Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overpacked pubs and night clubs??????

• 05-04-2010 2:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭

Was out tonight and left early cos I got annoyed! Its nice to look forward to a night out with friends, then when you get into a pub/nightclub, they are overpacked...... Tonight for instance, me and my friends decided to go to a very well known pub in town. We spent 40 minutes Q-ing in the rain to get in. We get in, go to the toilets another 15 minutes (Where I always wonder what girls do be doing/talking about in a locked toilet for 10 or 15 minutes????????) Get to the bar, another 10 to 15 minutes. After over an hour, we are finally free to mingle! Start having a walk around, and get bumped into, drinks spilled on our clothes, and some idiots who are standing in the worst places so as to stop allowing people to get by. The last straw came when I was standing with my friends, and this one swings her handbag, and my drink falls to the ground......I had enough, and was too annoyed and went home. It annoys me so much as to why when we go out in the hope of having a good time and have to put up with all this, overcrowded pubs, Q-ing for ages....I'm glad I'm at home!
    Does this bother anyone else? I'm just getting so sick of it lately :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

nicegirl wrote: »
    Was out tonight and left early cos I got annoyed! Its nice to look forward to a night out with friends, then when you get into a pub/nightclub, they are overpacked...... Tonight for instance, me and my friends decided to go to a very well known pub in town. We spent 40 minutes Q-ing in the rain to get in. We get in, go to the toilets another 15 minutes (Where I always wonder what girls do be doing/talking about in a locked toilet for 10 or 15 minutes????????) Get to the bar, another 10 to 15 minutes. After over an hour, we are finally free to mingle! Start having a walk around, and get bumped into, drinks spilled on our clothes, and some idiots who are standing in the worst places so as to stop allowing people to get by. The last straw came when I was standing with my friends, and this one swings her handbag, and my drink falls to the ground......I had enough, and was too annoyed and went home. It annoys me so much as to why when we go out in the hope of having a good time and have to put up with all this, overcrowded pubs, Q-ing for ages....I'm glad I'm at home!

Sounds like your getting old :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭nicegirl

M5 wrote: »
    Sounds like your getting old :p

I'm a young enough girl, and love going out and that, but all what I said above just annoys the hell out of me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

Pretty standard for nights out in Ireland no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Don't worry, this was a one off cause it was a bank holiday. the country's night life has gone to pot. You won't go through a night like tonight again for another few months. Unfortunately.

I'm a young enough girl, and love going out and that, but all what I said above just annoys the hell out of me!

Bank holiday weekend, going to be packed in all the usual spots!

Tristram wrote: »
    Pretty standard for nights out in Ireland no?

No, not all places, just the places that are good, and if you try a less known pubs/nightclubs then they tend to be crap, and like a funeral home, especially these days! Its hard to get a good balance on a night out, and go to a place that is good, and is not overpacked etc like what I said above!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭padz

i hear ya sister, that also bugs the heck out of me when goin out, IF goin out (and thats a big if) i usually now do thurs or sundays ,it seams to be less crazy and not so expensive gettin into a disco, where did u go to anyway was it in the city centre?jammers id say:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Start drinking during the day.

Problem solved.

/thread.

Bank holiday weekend, going to be packed in all the usual spots!

Regardless of it being a bank holiday or not this is the usual situation in Dublin anyways, I don't know about anyone else but it annoys me, not being able to have a really good night out without all the crap that comes along with it. I mean girls....what do ye be doing locked in a toilet for 10 to 15 minutes when there is a big Q??????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

I think these people expect their own private niteclubs. Poor princess.

Regardless of it being a bank holiday or not this is the usual situation in Dublin anyways, I don't know about anyone else but it annoys me, not being able to have a really good night out without all the crap that comes along with it. I mean girls....what do ye be doing locked in a toilet for 10 to 15 minutes when there is a big Q??????????

You leave all your rights at the door in a nightclub anyway. Love asking for a bottle of Carona and gettign a Sol or a vodka and red bull and getting fcuking burn. Any hint of a complaint and your out the door.

