Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Arrogance of Sean Quinn and his employees

• 11-04-2010 1:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 48

This guy has something to hide

Quinn coming on RTE saying the regulator is going to put 5500 jobs in harms way also trying to get his goverment cronies to put pressure on the regulator / Pointing the blame on the regulator....WTF How can this be the regulators fault? it was quinn who took monies from the policyholders fund.

His employees are also very naive, saying he is

A great man
    A gentle soul
    An Honest man
    etc etc.....

I had to laugh at the employees holding signs saying "FINANCIAL WRECKULATOR" This again is complete paddyisim, he was have a F.R actually doing good and spotting holes in an insurance company, but when he uis trying to fix this he is the bad guy.

Quinn. He is a classic bully, he wants to be the only one to break the rules and get away with it, a total cowboy who shifted funds from Quinn insurance to his family fund and i hope the whole house of quinn collapses on top of him. I hope they go under because it will prevent another chancer from doing it again.

Quinn employees. If you are looking for someone to blame, look no further than your glorious leader.

I hope to god they are put into administration for the sake of the policyholders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

something to protect! - his insurance company

not sure about being a bully/cowboy-a bad investor yes ,he put too many eggs in one basket

imagine 'dermot desmond' putting all his forune into one share-never

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭bette

Another one bites the dust! These guys all share a colossal arrogance. They built their *ahem* empires on concrete blocks and rezoning sleaze in conjunction with corrupt bankers. None of this was sustainable and yet these creeps expect the taxpayer to bail them out to "save jobs"! How about the hundreds of thousands who have already lost their jobs and are now in fear of losing their homes. Who is to blame for their plight? Maybe it's Donie the Wigman!

bette wrote: »
    Another one bites the dust! These guys all share a colossal arrogance. They built their *ahem* empires on concrete blocks and rezoning sleaze in conjunction with corrupt bankers. None of this was sustainable and yet these creeps expect the taxpayer to bail them out to "save jobs"! How about the hundreds of thousands who have already lost their jobs and are now in fear of losing their homes. Who is to blame for their plight? Maybe it's Donie the Wigman!

hardly accurate here .in fairness to sean quinn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Locke

It's not his insurance company anymore , no matter what happens this cowboy wont be running the show because to run an insurance company you have to follow the rules.
    He is not doing that now.

He was slapped with a 3 million fine not so long ago for breaching other rules.

9am tomorrow is when quinn insurance will be sold. Some jobs will be lost but at least that cowboy will lose the chair at quinn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Dutchie

I saw an internal Quinn email on Thursday, 170 jobs are to go in the Enniskilllen office no matter what happens.

Well said Bette.

It's alway a "ahem" or "oh sorry about that, it wont happen again" culture from the top business people and political elite. I am hoping for a tough love example to be handed to sean quinn and his management team.

m cabee. He is 100% a bully. Quinn broke the rules and not just once but many times. He gets caught and right of the bat he get political mates to try and twist the arm of the regulator, that = he was trying to get his own way. On the cowboy front 100% as well, taking 200 milion from solvency funds.......and NOT TELLING THE REGULATOR, thinking the regulator would let it slide because he employs 5500 people.

Look if quinn goes bust, life will move on, just like people did whren dell lost 1800 jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Stacks Mad

Could some one break it down for me.
    Why does he make out, that all he needs is 100 million to sort him out?

Obviously there are some Quinn workers on here , why are they not commenting on this.

Whats going to happen at 9am tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I don't think his employees are necessarily arrogant, rather blinkered and naive. Looks like Quinn is using them as a human shield and they can't even see it.

During these recent marches I'd ask were the employees given extra leave on full pay to go on them? If they were, then it would make me even more cynical about Quinn's tactics/motivation here.

wasn't sure about the bully

is he actually the driving force behind the employees/tds at the moment?

BriadD3. Ok i agree with you saying that the employees are blinkered, they are and they just don't get it. They hold this chancer is high regard, but he had no regard for policyholder funds.

What do you all think will happen at the high court tomorrow?

