Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toulouse V Leinster - Travel Arrangements

• 12-04-2010 11:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get to Toulouse for as cheap as possible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,303 ✭✭✭crisco10

http://www.leinsterrugby.ie/newsroom/4618.php

That gives a pretty good run down of the various options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭shawpower

Here's what I booked on Sunday.

Flight with Ryanair to Nantes on Friday. - €32pp
    Train from Nantes to Toulouse - €52pp
    Stay in Crowne Plaza on Place du Capitole 2 nights. €126pp
    Fly home AerLingus Toulouse - Dublin on Sunday - €115

Total comes to €325.

Hope to get my ticket via Season Ticket holders lottery.

I spotted during the Toulouse - Stade Francais game that the dates for the Semi were set, and that we were playing on the Saturday. So we booked flights home asap at €115 for the Sunday rather than the Monday. Those flights are up to €305 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭purcela

I booked flights with Ryanair to Rodez on the Saturday, and back to Dublin from Carcassone on the Monday. Got the flights for €150, but they have gone up to around €250 now.

The Rodez flight lands at 1.40, so 3 hours to get down to Toulouse. Could be cutting it tight but will hopefully be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Mr-McBain

Yeah looks like I missed the decent offers. I'm not paying through the nose or jumping through hoops to get over there this time like I did for the final last year. Thieving c**t airlines!!!! I hope the EU does something some day to stop this profiteering BS. I wish the ferries to France started earlier this year to cater for the volume of people looking to get to France/Spain for the Semi Finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭Brewster

I think it could be tight to get to Toulouse from that Rodez flight, how are you proposing to get down? Car? If that flight is delayed at all, it could be problematic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Gracelessly Tom

I agree, airlines are going to try and make a packet out of these games, they'll play on the loyalty of the Irish supporters.

Have heard that the 1 night packages for the Munster game are going to be €550 so would imagine Leinster ones will be similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Yea, would love to go down to the game, but not many hundreds and hundreds for a single night trip in this day and age. [All apart from I have tickets for the final, and have to pay for that trip yet, mister visa paid for it!]

Time to make use of my Sky Sub and have the lads around instead I guess :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭Hippo

Flying to Barcelona on the Friday a.m. and driving up, back the same way on Sunday. There'll be loads of tickets for the game, no need for a STH lottery.

Do you reckon the tickets for this game will go on general sale because not enough STH will take up their allocation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 MacAttack84

anybody known of any good areas to stay in toulouse?

flying over to rodez on the thursday and back thru stansted on the sunday - saving a fortune going that route!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭Hippo

purcela wrote: »
    Do you reckon the tickets for this game will go on general sale because not enough STH will take up their allocation?

Depends how many are offered to STH; lots will be hoping to buy more than one so it's a bit early to say what the returns situation would be. Having said that, I'm sure there'll be some on general sale after the initial allocation. There just won't be enough for the Toulousain as it's a 50/50 split between the clubs after the ERC takes its whack!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭will1977

I booked my flight with Abbey Travel. 350eur for return flights and transfers
    Come on Leinster !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭hbxutd

Just got a fax in work from Abbey travel flights & transfers 279 + 70 tax (350) like will1977 said.

Dublin at 8am, return at 10.30pm same day

No ticket

01 8047100 Ger or Kevin are the contacts

Might take a punt on this myself having priced other modes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭The Wexican

Decided to make a long weekend out of it. Flights accom etc for 5 nights is €469 for 2

The only one drawback is one the nights is in a hotel at East Midlands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Gracelessly Tom

Have looked into the flight situation and Charleroi to Carcasonne is cheap, Dublin to Charleroi on Fri morning, fly to Carcasonne on the Sat for €80. Come back through Leeds for €80 as well. Only other expense is the trip from Carcasonne to Toulouse (about an hour I'm told).

All the above flights are with Ryanair, others could do certain legs cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

Easy jet from London Gatwick to Toulouse for any ex-pats heading down.

Got return for 150 of the queens shillings, a snip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭dave13

andrewdcs wrote: »
    Easy jet from London Gatwick to Toulouse for any ex-pats heading down.

Got return for 150 of the queens shillings, a snip.

This is what im doing, adding on €100 for the aer lingus flights to dublin, so €250 in total and no rental car involved.

It sounds like there are large numbers travelling over. Trevor Brennan must be delighted, busy weekend in DeDanu for him!

Mr O'Leary uploaded flights to Carcasonne yesterday evening onto system. Michael wasn't going to miss out on making a buck!! Dub To Car Friday and back Sunday, was 260 euro yesterday evening all in which aint too bad to be fair. Aer Lingus 580 into Toulouse Friday to Sunday is just disgusting to be quite frank.

Those Ryanair prices aren't bad, should entice a few more Leinster supporters. Aer Lingus are putting people off travelling with those prices. I know they are out to make money but prices that high to Toulouse are extortion and taking advantage of supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 MacAttack84

this is my plan... flying dublin to rodez on the thursday for 35 euro, flying rodez to stansted for 15 euro on the sunday and then getting a 20 euro flight home on the monday to dublin! should be a great weekend i de danu!

anybody hear anything about tickets yet?

Rodez airport will never have seen so many Irish people flying in there!

Mac, http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055883771 ticket info on this forum, just announced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭washiskin

lads, going to the final but flying into Toulouse.

The regular train takes 5 hours to go to Paris- is there a faster train i.e a high speed train like the Bullet in Japan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭BoarHunter

washiskin wrote: »
    lads, going to the final but flying into Toulouse.

The regular train takes 5 hours to go to Paris- is there a faster train i.e a high speed train like the Bullet in Japan?

Not from Toulouse unfortunately. TGV run from Toulouse to Bordeaux at regular speed and then Paris at high speed so it takes 2 hours to reach Bordeaux and then 3 h to Paris ( almost 600 km in 3 hours ;) ).

The TGV as the world record for speed on the rail : 575 km/ h ( without passenger load of course )- forget the Japanese bullet :D

You are covering 800 km in 5 hours ;) not bad hey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 footrush

purcela wrote: »
    Tickets on sale to everyone on friday at the game , " fill your boots " .

Danu aside, is there a pubby / clubby area for tourists centrally?
    Obv. doing some web research but nothing like experienced rugby insiders pov.

Over Thursday to Sunday avo. so have a while to trapse about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭Jemo

Flying into Spain and driving up is a good option also, toulouse is about 4 hours drive from Barcelona which is well served and car hire is cheap, I'll be driving up from Valencia which is a 7-8hour trip but can stop off in barcelona and perpignan for a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 footrush

There is an extensive thread looking at all of the possible options travel an entertainment , on www.leinsterfans.ie , on the road section .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Well, my front door to the stadium gate is about a 4 minute walk... Gonna try get a ticket or two tomorrow, otherwise I'll be in the ST section...

Regards places to stay - Ibis has hotels at Place Jeanne d'Arc and at Matabiau. Both are reasonably priced and central enough.

For getting to the stadium: Take the Red line metro southbound from the city centre (Marengo, Jean Jaurès, Capitol or Esquirol) as far as Les Arènes. There are buses from there to the stadium strarting from 2hrs before the match right up to 5 mins before kick off. Otherwise, take the yellow line(Compans Caffarelli, Jeanne d'Arc, Jean Jaurès, Francois Verdier) to St Michel - Marcel Langer (Empalot is closer, but trust me - you don't want to go there) walk southbound to the junction and turn right (15 min walk, much less crowded). A couple of Irish pubs in St Michel that are pretty good.

Night life: I'm a student, but anyone up to maybe 30 gets away with getting a bottle of wine at an "Épicerie de Nuit" on Rue Pargaminières and standing around in Place St Pierre, or by the river bank. Good clubs/bars include Trader'$, Frog & Rosbif, Bar Basque, St. des Seins, Maximo, Shanghai(gay club, technically, but free in and open till 6)...

Any more info you want, just PM me.

Out of interest, does anyone know for sure if there will be tickets for sale at 10am tomorrow, or are they already gone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

That's great info Toulousain. We're driving down from Poitiers on the day of the match. Any idea where we should leave the car. I gather it is a public holiday that day, so driving should be easier than usual. Any tips would be appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

That's all great info Toulousain. We are driving down from Poitiers on the day of the match, so could you give any suggestions as to where we should park? I'm sure others will be driving from airports like Rodez and Bordeaux. I gather it will be a public holiday, which should make travelling by car easier than usual.

Parking on the island that the stadium is on is usually manic on match days. Unless you're going to be there a few hours in advance, and advise heading for one of the many car parks in the city-centre-ish end of town (Carnot, Victor Hugo, Carmes, Jeanne d'Arc, St Michel and Esquirol, to name but a few) and get transport. It's actually walkable from Esquirol and St Michel, if you know the way.

I don't drive, so I have no idea how much it'd cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,904 ✭✭✭The Rooster

We could all be travelling by ferry and coach yet!

Edit:
    That was a bit tongue in cheek, but it seems Munster are already examining ferry options just in case:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/kfkfqlojqley/rss2/#ixzz0lXLqBLQz

If the Leinster and Munster teams do decide to travel by ferry, hopefully they can also help with organising coaches in Ireland and France to assist the fans too.

While it would be a long journey, there'd be some craic if Leinster and Munster combined to charter a ferry to South France/North Spain!

Anyone else concerned about the fact that the train drivers in France have been on strike for the past 13 days? I'm flying to Nantes, and getting a train down to Toulouse. Apparently, one in two trains are being cancelled.

shawpower wrote: »
    Anyone else concerned about the fact that the train drivers in France have been on strike for the past 13 days? I'm flying to Nantes, and getting a train down to Toulouse. Apparently, one in two trains are being cancelled.

Ah French trains should be the least of your worries! If you can get onto French soil, you will be doing well if this volcano continues in an angry fashion!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Brewster wrote: »
    Ah French trains should be the least of your worries! If you can get onto French soil, you will be doing well if this volcano continues in an angry fashion!!

