Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Macklin v Duddy

• 10-04-2010 12:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭

Just wondering have i missed something. During the Barker fight on Sky tonight the commentators said that Macklin had given up his European belt (this i knew) and was signed up for a big money fight with John Duddy??

First i had heard of it. I even rewound it twice to make sure i wasnt hearing things. Anyone know anything about it or is it just usual sky bullsh1t?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

was pondering the same myself. Boxrec still has Duddy down to fight Chavez jr in June

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭deisedelight

doubt it - his fight was only recently announced for san atonio in a 15 k stadium plus his purse will be much larger for fighting chavez (that fight is ppv too). cant see that happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Not happening, Macklin is still recovering from his broken nose and Duddy is fighting the joke Chavez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Duddy :rolleyes: I'm sick of waiting around for this guy - same goes for Lee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Josef Fritzl

Where the hell did Sky Sports hear about this happening?

Duddy is fighting Chavez Jr. in June, so this will NOT be happening any time soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Vintagekits

Where the hell did Sky Sports hear about this happening?

Duddy is fighting Chavez Jr. in June, so this will NOT be happening any time soon.

my guess is that they are talking out their arse, unless Brian Peters is about to pull an almighty rabbit out of a hat then this aint true.

I spoke to both within the last few weeks and this is the fight that was furtherest from their minds.

This wont happen without a world title on the line - Duddy has a bigger money lower risk option in JCCJ so why would he go for Macklin - he wouldnt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Rob113

knew it was a crock of sh1t. Cant see Macklin needing Duddy at this stage. Sky do waffle something desperate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

Am I the only one who thinks Duddy is a distinctly average boxer who's going nowhere?

Yer no the only one. Who said he was anything else?I'd say he is a little better than average though. As for going no where - seems to get to fight on some big bills and there be plenty of demand to see the man fight, not to mention that he is probably the most recognised and highest earning Irish boxer around at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭cppromotions

i agree John Duddy hasnt lived up to expectations so far he seems to have reached his limits but what he lacks in boxing skill he makes up for in sheer guts and heart as far as Matthew Macklin is concerned i am still not convinced apart from beating wayne Elcock who i believe wasnt that great i dont think he is world class, he won the European Title with a first round KO but so did Kiko Martinez and what has he done since . I would like to see Matthew fight a couple of top 15 fighters first and i think if he is to be great then he is with the right man in Freddie Roach dont get me wrong i want him to suceed but right now i am still not convinced.

I think due to mis management (Smichet fight aside) Duddy hasnt reached his potential. Which imo is a 154 title win or a big pay day and punchers chance with pavlik. As of late his performances havent been what they used to be and its not as if he is stepping up in class. He needs a big win over chavez jr cause if its in anyway close he is not getting the decision.

As for Macklin he did beat a top 15 fighter in asikainen. Rated 6th or so by the ring, boxrec and other independant rankings. Imo he has improved a lot over the years and has found a nice middle ground between boxing and punching and his conditioning seems to have improved as well. Now he is with Freddie Roach I just hope that improves and its a wise choice.
    Very different to kiko the one trick pony (to his credit he is still just 24 and been in with some decent opposition since announcing himself in the point)

Anyway Id have Macklin as favourite to pick up a world title out of himself, Lee and Duddy but things could get interesting at euro level. Lee must be very motivated seeing 2 guys he beat fight for the european title.

joepenguin wrote: »
    I think due to mis management (Smichet fight aside) Duddy hasnt reached his potential. Which imo is a 154 title win or a big pay day and punchers chance with pavlik. As of late his performances havent been what they used to be and its not as if he is stepping up in class. He needs a big win over chavez jr cause if its in anyway close he is not getting the decision.

As for Macklin he did beat a top 15 fighter in asikainen. Rated 6th or so by the ring, boxrec and other independant rankings. Imo he has improved a lot over the years and has found a nice middle ground between boxing and punching and his conditioning seems to have improved as well. Now he is with Freddie Roach I just hope that improves and its a wise choice.
    Very different to kiko the one trick pony (to his credit he is still just 24 and been in with some decent opposition since announcing himself in the point)

Anyway Id have Macklin as favourite to pick up a world title out of himself, Lee and Duddy but things could get interesting at euro level. Lee must be very motivated seeing 2 guys he beat fight for the european title.

