Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motorway Speeding

• 05-04-2010 7:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭

I had to drive down and back to Wexford today (motorways all the way) I only saw one unmarked motor and alot of people were speeding by it and he was doing the limit, how come he didnt pull anyone over or does it have to be Traffic that get the speeders on the motorway??

Just asking out of curiousity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

They might have had something more important to be doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭focus_mad

Random wrote: »
    They might have had something more important to be doing.

He seemed to have just been cruising but just thought i'd ask.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Could be any one of a long list of reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

It mightent have been a unmarked car! ....

Ah defo was, had the aul ariels and load of leds!

Ah I was just wondering about it thats all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

focus_mad wrote: »

He was probably thinking to himself ..."Actually that last guy was right I should be out catching drug dealers":rolleyes:

As PSNI said 1000's of reasons he could not be pulling folk maybe he was winding up the speedo

Yeah probably his turn to go Topaz for the coffees.....

I was only asking a question due to being curious, not to get p****ed on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

these is a fetish for that kind of thing. But OP to be fair the lads here wont know the answer, maybe he just couldn't be bothered spending the time on it thinking he could be doing something else.

last garda i saw do a stop like that spent over 2 hours dealing with it. (had the misfortune of being stopped outside a full restaurant)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

See that guy might not be bothered, but you'll get one driver that will break the speed limit again and be pulled over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bigbadbear

msg11 wrote: »
    See that guy might not be bothered, but you'll get one driver that will break the speed limit again and be pulled over.

Probably because it is safe to break the speed limit on Irish motorways and most people do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Don3556

He wouldn't have been carrying any equipment for recording your speed so then he would have no evidence that would stand up in court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

bigbadbear wrote: »
    Probably because it is safe to break the speed limit on Irish motorways and most people do

Yes it is safe, it is not legal.

And yes most people do. Totally not my point by the way.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Interesting comment.

Expressed as a percentage, how much over the speed limit do you think is safe on, say, the M50? It has a limit of 100kmph AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭heffomike54

psni wrote: »
    Interesting comment.

Expressed as a percentage, how much over the speed limit do you think is safe on, say, the M50? It has a limit of 100kmph AFAIK.

Depending on certain factors, yes I think it is safe to exceed the speed limit of 100kph on the M50.

I had to drive down and back to Wexford today (motorways all the way) I only saw one unmarked motor and alot of people were speeding by it and he was doing the limit, how come he didnt pull anyone over or does it have to be Traffic that get the speeders on the motorway??

Just asking out of curiousity?

By any chance, did you manage to see the driver of the squad car? The reason I ask is if they were in plain clothes, speeders are not their concern & to pull people over for speeding may compromise their current task.

By how much?
    Depending on certain factors, yes I think it is safe to exceed the speed limit of 100kph on the M50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

By how much?

Again depending on factors, but I would see 120kph as an acceptable speed on any motorway.

I'm actually quite shocked at the fact people think that.

Victor wrote: »

In the first link there of the hairpin bend, which looks like the red cow roundabout entrance onto the M50 heading northbound, I would not drive at 120KPH, strangely enough I don't want to crash;):D

I am not suggesting the whole M50 is suitable for driving at 120KPH, the only thing the whole M50 is suitable for at the best of times is being a car-park:D . Plus anyone who does think it's suitable to drive at 120KPH on the M50 at all places and times, which I don't, should not have a driving licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Look at Germany to know how fast is safe on a decent motorway. Personally I'd have less of an issue with someone doing 150km/h on an empty m50 on let's say a nice early sunday morning in summer than with someone doing 70km/h in a built up area during the day.

Interesting comment.

It totally depends on the circumstances. I used to drive home at about 3 in the mornign up the m50 and when it was dry i would do about 160km/h. Some people will be shocked at this but it really isn't that fast. I would probably do 200 if i was in a capable car.

Another situation.... I wouldn't drive much over 130km/h during the day or possibly 140km/h if it was quiet.

I'm surprised there hasn't been somebody killed on the m50 when the cars are queuing in the AUX lane. Apart from that I think the safety issue arises from the difference in speeds of two cars.

Say Mr X is doing 140 and the car he is about to pass is only doing 90 (should never happen on the M50 as it is 3 lanes) the guy doing 90 may for some reason want to move into the overtaking lane so he checks his mirrors and sees a car in the distance then moves slowly to the overtaking lane. Meanwhile Mr X is flying towards the back of his car. That's where the danger comes from.

I lived in Germany and it's funny how a little aul biddy of about 80 years of age will pass you in a Volkswagen polo at 180km/h. It's such a funny sight at first but they have a different mindset to us.

