Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Green party dog bill???

• 01-04-2010 10:14am
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭

On RTE1 at the moment. Discussing the new Green party hunting dog bill.

Don't know if it's an April 1st wind up but it's unbelievable!

Edit: It must be a piss take. They're on about a compulsory register of all hunting dogs (or potential hunting dogs) ie. poodles, pet cockers etc. The dog must be registered, wear a collar with a photo of the dog and the owner, including phone no.???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

I'll tell my Irish Setter but don't think he'll be bothered with all the paperwork :rolleyes:

They want my Irish Setter to have rights. No bother. With rights come responsibilites. I'll make it his responsibility to sort out all his paperwork for the new laws :P

Are these people f**king deluded ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Feidhlim Dignan

they should look after all the problems in the country, and well look after the dogs like we have always done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

I think they are one of the more dangerous parties in Irish politics. They have a thundering mandate of less than 5% and introduce sweeping changes to things they know nothing about regardless of the consequences to Irish people.

Their political ideology is centred around their vision for planet earth in 50yrs time - nothing whatsoever to do with Irish people or any kind of contemporary or national or economic interest whatsoever. imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

Im going to back track on myself big-time . Its only a matter of time.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

What are the details of the bill, does anyone know?

.........They're on about a compulsory register of all hunting dogs (or potential hunting dogs) ie. poodles, pet cockers etc. The dog must be registered, wear a collar with a photo of the dog and the owner, including phone no.???
    taconnol wrote: »
    What are the details of the bill, does anyone know?

Does anyone care ?

From this statement it looks like more of the same ****e we have come to expect from the Greens and their looney tune brigade :mad:

The Greens are going to make this country a laughing stock within the developed world :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

Does anyone care ?
    Er..yes I'd like to know the facts before I make up my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭BryanL

They want to give rights to animals. Dog will have to be microchipped and registered. Anyone with more than 3 bitches over 18months will have to have a breeders licence and be subject to kennel inspections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Bring it on, who is going to be responsible for inspecting all these animals?
    How can they afford to pay for all the inspectors needed?
    The country is bust, they can't afford to hire anymore people.
    Let them have their day in the sun because they are the walking dead come next election anyway.
    Lots of laws in this country, how many are enforced?

Lads ye'll have to be extra nice to ye're pets or they'll ring the new "Animal Line" and report ye to Green police :eek:

taconnol wrote: »
    Er..yes I'd like to know the facts before I make up my mind.

You gave that right up ......................... government think for you now :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Is this an actual bill, or an april fool's?
    I mean, I'd say april fool's immediately if it wasn't for the Greens running a live TV broadcast during Earth Hour the other day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

lads they menchined this the other night on the frontline. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

My dog is micro chipped
    My dog is insured
    My dog has a dog license
    My dog has a collar
    My dog has a insulated dog box
    My dog has a run thats disinfected weekly
    My dog has his own transport for travelling

what more do I need to do

Quite possibly nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

My dog is micro chipped
    My dog is insured
    My dog has a dog license
    My dog has a collar
    My dog sleeps in the bed with me.
    My dog has a run thats disinfected weekly
    My dog has his own transport for travelling

Now C.S. I fixed it for you, those greens are from a different planet, my bet is this is an April fool's joke.(I hope)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭doyle61

BryanL wrote: »
    They want to give rights to animals. Dog will have to be microchipped and registered. Anyone with more than 3 bitches over 18months will have to have a breeders licence and be subject to kennel inspections.

i thought they said more than 5 bitches on the frontline last week?? i have three bithes and dont mind the inspections but i DO care about the €400 they were on about.
    the thing im most confused about though is that most of the proposals they said on the frontline are already inforced by the IKC when you breed and regester a litter of pups at the moment. does the proposed law mean that its forcing the puppy farmers into the IKC and that they inforce the new law or what exactly are they trying to do:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I heard the story this morning. Its unbelievable really but as somebody said, its the Greens - as somebody said the same crowd that did a live tv broadcast during Earthhour

Every dog that has the potential to hunt needs to be registered? eh...how many dogs don't have the potential to hunt?! I brought my mothers sh!tzu out with the spaniels one day and he chased a rabbit...he therefore has the potential to hunt?!

And meanwhile you still don't need a licence to own a horse?

