Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car Options - Circa €80-90K to spend...

• 11-04-2010 8:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭

I'm currently looking at what my next car will be. I'll more than likely be purchasing the car this time next year but I'm currently trying to narrow the field down.

I was going to hold out until the new M3 was out and spend a little bit more on it but I just want to see what else is out there.

Currently I'm looking along the lines of:

08 Porsche 911 - Would probably come in around €85K
    07 Aston Martin V8 Vantage - Probably around €85 - 90K
    08 Maserati Granturismo - €90K

I'm wondering if there's anything else out there and what you guys think about the cars that I've mentioned above. Naturally the prices above are based on current prices so presumably I'd be able to get a year newer for my money when I actually go to change.

Of the cars above I think the Maserati would be the most interesting to me but I feel the actual cost of bringing would of the in would probably work out more than 90K.

Any opinions would be great....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

NOTE:

This thread was closed due to unhelpful/smart answers.

The OP has PM'd me to say that this is a legitimate request.

Therefore I'd appreciate it if any posters here could please keep their replies helpful and informative.
    Where the OP's money comes from, what age they are, whether you think this is a wise move in the current economy - these are not helpful posts and please don't bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

fair play OP,

Id personally have the aston,
    what about the RS4 either?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭glaston

Nice to see begrudgery is alive and well!

Anywy I'd buy two cars:)

One for comfort...
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/***-VIP-/200937195168786/advert?channel=CARS

One for fun...
    Oops search link didnt work, Lotus Exige.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

-Chris- wrote: »
    NOTE:

This thread was closed due to unhelpful/smart answers.

The OP has PM'd me to say that this is a legitimate request.

Therefore I'd appreciate it if any posters here could please keep their replies helpful and informative.
    Where the OP's money comes from, what age they are, whether you think this is a wise move in the current economy - these are not helpful posts and please don't bother.

Thanks for this Chris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Check with the Insurance companies.

They may not even Insure you on any of the cars you might like as you are only 20 years old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Berty wrote: »

They may not even Insure you on any of the cars you might like.

That's an important point too - make sure to do your sums with regard to running costs. If it costs you €2k for a set of tyres, €1k for a service, €100+ per week in petrol and massive amounts in insurance costs, the purchasing of the car may be only the tip of the iceberg.

Does anyone have any experience of the costs of running one of these cars?

glaston wrote: »
    Nice to see begrudgery is alive and well!

Anywy I'd buy two cars:)

One for comfort...
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/3-Series/***-VIP-/200937195168786/advert?channel=CARS

One for fun...
    Oops search link didnt work, Lotus Exige.

Thanks Glaston.

I'm currently driving an E90 3 series not as powerful as the 335 though. From what I've heard most people seem to feel that the M3 would be wasted on Irish roads and that a high end 335 would be the way to go. I've driven both recently and while you can feel a difference there isn't a huge difference and as yet I haven't decided if the M3 is worth the extra cash. Being honest I could easily end up holding out for a new 335 coupe when it comes out.

The Lotus - I've never driven one of these but I've heard that there amazing cars to drive. The size would kill me though. Some of the cars I mentioned are small but nothing like the Lotus!

Thanks for the input.

Going back to the other thread which was closed.

My original suggestion still stands.

Mercedes C63 AMG. Comes in on your budget and a nice motor to boot.

542692_956118_3200_3200_07A1341.JPG

cabrwab wrote: »
    fair play OP,

Id personally have the aston,
    what about the RS4 either?

Yup the S/RS audi's are an option. I'm not a fan of the new A4 so that's off the list. The S5 is a nice car but there like €100K new for a nice spec one and I think it's just to much for what you get.

I suppose I'm not hugely into Audi's and I think if I went for one of them I'd end up wanting to change it after 12 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭vengeance52

There is a nice ex demo 2010 Audi S5 in Deansgrange. Its black white nearly white interior. Quite nice at €85k.

They may not even Insure you on any of the cars you might like as you are only 20 years old.

21 since Friday!

I've looked at insurance quotes and it'll cost me anything from €3,500 - €6,000 to insure for 12 months depending on what I go for.

It's nearly impossible to get insurance on an Aston or Maserati. The others are ok though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

That Vanquish has to be plus VRT doesn't it? A Vanquish would be an unbelievable buy but from the ones I was looking at there all out of my price range. That one is nice if that's the all in price.