Full administration or given back to quinn?

If it's given back then that means interference from cowen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭PeteEd

Quinn staff should suck it up and get on with it like the rest of us. Yes its not nice people losing their jobs but they are not the first and certainly will not the last to work for a company which over stretched itself.

No white knight came to save me and my 700 colleges when we all lost our jobs due to poor business decisions made by our company management and their banks, so what the hell makes them think they are any different.

Sean Quinn made bad decisions and the financial regulators findings were made for the good of everyone and not the X number of people sailing on the good ship Quinn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 hughkane

Each to fight for their own wealth. Would you not?

Regardless of what happens tomorrow, quinn insurance will never be the same again, policy holders will move to other providers in droves, they have probably lost thousands of renewal policies already, again the staff can blame their boss for that. Why would a policy holder trust quinn now?

if customers are moving their polices elsewhere quinn will lay of staff simple as that, you cant have thousands of employees if you have a significant drop in business

Yup The Qunin staff will just have to suck it up like the the 300000 + people who have joined the dole Q, but unlike the majority of the 300000 people who lost their jobs during the recession they lost them though business going under and not due to their bosses doing shady deals with a notorious banker Seanie Fitzpatrick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Locke wrote: »
    BriadD3. Ok i agree with you saying that the employees are blinkered, they are and they just don't get it. They hold this chancer is high regard, but he had no regard for policyholder funds.

What do you all think will happen at the high court tomorrow?

Full administration or given back to quinn?

If it's given back then that means interference from cowen.
    I don't know, but if there is seen to be political interference here, there will be a lot of anger amongst the electorate outside of Cavan (which after all is just one half of one constituency)

In the space of less than 2 years, the general public has gone from being mostly indifferent about gombeenism and corruption to wanting to see a (metaphorical) hanging. The wily Fingers, Seanie and Neary have made their escape but the new regulator has Sean Quinn by the balls.

Yes they have him by the balls alright. Its now a question if they will give him a telling off or squeeze even harder.

I cant see cowen not interfering at some level,as you pointed out yourself gombeenisim is happening at quinn.

I hope i am wrong but I can see another escape just like Haughey,Bertie,Seanie Fitzpatrick, Drumm the list goes on and on.It will be the usual case...

Ahh sure he is a great fella, salt of the earth, a peoples man he employees 5000 people and in perfect gombeen man style he will get a telling off.

I hope im wrong though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Taxipete29

PeteEd wrote: »
    Quinn staff should suck it up and get on with it like the rest of us. Yes its not nice people losing their jobs but they are not the first and certainly will not the last to work for a company which over stretched itself.

No white knight came to save me and my 700 colleges when we all lost our jobs due to poor business decisions made by our company management and their banks, so what the hell makes them think they are any different.

Sean Quinn made bad decisions and the financial regulators findings were made for the good of everyone and not the X number of people sailing on the good ship Quinn.

I lost my job so everyone else should lose theirs too, is that your attitude??? And you think the Quinn workers are arrogant. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,932 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

I agree with you that the employees sporting the "financial wreckulator" and such and such signs are a pitiful sight. I do feel sorry for them as I would not like to loose my job but they need to wake up and smell the cheese, the regulator is doing his job.

But the attitude that the FR is "out to get" people seems to be an opinion shared by alot of people. Kind of convinces me that once this whole thing has settled down (give it 10-15 years), people will have learned absolutely nothing.

But of course, ask the average joe normal (90% of the population) and they'll tell you the recession was caused by FF, a few bankers and a hand full of developers. Sure why not, and Hitler caused WW2 all by himself :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭PeteEd

Taxipete29 wrote: »
    I lost my job so everyone else should lose theirs too, is that your attitude??? And you think the Quinn workers are arrogant. :rolleyes:

Where did i say i thought people should lose their jobs?

OP pointed out how naive some Quinn employees were by blaming the FR and not their god like boss, which i was merely agreeing with.

in my opinion they have the view that just because they work for a insurance/financial company, a quick march round cavan and enniskillen combined with countless bleats about whole families working, mortgages and children, a government bail out will come flying in and save everyones job.