Back to the OP I saw that Garda traffic corps show on rte and some guy passed a garda, who was doing 120km/h, at "over 160km/h" the garda went after him but let him away with a warning. I'd say they cant do anything without a speed gun. Either that or they didn't want to do anything about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 drill

Mite have been Ambulance or Fire service Top brass in there own cars as some drive unmarked cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Sisu200

Look at Germany to know how fast is safe on a decent motorway. Personally I'd have less of an issue with someone doing 150km/h on an empty m50 QUOTE]

The M50 is no German Autobahn
    used to drive home at about 3 in the mornign up the m50 and when it was dry i would do about 160km/h. Some people will be shocked at this but it really isn't that fast. I would probably do 200 if i was in a capable car.

Another situation.... I wouldn't drive much over 130km/h during the day or possibly 140km/h if it was quiet.

I'm surprised there hasn't been somebody killed on the m50 when the cars are queuing in the AUX lane. Apart from that I think the safety issue arises from the difference in speeds of two cars.

Say Mr X is doing 140 and the car he is about to pass is only doing 90 (should never happen on the M50 as it is 3 lanes) the guy doing 90 may for some reason want to move into the overtaking lane so he checks his mirrors and sees a car in the distance then moves slowly to the overtaking lane. Meanwhile Mr X is flying towards the back of his car. That's where the danger comes from.

I lived in Germany and it's funny how a little aul biddy of about 80 years of age will pass you in a Volkswagen polo at 180km/h. It's such a funny sight at first but they have a different mindset to us.

Back to the OP I saw that Garda traffic corps show on rte and some guy passed a garda, who was doing 120km/h, at "over 160km/h" the garda went after him but let him away with a warning. I'd say they cant do anything without a speed gun. Either that or they didn't want to do anything about it.

I dont condone speeding at all in Ireland , as the OP says the M50 has terrible slip roads, poor design and poor visability with regard to slowing traffic
    I have also worked and driven alot in Germany , and I agree the roads are very good there, straight 2, 3 and 4 lane motorways, the issue in Germany and where most of the accidents are is that you get tunnlled vision doin 200 kmph on these roads for 3 to 4 hours and then you slip off onto the country/town roads flying into a town or down a town street doing 130kmph, but most towns villages have speed cameras that strictly (and they all work) enforce the set speed limit for the area, the Autobahns are controlled also when the conditions are not good by slowing the traffic in "zones" on the main roads, when there is a motorway accident in Germany it is not a matter of ES cutting anyone out of a car, because there is normaly nothing left of the car, they just sweep the debris off the road

There is an attitude in this country that early in the morning AGS could not be bothered speed checking, I can tell you I have seen as much enforcement of speed limits in the middle of the night/early morning as is done during the day on a range of roads, speeding gets you nowhere, wreaks your car and saves you very little time,

too many people getting hurt on the roads, it's not worth it, my 2c

As for the Unmarked car, I had an unmarked car fly up behind me a few years ago, full blues, looked at the speedo was doing about 5% over speed limit, thought I was in sh1t slowed, the car passed me and about a mile up ahead a truck and 2 cars had crashed heavily head on, its all about priority

Have you not just explained right here why you should never do 160Kmph on a road that is marked 100Kmph. The difference in reaction times is huge.

If you hit and kill Mr X, a Garda or someone at the scene will ask you why you where travelling at 160Kmph?

In the most open minded way could I ask what would you consider a good answer?

Zambia232 wrote: »
    Have you not just explained right here why you should never do 160Kmph on a road that is marked 100Kmph. The difference in reaction times is huge.

If you hit and kill Mr X, a Garda or someone at the scene will ask you why you where travelling at 160Kmph?

In the most open minded way could I ask what would you consider a good answer?

I was just trying to say its about the situation at the time and the section of road. You are correct about the liability if I was doing that speed but Mr X is always speeding anyway :-) The thing is though, I am less likely to kill anyone at 160km/h on a motorway than i am at 100km/h on an N-road.

Just so people know, the surface of Irish motorways, when they're dry anyway, are of a very high standard compared many parts of the autobahn and others in Europe. Even the parts where there are no speed limits. I don't know how they can justify having 100km/h on a motorway and then if you turn off onto a crappy road it's still 100km/h.

I HATE people who disregard other people's safety on the road ie. bad overtaking, undertaking, tailgating, speeding around housing estates etc. but on a motorway its so easy to safely travel at high speeds so I don't believe it to be unsafe.

Anyway the M50 is designed for 120km/h+ all the way through! So think of the worst bend on it. That bend was designed for the cars to be travelling at 120km/h around it. If that's the case then wouldn't it be logical that the straight sections should be more?

