Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht v Edinburgh, Sportsground, Fri 2nd Apr. 18:00.

• 01-04-2010 2:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭

Connacht have named the team that will start against Edinburgh Gunners this Good Friday evening at 6.00pm in the Sportsground, Galway.
    Gavin Duffy retains the captaincy after John Muldoon failed to recover from the groin injury that ruled him out of last weeks game against Leinster. Robbie Morris and Niva Ta’auso also failed late fitness tests and so are unavailable for selection.
    Connacht team v Edinburgh:
    15 Gavin Duffy
    14 Brian Tuohy
    13 Troy Nathan
    12 Aidan Wynne
    11 Fionn Carr
    10 Ian Keatley
    09 Frank Murphy
    08 Mike McComish
    07 Johnny O’Connor
    06 Michael McCarthy
    05 Bernie Upton
    04 Michael Swift
    03 Jamie Hagan
    02 Sean Cronin
    01 Brett Wilkinson

16 Adrian Flavin
    17 Ronan Loughney
    18 Dave Nolan
    19 Andrew Browne
    20 Conor O’Loughlin
    21 Miah Nikora
    22 Eoin Griffin

Edinburgh Rugby Club team to play Connacht

15 Jim Thompson

14 Mark Robertson
    13 Ben Cairns
    12 John Houston
    11 Tim Visser

10 Phil Godman
    9 Mike Blair (captain)

1 Allan Jacobsen
    2 Andrew Kelly
    3 Geoff Cross
    4 Scott MacLeod
    5 Jim Hamilton
    6 Alan MacDonald
    7 Ross Rennie
    8 Roddy Grant

Substitutes: Ross Ford, Kyle Traynor, Steve Turnbull, Scott Newlands, Greig Laidlaw, David Blair, Simon Webster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Great to see Griffin involved in the 22.

Strong Edinburgh lineup, I don't fancy Tuohy against Visser at all.

I'm thinking Edinburgh by 5-10, hope I'm wrong.

Ya our squad is really stretched for this one. Basically anyone who is fit is in the 22. Our whole backrow is out. Our centre partnership are out. However, its two areas we can cope with. I'd be more than a bit worried aobut Tuohy also.

They gave us an awful hammering in September and indeed at the Sportsground last year so we are definitely up against it.

We need a good start to this game to give us a chance If we could get a win from this one it'd be a really significant sign that we are going in the right direction

As an aside, who is likely to leave/go to Connacht at the end of season?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

would love touhy to go, waste of money. o halloran would do a much better job,

im hoping for a connacht win, if we preform the same as we did in dubling we should win, if we play like we did against glasgow we will get hammered,

we need a performance ahead of next week, and we cant afford any more injuries, im hoping bradley is just not risking muldoon and he is fit,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I doubt he's risk him with next weeks match coming up.

Every time I look at a Connacht starting lineup I always think to myself "that's a handy enough team", especially in the back line...

Can't wait for Bradley to leave and hope to see Connacht have a much better season in the league hopefully and also to get some very good young talent. Maybe Dave Kearney or someone, but they could use some more depth in the pack.

Would love to see a Connacht win here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

evil_seed wrote: »

15 Gavin Duffy
    14 Brian Tuohy
    13 Troy Nathan
    12 Aidan Wynne
    11 Fionn Carr
    10 Ian Keatley
    09 Frank Murphy
    08 Mike McComish
    07 Johnny O’Connor
    06 Michael McCarthy
    05 Bernie Upton
    04 Michael Swift
    03 Jamie Hagan
    02 Sean Cronin
    01 Brett Wilkinson

16 Adrian Flavin
    17 Ronan Loughney
    18 Dave Nolan
    19 Andrew Browne
    20 Conor O’Loughlin
    21 Miah Nikora
    22 Eoin Griffin

Prob the best team we could put out with injuries, makes dropping Keatley a bit of a strange decision last week, even if Nikora did play well for about the first time ever. Worried about Tuohy though, his defence hasn't impressed me any time I've seen him play.
    Here's hoping Muldoon, Ta'auso, Naoupu and Ofisa are back next week.
    Heading to this game tomorrow, won't be able to shout much as I'm just getting over the flu, but we've a good record at home this season, unbeaten since October I think... I'll take a one point win! :D
    Oh, good to see Griffin in the 22 as well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Diom

Wouldn't get too excited about Griffen on the bench. Not going to be doing much playing I'd say. Bradley isn't one for playing young stars early (or in position).

This game is going to be a tough ask, and the weather is frightful, so if it comes down to the packs alone, we're a bit weak there at the minute..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

This could be an interesting game but Setanta are not showing it. They seem to think having the Leinster V Munster buildup on both stations is more important and of course Top Gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

[Jackass] wrote: »
    I doubt he's risk him with next weeks match coming up.