This is arrogant as Quinn will undoubtedly lose business and so undoubtedly shed staff. So suck it up like the tens of thousands who have quietly gone about there unemployment before them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Taxipete29

Where did i say i thought people should lose their jobs?

OP pointed out how naive some Quinn employees were by blaming the FR and not their god like boss, which i was merely agreeing with.

in my opinion they have the view that just because they work for a insurance/financial company, a quick march round cavan and enniskillen combined with countless bleats about whole families working, mortgages and children, a government bail out will come flying in and save everyones job.

This is arrogant as Quinn will undoubtedly lose business and so undoubtedly shed staff. So suck it up like the tens of thousands who have quietly gone about there unemployment before them.

Reread your own post and tell me it doesnt smack of arrogance.

Nobody saved my job, what makes them different etc.

While Sean Quinn might have a neck like AP McCoys undercarriage, his staff are merely trying to save their jobs. They may be wrong in their assesment of the situation, but they dont want to go without a fight and I cant blame them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭NUIG_FiannaFail

Sean Quinn is being treated like the Duke of Cavan. The peasants up in Cavan should really cop on and stop treating him like he's their Lord Protector.

It's quite like how Haughey is regarded around his area. "lord haughey" as I have heard him dubbed (I live in the area).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭supermonkey

RichardAnd wrote: »
    It's quite like how Haughey is regarded around his area. "lord haughey" as I have heard him dubbed (I live in the area).
    If you are talking about Edward Haughey he is a lord he bought a peerage from the tories ages ago.

Yes they have him by the balls alright. Its now a question if they will give him a telling off or squeeze even harder.

I cant see cowen not interfering at some level,as you pointed out yourself gombeenisim is happening at quinn.

I hope i am wrong but I can see another escape just like Haughey,Bertie,Seanie Fitzpatrick, Drumm the list goes on and on.It will be the usual case...

Ahh sure he is a great fella, salt of the earth, a peoples man he employees 5000 people and in perfect gombeen man style he will get a telling off.

I hope im wrong though

they have him by he balls but at least he has balls to grab

1 sean quinn is worth 100 white knights sniping from their keyboards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭NUIG_FiannaFail

M cebee wrote: »
    they have him by he balls but at least he has balls to grab

1 sean quinn is worth 100 white knights sniping from their keyboards

I don't see how owning a dodgy insurance firm makes him some kind of hero?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,129 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

BrianD3 wrote: »
    escape but the new regulator has Sean Quinn by the balls.

too late now

the media salivating over the astroturf protests

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

Of course its always the management or the banks or the developers that lose the jobs , never the uncompetitive employees of exaggerated salary's or their unions that cause business to fail , this board is made up of whingers , most who unlike sean quinn never took a gamble in their lives unless you consider a cardboard 3 bed semi in greater dublin a gamble and then of course the poor dears, blame the nasty banks for giving them 100% mortgages , or maybe we can all go live in the other cloud cuckoo land of the public service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭DidierMc

I heard Sean Quinn is forcing his employees to protest outside Leinster House. Most of them don't even want to be there. In fact alot of them persoannly dislike the way Quinn is run ie It's extremely authoritarian, very anti-union, fines for making simple mistakes etc. Sean Quinn is a complete cowboy and not fit to run a business. It should be taken off him and run by someone appointed by the regulator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

the quinn workers remind me of the public sector workers, they just do not understand, or possibly comprehend what is about to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

DidierMc wrote: »
    I heard Sean Quinn is forcing his employees to protest outside Leinster House. Most of them don't even want to be there. In fact alot of them persoannly dislike the way Quinn is run ie It's extremely authoritarian, very anti-union, fines for making simple mistakes etc. Sean Quinn is a complete cowboy and not fit to run a business. It should be taken off him and run by someone appointed by the regulator.

its the cotton mills all over again, they say he uses a whip too !. maybe we should take it off him and give it to the 'brothers ' in liberty hall to run it ,am sure they will do a great job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

Welcome to Ireland.