I would agree the M50 ( I believe its a 3 lane now) could take 120 like the Dublin Belfast road. However it would never be free enough in daylight.

The 160kmph leaves to little room to handle the unexpected for the standard driver. While you may be better at driving than most the road speed should reflect the standard level of Driving. To stick the road speed on the M50 to 160 You may as well walk into the department of transport and start shooting learners in the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I would agree the M50 ( I believe its a 3 lane now) could take 120 like the Dublin Belfast road. However it would never be free enough in daylight.

I beg to differ, I'm bold and I average about 100 or a little over on the M50 and I'm holding back very consciously to do that speed. And I'm constantly pulling back into Lane 2 from Lane 3 to let people speed past me, even though I'm generally overtaking anyway (remember they must be doing 120-140 at this rate). People don't use Lane 1 properly (constant undertaking, again when I'm doing the limit to start with) and it's fast becoming THE main hazard on that road, to the extent it will cause an accident very soon.

Fast does not always mean unsafe, if you're watching what goes on around you and you know how to handle your car it's fine to do a bit faster. But 160 on the M50 is unsafe in daylight for sure - not at night though. They should extend the variable speed limit rules from the port tunnel to all motorways, making the rural ones unrestricted at some times wouldn't be a ludicrous thing -there's not a sinner on them at some times of the day let alone the night.

maglite wrote: »
    these is a fetish for that kind of thing. But OP to be fair the lads here wont know the answer, maybe he just couldn't be bothered spending the time on it thinking he could be doing something else.

last garda i saw do a stop like that spent over 2 hours dealing with it. (had the misfortune of being stopped outside a full restaurant)

Don't worry thats not me cup of tea :D..
    Ah you have a point and the previous posters do as well but when I seen it I just thought I'd ask!!

By any chance, did you manage to see the driver of the squad car? The reason I ask is if they were in plain clothes, speeders are not their concern & to pull people over for speeding may compromise their current task.

Yup he was in plainclothes..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

It totally depends on the circumstances. I used to drive home at about 3 in the mornign up the m50 and when it was dry i would do about 160km/h. Some people will be shocked at this but it really isn't that fast. I would probably do 200 if i was in a capable car.

Well I'm glad you have thought about the consequences if you were to lose control and crash at 160/200kmh.. I'm sure you have probably thought about the Gardai, Firefighters and Ambulance personnel who would have the task of picking bits of you off the road, putting them in a bag and then informing your loved ones.. I'm sure you've thought about your loved ones having to identify your mess.. I'm sure you've thought about your loved ones having a closed casket funeral for you.. etc

Am I being a bit harsh? No. Obey the speed limits, and you stand a much better chance of making it to your destinations.. regardless of how capable your car may be.:rolleyes:

What happens to this car
    06XR6_m_m.jpg

After hitting a tree at 140-160Kmph is this

489801-fatal-car-crash.jpg

There was 5 people put 6 feet under as a result of this crash. I drive by the site every day. The force of this impact felled the tree it collided with of a size of the tree behind the SES volunteer

eroo wrote: »
    Well I'm glad you have thought about the consequences if you were to lose control and crash at 160/200kmh.. I'm sure you have probably thought about the Gardai, Firefighters and Ambulance personnel who would have the task of picking bits of you off the road, putting them in a bag and then informing your loved ones.. I'm sure you've thought about your loved ones having to identify your mess.. I'm sure you've thought about your loved ones having a closed casket funeral for you.. etc

Am I being a bit harsh? No. Obey the speed limits, and you stand a much better chance of making it to your destinations.. regardless of how capable your car may be.:rolleyes:

Everything you have said here is totally missing my point. Don't just take what is advertised on the tv as granted. Cleaning up a mess of a car crash is an awful thought but I bet you any money you've never been in a car going 200km/h on amotorway. It's not dangerous is my point. I'm not saying it's dangerous and I don't care. I used to talk about guys who would speed past me and say how crazy they were because I didn't realise that what they were doing actually wasn't that mad.

About my car (Toyota Corolla) I said it is not capable of 200. It can do it but it isn't made to do it regularly. It is happy enough to cruise at 150km/h though.

What happens to this car
    06XR6_m_m.jpg

There was 5 people put 6 feet under as a result of this crash. I drive by the site every day. The force of this impact felled the tree it collided with of a size of the tree behind the SES volunteer

I hate boy racers. They endanger others and don't care. They also make my insurance high :mad: but contrary to what gay byrne may say speed does not kill: crashing kills. I would love to take a powerful car and drive on a motorway for 50 miles at 200km/h+ and show the non believers that it is not dangerous. Its actually very very simple!

