Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help, I've gotten old

• 11-04-2010 5:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭

I'm not sure what happened. Normally on a day like today I'd be sitting in the sun all day having the craic with mates. Instead I went on a 4 hour bike ride, called my parents, and am cutting up veg for dinner. I don't even have the desire for a pint.

How do I fix this? I was planning on continuing to act like I'm 25 until I hit full-on creepy old guy territory. I've got at least another 10 years of faking it to go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Sell your assets, quit your job, go back to college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

You can't fix it,otherwise you end up looking like a sad man trying to recapture his youth in the most embarrassing ways.

Just embrace your old-ness :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

Well thats what happens when you get married..............;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

cafecolour wrote: »
    I'm not sure what happened. Normally on a day like today I'd be sitting in the sun all day having the craic with mates. Instead I went on a 4 hour bike ride, called my parents, and am cutting up veg for dinner. I don't even have the desire for a pint.

How do I fix this? I was planning on continuing to act like I'm 25 until I hit full-on creepy old guy territory. I've got at least another 10 years of faking it to go!

it sounds like your getting sensible rather than old:
    bike ride = health benefits
    calling parents = good idea ya never know when you WILL might need them
    vegetables = see point one:D
    not drinking = are you well?:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Well come the club. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Time Stand Still... last verse.:cool:

'Summer's going fast, nights growing colder
    Children growing up, old friends growing older
    Freeze this moment a little bit longer
    Make each impression a little bit stronger
    Experience slips away
    Experience slips away...
    The innocence slips away '

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭spudmonkey17

I'm 20 and I feel like I'm getting old now... is that bad?? :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

Skateboard and a slingshot should do the trick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I kinda like getting older , I am happier in myself , it has given me a sense of achievement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Look at me, jerking off in the shower... This will be the high point of my day; it's all downhill from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

alwaysadub wrote: »
    You can't fix it,otherwise you end up looking like a sad man trying to recapture his youth in the most embarrassing ways.

See, I was always fine with turning into that. I'm just surprised I got of it before it got tired of me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

Skateboard and a slingshot should do the trick!

slingshot must be in the backpocket and visible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I've been afflicted with this too! A few civilised drinks last night, no hangover, and out for a stroll at 10am. Did housework, went for another walk, met a friend for coffee, visiting the parents (not just phoning them) shortly and had a SALAD for dinner! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I am surprised I have even lived this long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Dilynnio

Maybe its a little thing called maturity!!

We all hit it at some stage!!! :D:D:D

Dudess wrote: »
    I've been afflicted with this too! A few civilised drinks last night, no hangover, and out for a stroll at 10am. Did housework, went for another walk, met a friend for coffee, visiting the parents (not just phoning them) shortly and had a SALAD for dinner! :(

I'm ... sooo .... sorry to hear that. :(

(have you been measured for your coffin yet? :pac: )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

We all have to grow up.. someday

bonerm wrote: »
    I'm ... sooo .... sorry to hear that. :(
    And also I... wrote a shopping list... :(

I'm also on the late shift at work tomorrow, but plan to go to bed early and get up early. I used to love going for drinks on a Sunday night... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

See, that to me sounds like a lovely weekend. Though you'll have to speak up dear- my hearing's not what it used to be :(... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

ive been doing that since I was about 12:eek::D it means whoever im gettin to do my shopping doesnt forget anything:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

S'ok, we can fix it.

/Lifts pillow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

No, just ridiculous ;)

I'm also on the late shift at work tomorrow, but plan to go to bed early and get up early. I used to love going for drinks on a Sunday night... :confused:

I have no words for that ^ :D

I had to endure a ridiculous conversation today between 20yr and 19yr old girls and a 17 year old guy. I know their ages, because each had announced it throughout their conversation in front of me. 20 year old laments about something ...19 year old goes "Omg I feel so old" 17 year old must have caught mye WTF face and starts laughing.. so then the other two look at me. So I to put them out of their misery I told them I'm actually 30 and it fucking rawks. I say that with brutal honesty. my teens were ok, my twenties was very meh.. mundane, and it was all about climbing the work ladder .. blah blah.. I quit the lot and went back to college and I love it.

Oh and thirty came with (<-lol) intense multiples. Wouldn't trade that for anything

0/
    0/
    0/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Got the wrong frame of mind there OP, don't get old, get better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

OP, you've been thinking you're getting too old already? you're just losing the battle of willpower, but you can win the war of ageing with grace:p

I'm 29, act like I'm 24 and look like I'm 22...and can positively say that the last few years have been some of the best I've EVER had:D:D Like a fine wine, some things get much better with age;)

Plus I'm planning on going to Uni for the first time this year, like Abi said...it fucking rawks being at this age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Caoimhín wrote: »
    I am surprised I have even lived this long.

Same here, if I had relised I would lived till my mid 30's, I'd have damn well taken better care of myself :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Abitar wrote: »
    I had to endure a ridiculous conversation today between 20yr and 19yr old girls and a 17 year old guy.

