Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grand National Betting

• 08-04-2010 7:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭

Didn't see one started yet so i thought i'd open up the proceedings.

obviously it's a bit of a lottery. I'd have to go with Black Apalachi @ 14/1 as he looked to be flying it last year before falling at the 3rd last. Vic Venturi @ 20/1 has a good shout too. I'll probably put a few pennies on those 2.

let me know your thoughts as i could do with some guidance on this one.

some grand national betting tips here for what it's worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭nucking futs

Funny, those were the exact two horses I was thinking of putting money on as well. I'm not an expert but I'm leaning towards Black Apalachi myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Kod-box

Carrying too much weight IMO

im going with Character Building and Vic venturi e/w

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

arbour supreme and snowy morning and here's why

i'm not takin the pish,i had a dream at the start of the week that i was in the parade ring in Aintree talking to Willie Mullins about his horse just having won the national
    i not normally into this shyte but it was so vivad i'm going to back those 2 on the nose
    i don't really trust snowy,anyone fancy arbour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

Arbours got a following alright. Young Irish jock onboard he's only 19 I think. He certainly seems to be in with a squeak.

Also, the handicapper reckons he's after messing up with both Vic Venturi and Black Ap.:
    http://www.racingpost.com/news/horse-racing/aintree-grand-national-aintree-aintree-black-apalachi-vic-venturi-id-raise-hughes-national-pair-handicapper-smith/700172/grandnationalmeeting/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Arbours got a following alright. Young Irish jock onboard he's only 19 I think. He certainly seems to be in with a squeak.

Also, the handicapper reckons he's after messing up with both Vic Venturi and Black Ap.:
    http://www.racingpost.com/news/horse-racing/aintree-grand-national-aintree-aintree-black-apalachi-vic-venturi-id-raise-hughes-national-pair-handicapper-smith/700172/grandnationalmeeting/

Smith can't predict the future. He gave them a mark that was correct at the time. They have just come out since and shown improvement since the weights were issued. Nothing new in that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

Fair enough. The way they said he's losing sleep over it made me think it was a misake. I mean why would you lose sleep over decisions that were the correct call at the time?

Anyway, the main point is that it can only be a good thing that the handicapper thinks theye a lower weight than they deserve

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭eldrickwoods

Kod-box wrote: »
    Carrying too much weight IMO

im going with Character Building and Vic venturi e/w

yeah the weight could be an issue. i really don't know why he's carrying 5 pounds more than last year. gave up trying to understand the thought process of the handicappers long ago.

he could do with a bit of rain in the ground overnight too.

Vic Venturi 35/1 now on betfair. might be worth a cheeky bet on the nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

Thanks to aidankkk, I got 2.50e/w on Royal Rosa @ 100/1.
    The Guardian Generator gave me Madison Du Berlais, another 2.50e/w @ 50/1 :)

Had the winner last year, well the gf picked it, but my PP account looked healthy for a few days :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Kod-box

Roger Loughran rides Vic venturi now after Flood broke his collar bone today, puts me off backing it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Maljimar 33/1 & Flintoff 50/1 for me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

DeadSkin wrote: »

Had the winner last year, well the gf picked it, but my PP account looked healthy for a few days :pac:

Love the way you said that :D :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Ladbrokes & Hills are an absolute joke.
    4 places in the National? :mad:
    There will be loads of people going into their shops tomorrow who have never had a bet before and they are getting ripped off.
    Betfred are also in this scabby boat but they don't have shops in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Shakeandbake!

King Johns Castle and Comply Or Die both e/w for me.

Meself and a friend have a challenge going for the remaining 7 races.
    Here

Some of our selections are laughable I'm sure but it's a bitta craic.
    Just thought I'd let ye all knaa. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

Niche market,Beat the boys or Erics charm ''fell at first''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

BigFellaThanks straight
    Cerium e/w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,238 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

okidoki987 wrote: »
    Ladbrokes & Hills are an absolute joke.
    4 places in the National? :mad:
    There will be loads of people going into their shops tomorrow who have never had a bet before and they are getting ripped off.
    Betfred are also in this scabby boat but they don't have shops in Ireland.

Lads are 5 places but for some reason it doesnt say it on their slip but when they scan it, it says it on the customer docket in the shops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭essexman

heavyballs wrote: »
    arbour supreme and snowy morning and here's why

i'm not takin the pish,i had a dream at the start of the week that i was in the parade ring in Aintree talking to Willie Mullins about his horse just having won the national
    i not normally into this shyte but it was so vivad i'm going to back those 2 on the nose
    i don't really trust snowy,anyone fancy arbour?

right i'm on those 2 seeings as your post count is 666.
    also priests leap.for balance.

I always try and narrow it down to 4 every year and have decent enough luck over the years.

Have it down to these, all e/w's obviously !

1.Can't buy time.

