If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What the hell happened to Irish Dancing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

orla wrote: »
    My local GAA club actually had a 'Jigs Factor' charity night with local celebrities which was really successful.

http://plunketts.ie/gallery_show.aspx?id=44

so does mine, here's my latest audition

EDIT: why do all rappers insist on saying "what, what what" no one has asked you a question

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

I think they are grand. You have the traditional, the showy stuff like you post link and then you have the super sexy Flatley stuff ... caters for all tastes IMO.

And then you have just Irish dancing, no uniforms just you every street attire ... I love or hate them all depending on my mood on any given day .... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

bazmaiden wrote: »
    so does mine, here's my latest audition

EDIT: why do all rappers insist on saying "what, what what" no one has asked you a question

Don't think you'd be up to our standard :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

Don't think you'd be up to our standard :P

turn it off, turn it off!!!

is that you screaming!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

Scary stuff looking at those pictures, don't know why the obviously fake tan is allowed on kids at such a young age. Agree with the wigs though as someone who spent hours getting the head pulled off me for the sake of curly hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Ticktactoe

mars bar wrote: »
    I did it for 7 years back in the day when you had the traditional Irish dress and a wig if ya wanted. That was as far as it went, it was all about the dancing.
    It's such a shame the way it has gone now.

I did it back in the day before the wigs! You used your natural hair, skin colour and face!
    You were judged on your dancing ability and not your fashion sense. Costumes did cost an arm and a leg however the prices varied, depending on how much you wanted to pay. If you went with your school of dancings costume you were playing a couple of hundred.
    I danced in the connaught and All Ireland championships and it was much better than the circus that is paraded nowadays.
    Its unfortunate, as the girls/lads obviously have the dancing talent but its the ridiculous colours, fake hair, fake tan, silly clown costumes that take away what Irish Dancing is/was all about. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

If i watch any type of Irish dancing i prefer to watch "Sean Nos " dancing.

;)Its the real Irish Dancing!!!!!!!!!.,without the stupid costumes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H_fS7BQShJA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Sean-nós dancing is boring as hell.

Costumes used to be nice! I gave up Irish dancing in 2001 and it was creeping in in a major way then. I had a velvet costume with tiny bits of sequins on it- but they're all outlandish now with no celtic designs. Costumes were lovely in the late 90's, boring before then and rotten shiny things now. Was under pressure to wear a wig but never did. It's INSANELY competitive, I started too late and once you rise so high you're competing against people who've been dancing since the age of 4..so you ALWAYS lose to them. Was interfering with school then as well. Can't imagine what those horrible dresses cost now, a brand new dress in 1999 cost £700 (used the buy and sell instead!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭DancingQueen:)

Ticktactoe wrote: »
    I did it back in the day before the wigs! You used your natural hair, skin colour and face!
    You were judged on your dancing ability and not your fashion sense.

I dance now and this is what it's like.
    The dresses are dear though, around €1400 and people generally get new solo costumes every year or year and a half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

Anyone know the reason behind the wigs?

Not sure but it takes a really long time to curl your hair and they're never perfect curls. It's probably just easier to wear a wig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

Not sure but it takes a really long time to curl your hair and they're never perfect curls. It's probably just easier to wear a wig.

Cheers, I didn't realize Irish dancers had to curl their hair......tells ya how observant I am

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

Its just more of the leprechauning of Irish culture and heritage. We're expected now to tip our hat and welcome any of this kind of fakey oirish pageant begorrah, and be grateful for the tourist dollar or euro.

Each to their own in fairness, but I'd rather see sean-nós anyday or somebody just dancing freestyle to the rhythm of good live trad than that billy barry bejayzus anyday.

Cheers, I didn't realize Irish dancers had to curl their hair......tells ya how observant I am

It's not compulsory and is sometimes easier not to have curls but at the big competitions you normally wouldn't see many people without them. Personally I prefer natural curls and have never worn a wig, I like it better that way :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

:confused: Its not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I for one think Irish dancing is AWFUL. How on earth would anyone get involved in that type of thing, especially men???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,466 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    How on earth would anyone get involved in that type of thing, especially men???

Men? Look at all the totty you can chat up!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I had fun when I grew up.
    All those very fit ladies and by god, could they get their legs to some heights - from dancing of course! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

irish dancing is no way dead. Its very much alive and kicking. There were over 4000 competitors in Glasgow with upwards of 15,000 supporters and family in attendance.

Also Killarney was buzzing in February when the Irish championships were on

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,002 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Tell me about it.

Here's an example of one i just found on ebay. Here

'Only worn once' - just how pissed would you be if you forked out for the dress then your kid decided they wanted to join the football team instead.

guardian.co.uk

credible - that is irish dancing competitions.

Not real irish dancing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Jenroche

I was never a huge Irish Dancing fan. I remember being made to do it in school and was never really good at it. I wanted to do ballet instead but they weren't having any of it. :rolleyes:

That said, I saw an amazing display of Irish dancing at a friend's wedding last year. The bride was a teacher of it and some of the girls she taught came and danced at her wedding and what a fantastic show they put on. I was highly impressed.

However, I agree with the costumes. I used to love the old costumes with the beautiful embroidery and celtic designs. They look so tacky and horrible now and the business with the wigs is just unreal. Most girls have beautiful hair and they should be allowed to show it off and look individual, not look like curly-headed clones of each other.

It is a big part of our heritage and it's great that it's still going strong but seriously....sort them costumes out!

Jen ;->

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,294 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

By the time you fight your way through their families to get chatting, it's time to go home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Aviva_Lasvagas

For me, Irish dancing was never the same after Graham Norton (Acting the Preist) and his youth group were seen dancing in that caravan in Farther Ted – OP, I think you have your answer now... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Little My

It just looks ridiculous now. Some of the girls in the guardian feature look like they are trying to crash one of the really tacky traveller weddings.

I don't doubt that it is still popular and that the girls who take part are talented, but it looks like the kiddie pagents in the US now. Any parents with an ounce of sense should be leading the backlash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Irish dancing is a martial art invented by the IRA:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

bazmaiden wrote: »
    Riverdance happened and brought that sh*t mainstream
    I think its great. So do a lot of people, judging by the way four times the population of the country have paid hard earned cash to see the show the world over. Speaking of the which, thirty two nations joined in that competition. I think the art will survive the AH treatment to be honest. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

From an American newspaper.

http://www.sacbee.com/static/weblogs/photos/2010/03/world-irish-dance-championship.html

Whats with al of the didgy wigs? Does it make them look like Irish cailíni

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Those pictures. I wasn't sure I was looking at a dancing competition or a mass knacker wedding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,181 ✭✭✭✭bnt

It's all Flatleys fault.
    Good News, Everyone! He's Back. Lord Of The Dance returns to Dublin in November.

I wonder if they'll let me backstage with a big bag of marbles ..? I'm with Leary on this one :cool:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray