Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Predator Combat Games Annual Event!

• 08-04-2010 8:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭

Sat 31st July & Sun 1st August

Prices etc coming soon.

Camping available from fri nite. 16 or over unless with a responsible adult!

Operation 'TURF WAR'

I think you lot will ilke this one.

Background

Upload 1

A long running dispute between the US and UK has come to a head.

For some time now the UK have been discussing a way forward to end the Afghan campaign.

The British have been keen to speed up withdrawal with emphasis on diplomatic channels and a ‘hearts and minds campaign’, while the US have been hindering and blocking attempts to leave too soon.

The Russians cities having been swamped by a deluge of hard drugs form Afghanistan through the Russian mafia, which the US have not stemmed despite promises made.

This has turned towns and cities into virtual drug dens.

This has angered the Russians and the frustrated the British who wish to avoid any diplomatic incidents and risk re-opening the cold war.

Along with this the UK have been promised a regular supply of oil and at good price from Russia and are concerned their links with the US will taint this arrangement.

Stay Tuned for more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Excellent, count me in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Rooky1

Me thinks I can make this!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

missed the last one, hopefully to get down for this :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭evilrobotshane

Last year was lots of fun, not just the game (where the Soviets handed the poser-heavy European side their own pudgy asses, I'm ashamed to say) but the whole weekend nature of the event - camping out, pub quiz, Toy Soldiers Airsoft stand and all. Loved it, still wearing the patch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Y'know what? That's not entirely the most far-fetched scenario I've ever heard.

Adding to calendar now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

Just had a look at the calendar, weekend after war and peace will have to see how this works out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭mcshape

Im in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I need a big airsoft event this summer, willl hope to make this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭fayer

You had me at "Hard drugs".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

After RH2 last summer, there's no way i'm not going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭mudger

mudger wrote: »

Prices etc coming soon.

Operation 'TURF WAR'

I think you lot will ilke this one. WHAT WORRIES ME IS THIS IS BECOMING SOMEWHAT OF A PROPHECY IF YOU BELIEVE THE NEWS.

Background

Upload 2

Background

For some time now the UK have been discussing a way forward to end the Afghan campaign.

The British have been keen to speed up withdrawal with emphasis on diplomatic channels and a ‘hearts and minds campaign’, while the US have been hindering and blocking attempts to leave too soon.

The Russians cities having been swamped by a deluge of hard drugs form Afghanistan through the Russian mafia, which the US have not stemmed despite promises made.

This has turned towns and cities into virtual drug dens. This has angered the Russians and the frustrated the British who wish to avoid any diplomatic incidents and risk re-opening the cold war.

Along with this the UK have been promised a regular supply of oil and at good price from Russia and are concerned their links with the US will taint this arrangement.

The American strategy in Afghanistan has been considered heavy handed and too aggressive.

The UK discovered the US had known of the passport abuse in Israel and diplomatic links are at breaking point at best.

Oil has been discovered on the North coast of the island of Ireland on a disputed border area. The US had supported the ROI to discover it.

The US funded the project and promised much more in return for supply of oil should it prove fruitful.

An agent provocateur has been exposed, causing the terror alert to remain high with clandestine attacks on public areas in major UK cities.

The US have been found to be responsible.

WHAT NEXT?!!

Stay Tuned for more!

DETAILS ON GAME ARRANGEMENTS ETC TO FOLLOW SOON.

Hope to share a beer or 2 with you all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Total winner. And the day after Iron Maiden as well. Epic weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

mudger wrote: »
    DETAILS ON GAME ARRANGEMENTS ETC TO FOLLOW SOON.

Hope to share a beer or 2 with you all.
    nice one mudger,i thought i missed it.
    count me in too,thanks for the reminder
    now can ya remind me how much the hotel
    costs per night?are they doin a deal,
    feck it have to get a new tent an av a laugh
    an beers over a camp fire!!PYRO!!!!
    GOTTA LOVE DA NORTH!!!lol
    plus now i know the site,
    sneeky kills against the noobs.
    lol

deco nate wrote: »
    nice one mudger,i thought i missed it.
    count me in too,thanks for the reminder
    now can ya remind me how much the hotel
    costs per night?are they doin a deal,
    feck it have to get a new tent an av a laugh
    an beers over a camp fire!!PYRO!!!!
    GOTTA LOVE DA NORTH!!!lol
    plus now i know the site,
    sneeky kills against the noobs.
    lol

Tent space FREE.

IF you are interested in hotels etc. (for some of the older airsofters lol) Millbrook lodge. 2/3 mile away from site. You can get them online.

Hangovers available should you choose to buy one. :D

Sense of Humour - BRING YOUR OWN!

DESIRE TO PLAY - ESSENTIAL

DESIRE TO WIN? OPTIONAL BUT IT HELPS.

WE ARE ALL ABOUT HAVING A GREAT TIME WHOEVER WINS.

tAKING THE PISS OUT OF EACH OTHER - ABSOLUTE MUST.
    :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

All event threads posted by an individual involved with the organisation of said event are closed until further notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

So, anyone coming to this, then?