Abi hanging out with teens shocker :rolleyes:

:p

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Do you have a wooden stick that you've saved for the soul purpose of stirring paint??

If not, you're still good for another couple of years ;)

Housework is def another thing - I'll actually notice when things need to be done! Not that i'll necessarily do them but they used to not even register.

I've always loved salad though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Abi hanging out with teens shocker :rolleyes:

:p

Lmao! I was in a que in a Supervalu buying a heap of drink :p

..... I must go there more often... :pac:

OP, you've been thinking you're getting too old already? you're just losing the battle of willpower, but you can win the war of ageing with grace:p

I'm 29, act like I'm 24 and look like I'm 22...and can positively say that the last few years have been some of the best I've EVER had:D:D Like a fine wine, some things get much better with age;)

Oh, I'm 34 and I've been acting I'm 24 for a decade now. I just expected that I'd keep going til I was 40-something and having to think "Okay, this is getting ridiculous, I need to get some cop on." Not that I'd just suddenly grow tired of it.

But who knows, I may revert in time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭StinkySocs

"They" say 50 is the new 40 so therefore 30 must be the new 20 so I'm still a teenager. I'm 27 and last summer I got asked for id buying drink wooo go me :D luv it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Oh, I'm 34 and I've been acting I'm 24 for a decade now. I just expected that I'd keep going til I was 40-something and having to think "Okay, this is getting ridiculous, I need to get some cop on." Not that I'd just suddenly grow tired of it.

But who knows, I may revert in time!
    Well i'm 30 and i went for a fab walk from Portmarnock to Malahide along the coast and back and reversed all that goodness by having a liquid lunch with the girls out on my patio. Its ok to do good stuff, but make sure you counter act it with lots of badness ;)

StinkySocs wrote: »
    "They" say 50 is the new 40 so therefore 30 must be the new 20 so I'm still a teenager. I'm 27 and last summer I got asked for id buying drink wooo go me :D luv it!

/arithmetic .... no, 25 is is the new 20.

BTW the sound of biological clocks ticking on this thread is hi-larious. :D

Not from me it aint! No babies thank you very much!

Kiera wrote: »
    Not from me it aint! No babies thank you very much!

But who's going to post on boards.ie when you're gone?

My toyboy ;)

He'll be too busy spending your money.

Jesus he'll be one lucky guy if he ever find it! I've been searching 30yrs for it!

Did you look down the back of the couch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Shazanne

God - it's an affliction!! And it's obviously contagious! I've been a carrier for a while now - and it ain't getting any easier:(
    Every day (yes, you read it right!) I see a new wrinkle - what happens if I run out of face for them all? Every four week my lovely hair colour goes white around the edges and it back to "get the roots done" at the salon! And, to make things even more hurtful, I spotted a top I really loved the other day only to see a curvy, smooth-faced, natural blond "child" pick it up and buy it:mad: HELP ME!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

Ye i've really felt this since I finished college and started full time work,

Hitting 23 for me was a big downer but with the new maturity I feel good and am trying to enjoy it, hoping to have a good summer and just enjoy being "offically" mature

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

mikom wrote: »
    Look at me, jerking off in the shower... This will be the high point of my day; it's all downhill from here.

Love that film.

Gives the OP hope as long as his neighbours are ok.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    Love that film.

That's all well and good but you shouldn't be recording him while he's doing that.

/AB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I was planning on continuing to act like I'm 25 until I hit full-on creepy old guy territory. I've got at least another 10 years of faking it to go!
    Bike ride me swiss.

Dude...you're not old until you realise why slippers make sense.

Abitar wrote: »
    20 year old laments about something ...19 year old goes "Omg I feel so old"
    What they mean is, they're freaked out by the realities of growing up, but yeah, "I'm so old" is such a lame way of phrasing it.
    I'm actually 30 and it fucking rawks.
    I'm the same age and yeah, I am far more confident, positive, philosophical and relaxed about life than I was 10 years ago, but I don't know whether that's because of ageing or in spite of it. I have to admit the idea of advancing years does not appeal to me - however I don't buy into particular notions associated with age... that you have to have xyz done by a certain age, plus there are aspects to ageing that you have a degree of control over - in particular, physical appearance. All you have to do is look after yourself. There are aspects you just have to accept too though - and it's quite liberating to do that, instead of getting upset over something that can't be changed.

There seems to be a societal message though that you should be upset instead - especially women. Unfortunately lots of women buy into that, which will obviously only help continue to perpetuate it.

It's kinda depressing the way women in their early 30s are assumed to be miserable about being "old"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭alias141282

mikom wrote: »

HaHaaa!!!

Priceless.

If you actually thought you were getting old as in geriatric, it would be, but I presume you're just freaked about growing up, which is understandable.

However, you were born in 1989/90 - I probably own stuff that's older than you... :(

20 seems like a grown-up age when you're at that age yourself, but it really, really isn't. You're a child!