Every time I look at a Connacht starting lineup I always think to myself "that's a handy enough team", especially in the back line...

Can't wait for Bradley to leave and hope to see Connacht have a much better season in the league hopefully and also to get some very good young talent. Maybe Dave Kearney or someone, but they could use some more depth in the pack.

Would love to see a Connacht win here.

In his defense Bradley got his gameplan spot on against Leinster and exposed a few weaknesses that no one else has this season.

He should go not because he's a bad coach but because he's been there too long and has lost the support of the players.

Could one of the westeners please update me on what the weather is like in Galway and want kind of nick they think the pitch is in.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

Could one of the westeners please update me on what the weather is like in Galway and want kind of nick they think the pitch is in.

Cheers

its fine in galway. not warm/a bit nippy, but little wind and so far no rain since like 7 this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Diom

its fine in galway. not warm/a bit nippy, but little wind and so far no rain since like 7 this morning.

Well about 10 really, but yeah, FAR better than this morning. was quite warm at lunch time actually, and a slight SW wind.

Heavy hail showers the last half hour. Won't be pleasant if that keeps up. Pitch should be ok though

it seems we spoke too soon. RAIN in Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭seanin4711

if we are in touch at half time I will be very happy!
    Gunners have a very settled side and I will be happy if we are competitive for the 80.
    With a huge eye on next week its just really a matter of game time for the periphery.
    no injuries a priority.
    slan
    s;)

connacht winnning 11 0. toughy try, keat con and drop kick,
    15 min gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

outwest wrote: »
    connacht winnning 11 0. toughy try, keat con and drop kick,
    15 min gone

He's been practicing his drop goals then? :D Fair play to him. Was the try nice?

not at the match, getting updates, it 11 14 to ednebrugh, 2 trys in 5 mins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Edinburgh try - score now Connacht 19 Edinburgh 21

Balls. I have money on Connacht. Lot of trys in this game.

When i win the euromillions i'm going to buy Connacht and turn them into a European rugby super power.

stil l20 mins to play, edenbrugh will def be getting a bp try, only question is can connact get the win,

Penalty to Connacht 23 - 21 Edinburgh

haha this commentary is hilarious. I have never heard a man get so excited about a penalty kick going over.

22-21 - sorry maths not great!

Connacht win 22-21. Shame about the commentator. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭B0X

Haha, she's gas. Good win though.

You'd think it was the greatest upset in sporting history . Talking about there being no mass pitch invasion because of the rain.

Excellent stuff.

great result, only a 4 point from ulster now, 2 from 9th,

great prep for the game next week, connaht home form has been outstanding this year apart from the 1st 2 games

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

nice one :)

Just back from the game, got soaked walking back to the car! :rolleyes:

Great win, and well deserved. Edinburgh's second try was a blatant forward pass, one of several the ref missed. Edinburgh spent most of the game offside so it was tough to make ground. Keatley kicked superbly out of hand and really found his touch well. JOC was everywhere, man of the match for me. Sean Cronin also showed very well, as did Swifty and Mike McCarthy.
    The ref was a joke, from the first minute when Mike McComish was taken out in the air, to several forward passes and a myriad of offsides that he missed. No matter, a well deserved victory ahead of next week's big game.

Connacht have improved enormously in the second half of this season - if we had hung on against Glasgow and taken our chances against Leinster we'd be ahead of Ulster in the table now.

Zzippy wrote: »
    Just back from the game, got soaked walking back to the car! :rolleyes:

Great win, and well deserved. Edinburgh's second try was a blatant forward pass, one of several the ref missed. Edinburgh spent most of the game offside so it was tough to make ground. Keatley kicked superbly out of hand and really found his touch well. JOC was everywhere, man of the match for me. Sean Cronin also showed very well, as did Swifty and Mike McCarthy.
    The ref was a joke, from the first minute when Mike McComish was taken out in the air, to several forward passes and a myriad of offsides that he missed. No matter, a well deserved victory ahead of next week's big game.

Connacht have improved enormously in the second half of this season - if we had hung on against Glasgow and taken our chances against Leinster we'd be ahead of Ulster in the table now.

Agree with that.2nd try was a good yard forward but that spell where Fionn went off the game lost its shape a bit and Edinburgh took advantage. Definitely nice to win a tight finish. Fair play to Nikora who struck the penalty well and did well in open play. Keatley played well also.

Good to see JOC back to top form and Tuohy looks to have stepped it up a bit from earlier in the season. I think this shows how important the A games are for not only developing young players but giving squad players gametime and out of form players a chance to regain their confidence in a competitive but not an important setting.Big effort from the whole pack to grind it out. Normally it would be a side like Edinburgh resting 4-5 players coming to Galway and winning, tonight it was Connacht against the odds with injuries coming good to win.