Agreed if anyone's getting a title it's Macklin...

I want to see Andy Lee and Duddy tested. I suppose Chavez Jr is it for Duddy... Andy Lee has really regressed, shocking considering he's got Manny Stewart at his back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,375 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Hate to step on toes and burst bubbles, but Lee and Duddy and Macklin aren't going far
    on the world scene as longs as Pavlik is at Middle. And, Pavlik isn't superhuman, he is simply a notch and more above these guys.

Duddy too small, weak and hittable. Lee, too one dimensional and lacks stamina and Macklin is slightly being overrated.

walshb wrote: »
    Hate to step on toes and burst bubbles, but Lee and Duddy and Macklin aren't going far
    on the world scene as longs as Pavlik is at Middle. And, Pavlik isn't superhuman, he is simply a notch and more above these guys.

Duddy too small, weak and hittable. Lee, too one dimensional and lacks stamina and Macklin is slightly being overrated.

its not like you to píss on Irish chips Bren! ;) I actually think that Lee can come good, the stamina issue is being addressed I just think he needs a kick start. Duddy is becoming disillusioned with the game in my opinion and really needs to knockout JCCJ to get back in the game.Macklin switches trainers far too much for my liking but has the tools to take a world title - maybe it wont be Pavliks but there are plenty out there - I think I even have a few under a cushion on my couch.

Paul Williams would box the head off the lot of them, Pavlik included...

Macklin defo has the skills to pick up a world title, we'll see how pavlik looks at the weekend but if any irish fighter is getting a shot at him id say it would be duddy.

Agree with vintage on macklin changing trainers too much. He was coming on just nicely over the last year or so. Just hope he is getting the attention he needs at the wild card, that is just as important as anything, your trainer having time for you.

its not like you to píss on Irish chips Bren! ;) .

Well, I'll go with the likes of our current world champion, Taylor for now. She is the real deal. In Ireland amongst the pros I see not one fighter that I would call world class. Hate to say it, but that seems to be the reality. BTW, Macklin is an Englishman.

Paul McCloskey? I cannot warm to Paul in a boxing sense. There is just something very
    irritating about his style. I think he is top ten rated by the WBC. Would he beat Khan, Bradley, Alexander or Maidana? I say no.

Andy Murray? No, no no.

Hylands? see above.

Anyone I am missing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭cppromotions

I enjoy reading oppinions of people who know the game I agree about Andy Lee i believe that he needs a shake up of his coaching team although he says he is being trained by manny Stewart this is untrue he is with Joe gamache most of the time and i dont think Joe will take him too far he needs to put on some weight maybe move up to Supermiddle or Lightheavy and get out of the rut he is finding himself in i think it might make the difference he has the most potential out of the 3, matthew Macklin has been stopped twice and that could be a factor when he fights the big hitters call me crazy but i think duddy could shock everybody and go on to win a title having been around the 3 fighters on a number of occasions i just think Duddy has the hunger and if he beats Chavez i think Yury Foreman could be his Title fight at 154 and Foreman is beatable .But whatever happens it is great for Irish Boxing to have 3 fighters at the same weight knocking on the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Well, I'll go with the likes of our current world champion, Taylor for now. She is the real deal. In Ireland amongst the pros I see not one fighter that I would call world class. Hate to say it, but that seems to be the reality. BTW, Macklin is an Englishman.

Paul McCloskey? I cannot warm to Paul in a boxing sense. There is just something very
    irritating about his style. I think he is top ten rated by the WBC. Would he beat Khan, Bradley, Alexander or Maidana? I say no.

Andy Murray? No, no no.

Hylands? see above.

Anyone I am missing?

Interesting statement, I'm not disputing it but would you thus say that Macklin is not an Irishman ?