I mean girls....what do ye be doing locked in a toilet for 10 to 15 minutes when there is a big Q??????????

i thaught u mite know that one? us guys havent a clue whats goin on in there, my guess is that other girls are so sick of waiting that when it comes their turn they milk the time and jus chill out in the jax to piss of the rest of the people waiting, its a perpetuating thing is it? that or their unloading lots of covert booze into themselves while ther in the cubicle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 ZiX ZiX ZiX

I much prefer going to a restaurant or cinema, or maybe someones house for a few drinks these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

not being able to have a really good night out without all the crap that comes along with it. I mean girls....what do ye be doing locked in a toilet for 10 to 15 minutes when there is a big Q??????????

Sorry.:pac:

Sorry.:pac:

well spotted! :D

You leave all your rights at the door in a nightclub anyway. Love asking for a bottle of Carona and gettign a Sol or a vodka and red bull and getting fcuking burn. Any hint of a complaint and your out the door.

omg corona thats pi$$, let me guess the lemons for all the flys buzzin around ye:) redbull/burn its all the same red wee, im just happy if the feckin glasses are clean lol

I agree. Tonight for instance, me and my friends spent 40 minutes Q-ing in the rain, where it takes the bouncers 10 minutes to let 2 or 3 people in......we get inside and the place is overpacked anyways???? Me and my friends eventually got in at about relatively late and still charged E10 in, the same as if someone came in at 12, or 12.30. I think that is ridiculously uinfair, and just greed from the pub/nightclub.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 ZiX ZiX ZiX

I agree. Tonight for instance, me and my friends spent 40 minutes Q-ing in the rain, where it takes the bouncers 10 minutes to let 2 or 3 people in......we get inside and the place is overpacked anyways???? Me and my friends eventually got in at about relatively late and still charged E10 in, the same as if someone came in at 12, or 12.30. I think that is ridiculously uinfair, and just greed from the pub/nightclub.....

Don't go then. So long as people are willing to easily part with their money, they'll continue ripping you off.

padz wrote: »
    omg corona thats pi$$, let me guess the lemons for all the flys buzzin around ye:) redbull/burn its all the same red wee, im just happy if the feckin glasses are clean lol

Not the point really! Imagine asking for a Miller and getting a Coors or take it to the next level, going to a restaurant and asking for a pizza and being brought lasagne

well the vodka redbull these days you can expect any mixer, monster/burn etc, i agree if u asked for corona you should get what you ordered but redbull has become so popular any generic seams to do these days

i heard this story some years back of a pub at xmas, the place was jammers& they ran out of guinness, so they put the beamish kegs on the tap and people kept drinking without as much as a word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

Which place were you in?

dRNk SAnTA wrote: »
    Which place were you in?

I don't think I would be able to name it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,997 ✭✭✭Degag

Sorry but, did you not expect that in a "very well known pub" on a bank holiday night that it wouldn't be very busy? What did you really expect? If you wanted a nice quiet few drinks, ye should have gone to a different pub. But you should have known what you were getting yourself into going to a busy pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

Was out tonight and left early cos I got annoyed! Its nice to look forward to a night out with friends, then when you get into a pub/nightclub, they are overpacked...... Tonight for instance, me and my friends decided to go to a very well known pub in town.

this was your first clue about how busy the pub/club would be

We spent 40 minutes Q-ing in the rain to get in.
    this was the second
    We get in, go to the toilets another 15 minutes (Where I always wonder what girls do be doing/talking about in a locked toilet for 10 or 15 minutes????????)
    we're snorting coke off one anothers tits

Get to the bar, another 10 to 15 minutes. After over an hour, we are finally free to mingle! Start having a walk around, and get bumped into, drinks spilled on our clothes, and some idiots who are standing in the worst places so as to stop allowing people to get by. The last straw came when I was standing with my friends, and this one swings her handbag, and my drink falls to the ground......
    really, this is very common...

I had enough, and was too annoyed and went home. It annoys me so much as to why when we go out in the hope of having a good time and have to put up with all this, overcrowded pubs, Q-ing for ages....I'm glad I'm at home!
    you picked a popular pub/club on a bank holiday sunday.

this was your first clue about how busy the pub/club would be

this was the second
    we're snorting coke off one anothers tits

really, this is very common...

you picked a popular pub/club on a bank holiday sunday.

What we were all thinking but afraid to say :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭ArseBurger

Recession me arse.

This thread is funny.

Ok, so you queue up for ages to get into a place (clearly it's packed if it's late and the queue isn't really going anywhere.
    Then, you complain about having to pay the same price as someone who got there early (so because...through fault of your own...you got there late...you want to pay less...).
    And then you complain that a well known, popular place is packed on easter bank holiday.
    Having to queue for the toilets in a packed place as well...seriously wtf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

dRNk SAnTA wrote: »
    Which place were you in?