The GT-R is probably a bit to boy racerish for me. Can you imagine the looks I'd get - 21 driving a GT-R? The Gardai would have a field day with me...

Going back to the other thread which was closed.

My original suggestion still stands.

Mercedes C63 AMG. Comes in on your budget and a nice motor to boot.

542692_956118_3200_3200_07A1341.JPG

I've always associated Mercedes as being for the older generation. The styling on the AMG C is aggressive and probably brings it on to my list. Now all I have to do is find one to test drive to see how see compares!

-Chris- wrote: »
    That's an important point too - make sure to do your sums with regard to running costs. If it costs you €2k for a set of tyres, €1k for a service, €100+ per week in petrol and massive amounts in insurance costs, the purchasing of the car may be only the tip of the iceberg.

Does anyone have any experience of the costs of running one of these cars?

I'd be hoping tyres would come in closer to €1,200 getting them done up the North. Similarly if I go a BMW I'll get her serviced up the North in David Prentice to cut the costs. I get my 3 Series serviced up there at the moment.

I'd imagine petrol would cost me closer to €150 per week. I'm currently spending €75 - €80.

If I ended up going for a 335D I'd be able to cut down on running costs:

Insurance circa €2,750
    Diesel probably €90 per week
    Full set of tyres would be €1,200

vectra wrote: »

I love the M5 but think it's more of an option for when I have a family in toe (hopefully not for another few years!). Plus the new M5 will be out in the next twelve months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭kazul

I'm puzzled that you think an M3 might be wasted on Irish roads but you are considering Aston and Maserati :confused:

+1 for GT-R

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

http://www.ginettacars.com/roadcar_range_details.php?id=6

Anyone know what these yokes cost? I want one..... as soon as the lotto lets me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

AMG is the way to go. Comfort, luxury and lots of power without being obvious about it. The M3 is a tad too common on our roads to be unique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭1916

Maserati Granturismo is a beautiful car, have had a few spins in one and its divine, engine sounds fantastic. Only thing that spoiled it for me was the radio, it looked like something you'd find in a Ford Focus, backlit green, yuck! I assume its the standard fit, but ruined the look of the interior. Ok you don't buy the car for the interior alone, but you'd have thought some style would have gone in, having said that the Masi would be my pick of the 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭1916

Shane732 wrote: »
    I'd be hoping tyres would come in closer to €1,200 getting them done up the North. Similarly if I go a BMW I'll get her serviced up the North in David Prentice to cut the costs. I get my 3 Series serviced up there at the moment.

I'd imagine petrol would cost me closer to €150 per week. I'm currently spending €75 - €80.

If I ended up going for a 335D I'd be able to cut down on running costs:

Insurance circa €2,750
    Diesel probably €90 per week
    Full set of tyres would be €1,200

Tyres will be €2,000 on the Masi and you'll get about 15,000 klms on a set, provided your not doing Mondello

I'm running a 330 petrol and you don't get many Klms per litre on these!

RFT's at €1200 are about righton the 335

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭gpjordanf1

Currently I'm looking along the lines of:

08 Porsche 911 - Would probably come in around €85K

I've narrowed it down for you OP, The Porsche all day every day, nothing compares. Having driven one at a track day can honestly say it blew me away! Oh and from Top Gear, the hamster is always right, any other decision and you'll be in Jeremy's camp.wish I was in your position! Wish you the very best of luck and hope you post pics here when you get sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

I looked after one of our customer's MD's last week who has a 335i.

It goes through rear tyres after 10-15k, and the front ones are not too far behind. The car has upgraded 19" wheels, but a full set of tyres comes in around 1600e.

I also had it serviced, and that cost around 400e for a minor job.
    I wouldnt skimp on your annual maintenance costs, lets put it that way Shane.

If you tell me what car your interested in, I can work out how much it could possibly cost you (or what I would be happy charging a customer to maintain it in a lease). If your interested in seeing the figures you should work off, just PM me.

Anyhow, If it was me I'd go for either the GTR and blow all my money, or buy a 09 Focus RS, throw a bit of money on it with some engine mods, and buy a nice second hand M3 Cabrio too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,475 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Confab wrote: »
    AMG is the way to go. Comfort, luxury and lots of power without being obvious about it. The M3 is a tad too common on our roads to be unique.

the new m3 isnt a common site on the roads,

plus there is a reason that you see more m bmws than amg mercs

altho i do like the c63 and sl63 :)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

That Vanquish has to be plus VRT doesn't it? A Vanquish would be an unbelievable buy but from the ones I was looking at there all out of my price range. That one is nice if that's the all in price.