Zambia, What made the blue car crash? The whole point of my post is to highlight that motorways are different to roads. There are no trees to crash into! There are no obstacles like children running out or cars pulling out of side roads to make you crash in the first place.

The picture are simply to show what happens when a solid object is hit by a car at 140-160kmph. Not to say this was caused by speed alone sorry if it came out that way.

The driver was a boy racer and was not experienced plus he had a few drinks on board. He actually 5 passengers (6 in the car) a girl survived. Speed was not the only cause of the accident however it was a factor in the fatal result On this I am sure we would agree? As if this accident happened at 50Kmph 5 kids would not have died.

I own the same type of car its got a 4 litre engine in it and I would agree I could possibly reach 200 kmph for 50 kmph on a motorway however what is my reaction time or braking distance at that speed. Alongside which if anything goes wrong Bird strike , stupid kangaroo , obstacle falls of another car ...and I crash I'm dead and anyone who is stupid enough to be in the car with me.

Having never driven on the Autobahn I cant compare it but I am pretty sure the M50 or the M1 don't compare. The germans as a people are better rule followers which I think adds to the way the autobahn works. For example who here knows someone who on their learners (2nd Provisional) drove on the M50 or is doing so now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Everything you have said here is totally missing my point. Don't just take what is advertised on the tv as granted. Cleaning up a mess of a car crash is an awful thought but I bet you any money you've never been in a car going 200km/h on amotorway. It's not dangerous is my point. I'm not saying it's dangerous and I don't care. I used to talk about guys who would speed past me and say how crazy they were because I didn't realise that what they were doing actually wasn't that mad.

Yes it is. If you have to avoid something unexpected you are much less likely to be able to keep control of the car. And as Zambia pointed out the consequences are much worse too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Sisu200

you've never been in a car going 200km/h on amotorway. It's not dangerous is my point. I'm not saying it's dangerous and I don't care.

speed does not kill: crashing kills. QUOTE]

I agree, its not the Airplane that kills in a crash but the ground when you hit it!

I have been in a car at 200kmph in Germany and I agree you would have to look at the speedo to know you were doing it, and yes you do feel safe, but in Ireland the vast majority of roads are not suited for any speed over 120kmph for instance

The New M9 motorway has had alot of accidents already since it opened before Christmas, the reason for the majority of these in my opinion is the lay of the land and speed, I am not talking about huge speed, 120kmph to 130kmph, the car can sway from side to side as you crest the hills, the camber on the road is poor and you are constantly correcting your car, I know because I have nearly hit the barrier several times on my way to work, it's weird, I would not feel safe driving on this road at any speed over about 100kmph as I dont feel I have adequate control of the car.

The N4 at Mullingar where the accident was yesterday and the road was closed,

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0407/rta.html

The truck crossed the central reservation for whatever reason, I passed by the scene early this morning, I am aware this is a dual carriageway, however they plan to change this to a motorway sometime in the future, and there are many instances around the country where cars, trucks, vans have crossed the central reservation and come into the path of oncoming traffic and at 160kmph to 200kmph, meeting an obstacle like that you havent a prayer, you have less time to react to the situation and try to avoid a collision

I dont mind been the person driving at 95kmph in a 100kmph and been in everyones way, as long as I am driving as safe as possible

just to clarify I used to be a prominent member of the rat race on our roads, thinking everyone was in my way and trying to acheive the fastest possible speed to get home

a question I have always wondered, why do people feel the need to drive at 160kmph - 200kmph?? whats the purpose? I could never understand why I used to drive fast, I quit it, maybe someone could throw some light on it

I hope the truck driver and all the other drivers involved in yesterdays misfortune make a full and speedy recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭paraletic

i am a paramedic

i have had to scrape bodies of the dashboards, zip up the bags, etc etc.

it is always disturbing, and unnatural, to see bodies in that state (you saw the pics - dont forget skin and bone is much softer than a car, it brakes, shatterss, tears, etc)
    if you are lucky you will be killed quick - if not you may meet the nice ambulance crews and fire fighters. maybe you will get to live for the rest of your short life in agony, pissing yourself, crying.

nobody thinks that they are going to crash - but people do!! even on motorways (maybe they think they are great drivers, i don't know) but no matter how good you are, or how many safety things your car has, your neck snaps the same as a poor driver.

if you crash at speed - sober or drunk. it is your own fault. but don't take out any one else.

enjoy driving, but a good driver is a careful and courtious driver, not a fast one!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭paraletic

....contrary to what gay byrne may say speed does not kill: crashing kills. I would love to take a powerful car and drive on a motorway for 50 miles at 200km/h+ and show the non believers that it is not dangerous. Its actually very very simple!