Yep, hopefully things will have settled down by the Semis, but at the minute total chaos in France travel wise...trains, planes and automobiles. Alot of sharp practice and gouging going on. A mate of mine was asked for 1500 euro to rent a car for one day in Perpignan yesterday. No hotel rooms to be had etc...although they're saying now that Scottish airspace will be open tomorrow.... FIngers crossed that all will be well and rugby supporters wont be hit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,827 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Is the start time for this match 1545 hrs Irish time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,904 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Toulousain wrote: »
    Well, my front door to the stadium gate is about a 4 minute walk...

Toulousain, regarding the stadium pic below - is there any particular reason why the "Balcon" section is the most expensive? I think in most stadia its the middle of the lower tier that is the prime spot.

plan-stadium2.gif

walshb, kick off is 1545 Irish time (1645 French time)

No idea, to be honest!

One thing that just struck me, however, is that the match is on the 1st of May. There will be no public transport that day. The Mayor's Office tried to change this, but the unions objected...

I'll post up a map of the walking route (30-45mins) from Capitole, when I get the time...

Toulousain wrote: »
    Any more info you want, just PM me.

Don't think this requires a PM really, but you might be able to help out with something.

There is a thread on Leinterfans where people are suggesting meeting in the Place du Capitole about midday, and walking out to the ground from there. Kind of like what the Clermont fans did when there were over, walking from O'Connell street to the RDS. I know that the walk is a bit longer in Toulouse, but the weather should be nice, and there is talk of maybe stopping in a pub along the way for a pi(n)tstop.

http://forum.leinsterfans.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=17654

There have been a couple of routes suggested for this, but maybe you'd be a great person to offer some insight into the best route, and also a possible pub along the way?

If you don't want to post on LF, maybe let me know and I'll post it up over there.

All boards guys heading over are encouraged to join in on the walk with flags, facepaint and bodhrán's etc. :)

I don't have an account on LF, so I'll put this here:

Walking is the only way to get to the stadium. Figuratively and literally. As it's the 1st of May, there will be ABSOLUTELY NO PUBLIC TRANSPORT. It's a walk I've done many times drunk in the middle of the night, and even then it rarely takes more than an hour. The best route from Capitole would be to go by Rue Gambetta to Place de la Daurade, and follow the river down until the bridge to Ile du Ramier, from there there is on;y one way to the stadium! Problem with this is there isn't a pub on the way, let alone an Irish Pub. Street drinking is legal in France, so there's nothing stopping you grabbing a large bottle of Kronenbourg to accompany your walk!

The Carmes route, as suggested before, is also viable and there are pubs along the way. Mulligans and Dubliners are just there around the turn for Blvd des Récollets. The only problem is that the roads on this route are rather narrow, not ideal for a large crowd.

So this is my "route conseillée": http://maps.google.fr/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=Place+du+Capitole&daddr=43.601947,1.43908+to:All%C3%A9e+Gabriel+Bi%C3%A8nes&hl=fr&geocode=FbxbmQIdJQcWAA%3B%3BFTcDmQIdmekVAA&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=1&sz=16&via=1&dirflg=w&sll=43.601387,1.442578&sspn=0.009137,0.022724&ie=UTF8&ll=43.60002,1.442921&spn=0.009137,0.022724&z=16

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

We are doing the following

Dublin -> La Rochelle on saturday morning

Drive to Toulouse. Stay over night

Fly Carcassone -> Glasgow PIK on sunday morning

Glasgow PIK -> Dublin that evening.

Including flights, rental car, hotel and match ticket we did it for €240 per head, which i think is quite epic :p

Getting really excited now.... steady! Am travelling without a ticket assured, but I'm anticipating that I'll pick one up between friends of friends and a fair few flying around on Friday and the stadium?

andrewdcs wrote: »
    Getting really excited now.... steady! Am travelling without a ticket assured, but I'm anticipating that I'll pick one up between friends of friends and a fair few flying around on Friday and the stadium?

What? They were on general sale through Leinster branch for weeks!! How did you not pick one up?

I live in London! I know about 10 - 15 people heading (probably know a fair few more tbh). Sure I'll pick one up of one of them.

should /really/ have organized someone to grab me one but lifes more exciting fly by wire. :)

Gah, ballcocks weather is to be appalling:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/weather/forecast/3000

Improve chances of an away win?

That's just around the corner from the IBIS central. The 'melting pot' is another place recommended / Is it a place you frequent Toulousain?

On a cultural note, wheres the best cassoulet in the city centre?.... when in Rome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

For anyone interested, Hook is running a competition for a trip to this all this week on his show.

http://www.newstalk.ie/programmes/all/therighthook/win-a-trip-for-two-people-to-see-leinster-in-the-heineken-cup-semi-final/

Decent value flight Dub to Car with Ryanair Fri to Sun, 220 odd euro for any late comers looking to travel.