The GT-R is probably a bit to boy racerish for me. Can you imagine the looks I'd get - 21 driving a GT-R? The Gardai would have a field day with me...

I think your gonna get that attention from any of there cars...not just the GT-R..........

In my opinion the GT-R or AMG for the win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭vengeance52

The whole point is the looks as well as how it drives. I see a few AMGs about, but other mates who arnt into cars dont give them a second look.

Drive down the road in a GT-R, and the unique look of it will defo turn heads and the only thing you would have worry about is smudge marks on the window from people looking in it when its parked up :P

The GTR seems to be getting some good mentions. Has anyone ever driven one of them? There pretty rare on the ground. Also I'm imagine the residual sales value of them won't be too bad as there will always be a boy racer looking to spend the cash on something like than. Naturally I appreciate that any car in this price range is going to take a big hammering in relation to the residuals!

My comment about the M3 being wasted on Irish roads would also apply to the Aston, Maserati and the Porsche.

GPJordan - You may just be right. A guy I know sent me across some info on a Targa 4S that would probably work out around the €80K mark. Looks likes a very nice car and is something I'd definitely be very interested in at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

The GTR seems to be getting some good mentions. Has anyone ever driven one of them? There pretty rare on the ground. Also I'm imagine the residual sales value of them won't be too bad as there will always be a boy racer looking to spend the cash on something like than.

I dont think you quite grasp what a boy racer is? :confused:

A "boy racer" wont be able to afford a GT-R for 15 - 20 years!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

The GTR seems to be getting some good mentions. Has anyone ever driven one of them? There pretty rare on the ground. Also I'm imagine the residual sales value of them won't be too bad as there will always be a boy racer looking to spend the cash on something like than. Naturally I appreciate that any car in this price range is going to take a big hammering in relation to the residuals!

They are pretty much a Playstation on wheels.

If you're a relatively basic lad like myself, it probably wouldn't be the car for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

An R35...boy racer...they should never be put in the same sentence. The R35 is one of the best cars for that kind of money. You're 21, you've all your life to have the sensible BMW's. The GTR is a super car, I can't imagine the Guards giving you any hassle in it at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭CONM

Ferrari 430, you should be able to get an 06 or 05 one for that money at the minute. That's what I'd go for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

GTR.
    In your position, I really could not see myself going for anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

whats so hard for people to read the whole thread before posting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

OP, buy a ferrari 360 and be done with it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Alright, off-topic posts have been deleted, and posts amended. Let's keep this on topic, the OP didn't come on here to explain his life to the world. This is the motors forum, and he's asking a motors related question. That's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

I am looking at cars in the same price bracket. I'm not buying for another few months yet though. I just bought a nice motorbike and live in a congested city. I'll wait a bit.

The V8 Vantage is the car that's winning in my mind. I think its rare on Irish roads, it looks sublime, performs fantastically and I dont think I'd be tempted to change it for years..

Maseratis running costs are far too high and the depreciation is crippling. Though it is stunning in most respects, I think its a brave choice.

The 911 is just too common, (I know plenty of people with vintage 911's, new ones, caymans and boxers. -Nobody with an Aston) though as a package it's probably the smartest choice. Go a bit older and you can afford a 911 turbo.

I have been looking in the UK mind you and I'm not liable for VRT. With a bit more patience (ie saving) I can (and you could) own an R8 too. Though I'm not too sure it is a practical Supercar. Capital S.

Any Ferrari and I reckon you're looking at 15-20k a year to run it. Too rich for me.
    BMW's are boring, and FAR too many of all the variants on Irish roads.
    Mercedes are for retirees.
    GTR is for japanese boy racers.
    You cant afford the V12 Vantage.

Happy Hunting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

fluffer wrote: »
    I am looking at cars in the same price bracket. I'm not buying for another few months yet though. I just bought a nice motorbike and live in a congested city. I'll wait a bit.

The V8 Vantage is the car that's winning in my mind. I think its rare on Irish roads, it looks sublime, performs fantastically and I dont think I'd be tempted to change it for years..

Maseratis running costs are far too high and the depreciation is crippling. Though it is stunning in most respects, I think its a brave choice.