Financial Regulator drops the ball for the last 10 years.Country goes down the toilet.People screaming for heads to roll and that it's all the FR's and the bankers faults. New FR steps in. Promises new regime. People (sceptically) think "great". New FR goes after man with massive insurance company, involved up to his eyeballs with the most rotten bank in the country and with a history of breaking regulations over the last number of years. People stand back and say "hang on a second now. Sure he's a great man. Go after....the other men".External observers think "what the F%&k??????"

We cannot have our cake and eat it too. We want - and need - new ways of doing business in this country, with tighter regulations. What we had DID NOT WORK!!!!!! I know there are 5500 jobs involved. I'm sure Sean Quinn did lots of good things. But we are talking about a man who has a record of being fined for breaking regulations over the last number of years. A man who is apparently desperate that we don't know what is going on with him and Anglo. A man who appears to think he has enough cash to bail himself out, yet for some reason is attracting the regulators attention anyway. A man who seems to feel the need to keep telling us he's done nothing wrong.

The 5500 people who work for him don't seem to realise that if things went sour in the morning for him, we wouldn't see him for dust. And the last thing in his mind would be all the people who keep telling us how wonderful he is. Yes it's terrible - but if he's broken the rules he has to pay. Bottom line. It's about time somebody put their foot down and enforced the few regulations we do have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

Taxipete29 wrote: »
    Reread your own post and tell me it doesnt smack of arrogance.

I read his post; it doesn't smack of arrogance.
    In the least actually.

Put your guns away and try rereading his post first.
    PeteEd wrote:

That's actually one of the best posts I've seen for quite for a while in fact.
    A) Quinn staff will have to accept the fact that this happens. Not the first and certainly won't be the last. How many other countless companies has it happened to in modern Ireland?
    B) No special treatment or bail outs for him and his business. Just like the rest of the country.
    What makes Quinn different? His profile? His connections?
    Emotional blackmail?

C) Quinn is in this position because he made decisions. Not his staff, not his family, not the Taoiseach. Him. He made the decisions.
    When is being done right now is to protect the rest of the country. It's terrible and unfortunate for Quinn staff, we all agree.
    But we know where flouting the rules has gotten us.

I don't see anything unreasonable in what he said.

(He also made the astute point that Quinn will shed many of their jobs anyway, even if he did get a bailout or special treatment)

Hey Dan and Pete. What a great posts you wrote. Brilliant actually.

I can also see the comparison with public sector workers with Quinn workers. Quinn workers are just not getting it, they seem brainwashed by this chancer and cowboy to everyone without quinn tinted glasses on. Everyone else can see through this guy, the rest of the country isin't buying his "Im an innocent man, I did nothing wrong

They can't see that he is neck deep in **** with Anglo.(The full extent we don't know, is he neck deep in debt to other banks outside of the state???

They seem that it's ok to remove funds from it's insurance wing and subsidize his other operations??

They think the regulator should be strong armed into giving them more time by bringing hoardes of quinn workers by bus to protest in Dublin? Im sorry but protesting will do SFA.

I'm sorry but Sean quinn getting more time and control, will give him an opportunity to slime his way out of this issue, this cannot happen the FR needs to appoint an administrator on a permanent basis to ensure this rotten company is run in the interest of the policyholder, if they can actually get policyholders to stick with them.

If you are talking about Edward Haughey he is a lord he bought a peerage from the tories ages ago.

Nope, I'm talking about our former head of government, a Charlie Haughey. Should have made that clearer but I've never heard of Edward Haughey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭SkepticOne

I can kind of see it from the Quinn employees point of view even though as someone not under threat of redundancy, I don't agree with it.

From a survival point of view it may not make much sense turning on your boss even though he is the ultimate cause of the problems. If the staff openly blamed Quinn that would make it politically much easier to shut the business down rather than try and rescue it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I don't see how owning a dodgy insurance firm makes him some kind of hero?

Holy crap! I find myself agreeing with NUIG!!!!!