You're missing Lindsay, who's a great little fighter. Maybe not quite good enough to win a World title in his very challenging weight class but we'll find out.
    You underrate Macklin imo, I think he's for real and I think he would stand a very good chance against either Sylvester or Sturm.
    He probably wouldn't beat Pavlik but he has as good a chance as any other Middleweight in doing so. He punches hard enough to do it anyway.

cppromotions, Macklin has only been stopped once, while severely weight drained in a gruelling battle with a top European level/Fringe World level Light-Middleweight(who can punch). Considering the brutal shots he took that night and the conditions I've no concerns about his chin. He could barely stand up at the point he was knocked out and we know stamina plays a huge factor in punch resistance.

Duddy is past his prime and will only be fighting at Middleweight from now on.
    He will not be fighting Chavez jnr or anyone else down at 154, and I think Yuri Foreman would beat him down there anyway.

Brian Magee is quite a bit off the top Super-Middleweights now and past his prime. He is however not very far away at a title shot against either Dimitri Sartison or Robert Stieglitz, so he still has a chance of becoming a 'World Champion'

I think Lee despite all his flaws will probably pick up a title at some stage.
    Due to his young age, he'll be around long enough to get into the position of fighting the right opponent at the right time even if he can't develop into the all round fighter needed to rule the Middleweight division. As Vintage has informed me he's working with a strength and conditioning coach at the moment, so hopefully his stamina will improve quite a bit and it would be nice if some extra punching power or speed were to come with that.

Lee's main problems are however technical, and it's up to Joey Gamache to iron those out. Fingers crossed he's doing so.

Paul McCloskey? I cannot warm to Paul in a boxing sense. There is just something very irritating about his style. I think he is top ten rated by the WBC. Would he beat Khan, Bradley, Alexander or Maidana? I say no.

Andy Murray? No, no no.

Hylands? see above.

Anyone I am missing?

you what?? You mean YOU consider him Englishman! Well I dont.

I live in Manchester, with my Irish wife and if we have a nipper I will consider him/her Irish. Also if they consider themselves Irish and carry and Irish passport like Macklin does then I wouldnt be so ignorant and arrogant to deny them that right! ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X5f2NyWplMg

Yeah, Macklin is English. He was born there; but I see your point. He has strong Irish ties. I would claim him as Irish. He ain't no Cascarino, that's for sure.

Lynsday is a great little boxer/fighter, but I don't see a top rating at world level to be honest. Euro level I would say.

Also, Macklin against Sturm? Any boxer has a chance. He is not great at all; an insult to the term
    world champion. I am talking specifically about Pavlik and maybe some other
    rated middles. Currently the division is weak when one looks
    at the ratings. Williams is the only other stand out guy.

Yeah, Macklin is English. He was born there; but I see your point. He has strong Irish ties. I would claim him as Irish. He ain't no Cascarino, that's for sure.

Jesus was born in a stable, that doesnt make him a horse. I'll leave it at that.

Ok, but don't imply that I am arrogant and ignorant to deny him Irish citizenship. All I said was that he is an Englishman due to birth. He wants to be called Irish, I have no problem there. I am denying the man nothing.

BTW, I seem to remember a Bernard Manning joke very similar to the stable joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

Andy Murray? No, no no.

Hylands? see above.

Anyone I am missing?

Man i hate agreeing with you....its much more fun when im slaughtering ya! Firstly I think that is a really cheap shot against Macklin, as far as i know the lad played for the minor clare hurling team at one stage in his youth, if thats not a statement of your nationality then I dont know what is. Now in saying that at his last fight in the stadium when he was entered into the ring under a tricolour and Amhran Na Bhfiann I did wonder about his last fight which was in the UK and wondered to myself if he did the same??? I kinda feel for him as hes a really nice bloke and is an exciting fighter to watch but because of his affinity to both countries he hasnt been able to build on a core support. I wouldnt have a problem and would support him either way as he was born and reared in the UK but does have VERY strong ties to this country, Id think no lesser of him (unlike a certain clones individual who very clearly sold out for the queens pound). As for his ability, on his day he could win a title and I always felt he had more to give than Macklin or Lee but in his last fight I just didnt see enough for world level, i hope it was an off day at the office but he needs to be consistent at this stage in his career.

Mc Closkey annoys the hell out of me and is very frustrating to watch.

