Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Birmingham City Team news & rumours

• 04-04-2010 4:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭

Should be a good game later on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Pot Noodle =

Might get to Europe after all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭IrishIrish

Great thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

There's no problem with this thread being opened and used for it's purpose. However, if it's used as a vehicle to take pops at Liverpool's disappointing result then it'll be closed. I'll leave it at that and see how it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Interesting to see if Brum manage to hold onto McLeish in the Summer. While his team plays poor enough football they are highly effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

I'm delighted to see Birmingham's resurgence under McLeish. Villa fan that I am, I think subscribing to these spurious rivalries when supporting a team from abroad is pointless and anyone with the slightest compassion and respect for the game of football should be delighted to see a team go from promotion to contention for Europe so rapidly.

Not only has their progression been swift, but you can see a genuine medium-to-long term solidity and vitality forming at the club. There does not appear to be any critical reliance on a small number of players earning unsustainable wages (read: Pompey); rather, the team is built around a solid defence and honest, hard-working players. They perform as an effective, interchangeable unit that is difficult to beat and adept at grinding out wins.

The two key factors for me is (a) the level of investment that Yeung pledges to the club to build on this season's progression and (b) whether McLeish will stick around. However, provided there is money available to him, I can't see him wanting to leave any time soon. He doesn't seem to have an intrusive chairman, he has laid a solid foundation for the club, with the squad of players that play the game his way and provide a stable framework to further improve contingent on the appropriate player acquisitions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Neil3030 wrote: »
    I'm delighted to see Birmingham's resurgence under McLeish. Villa fan that I am, I think subscribing to these spurious rivalries when supporting a team from abroad is pointless and anyone with the slightest compassion and respect for the game of football should be delighted to see a team go from promotion to contention for Europe so rapidly.

Not only has their progression been swift, but you can see a genuine medium-to-long term solidity and vitality forming at the club. There does not appear to be any critical reliance on a small number of players earning unsustainable wages (read: Pompey); rather, the team is built around a solid defence and honest, hard-working players. They perform as an effective, interchangeable unit that is difficult to beat and adept at grinding out wins.

The two key factors for me is (a) the level of investment that Yeung pledges to the club to build on this season's progression and (b) whether McLeish will stick around. However, provided there is money available to him, I can't see him wanting to leave any time soon. He doesn't seem to have an intrusive chairman, he has laid a solid foundation for the club, with the squad of players that play the game his way and provide a stable framework to further improve contingent on the appropriate player acquisitions.

Amen brother.

McLeish has done a fantastic job there. Second possibly only to Hodgson for Manager of the Year IMO. Seems to have specialised in getting players who have been written off elsewhere back to playing their best stuff in years, the likes of Carr, Ridgewell, Ferguson and Bowyer spring to mind.

it is my team for the last 30 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Yo-yo club?

What yo-yo club?

Just hope they can keep up this good run of form next season.

That_Guy wrote: »
    Yo-yo club?

What yo-yo club?

Just hope they can keep up this good run of form next season.

Are there any Birmingham fans on here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭invinciblePRSTV

Pot wrote:

1616607919_308a0c59fe.jpg?v=0

All quite here, bit like SHA's trophy cabinet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Pot wrote:

good few pats fans go over regulary for some hero worship.

Theres a brum fan club run a by lad in Lucan http://www.irishbrummies.webs.com/

dreamers75 wrote: »
    good few pats fans go over regulary for some hero worship.

Theres a brum fan club run a by lad in Lucan http://www.irishbrummies.webs.com/

I know Richie just trying to spread the Word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

I thought I was the only Brum fan in Ireland. The looks I get when I tell people who I support. Have been supporting them for 4 years, relatively short time and have only made it to five games, wish it was more but with time constraints it was never suitable. I am as shocked as most Brum fans are of our performance this year, I knew we had enough to stay up but not in this fashion. Mc Leish has done a fantastic job to get us this far. I was suspicious of his signings in the summer. Two championship defenders (Dann and Johnson), two players past it with volatile personalities (Bowyer and Ferguson). The only disappointment has been the attack, no real goalscoring threat. Significant recruitment in the summer should really bolster the squad for next year. Another mid table finish would be fine for me. No point trying for Europe until we have built a squad. All in all, huge thanks must be given to the board, the players, the management and of course the fans for making this one of Birmingham's best years in a long time.