If Quinn genuinely respected his workers, he wouldn't have put their jobs at risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

Sorry am I missing something here?
    Did he or his family borrow money from Anglo-Irish?
    Was some of that money used to buy shares in Anglo-irish?

If that was done surely there would be consequences?

If he gets away with this we have learned nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Surprise, surprise, there is more to this than what Quinn are spinning:

Seán Quinn's risky business

Far too much of the Assets are tied up in Property, hardly the most liquid at the minute and on top of that a lot of business is in Property, Hotels, Pubs and Commercial Property. They doubled there Property Assets in 06 and 07 so they must have took a big hit.

They seem to write policies at unrealistic prices, never mind the above.

Also to quote:
    Within a month of Seán Quinn and QIL paying a record fine to the regulator, in October 2008, for unauthorised inter-company loans to cover personal investment losses, the company admitted it could not meet its obligations under a financial recovery plan, agreed only in May 2008 due to deteriorating economic conditions which at the time were affecting property and share values. This problem persisted into last month when the regulator had to tell Quinn yet again that its projected investment returns on assets were "very optimistic" and that therefore its profit forecasts were "unrealistic".

This pattern of unsupported optimism was also evident in Seán Quinn's own share trading, through which he built up an enormous and unsustainable stake in Anglo Irish Bank through contracts for difference (CFDs) – financial instruments that expose investors not only to gains and losses in a stock, but to leverage. Using CFDs to build up a stake of nearly 30% in Anglo, Quinn ultimately lost billions. In addition, he is known to have lost hundreds of millions on construction firm McInerney.

"To use CFDs in conjunction with the 'buy and hope to God it goes up' strategy is a recipe for disaster and shows no understanding of the product and the financial markets," said Paul Sommerville, head of private clients at spread betting firm Delta Index. "To concentrate investment in one bank which specialises in lending money to yourself and your friends in construction is crazy and any financial adviser with six months' training could tell you that."

If Seán Quinn's one-way bet on banking and property affected only his personal fortune, it would be a mere sideshow. But because it has implicated one of the largest insurance companies in Ireland through intracompany borrowings and security guarantees involving QIL subsidiaries, the future of the entire Quinn Group could be at stake.

Quinn and those speaking on his behalf have said repeatedly in the past 10 days that QIL can trade its way out of difficulties, yet as the regulator's affidavit shows, the company – not to mention Seán Quinn himself – has repeatedly traded into difficulty, such that the watchdog finally felt there was no choice but to appoint administrators.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

hughkane wrote: »
    Each to fight for their own wealth. Would you not?

Ha, I wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,051 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

This guy has something to hide

Quinn coming on RTE saying the regulator is going to put 5500 jobs in harms way also trying to get his government cronies to put pressure on the regulator / Pointing the blame on the regulator....WTF How can this be the regulators fault? it was Quinn who took monies from the policyholders fund.

His employees are also very naive, saying he is

A great man
    A gentle soul
    An Honest man
    etc etc.....

I had to laugh at the employees holding signs saying "FINANCIAL REGULATOR" This again is complete paddyisim, he was have a F.R actually doing good and spotting holes in an insurance company, but when he uis trying to fix this he is the bad guy.

Quinn. He is a classic bully, he wants to be the only one to break the rules and get away with it, a total cowboy who shifted funds from Quinn insurance to his family fund and i hope the whole house of quinn collapses on top of him. I hope they go under because it will prevent another chancer from doing it again.

Quinn employees. If you are looking for someone to blame, look no further than your glorious leader.

I hope to god they are put into administration for the sake of the policyholders.