Prices etc coming soon.

Operation 'TURF WAR'

Background

This has turned towns and cities into virtual drug dens.

This has angered the Russians and the frustrated the British who wish to avoid any diplomatic incidents and risk re-opening the cold war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Hadn't really though about it myself, it's the weekend after I get back from War and Peace, but I might be able to make it up.

F'in A Dittybags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭delta-boy

I've been up for the last two excellent events. (RedHammer 1 & 2)

I'm game for this one aswell.

Red Hammer 2, epic.

So all over this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭fleecymanager

looking good for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭gungun

whats the story with someone under 18 going up to this? would I just get those papers from the guys at predator to fill out or would I just not be able to go at all?

I'll see whose going and what the story is closer to the date, price a big factor as well.

Sick of paying money for games that end up being ****.

Some folks bailed early from the last Pred trip and missed an absolute cracker of a game - 90 minutes of full-on urban with no respite. Red team just about hung on, under constant attack, until Blue ran out of time to complete their objective. Awesome.

Games are what you make them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

I will see closer to the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Rooky1

Definately up for this!
    Have been itching to get back to Predator.
    Will try and book this time off work.

TheDoc wrote: »
    I'll see whose going and what the story is closer to the date, price a big factor as well.

Sick of paying money for games that end up being ****.

Don't think i've ever had a bad day in Predator to be fair.
    Plus if last year's anything to go by, i'd pay double.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭daz801

Would be up for this for sure havn't played for months though so should probably get out for a game somewhere before it.
    Whats the story 16 year olds ok for it?
    whats predators usual pricing for events?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Ayrtonf7

Awh crud! Wish I could go to this but I think Iron Maidens concert is that night :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Not in much of a position to get home for a month or two, so not sure if I'll be able to make this which is a pity. As others have said; never once had a bad day (or an event) at Predator. And the Red Hammer series was great fun.

Right lads/ ladies,

The update and arrangements for the weekend are as follows.

This should answer all questions.

Letter of permission - Not really needed. no problems as yet at border. But we are happy to send it to anyone who feels they need it.

Pyro's and ammo - Available (LOADS OF EM) Pyros only sold to over 18's.

Price: Walkons - £50 (equivilant Euro price on the day) for the weekend.
    Rental - £80 ( includes gun, uniform, magazine (470rds inc), mask).

Chrono station - ALL guns will be FPS tested and marked for use before registration. Max for ALL AEG's, pistols, sniper rilfes, support guns is 328fps. PLEASE DONT CHANCE YOUR ARM. Having no respect will recieve no respect.

This will take place in main hall beside bar.

You will be provided with a number for the weekend. Keep this on you during game time.

Friday evening 7-9pm.

Sat AM 8am - 9.30am (we will register if your late but you may miss game time)

Briefings will take place in main hall. When notified please be there to get the game plan. Anyone not at briefings will have to catch up by asking your team.

We dont always have time to explain breifings 3/4 times over.

Under 18's are allowed to attend with parent/ gaurdian permission (letter adn contact details required)

Camping facilities: field at car park (30sec stagger to and from bar). supervision is a must with under 16's if camping.

NO UNDER AGE DRINKING!

No under the influence or alcohol while playing. No alcohol in game zone or safe zone until activities cease.

Game Zone - ALL OF IT!

Down Time - Anyone staying are asked to keep noise to minimum especially later at night. We are not too far away from private houses. The owners son lives beside bar.

Game Rules:

Game play - 10am start - 5pm finish (SAT) - 10am start - 3pm finish (SUN)

Respawn areas - bases you hold NOT UNDER ATTACK!! NO MEDIC RULES THIS TIME.

UNcap base - will be allocated on the day for each team. If you find yourself at opposing teams Uncap please withdraw ASAP to safe distance (mistakes are made but no excuse for spawn camping.

Target areas - anything INC GUNS.

No blind firing.

Bang rule - Courtesy and will be appreciated but NOT obligitory. Be nice!

Detailed rules, mission etc will be explained on the day.

All that remains is to have fun play fair, honestly and aggressively.

Thx

Calendar updated.

Will there be a daily rate for those unable to stay the weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Red Fox

howya all doin? yea definately!! a few of us will be dere for defo. abou 15 or so. will dere be any night games?? plz say yea!

Operation
    Turf War

Background

A long running dispute between the US and UK has come to a head. For some time now the UK have been discussing a way forward to end the Afghan campaign. The British have been keen to speed up withdrawal with emphasis on diplomatic channels and a ‘hearts and minds campaign’, while the US have been hindering and blocking attempts to leave too soon.

The Russians cities having been swamped by a deluge of hard drugs form Afghanistan through the Russian mafia, which the US have not stemmed despite promises made. This has turned towns and cities into virtual drug dens. This has angered the Russians and the frustrated the British who wish to avoid any diplomatic incidents and risk re-opening the cold war.

The American strategy in Afghanistan has been considered heavy handed and too aggressive.

The UK discovered the US had known of the passport abuse in Israel and diplomatic links are at breaking point at best.