What made the blue car crash? The whole point of my post is to highlight that motorways are different to roads. There are no trees to crash into! There are no obstacles like children running out or cars pulling out of side roads to make you crash in the first place.

at 200kph on a motor way, you can crash and die (or even at 80kph on a motorway), - there are obstacles, like cars pulling out to make you crash.

also the family of the dead don't care what kind of road it is.

:)dont show the non believers, just slow down, whats the rush any way?
    - but i do believe you - it is a 'simple' thing to do. -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

What happens to this car
    06XR6_m_m.jpg

While the damage of the crash was undoubtedly great, I'd imagine the reason why there is no roof is because emergency fire and rescue crews cut it off.

You often see pictures saying "this is what will happen to your car if you crash it" and proceed to show something that has been opened like a can opener by firefighters.

I think it sends out the wrong message because it is disingenuous to suggest the impact caused the damage so why believe the rest of the statement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭TylerIE

I hate boy racers. They endanger others and don't care. They also make my insurance high :mad: but contrary to what gay byrne may say speed does not kill: crashing kills. I would love to take a powerful car and drive on a motorway for 50 miles at 200km/h+ and show the non believers that it is not dangerous. Its actually very very simple!

Theres is other road users, granny drivers, slow trucks, boy racers, broken down vehicles, drivers who stop or change speed or direction suddenly plus animals, boxes, tyres, stray traffic cones, bumpers of the last idiots car and of course the stray children, alzheimers / dementia / psychiatric patients all of which regularly find their way onto Irish Motorways...

At 120kmh on any road in daylight your on top of a hazard such as that before you realise whats going on - at 160kmh you havnt a hope... If you drive as much as you appear to you are bound to see these hazards regularly... ergo speed causes crashes which do kill

While the damage of the crash was undoubtedly great, I'd imagine the reason why there is no roof is because emergency fire and rescue crews cut it off.
    They cut the roof of to remove the bodies , no disagreement there.
    You often see pictures saying "this is what will happen to your car if you crash it"
    This is what happened to that car when it was crashed at 140-160 kmph
    I think it sends out the wrong message because it is disingenuous to suggest the impact caused the damage so why believe the rest of the statement?

The I never said the impact caused the seen damage. The fact the car hit a pole caused the damage and the resulting fire crew action. So the example is true the car did actually split in half from the impact prior to any fire crew action.

I don't know where your coming from with this its a simple example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

paraletic wrote: »
    i am a paramedic

i have had to scrape bodies of the dashboards, zip up the bags, etc etc.

it is always disturbing, and unnatural, to see bodies in that state (you saw the pics - dont forget skin and bone is much softer than a car, it brakes, shatterss, tears, etc)
    if you are lucky you will be killed quick - if not you may meet the nice ambulance crews and fire fighters. maybe you will get to live for the rest of your short life in agony, pissing yourself, crying.

nobody thinks that they are going to crash - but people do!! even on motorways (maybe they think they are great drivers, i don't know) but no matter how good you are, or how many safety things your car has, your neck snaps the same as a poor driver.

if you crash at speed - sober or drunk. it is your own fault. but don't take out any one else.

enjoy driving, but a good driver is a careful and courtious driver, not a fast one!!:)

I think that should be post of the year. When you hear people like this talkin it dont be long making you think.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭746watts

maybe unmarked car was following a druggie, gathering movements etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Kormeera X

i was on the motorway last night, around 8 or 9, and there was a yellow reg car on front. The fella on front of us kept going from one lane to the other and we were very close to him. Eventually we got ahead of him and i looked back at the car and there were three youngfella's in it. The fella who was driving was asleep at the wheel! i swear! he was either drunk or on gear. I even looked again to make sure i wasnt seeing things, he was deffentily asleep!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

Kormeera X wrote: »
    i was on the motorway last night, around 8 or 9, and there was a yellow reg car on front. The fella on front of us kept going from one lane to the other and we were very close to him. Eventually we got ahead of him and i looked back at the car and there were three youngfella's in it. The fella who was driving was asleep at the wheel! i swear! he was either drunk or on gear. I even looked again to make sure i wasnt seeing things, he was deffentily asleep!! :eek:

did you ring the Guards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Kormeera X

no, we ended up getting away from him lucky enough. I hope nothing happened though.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Kormeera X wrote: »
    no, we ended up getting away from him lucky enough. I hope nothing happened though.

So you knew there was something up,
    you "hope nothing happened",
    but you didn't bother reporting the incident ?

The mind boggles.