My guess is "Q" bar? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Because I'm being narky tonight, wtf is "overpacked?"

Surely you mean packed? Over capacity? Busy?

Its a Bank Holiday. You had to queue to get in. City centre. Even a chimp would be able to add these together and get the peanut prize.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Fall Guy

The problem as I see it is couple and groups of friends. These 2 groups have absolutely no business going to a pub or club. Pubs and clubs should be for single people only and people who want to make friends.

Why do couples go to pubs/clubs for the priviledge of paying 3 times the price of drink that they could buy in an off license and drink at home, then entrance fee and taxi fares on top of that. If they were at home they could also listen to exactly the type of music they like and at a volume they are comfortable with.

They same can be said about groups of friends. Groups of friends only talk to each other as well and therefore its pointless for them to pay top dollar to drink in Irelands pubs/clubs.

If people aren't going to go to meet new people then they should not be taking up valuable space in our overcrowded pubs/clubs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭dunleakelleher

No, not all places, just the places that are good, and if you try a less known pubs/nightclubs then they tend to be crap,
    Well... if all the people went to the crap places (therefore turning them into the good spots) That would leave more room in the good places for you and your friend because they would be empty (therefore turning them into crap places). . . :rolleyes: Would you be happy then..:D

Fall Guy wrote: »
    The problem as I see it is couple and groups of friends. These 2 groups have absolutely no business going to a pub or club. Pubs and clubs should be for single people only and people who want to make friends.

Why do couples go to pubs/clubs for the priviledge of paying 3 times the price of drink that they could buy in an off license and drink at home, then entrance fee and taxi fares on top of that. If they were at home they could also listen to exactly the type of music they like and at a volume they are comfortable with.

They same can be said about groups of friends. Groups of friends only talk to each other as well and therefore its pointless for them to pay top dollar to drink in Irelands pubs/clubs.

If people aren't going to go to meet new people then they should not be taking up valuable space in our overcrowded pubs/clubs!

Few problems with this post.

So what you are basically saying is that couples should spend all their time at home,
    only leaving the house to go an get some booze, then quickly returning to spend all their nights off work...at home.
    Did you ever think that couples might want to go and meet other people, maybe they want to go out and meet other couples,
    or just to talk to other people apart from each other...

And then as for groups of people...did you ever think that the reason these groups of people are going out is because they are....single...and they want to meet other singles.
    It's just that they happen to do this with a group, certainly when I go out a lot of nights with a group (generally a group of lads),
    it is to meet women, speak to women and so on.

Of course I talk to my friends about things while in pubs/clubs.
    They are my friends, and we usually have stuff to talk about, regardless of where we are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

We spent 40 minutes Q-ing in the rain to get in.
    The 40 minute queue to get in should have been a clue to what it would be like inside.

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Few problems with this post.

So what you are basically saying is that couples should spend all their time at home,
    only leaving the house to go an get some booze, then quickly returning to spend all their nights off work...at home.
    Did you ever think that couples might want to go and meet other people, maybe they want to go out and meet other couples,
    or just to talk to other people apart from each other...

And then as for groups of people...did you ever think that the reason these groups of people are going out is because they are....single...and they want to meet other singles.
    It's just that they happen to do this with a group, certainly when I go out a lot of nights with a group (generally a group of lads),
    it is to meet women, speak to women and so on.

Of course I talk to my friends about things while in pubs/clubs.
    They are my friends, and we usually have stuff to talk about, regardless of where we are.

If these 2 groups I speak off want to go out and talk to other people then thats fine, I'll allow them to go to clubs/pubs. But my point is that in most cases couples and groups of friends don't go to meet other people and only talk to their own friend/partner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Why the hell would you queue 40 minutes in the pissing rain to get into a pub? You're in the City Centre, it's not like there's a shortage of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Next thing you're going to tell me the music was too loud :D

The music is always too loud, I can never hear what the person beside me is saying and so always just nod and say yes to them, and pulling is impossible when you are effectively deaf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 PapaRatzinger

Sounds like the Palace. Bouncers there are violent scum. Enter at your peril.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭dunleakelleher

The music is always too loud, I can never hear what the person beside me is saying and so always just nod and say yes to them, and pulling is impossible when you are effectively deaf.
    Yep, your getting to old. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

This why I'd much rather stay in (or work as the case may be) on a Saturday night and go out on Wednesday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

If you're trying to pull in a nightclub by having a stimulating conversation, you're doing it wrong.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

....what do ye be doing locked in a toilet for 10 to 15 minutes when there is a big Q??????????