Oil has been discovered on the North coast of the island of Ireland on a disputed border area. The US had supported the ROI to discover it. The US funded the project and promised much more in return for supply of oil should it prove fruitful.

An agent provocateur has been exposed, causing the terror alert to remain high with clandestine attacks on public areas in major UK cities. The US have been found to be responsible.

Negotiations have been ongoing for some time until now! Diplomatic discussions have been so far unfruitful and military advisors have been restless.

A growing feeling within US and Irish government circles has prompted calls for more aggressive action.

It has been felt that the line taken has wasted time and energy. The costs of extracting the oil have raised and putting pressure on the Irish government regarding how much they can afford to spend.

The British have carried out reconnaissance missions to discover exactly what progress has been made. Breaching territorial boundaries has been taken with great insult and anger.

This has recently been discovered by the Irish government and US, who are furious.

An increased US advisory presence has been sent to ROI over the last year. The UK are very uncomfortable and on high alert with this knowledge.

The US troops have been on patrol and Intel suggests they have been breaching border areas on a regular basis.

It is not clear if this is deliberate or a lack of knowledge of the intricate demarcation line of the border between NI and ROI.

The British have increased their military presence in the North and refortified the border regions.

With the debate over the new oil being found on the north coast of Ireland tensions have rose.

Ultimatums have been given and returned by the US and British and no-one is backing down or seeking a diplomatic resolution.

Both forces have massed on the border areas and a tense stand off has commenced.

The border breach has been seen as a first strike and a hard line response is being considered. A counter offensive has been developed by the British. The deadline has been set and a decision will be made by 31st July 2010.

A call to arms has been raised and recruitment has been initiated.

Pick a side!

There will be no middle ground!

1. 12yrs and over.

2. One day attendance is ok. Half price.

3. Pyros can only be sold to over 18's. Must be used onsite and not be removed from the site. NOT OUR RULES!

4. Letters can be given is requested. This is only a formality. Email me on micealmaguire@btinternet.com. Our server went into liquidation - web site and email down at present. This is my personal one. Group letters would be more helpful than each individual asking for one. Supply names for the letter.

Originally planned on going to this but going to hit Senny instead in September.

I'm sure this would be a blast but I unfortunately cant go to everything I want

Best of luck with it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Riderlad

This sounds deadly, never been to an event before because i live in donegal which is not exactly airsoft central so this one is a definate yes

Riderlad wrote: »
    This sounds deadly, never been to an event before because i live in donegal which is not exactly airsoft central so this one is a definate yes

Your most welcome my firend. You will be in good company.

Look forward to seeing you all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭TEKNO@TSA

Folks - just to let you Know - Predator has very Kindly Allowed Toy Soldiers Airsoft to bring a stall down to the game again this year.

Hopefully there will be better weather and not a bit of a wash out shop like last year were we couldn't find or display anything to any great extent =]

If you want anything in paticular brought along fire me over a PM.

Phil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 auscam

OzCam wrote: »
    Calendar updated.

Will there be a daily rate for those unable to stay the weekend?
    hope you can get up for this would good to meet you at last.

Just an update of what well have @ turf wars for the shop.

UK Sniper Systems Head n Shoulders Ghillies
    Guarder green Gas
    Excel BB's .20's / .25's
    Various Red dot sights
    Various Pouches / RIGS from the Bulle / FLYYE Range (tan / green / Black)
    Various kit accessories
    Fastmags (tan / black)
    Some Magpul stuff
    Slings
    Pistols
    Maybe a few AEG's (ICS)
    Various TM / KSC Gas Magazines
    Various high / mid cap AEG mags
    Silencers
    CAMO BARGAIN BIN (well box!!)
    T-shirts
    SOCKS!!! gotta keep them feet dry
    5.11 / Blackhawk Holsters / accessories
    Face masks
    shemaghs
    Gloves (VIPER + Mechanix)

+ what ever else we can fit in the van =]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭son-of-plunder

hey lads whats the story with camo/teams? Im really thinking of headin up to this as it sounds good and i havent playd for a bit ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭rogertegart

Going to come up on friday evening with a few guys from drogheda. we wont 't be in time to play on friday eveing. Are there any local campsites or is camping available on site?

Dont hink there are any games on the friday night.

THere is camping available on site free of charge - just don't be lighting any fires =]

The campsite is at the back of the main carpark just at the bottom of the path up to pred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 auscam

How many of you cowboys are coming up.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭evilrobotshane

I had a great time at this last year and would love to go again, but don't have a way of getting there. Anybody heading from Dublin with a bit of spare vehicle who'd be willing to provide a ride in exchange for petrol money and handsome, sophisticated and debonaire company?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭son-of-plunder

was looking forward to going but then was told it was too far for me to drive :(

Supposed to be 5 of us. not confirmed yet. Could be just me! but i'll definitely be there.

Going from drogheda, probably saturday morning. Your welcome to a lift if your in the drogheda area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Red Fox

should be abou 6 maybe 7 headin from drogheda aswel, more dan likely definate's