I Was away when this pile of ****e broke out, the dogs on the street knew this company was acting the maggot, just looked back on the antics of this companies highly motivated staff marching on the street seeking sympathy and media spin campaign, its complete Bollox and it amazed me that none of these people realized what in fact caused this debacle, namely stupidity, greed and naivety of Quinn and family, i doubt anyone of them will have sleepless nights when this debacle is over. Further to this, listening to Quinn spout on about the Quinn group having its own unique management style, local based, Big local employer BLAA BLAA BLAA is just astonishing, not once in any of his well planned interviews on local and national press did he volunteer to admit his own stupidity, his dealings with Anglo (now trying to bale him out) or the fact Quinn Insurance is in breach of standard regulatory practices, it is beyond belief after what us, the citizens of this country have had to put up with over the past 12 months. Sell this company on i say and let them sink or swim. God bless them all, they are so wonderful, i am sure they will survive in what will be the REAL WORLD.

Thank God for a regulator who is actually doing what he is paid to do!

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I feel sorry for the Quinn staff I do but the Financial Regulator needs to be allowed do his job. If Quinn does go under it will be because of one reason the greed and gambling by those in charge of the company.

Just because someone is the biggest employer in an area shouldn't exempt them from the rules and regulations. They were fined for breach of regulations before and obviously didn't heed the warning so the Financial Regulator is right to get tougher this time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Feel sorry for the workers but the man's hiding something no doubt and i hope his downfall is a signal to other chancers that the games up. Fair play to the regulator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,048 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

We need to prove to the rest of the world that our new financial regulator (unlike his predecessor Neary) is actually going to regulate in future. If Quinn is in breach of anything then let the Regulator do his job and let Quinn be the first to be cleaned up. If we don't have a reputation we have nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

Quinn claims that he has disclosed these guarantees for the past number of years, so obviously the old FR was either asked to ignore the fack or just chose too. But doesn't anyone think it would have been fairer for the new FR to give quinn time to sort it out rather than just say tough luck.

Also what happens if the Insurance company is sold, it is probably his only profitable part of the group at the moment and if sold will mean he most likely won't be able to repay the debts to Anglo meaning the Tax payer gets stuck with another 3 billion in debt.

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

I do feel sorry for his employees - as someone whose job is under threat aswell, I understand what they are saying. Unfortunately, they are caught in the cross fire. The man has broken the rules. The Regulator needs to be let do his job. I don't think anybody here thinks those people should lose their jobs, but I'm fairly sure everyone here would agree that Quinn has to be brought in line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭ocokev

I was having this discussion with an abusive drunk over the weekend in our local.
    He claimed 5500 people would loose their jobs if Quinn Health Insurance went bust.
    I argued that this is the amount of people who work in the Quinn group which includes Quinn Health, Quinn Insurance,Quinn Insulation, Quinn Hotels,Quinn Radiators etc, but the media are protraying it so it seems that 5500 will loose their jobs if Quinn Health go into admin.
    Can someone clear how many jobs might be lost.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0330/quinn.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Apparently there is 2000 jobs involved in Quinn Insurance.
    Marian Finucane had a show in the weekend where there was a Quinn Apologist on and thats what he mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭zootroid

I'm not sure how true any of that is, but the only thing that should be of concern here is are Quinn insurance insolvent, and are they breaking the regulations set down by the financial regulator?

If so, then the regulator should be allowed take the steps he feels necessary to protect the public.

It really is that simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭DidierMc

flutered wrote: »
    the quinn workers remind me of the public sector workers, they just do not understand, or possibly comprehend what is about to happen.

They are nothing like public sector workers. Public sector workers support regulation and are against bail outs for private sector crooks. Quinn workers are morons who want no regulation and think Sean Quinn is some sort of God.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

well much ado about nothing (so far). Its been postponed for a week apparently

http://www.breakingnews.ie/archives/2010/0412/ireland/quinn-insurance-court-battle-with-regulator-adjourned-453575.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

Quinn Health present a nice image until you claim ... then look at the small print.

Anyone that doesn't clarify what exactly they are covered for have only themselves too blame.

You do know when insurance companies payout when they shouldn't that everyone else pays for it e.g the uninsured drivers fund, people that have no NCT, provisional drivers with no fully licensed drivers in the car when they crash. All these issues are covered under law for a reason so in essence these people are all invalidating their insurance.

Insurance companies that pay out in these situations are bending the rules the same as Quinn is.