Murray is limited but could improve, still too early to judge him until he is matched at a higher level.

Hylands, well lets just say im glad you finally see what everyone else has always seen, they are terrible...end of

Outside of these I would be encourages by the lads who are in the early stages of their careers, dean byrne, frampton....and i cant wait until philip sutcliffe gets pissed off with the amateur game as it just doesnt suit him and he is one fighter I would actually pay to see!

Ok, but don't imply that I am arrogant and ignorant to deny him Irish citizenship. All I said was that he is an Englishman due to birth. He wants to be called Irish, I have no problem there. I am denying the man nothing.

BTW, I seem to remember a Bernard Manning joke very similar to the stable joke.

What about Lee then ?, how is he not an Englishman ?

Lee was born in England and spent the first 14 years of his life there, that was where he learnt to box. Lee has also spent the last 4 years in America, so overall he has spent 7 years in Ireland.

Macklin used to spend his summers in Ireland as a child and has been over here many times whether fighting or analysing fights aswell as other occasions, he has two Irish parents just like Lee and he was raised in an area of Birmingham full of Irish immigrants.

alanceltic Lee would cringe if he knew you thought he'd played for Clare.
    He was originally selected on a Tipperary team to play while he was U14(I think) but was ineligible due to the fact he played with his county in England.
    As far as I'm aware though he did manage to play for Tipperary a year or two after that, he's a good friend of Eoin Kelly aswell.

As an Irishman living in England I'm with Vintage on this. If me and another Irish women were to have a child here and I was to raise them as Irish(as I would) I certainly wouldn't like people disrespecting that. I'm sure Vintage and his wife would feel the same.

Steve Collins son was born in England.......is he English.
    It's not easy rile me up, but I have to admit Walshb I'm pretty annoyed by your stance on this.

Macklin considers himself Irish outside of Ireland. Id expect him to be a little "greener" when he comes over here naturally, and while in England he doesnt make an entrance quite like Peter McDonagh but ya'd know he was Irish all the same. He has the right to be called an Englishman if he wishes also and i wouldnt begrudge him that, but the fact is he is of irish parents and considers himself a paddy.

joepenguin wrote: »
    Macklin considers himself Irish outside of Ireland. Id expect him to be a little "greener" when he comes over here naturally, and while in England he doesnt make an entrance quite like Peter McDonagh but ya'd know he was Irish all the same. He has the right to be called an Englishman if he wishes also and i wouldnt begrudge him that, but the fact is he is of irish parents and considers himself a paddy.

All the Brit based Paddy's are getting involved now! See what ya started now Brendan. :D

Macklin will never refer to himself as English ONLY ever refers to himself as Irish - no matter where he is.

That recent video proves what he considers himself. Ellie Sekbach who is a Jewish guy living in LA asks him what he is and he say Irish - thats good enough for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

he played with eoin kelly for tipp u21 hurling. irish.

both parents from ireland. irish. (didnt learn to be that good a hurler in england).

accent english - have to look past that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

Big Ears wrote: »
    alanceltic Lee would cringe if he knew you thought he'd played for Clare.
    He was originally selected on a Tipperary team to play while he was U14

You do mean Macklin and not Lee!!! also yeah i get the gist of what you are saying and yes MY bad, when your a dub its hard to see a culchie as anything other than a culchie..... now before my country friends start berating me im joking...(i think) lol

alanceltic wrote: »
    You do mean Macklin and not Lee!!! also yeah i get the gist of what you are saying and yes MY bad, when your a dub its hard to see a culchie as anything other than a culchie..... now before my country friends start berating me im joking...(i think) lol

Ya I meant Macklin, now off with you ya jackeen before I ban ya ;)

Big Ears wrote: »
    Ya I meant Macklin, now off with you ya jackeen before I ban ya ;)

why stop there? Ban all Dubs - ban them from Dublin as well, they ruin a great city! :D

Fellas, I see my snippet of info that is widely known (Macklin being born in England), seems to have caused a bit of a stir.