The 911 is just too common, (I know plenty of people with vintage 911's, new ones, caymans and boxers. -Nobody with an Aston) though as a package it's probably the smartest choice. Go a bit older and you can afford a 911 turbo.

I have been looking in the UK mind you and I'm not liable for VRT. With a bit more patience (ie saving) I can (and you could) own an R8 too. Though I'm not too sure it is a practical Supercar. Capital S.

Any Ferrari and I reckon you're looking at 15-20k a year to run it. Too rich for me.
    BMW's are boring, and FAR too many of all the variants on Irish roads.
    Mercedes are for retirees.
    GTR is for japanese boy racers.
    You cant afford the V12 Vantage.

Happy Hunting!

???:confused:

???

The OP is right. Gardai would love him especially in a Japanese performance car. Its in the profile.
    Not only that but at every single traffic light he will get people trying to race him. He will constantly live in fear of people trying to nick it. IMO more than the rest of the cars. I just think its too desirable to the wrong demographic.

Dont get me wrong. I want one. I really want one. But its not the right choice for me. The OP has already said so for the same reason.

SV wrote: »
    OP, buy a ferrari 360 and be done with it! :D
    Why would he get a 360 when he could get a 430 for 80-90 grand. The 430 is a far superior car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

fluffer wrote: »
    The OP is right. Gardai would love him especially in a Japanese performance car. Its in the profile.
    Not only that but at every single traffic light he will get people trying to race him. He will constantly live in fear of people trying to nick it. IMO more than the rest of the cars. I just think its too desirable to the wrong demographic.

Dont get me wrong. I want one. I really want one. But its not the right choice for me. The OP has already said so for the same reason.

I had to stop myself laughing after reading this post. Hopefully I can keep it in long enough to post.

The "profile" as you put it would be young lads in jap cars from the 90's, relatively small engined cars <2.0 costing < €10k driving around like an @rse.

No Garda will be interested in someone in a €85k car with a 3.8 engine costing €1566 a year to tax because its so far off the "profile" its not even funny.

I think all the cars mentioned would lead to security concerns, all of them will be targets for high end thieves not just the GT-R, a little small time thieve wouldn't be able to steal it.

Its bad enough discounting a car because of a stereotype but its a terrible thing when you dont even have that stereotype correct

"GTR is for japanese boy racers."

I just cant fathom how anyone could think this, is it simple badge snobbery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I'd buy a Brera and a big bike!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

CONM wrote: »
    Why would he get a 360 when he could get a 430 for 80-90 grand. The 430 is a far superior car.

really?
    haven't seen any 430s at that kind of money..

SV wrote: »
    really?
    haven't seen any 430s at that kind of money..
    Well the cheapest one on carzone is an 06 for 100,000 and there's an 05 with POA up. I'd be amazed if u couldn't get one of those for 80-90
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ferrari/F430/F1/200918192668015/advert?channel=CARS
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ferrari/F430/201011197251261/advert?channel=CARS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

I think most bases have been covered so far, however given your age and the car you are coming from why don't you get something a little lower down the scale like a 370z. At least you get the thrill of a fast sporty new car now and maybe upgrade in a year or two again. If you get something like a 911 now where do you go in a couple of years? My advice - don't shoot all your bullets now.

The "profile" as you put it would be young lads in jap cars from the 90's, relatively small engined cars <2.0 costing < €10k driving around like an @rse.
    Agreed. To someone who has a clue about cars. To anyone who isnt into cars it fits nicely into that bracket.

I reckon 90% of the population would see the GTR as just another boyracer car. Just a particularly pimp one.
    It has fairly extreme looks to be fair, and that's where this is coming from.
    is it simple badge snobbery?
    Nope. Like I said I want one. But its just TOO performance orientated for me. I would want the style and ability at that price. If not I'd want two cars. And I never really want to have to own two cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

TheBazman wrote: »
    I think most bases have been covered so far, however given your age and the car you are coming from why don't you get something a little lower down the scale like a 370z. At least you get the thrill of a fast sporty new car now and maybe upgrade in a year or two again. If you get something like a 911 now where do you go in a couple of years? My advice - don't shoot all your bullets now.
    I can't agree with you more on this. I'd buy something mid range and upgrade again in maybe 2-3 years. Even longer if I loved the car.

TTRS might also be worth a look. And also do seriously consider the two car route that's what I did with a similar budget.