Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Valentia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭kjt

I got an email this morning telling me about this terrible news. I always enjoyed looking through Danny’s shots. He was a great photographer and an inspiration within the Irish photography community. Sadly I never had the joy of meeting Danny in person but have spoken to him many times online. He always came across as a true gent, a man of great integrity and a kind soul.

As Fergus said earlier, I hope his family take the time to read through this and see what an impact Danny had on many of us!

Kyle Tunney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

When I heard this last night on Twitter I couldn't believe it. Genuinely a truly nice man and a great photographer.. Some of his pictures were just breath-taking. As someone else mentioned earlier in the thread, this picture in particular was one of my favourites: http://porchfield.com/2009/06/14/fields-on-blue/

I grew up in Trim and went to school with his son Donall (I was a few years ahead, but my cousin was in Donall's class). I briefly lived in Elder Grove with relatives when my family first moved to Trim so I knew Donall and Danny through playing football, hurling etc out on the old green in Elder Grove. Would have been around 1988/89 direction...

I hadn't spoken to Danny in person since that era and with going to college, moving away from home etc, it had been a long time, but i was delighted when i realised a few years ago when Valentia on boards was Danny. Always knew he was into photography (I think he did it professionally for a while), but when I actually saw his pictures via boards, flickr, pixie etc, it was then you realised his true talent. I always loved photography myself and bought an SLR a few years ago. Danny's pictures were always an inspiration and he always took time to comment or let you know how you could improve.

Always had good rugby conversations with Danny on Twitter regarding Leinster and Munster games... and he had a genuine love for the town of Trim through his work on the local council and it was nice to see Donall carrying on the family tradition :)

He was a great representative of Trim and genuinely he will be missed. RIP Danny. Your pictures will most definitely be around for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭DK32

Very sad hearing about the loss of Valentia yesterday. I had the pleasure of meeting Danny during the Trim photo walk. He made time for everyone that day, sharing his local knowledge of Trim and it's sights.
    Like many others, I admired his photography, I find his photo's from Valentia Island to be both beautiful & inspirational.
    My sincere condolences to his family during this most difficult time.

RIP Danny

Danny experimenting with his lensbaby during the Trim photowalk:
    6A5CDF8AD2D344E1AD08AB0EA5CC5A75-800.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 616 ✭✭✭pearljamfan

awful sad news, may he rest in peace, my heart goes out to his family and friends who will be missing him deeply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭upmeath

I rarely post on the photography forum on boards but I regularly drop by just to have a gawk, and my first look at Danny's latest work was often experienced either here or at porchfield.com.
    A fantastic photographer, truly talented. He was gifted with an admirable eye for the world around him. His photography from the southwest coast is nothing short of breath-taking. Nobody has captured Trim like Danny did since the Normans came. Outstanding records of the castle, the town and its people. I remember him taking family portraits around the time of my first communion nearly twenty years ago. His legacy to many will no doubt be his many prints, which are and will always be synonymous with the town, people and culture of Trim. His presence and talents will be missed but not soon forgotten.
    My condolences to Phil, Dónall, Kate and extended family.
    RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Ricky91t

After looking through a lot of his photos yesterday and Today, They've now opened up my eyes to the wonderful Islands off the cost of Kerry and I'll hopefully make a trip there this summer, So Thanks Danny.

For people who may not know him to well his flickr is here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

Condolences to his family and friends.

RIP Valentia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

I'm shocked, I never met the great man, but he was an inspiration to me starting off in photography and here on boards.ie........May you take many more great picture in Heaven my good man.........RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

I just keep bursting into tears. I'll really miss him..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Such terrible news. I'm still in learning mode but his contributions here made such an impression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I dont know what to say, he was a long time boards user and an awful nice guy to converse with.... his photography inspired me, as did the way he conducted himself.
    The place is a bit quieter without him :(:( RIP.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 treefour

Like all of you here I am deeply saddened by Danny’s passing. I still can’t believe it. I last spoke to Danny as he was about to get into the basket of a balloon for a flight last weekend. All geared up and like a child in a candy shop!

As others have mentioned Danny and his works will always be synonymous with Trim. I count myself very lucky to have met Danny about 6 years ago and to have become friends. As I got to know Danny I became aware of his many talents including photography and like others here on this forum he sparked my interest in photography.

A personal reminder of Danny’s brilliance behind the lens was when I had to choose a gift for an overseas visit. I chose a photograph of Trim Castle and The Yellow Steeple taken at night by Danny. When my turn came to present the gift from Trim I produced the photograph to a hush of amazement. The photo was the talking point for the rest of the evening! I don’t think I’d ever seen a room so full of proud Trim people as I did that night. This was the magic that Danny was capable of, even from thousands of miles away. And to think that all this was only one aspect of his life, tremendous stuff.

Someone like Danny doesn’t come along very often and what is seldom is wonderful. Thank you Danny, rest in peace my friend.