I never said he was not tied to Ireland, heavily linked etc; I just said that he
    was an Englishman due to being born and reared there. What's the big deal?:confused:

If Matthew sees himslef as more Irish than English, so be it. I will claim him.
    He definitely could qualify. I have not heard him say that he is NOT an Englishman, but an Irishman.

And alan, how is stating a fact, "Macklin is an Englishman" a cheap shot?

If Matthew ever publicly comes out and says that he does not want
    to be referred to as an Englishman, I will not call him an Englishman.

Well that would mean in your eyes Walshb, Andy Lee is English too..........

Lee we all know has strong ties to Eire, JUST like Macklin. Lee boxed for Eire, great, I accepted that and was proud of that. Lee can be whatever he wants. English or Irish. Same with Matthew.....

Fellas, I see my snippet of info that is widely known (Macklin being born in England), seems to have caused a bit of a stir.

I never said he was not tied to Ireland, heavily linked etc; I just said that he
    was an Englishman due to being born and reared there. What's the big deal?:confused:

He definitely could qualify. I have not heard him say that he is NOT an Englishman, but an Irishman.

Bren you usually talk sense but here you are talking out of an orifice other than your mouth!

Lee we all know has strong ties to Eire, JUST like Macklin. Lee boxed for Eire, great, I accepted that and was proud of that. Lee can be whatever he wants. English or Irish. Same with Matthew.....

Paul McGrath, Phil Lynott, David O'Leary - all English in your eyes then yeah!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

Macklin is never going to publicly come out and say he does not want to be referred to as an Englishman. Why would he? He would alienate his Brummie fanbase (the non-irish Brummies that is).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

I'm sure Lee will take great assurance from your approval of his nationality.

Paul McGrath, Phil Lynott, David O'Leary - all English in your eyes then yeah!?

Don't forget Liam McCarthy, the man after which the most prestigious trophy for our national sport is named after.

Being born in a stable does not make one a horse... irishman duke of wellington :D

Vintage, what is so so difficult for you to understand with any of my posts?
    What in my posts lead you to believe that it's nonsense?

Macklin was born in Engalnd. Big ****ing deal. I clearly said that I have zero problem with him wanting to be known as Irish. I couldn't care less, as the guy doesn't really interest me.

I simply stated that he was born in England and it's led to this?:rolleyes:
    What has McGrath and David O'Leary or Phil Lynott got to do with it?

For the umpteenth time, if Matthew wants to be known as Irish, best of luck to him. I don't care.

Because I called Matthew an Englishman, this has somehow really upset you?

I really doubt that Matthew would be upest. After all, he was born and reared there. I doubt Matthew would take offence

someone take the shovel off that man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Dirty whore!

Im sorry but its hard for me to take macklin serious as an irishman with his strong british accent and the fact that he likes to hang out with the hattons in his free time.Macklin also calls england home whenever he fights there if you listen to him after fights. And of course ireland claim andy as irish as his home is in limerick and all his family are there too. Andy also fought for ireland in the olympics , while macklin chose britain , that means a lot the irish public as we are a very proud and patriotic nation. Macklin is a good guy and likeable but lee did it the right way even if he doesnt care about ireland which i highly doubt.
    Cant be both nationalitys to much history between ireland and britain to mess up on this.
    For me i think bunce was right macklin just wants to sell tickets.

someone take the shovel off that man!

Not all that convincing, Vintage....

Dirty, I agree with your stance on Matthew. I personally relate more to Lee as an Irishman than I do to Macklin. Simple as that.

makl wrote: »
    Being born in a stable does not make one a horse... irishman duke of wellington :D

Being conceived in a stable does make your mother a tramp though...

Im sorry but its hard for me to take macklin serious as an irishman with his strong british accent and the fact that he likes to hang out with the hattons in his free time.Macklin also calls england home whenever he fights there if you listen to him after fights. And of course ireland claim andy as irish as his home is in limerick and all his family are there too. Andy also fought for ireland in the olympics , while macklin chose britain , that means a lot the irish public as we are a very proud and patriotic nation. Macklin is a good guy and likeable but lee did it the right way even if he doesnt care about ireland which i highly doubt.
    Cant be both nationalitys to much history between ireland and britain to mess up on this.
    For me i think bunce was right macklin just wants to sell tickets.

