will be from a different range.

Good luck its a good enjoyable run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭smmoore79

have registered online for this. Does the bib get posted out or do we collect on the day??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

Just registered as well and I'm bib no 207!:)

I'm looking forward to the new course and while I'm familiar with it Emerald's video is great idea and will help us all. A good idea for other races to copy. Wonder how IMRA would do it!!:D

One small gripe - It costs €17.00 to register online not €15.00 as advertised in your flyers. I assume the €15.00 refers to a postal entry? It's no harm to be upfront about this.

geld wrote: »
    One small gripe - It costs €17.00 to register online not €15.00 as advertised in your flyers. I assume the €15.00 refers to a postal entry? It's no harm to be upfront about this.

Apologies about that geld. The processing fee should be mentioned and an adjustment will be made on the site shortly and the flyers next year.

Thanks for spotting that...

Registration is open on the sunday from 8.30 to 9.30 in St Paul's School, the race starts at 10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

emerald007 wrote: »
    Registration is open on the sunday from 8.30 to 9.30 in St Paul's School, the race starts at 10.

for some reason I thought the race started at 12.30 :eek:

Quick question about the course, do you reckon it's quicker than the old course ? The old course was pretty fast.

for some reason I thought the race started at 12.30 :eek:

Quick question about the course, do you reckon it's quicker than the old course ? The old course was pretty fast.

I reckon this course is faster. In the old course there was a downhill from Springfield Av round the back of the shopping centre and then a drag up to terenure and up the templeogue rd.
    This course is as close as you can get to pancake flat IMO (having run those roads many times).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

menoscemo wrote: »
    In the old course there was a downhill from Springfield Av round the back of the shopping centre and then a drag up to terenure and up the templeogue rd.

yeah that was my thinking, that's the same drag that is present in he Rathfarnham 5k. It's nothing really but compared to the rest of the course it does slow you down. Hope to get out to this and may even have a crack at my 5 mile PB, fingers crossed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

smmoore79 wrote: »
    have registered online for this. Does the bib get posted out or do we collect on the day??
    Whats the storrrry? The numbers would usually have been posted out by now! Is it collect on the day?

gerard65 wrote: »
    Whats the storrrry? The numbers would usually have been posted out by now! Is it collect on the day?

It's deffo collection on the day at the school, it was last year anyway and I haven't recieved anything in the post.

By the way, if anyone's driving, there's a car park at the church beside the school, and on the other side of the church there's a hall (down a short lane) with another car park. There's also parking at a community centre beside the finish line, but you could be stuck in there for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭smmoore79

gerard65 wrote: »

At this stage on a Friday evening, I sure hope so!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

Hi folks...Im coming from Ratoath and need directions for Templeogue to start if anyone can help..
    Thanks in advance

Are you coming from the M50?

Take the Tallaght exit, but in the direction of the city (if that makes any sense)

At the Spawell roundabout, the first junction when you've left the motorway, turn left.

Go straight through the next roundabout.

Then turn left at the next roundabout.

At the traffic lights and crossroads, turn left.

Keep going until you see the church, the school is just before that, on the left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

tks alot ray...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 LucanHarriers

Always keep the diary free for this one. A great race for quick times. Am sure new route will be no different.

Was on the course tonight it's nice and fast. Weather looks great for Sunday sure to be a good one.

I'm out tomorrow- currently running high temp, cold just too bad. No energy at all :( Good luck everybody.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I'm out tomorrow- currently running high temp, cold just too bad. No energy at all :( Good luck everybody.

Nooooo what about Norman :pac: A lot of people have it at the moment Rachel, I've been four weeks with the coughing and wheezing, department in work is over run with it too. Look after yourself.

Reminder to everyone that registration is open on the Sunday from 8.30 to 9.30 in St Paul's School, the race starts at 10.

There will be plenty of photos on RacePix and results should be up by early tomorrow afternoon. Hope everyone enjoys the race and stays around for a bit after.

4611422346_4526226110.jpg

My pics are uploading at the moment, conditions looked good, how did you find the new course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭AJCOT

Good fast course with just a few minor uphill pulls, well organised as ever & grand weather too. I'm not a lap lover but two is bearable.

Thanks for that pic woddle!!
    I am a little disappointed with 34:15 (aim was sub 34), once gerard65 pased me at 2 miles I mentally gave up and the fact that I managed a massive sprint in the last 100m suggests maybe I could have ground out a bit more.
    Course was good but the only slight drag up the whitehall road was also into a head wind which meant a slowish section.

menoscemo wrote: »
    Thanks for that pic woddle!!
    I am a little disappointed with 34:15 (aim was sub 34), once gerard65 pased me at 2 miles I mentally gave up and the fact that I managed a massive sprint in the last 100m suggests maybe I could have ground out a bit more.
    Course was good but the only slight drag up the whitehall road was also into a head wind which meant a slowish section.

You looked to have went off a bit fast, maybe I'm wrong but on the first lap you were just slightly behind some very quick guys, good run though. Also running up 3 miles worth of mountain road would not have helped :D I'm still stiff