2.Beat the boys

3.Backstage

4.Ellerslie George

Best of luck all

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bamboozling

Package 12/1 €10 e/w
    Don't Push It 20/1 €5 e/w

I'd reallly love Don't Push It to win just for McCoy beacuse it would be the creowning glory on a great career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

€10 stakes.

Cerium to place @ 15/1.
    Madison de Berlais to place @ 18/1.
    My Will to place @ 10/1.
    Ballyfitz to place @ 18/1.

Good luck all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭LavaLamp

always like a bit of fun on the Grand National - all to place:

King Johns Castle 25/1
    Irish Raptor 28/1
    Niche Market 18/1
    Priests Leap 100/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Niche Market 18/1. Last years Irish national winner. Hopefully he does a numberSixValverde on it.

Hello bud at 33/1. He's completed the National course when he was a beaten Fav in the Becher chase back in November when Vic Venturi won it. Nice low weight off 10-6. A small nibble each way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

Ive gone for these:

Mon Mome (win)
    Backstage (win)

Cloudy Lane (ew)
    Maljimar (ew)
    Priests leap (ew)

good luck all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

DeadSkin wrote: »

The gf has made her selection, 2.50e/w Erics Charm @ 40/1 & 2.50e/w Vic Venturi @ 25/1.

Good luck y'all!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Main bet

Vic Venturi 25/1 EW

Others

Eric's Charm 40/1 EW
    Maljimar 40/1 EW
    Ballyholland 33/1 EW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭skeleton_boy

Black Apalachi ew @ 12/1
    Character Building ew @ 18/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 844 ✭✭✭qc3

Niche Market Win @ 16/1
    Hello Bud EW @ 33/1
    Royal Rosa EW @ 80/1

Madison Du Berlais
    Cerium
    Eric's Charm
    Hello Bud

All e/w

It's impossible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

vic venturi e/w
    black apalachi e/w

Nulty wrote: »

It's impossible

Hear, hear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

Irish Raptor 33/1 £5 e/w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

Got Rare Bob in the top three but **** all returns :D

Big Fella Thanks for me @ 9/1 last night, Ruby broken arm though :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

the money came for it ,was a sign i guess,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

John Smith's Grand National
    1. Don't Push It (Tony McCoy) 10-1jf
    2. Black Apalachi (Denis O'Regan) 14-1
    3. State of Play (Paul Moloney) 16-1
    4. Big Fella Thanks (Barry Geraghty) 10-1jf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭jenno86

who came 5th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

jenno86 wrote: »
    who came 5th?

hello bud i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

Returns to a £1 Each Way stake
    - 1st Don't Push It
    Win £14.50
    - 2nd Black Apalachi
    Place £4.50
    - 3rd State Of Play
    Place £5.00
    - 4th Big Fella Thanks
    Place £3.50
    - 5th Hello Bud
    Place £6.00

argosy2006 wrote: »
    the money came for it ,was a sign i guess,

it certainly did
    22s was widely available last nite

Cracking run from Black Apalachi. Can't begrudge McCoy the win though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Browney7 wrote: »
    Niche Market 18/1. Last years Irish national winner. Hopefully he does a numberSixValverde on it.

Hello bud at 33/1:D. He's completed the National course when he was a beaten Fav in the Becher chase back in November when Vic Venturi won it. Nice low weight off 10-6. A small nibble each way.

5th at 20's. Got him at 40's with Ladbrooks. Happy enough.

Delighted for McCoy. 15th time Lucky

Browney7 wrote: »
    5th at 20's. Got him at 40's with Ladbrooks. Happy enough.

Delighted for McCoy. 15th time Lucky

Same, only at 33's.

Well done McCoy is right. He was GAGGING for a national wasn't he.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭Onecoolcookie

Delighted for McCoy, Anyone know how many places betfair pay out on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Verance

Delighted for McCoy, Anyone know how many places betfair pay out on ?
    Just the four.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭greeno

Does anyone know if Saint Johns Castle is classified as a non runner. Had money on him and thought should get my stake back but PP said that he came under orders and was therefore not a non runner.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bamboozling

Don't Push It 20/1 €5 e/w

I'd reallly love Don't Push It to win just for McCoy beacuse it would be the crowning glory on a great career.

Delighted. As a college student well all I can say is the €135 gained from this will go a hell of a long way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

I backed Dont push it for a win @ 10/1.

I also always backed Khyber Kim to win @ 7/2. I backed him at Cheltenham to win but came second so when i heard he was running today i went big again :).

greeno wrote: »
    Does anyone know if Saint Johns Castle is classified as a non runner. Had money on him and thought should get my stake back but PP said that he came under orders and was therefore not a non runner.

your money is gone unfortunately
    its ridiculous though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

mailburner wrote: »
    your money in gone unfortunately
    its ridiculous though

Made me laugh, a couple of friends back this so when it came to the start it gave me a good laugh, my sides started to spilt :D

PP right not to refund as well.