Having pillow fights/comparing underwear

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

A WELL known nightclub in Louth that wife and I used to attend - no longer - jams them in every night at the weekends.
    The place was given a fire officer licence to have at most 750 people in it at any one time.
    The nightclub owner didn't agree with that and for months fought with the law to get it increased by another 100, pushing it up to 850 at any one time he could have in.

The daft thing was/is that if you were to attend any night of the weekend, the absolute minimum in the nightclub during its busiest hour, numbered between 1,500 and 2,000 people present.
    It was/is like SERIOUS sardines in a can from one side of the building to the other!
    Wife and I don't attend any more for obvious safety and security reasons.

My how quickly people have forgotten the "Stardust" and the many lives lost!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Biggins wrote: »
    A WELL known nightclub in Louth that wife and I used to attend - no longer - jams them in every night at the weekends.
    The place was given a fire officer licence to have at most 750 people in it at any one time.
    The nightclub owner didn't agree with that and for months fought with the law to get it increased by another 100, pushing it up to 850 at any one time he could have in.

The daft thing was/is that if you were to attend any night of the weekend, the absolute minimum in the nightclub during its busiest hour, numbered between 1,500 and 2,000 people present.
    It was/is like SERIOUS sardines in a can from one side of the building to the other!
    Wife and I don't attend any more for obvious safety and security reasons.

My how quickly people have forgotten the "Stardust" and the many lives lost!

There is a place in Dublin which I will not name that regularly packs them in to the extent that people can barley move.

It's owned by an ex-cop too.

I don't know how they have got away with the numbers for so long.

I dread to think what would happen in there if there was a fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

This is done so that you drink more amidst the silences where conversation dies because you can't actually hear the other person and they can't hear you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

just the places that are good, and if you try a less known pubs/nightclubs then they tend to be crap, and like a funeral home, especially these days! Its hard to get a good balance on a night out, and go to a place that is good, and is not overpacked etc like what I said above!

Lol, at the good. You clearly hated the place. However your use of language here explains why you are in the crap pub/nightclub. It is a matter of social verification - nobody really wants to be in a very crowded nightclub but if everybody is going to that nightclub it has a reputation of being "good", even if you dont like the crowding. People follow people.

If everybody was to mix it up then all nightclubs would be equally busy - i.e. comfortably busy. What happens instead is that a quieter nightclub makes people feel weird so they leave or dont turn up again making it quieter. Everybody does that and everybody crowds into the "good" places they hate.
    Pubs and clubs should be for single people only and people who want to make friends.

That is the weirdest comment I have ever heard in Boards ( meant seriously). I tend not to club anymore, but when I did I went with friends after a pub. People to talk to. Thats why we go out. I have never gone into a club on my own.

Are you seriously suggesting that only johnny and Jemina no-mates should get into clubs where they can "make friends" over the ear-shattering music?

There are better places to make friends. Franky there are better places to meet women too ( almost everywhere else).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

Tonight for instance, me and my friends decided to go to a very well known pub in town.

theres where you went wrong...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Anybody that queues (In the rain!!!) for 40 minutes to get into a pub/club deserves exactly what they get when they get in there.
    It's Dublin city centre ffs - there's plenty of good pubs with no queue. Sounds to me though that this is a 'cool' pub/club - which are usually overhyped and full of **** anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

nothing to do with your attitude :rolleyes:

Pittens wrote: »

That is the weirdest comment I have ever heard in Boards ( meant seriously). I tend not to club anymore, but when I did I went with friends after a pub. People to talk to. Thats why we go out. I have never gone into a club on my own.

Are you seriously suggesting that only johnny and Jemina no-mates should get into clubs where they can "make friends" over the ear-shattering music?

There are better places to make friends. Franky there are better places to meet women too ( almost everywhere else).

There are no better places to meet women. First the gym was the place to meet girls, then it was the supermarket, now they say its the bookstore. Trust me, no one's meetin' anyone in these places.