Wouldnt be a fan but would try watch them as much as possible as i did with man u and boro.

Kinda weird watching Fahey have an awesome season last season and then this season eventually get himself into the 1st 11 and never once look out of place vs any team.

Shame we dont get any more money for him other than a game vs yis in July.

Fahey one of the key reasons we are in the Premiership, at times last year he was carrying the team. Was certainly one of the fans faves last year. This year has been mixed for him, could not get near the team when we were on the winning run for obvious reasons. Now he has gotten a few games I am not fully certain that he is up to Prem standard. He looks lost in a few games. There is no doubting his ability, one of the best passers of the ball but his workrate is sadly lacking. He doesnt go into tackles and doesnt bring an intensity to the game. His style of lay is not really suitable to the type of football Brum are employing at the moment. However next season I believe will be a big season for him, Brum will buy more quality players and the tactics will change which will suit Fahey. He can become the top player most Brum fans know he can be.

Tbh we suffered having him in LOI as he had no bite but sometimes was worth paying for a ticket alone for something sublime. he is an attacking midfielderand if the mid is set up to afford him he is simply awesome.

LOI is a battling league and having him in the middle puts you a man down in the midfield battle. We played 3 in the middle to "afford" him at times or stuck him on the wing (usually he sulked and did **** all when on the wing).

For Brum imo he should play ahead of Bowyer and ferguson let them do the donkey work and let him create. But that means either Chucho or jerome up front on their own. Add in Larrson and McFadden as wingers and it would unbalance the team as they are not wingers.

And Fahey should be taking the frees and corners :p

i came :D

We interviewed after the No 1 goal on that video and he "meant" it to go into that area :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭d22ontour

Some quaility goals there but does he not like peeps celebrating goals with him ? :p

I am here to try to convert you:D

Man city tomorrow

Just kicked off

Villa tomorrow, really thought this was going to be a massive game for both teams at the start of the season. Presumed we would be fighting off relegation and Villa would be going for the Champions League. Neither have seen to have come about, both seasons have petered out. Think it could be a dreary affair but hopefully both sets of fans create a lively atmosphere that could spur on the players. Predict Villa to win by a narrow margin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,814 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    Villa tomorrow, really thought this was going to be a massive game for both teams at the start of the season. Presumed we would be fighting off relegation and Villa would be going for the Champions League. Neither have seen to have come about, both seasons have petered out. Think it could be a dreary affair but hopefully both sets of fans create a lively atmosphere that could spur on the players. Predict Villa to win by a narrow margin.

You don't think Villa are in with a chance of 4th? Better check the table.
    No way it will be a dreary affair either, will be blood and guts.

JPA wrote: »
    You don't think Villa are in with a chance of 4th
    Ah I figured I would get a response with my statement. And no I do not think you will get 4th. You might beat us but that will leave you a point off fourth having played a game more, plus you have to go to City which will be a struggle. The best then you can hope for is a Spurs and City draw. Still then I can not see you getting 4th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,814 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    Ah I figured I would get a response with my statement. And no I do not think you will get 4th. You might beat us but that will leave you a point off fourth having played a game more, plus you have to go to City which will be a struggle. The best then you can hope for is a Spurs and City draw. Still then I can not see you getting 4th.

:) Very difficult but no way the players will be just giving up tomorrow. They will be playing tomorrow like their lives depend on it.

JPA wrote: »
    :) Very difficult but no way the players will be just giving up tomorrow. They will be playing tomorrow like their lives depend on it.
    Good to see that, should be an interesting match if Birmingham players match the intensity and drive. Just because there is nothing left for us to play for does not mean we should not go out and give it our all, which we have not done since our undefeated streak. Be great to see Gardner score one for his boyhood heroes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Wouldnt be a fan but would try watch them as much as possible as i did with man u and boro.

Kinda weird watching Fahey have an awesome season last season and then this season eventually get himself into the 1st 11 and never once look out of place vs any team.

Shame we dont get any more money for him other than a game vs yis in July.

I'm raging we didn't get more money myself. What was it? Something like 350k up front and the same again if they got promoted?? Maybe i'm way off.

At the time when it was obvious Birmingham were coming in for him, i was thinking along the lines of getting a million for him. Sure didn't Alan Bennett go to Reading for something like 750k.