Trevor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭SusieQue

sineadw wrote: »
    I just keep bursting into tears. I'll really miss him..
    I'm exactly the same Sinead! I feel so so sad! Was around at his house earlier.. Devasted does not begin to cover how his poor family are...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,270 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

SusieQue wrote: »
    I'm exactly the same Sinead! I feel so so sad! Was around at his house earlier.. Devasted does not begin to cover how his poor family are...

I can't imagine how his family are. He was such a wonderful person. This thread here just shows how much influence he had on so many people. He inspired everyone. He always had time for people. He had a wonderful sense of humour.

His photography was simply stunning. He always seemed to capture amazing bird shots. His kingfisher picts were stunning. His collection of puffin picts had so many wanting to travel to the islands to photograph them. And then his magical gannet photo, which won him a nice competition and award.

I think his final pict/post on his own website just shows how he saw things so differently, and brought beauty to everything he photographed. The image - "Planes at Rest". Well, now Danny is at rest.

He befriended so many, and inspired so many. I'm sure there will be a very large turnout for his funeral tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭AnCatDubh

A tribute from the ballooning people this evening at 6 in Trim for Danny (one of many i'm sure) - check out the meath forum thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,270 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Damn, if I'd know this an hour ago I'd have left work early and made my way down. Ah well.

A very fitting tribute to Danny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭trishw78

having met him twice. He is exactly what everyone here has posted and sooo much more.

You will be missed be your photographic family.

RIP Dannie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

RIP kind sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

This is very sad :( I ALWAYS enjoyed when he posted a photo.

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,839 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

I won't be able to make funeral - my son is staying with me all week - if anyone remembers - say "a thank you " to his family -

good bye Valentia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Slidinginfinity

Raise a pint in Brogan's to Danny tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭democrates

Danny will live on through his work but this goes far beyond his exquisite photographs. His greatest work was inspiring and encouraging so many others to be their best. A beautiful human being, he climbed a mountain and every step of the way gave others a friendly hand up. Just reading his posts here would make you a better person. Everyone he helped lives a better life and passes on that gift, it will bring out the best in future generations long after we are all gone. So Danny's legacy is not finished at all, it's just starting out. Thank you Danny, may you rest in peace and happiness, and sincere condolences to your family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Wow.

I never met the man but spoke to him once on boards. I was in Trim on Saturday and am now fuming I didnt see him. I only now remember him being from Meath.
    Have just looked at some of his photo's and they are beautiful. Having also just seen his photograph he looks such an interesting friendly person.

I have just read the read the tributes to him here and photography has lost a wonderful exponent and ambassador.

This is a situation where I find myself saying why didnt I go on one of the outings.

May he rest in peace and condolances to his family and friends

I've found it very hard to post something in words since the news broke last night. Can't seem to find them.

Instead, at least for now, perhaps this is an appropriate tribute.

20100408-IMGP3100-Danny-O-Brien-Master-of-his-trade.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭MartMax

I'm still shocked.

Only saw this today and was not checking twitter at all last night.

Our thoughts and prayers are with the family. R.I.P. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭thatsnotmyname

I only just heard the news and am in total shock !
    i had the absolute pleasure to meet Danny for the first time last Sunday.

His work has been an inspiration to me and so many people so to meet him in the flesh was a privilege and as xia said in earlier post he was one of those few people that you connect with as soon as you meet them.
    His down to earth nature was joy to experience.

My condolences to his family and friends.
    RIP Danny

MickH51

A fine tribute to a great man this evening as 4 balloons launched over Danny's beloved Trim, in the grounds of the porchfields and castle, and as can be seen in the photograph they flew a black flag from their baskets marking respect for Danny (Valentia).

FF1ACCF82D6A426AAF90A9376ABF182C.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

Didn't know the man, but read some of his posts. How fragile life is. Live it to the full my friends. My condolences to his family, and to you - his friends. May he Rest In Peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,047 ✭✭✭CabanSail

Absolutely huge turn out for the Funeral, I knew it was going to be big but the size staggered me. Shows how many people were influenced by Danny.

this brought a smile to me - from the old introductions thread.

"Good luck to yous all!!!" - I bet he meant it :)
    Valentia wrote: »
    Hello! My name is Danny. I work as a co-ordinator on a community development project. Had a big bypassy thingy last November and am still waiting for the after effects to go away.

When they do I'll get back to taking a few snaps. I really miss it. That said, I can go for ages without having any urge to take anything and then get a mad burst. For my sins I have met a fair few of the gang that hibernate in this cave. I find it a cosy place and have made some genuine friends.

I've been taking pics since I was a kid but am still amazed when one turns out fairly ok. My pet hate is people giving out about people who use Photoshop ;) Usually people who have never smelt a chemical (photographically speaking of course)!

Good luck to yous all!!!

A "big bypassy thingy" :D You gotta love him eh?