You ever hear Steve Finnan speak ?, as strong an English accent as you'll ever hear. He was born in Limerick to Irish parents and plays his heart out for his country every time he wears the green shirt, but that doesn't matter because of his accent I don't think we can take him seriously as an Irishman.

Andy moved home at 14, it was easy for him to box for Ireland.
    It would have actually been very difficult for him to box for England, having to travel over there regularly for training and competitions. It's the same reason it wouldn't have been practical for Macklin to fight for Ireland as an amateur. He also never represented Britain either, he boxed for England.

What does it matter if he hangs out with the Hatton's either ?, he was their stable mate for a long time and it's not that crazy to think he could become friends with them.

My housemates are English and I've English friends, does that somehow make me less Irish ?

When asked about his nationality Macklin has always stated he's Irish.
    So if you don't believe in dual nationality then you'll just have to accept him as Irish, because that's what he chooses.
    Birmingham is his home, he was raised among the Irish diaspora of the city, and that's the only English place he refers to as home when he fights there.

Bunce just wanted something for Andy Lee to have a go about, and Lee the respectful man that he is didn't bite. Andy probably would of felt hypocritical about it considering his own accent. So what if 'Macklin accent gets stronger, the moment he gets off the plane', so does mine. It also does when I've been hanging around mainly with Irish people over here, it's a natural thing to do and I doubt it is in anyway conscious.

This isn't Bobby Gunn we're talking about here, it is someone who has as much right as anyone on these forums to call themselves Irish. it seems some people just want to play 'I'm more Irish than you'

BTW Dirty whore!, you can guarantee Liam McCarthy would have had a strong English accent aswell considering he lived his whole life there. Would you consider him English.

BE, you beat me to it but I will post it anyway. "he likes to hang out with the hattons in his free time" - so because he hung about with Hatton when he was in the same training camp as him makes him English? Does that make him Filipino now that he is at the Wild Card?I assure you that Macklin doesnt "act Irish" to sell tickets. Macklin doesnt consdier himself English or British only Irish - he may refer to Birmingham as home but I also refer to Manchester as home sometimes as well. "lee did it the right way even if he doesnt care about ireland which i highly doubt" -WTF does that mean? Did Lee not fight in the British system when he was a kid? Macklin would have fought in the Irish system if he was living in Ireland."Cant be both nationalitys" - he's not, I have only ever heard him refer to himself as Irish. I have met Macklin as few times and he is without doubt Irish - from living over here for over a decade I know when a guy is genuine and when they are not. It seems to me that people are purely judging him on his accent, if you think that nationality comes down to .If he was doing it to sell tickets why would he say to an American reporter that he was Irish? Believe what you want but in my opinion he is Irish - not to mention his - he is Irish.Some of you guys sound like you have never been out of Ireland in your lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Dirty whore!

Stop trying to force macklins irishness down peoples throats! A couple of you guys are doing it on all the boxing websites and i dont quite understand why? are you insecure about his nationality or his ticket selling ability in ireland? because i can tell you now who is most popular in ireland out macklin and andy lee and it is ANDY LEE.
    But keep trying lads.

Vintage, my problem is not what he is, it's the reaction from yourself to anyone who queiries it. Big deal, he is Irish or English. You seem to be taking offence to those saying he is English. Why?

The man was born and reared in England. Has he serious ties to Ireland? Yes, nobody is disputing this.

Does he NOT want to be seen as English? I don't know. Does he exclusively want to be seen as Irish? I don't know. I don't care.

But, to be labelling my posts as nonsense and arrogant and ignorant simply because I referred to a man who was born and reared in England as an Englishman is absurd and uncalled for really.

If Macklin wins a world belt and dedicates it to Ireland and wants to be known as an Irish world champion, I will applaud him and support him.

But you overreacting to me calling him an Englishman is strange.

walshb thats fair enough, but it might have come across that you were sayin he was exclusively english in the first post. but sure yea, dual nationality is more common as ever now, macklins well able to exploit it. but he does have tipp caps to back it up too. sure ye never know, hatton might even find long lost ancestry soon, he's makin a few bucks out of it now.