(Though he wouldn't get his game in the Pat's team this season :p;))

Fahey was a great bit of business for the Blues hope score today KRO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Pot wrote:
    Fahey was a great bit of business for the Blues hope score today KRO

On the bench.

Don't think he has done so well in recent weeks. Mcleish should be playing him in the centre.

Can't see them getting anything out of Villa Park today.

That was no peno Johnston got the ball

Another memorable win for the Blues Match report to follow 2 1

Should have won by more, a win is a win though. A lot to improve on for next season.

We need some decent Strikers who would like to see come to us

Will be interesting to see what kind of players Mc Leish moves for, obviously players with premiership experience would be nice but they will not come cheap. I expect a few South American players to come in, and maybe a Chinese player to help increase our profile in Asia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

We'll give you Ameobi.

That_Guy wrote: »
    We'll give you Ameobi.
    We'll give you Marcus Bent

I will be interested to see what McLeish does about Chucho. I think he has a good season apart from his terrible finish. He has worked extremely hard for the team and always gives a 100%. His finishing is woeful however and his decision making is suspect. To be a top class striker you need to make a decision quickly while Chucho delays with his and usually picks the wrong option. Would like to see him stay as a back up striker and someone to come on for the last few minutes. However the reported price for him is far too extravagant, somewhere around £9 million. If the price can be negociated down that would be great. But if the price remains the same I do not think we should sign him. Be far too much of a risk especially seeing as there are better strikers out there. If we do not sign him, I expect to see him end up at West Ham.

Robbie Keane anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Out of curiosity just how much investment is Yeung willing to put into the club?

Also whats the story with that Michel lad yous bought in January? He's barely played and I thought the plan was for him to slot straight in? Although I don't think anyone was expecting Gardner to get off to the start he did.

To be honest I do not know how much Yeung will give Mc Leish for transfers. After promises of £40 million failed to materialise in January, people presumed that Yeung did not have the financial backing. However his promise of 40 million was made before he fully knew the financial state of the club. Gold and Sullivan had left him with a 6 million debt to pay off. Not spending huge amounts of money in January was due to Mc Leish not our financial situation. Mc Leish did not want to spend huge amounts of money on a player. And we were messed around by Spurs with regard to Pav. I do believe that there will be money available otherwise Mc Leish would not be committing to a new contract.
    With regards Michel not playing, he was brought in as a back-up for Ferguson. I expected him to get his game soon enough but Ferguson has not tired and has consistently put in good performances. I saw no need to put in Michel while Ferguson was making such a valuable contribution to the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

What's the story with Seb actually?

He was a guaranteed started for the first half of the season and when I did get a chance to see you play it was always himself and Bowyer who stood out for me in midfield. but the past month or two he's been dropped to the bench mainly (although he started your last two afaik?).

Was it a case of resting him or was he just not putting in the required performances?

Seb has the commitment to the team but unfortunatley he does not have the talent. He works hard for the team but you can not rely on him to come up with that piece of magic to win a game. I like him as a player and definetly think he has a part to play at the club next year but his place will not be guaranteed with Gardner and the potential arrival of an out and out winger, something we are missing. Would like to see Seb play centre mid, as I feel his efforts are wasted out wide.

Pot wrote:
    Robbie Keane anyone
    Would like to see him at the club but I can not see him coming to us, more than likely he will go to Villa or Sunderland.

You never know he likes travelling :D

Keane will be saying how we are his boyhood club and how he dreamed of playing for us. I wonder if we will try and sign any players from the relegated teams. I would not mind seeing Hunt coming to us. Or Fletcher of Eagles. There is a few at Pompey that could come to the Blues as well.

Chucho is not worth 9m i like Eagles did'nt he play for Man Who once

Bolton Today are best place in the Top flight for 50 yrs

At The Mailbox earlier...

Dave Kitson and Ben Foster. from a reliable sauce

Yes to Foster
    A thousand times no to Kitson, we need a regular goalscorer, Not someone who has a disruptive personality

Mc Leish has decided against signing Chucho, good idea in my opinion. Far too expensive for someone that had no shooting boots. He has releasd Krysiak, Jared Wilson, Mc Sheffrey, Vignal and Quedrue. Surprised by the last two as I felt they still had something to offer the club. Must be looking to get in a few new defenders then. Phillips has been offered a new contract, hopefully he is only a back up and that we will not have to rely on him that much.