My one concern is that our squad is becoming a bit stretched. It'll take a huge effort next week and unfortunately the game against Munster might just be one too far the following week, but one week at a time. Great to have something to look forward to at this stage of the season, we haven't really had that for a few year:cool:

Who got man of the match and what was Keatley's try like?

2040 wrote: »
    Who got man of the match and what was Keatley's try like?

Didn't hear any announcement, but IMO it was Johnny O'Connor. Keatley's try was an interception, ran from just outside the Connacht 22 to the far corner, just outpaced the full back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

Fecking great result, couldn't make the game and couldn't believe it when I heard and as some of the lads said, a great lead up to the big one:).

Just wondering why Fionn Carr went off lads, please don't say it was injury and who's reffeering next weekend?

Great win for Connacht, delighted that they backed up their showing at the RDS. Does Munster a big favour too.

Now, if you'll excuse me, I have to do my forfeit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Dave Joyce wrote: »

Just wondering why Fionn Carr went off lads, please don't say it was injury and who's reffeering next weekend?

He went off so it was a blood sub but for under 10mins to have his head patched and he was back on after for the whole game, man Ian Keatley's run was brilliant, reminded me of BOD's intercept v Munster.

This one:

this gives connacht a grat chance of getting the 3rd irish spot for hcup, ulster are in awful form, if they get nothing tonight then the last few games will be interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

this gives connacht a grat chance of getting the 3rd irish spot for hcup, ulster are in awful form, if they get nothing tonight then the last few games will be interesting

Ulster have that midweek home game against the ospreys straight after the heineken qf which they should win, so it could be hard to get past them.

be great to see connacht get a couple more wins though. If the leinster game is midweek they could have a great chance there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

I think they've missed their chance. They'd be ahead of Ulster had they won against Leinster and the Ospreys but it's a bit late now.

I'm with sockpuppet, it's a bridge too far for Connacht IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 treacy52

They may not catch Ulster this year but it's great to see them winning these types of matches and moving in the right direction. There really is the beginnings of a very good group of players in Connacht now.

If they can break their duck away from home and get 1/2 wins, I think Connacht can finish mid-table. They will always be a tricky prospect in Galway. Their homeform has been good this season, only hammering was against Ulster. In all the other fixtures, they got at least a losing BP.

http://www.magnersleague.com/teams/connacht/fixtures.php

The biggest result for Connacht this season would be an Irish province lifting the Heineken Cup.

Suddenly Connacht have qualified for the Heineken and the move west becomes far more fashionable to the young players who can't get gametime at home.

As Eric Elwood said on Guinness Area 22, giving young players gametime "is our best currency".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

i know it's a bit repetitive in connacht game threads but the ref seriously was a joke. that's the 3rd ref we've gotten that it was his 1st magners league game.

Good game. Great result.

Diabolical reffing. For Edinburgh's 2nd try 4/5 Connacht players literally STOPPED, the foward pass was so blatant.

Upton's line-outs were awesome. Keatley's kick to touch after 20minutes or so from his own 22 to the 5 metre line was the kick of the weekend, he also hit a stunning drop goal when nothing was really on and was immense in attack all day with a great try. Tuohy's attack was brilliant but he was steam-rolled to many times for my liking. Nathan was a rock in defense as well. JOC was the best player on the pitch IMO.

Nikora showed some balls to hit that penalty 40 metres out, into the wind, getting pelted by hailstones.

This period is the best rugby Connacht have played in years.

Good game. Great result.

Diabolical reffing. For Edinburgh's 2nd try 4/5 Connacht players literally STOPPED, the foward pass was so blatant.

Upton's line-outs were awesome. Keatley's kick to touch after 20minutes or so from his own 22 to the 5 metre line was the kick of the weekend, he also hit a stunning drop goal when nothing was really on and was immense in attack all day with a great try. Tuohy's attack was brilliant but he was steam-rolled to many times for my liking. Nathan was a rock in defense as well. JOC was the best player on the pitch IMO.

Nikora showed some balls to hit that penalty 40 metres out, into the wind, getting pelted by hailstones.

This period is the best rugby Connacht have played in years.

That Bradley is a good coach. All the guys people were calling donkeys,journeymen, mercenary NIQ's are really putting their hands up since december.

bradley is still a bad coach, the journy men he brought in were at the expnece as connacht born player, connacht still havent won away from home in years.

he proved to me he was a bad coach at the glasgow game, connacht were performing badly yet he did nothing to change the way we played.

the player are playing for contracts because of the new coach coming in.

bradley is still a bad coach, the journy men he brought in were at the expnece as connacht born player, connacht still havent won away from home in years.

he proved to me he was a bad coach at the glasgow game, connacht were performing badly yet he did nothing to change the way we played.

the player are playing for contracts because of the new coach coming in.

BINGO!