Lets just hope they don't do too much damage to fieldsports in the next 2 years after which it'll be the last we hear of the Greens i'd say. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

Agreed had freinds over there the other day and went for a walk with the dogs there sh!tzu was facintaed with the pointer and followed it every where. All dogs have the potential to hunt. Greens ******* ******* ***** **** ***** ******* ***** **** w*****s :D:D

it seems to be the usual green thing again!!!
    good idea: try and get rid of puppy farming
    bad idea: screw the whole lot up by complicating things and throwing everyone who owns a dog into the one basket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Mountainy Jack

Here is the draft bill, it is at the second stage:

http://www.oireachtas.ie/documents/bills28/bills/2009/7909/b7909s.pdf

If you have 6 or more bitches, of 4 months of age or greater and capable of breeding, you are classed as a "dog breeding establishment". You will be required to register your premises as a dog breeding establishment with your local authority. This will cost you, 6-12 bitches will cost €400, the sum is greater the more bitches you have.

Hunt clubs are exempt from this fee.

Where:
    A “hunt club” means a hunt or game club—

(
    a) registered with a national hunting association that is a member of—
    (i) the Hunting Association of Ireland, or
    (ii) the Irish branch of the Federation of Associations for Hunting and Conservation of the European Union

and
    that operates in accordance with the guidelines for kennel management issued by the Hunting Association of Ireland;
    All dogs in a dog breeding establishment shall have to be electronically chipped. Any dog breeding establishment will be liable for inspection. Your estalishment will have to meet criteria for cleanliness, ventilation, food and drink etc as well as ensuring "appropriate measures are taken for the protection of dogs in case of fire or other emergency" among other things.
    The latter part of the bill prescribes the fees that any dog owner is required to pay for a licence for a dog. One dog is €20 per year or €140 for its lifetime, and a general licence (for numerous dogs) is €400.

There is mention of a prescribed form for a dog licence but no description in the bill of the prescribed form. What usually happens is a bill is enacted and then an S.I follows later with the details of the prescribed forms. I did not hear the radio earlier today but I would well believe that photo id's for owner and dog would be introduced as the prescribed form, which would be unworkable and absolute madness.
    It is also proposed in the bill that a database will be established with information for all dogs in the state - this is absolutely ridiculous!
    I would oppose this bill vehemently. There are sufficient controls in place at the moment, if they were enforced correctly. This is just a starting point for the Greens, I believe if they get this through they will quickley start turning the screw tighter and tighter on the ordinary decent joe public like we have seen time and time before - and in particular on the hunting and shooting fraternity.

Would they not be more appropriate for the Green party to tackle real animal welfare issues:

The amount of strays put down
    The worrying of sheep by strays
    The country is over ran with grey crows and magpies

or
    The running off lead of animals in forest parks, the sh1t all over the footpaths

No body is tackling fly tipping which is still going on outside of urban conurbations.

the green party aren't green they have a veneer of political slime on them that appears green

Would they not be more appropriate for the Green party to tackle real animal welfare issues:

The amount of strays put down and the owners:rolleyes:
    The horses in council estates

or
    The running off lead of animals in forest parks, the sh1t all over the footpaths

No body is tackling fly tipping which is still going on outside of urban conurbations.

the green party aren't green they have a veneer of political slime on them that appears green from a distance:mad:

TF there finished as apolitical party:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Yes there are issues that the greens are blind to as they follow their twisted logic of the green agenda.

I think what i said about horses above is so true - no licence required. Right now there are about 15 horses that i can see from my kitchen off in the distance owned by an Irish ethnic minority. Several died over the winter and were left to rot and in the meantime young fellas would come up and ride the horses bareback up and down the main road. I don't see anything in the political pipeline to combat this.

I can also see my spaniel, his coat glistening in the sun, looking up at me from the back door, like butter wouldn't melt in his mouth, waiting for his run this evening.

And these new laws would suggest that I need to be monitored in looking after my dog ?!! sweet jesus! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Well, what can you expect when you have total fanatical crackpots like Bernie Wright being appointed the Green Animal welfare spokeswoman?
    A radical who espouses and supports violent means for animal rights.EG being a founder of Irish Hunt sabetours Association??Not to mind associating with some VERY dubious chacters from the North.Kind of like putting Bin Ladin in charge of Afghan /United States freindship week.:rolleyes:
    Anyways,hopefully the Irish people will finally see some cop on sooner than the next general election and shift this bunch of idiots out of power.

At this stage anything would be better than FF/Green:mad:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Well, what can you expect when you have total fanatical crackpots like Bernie Wright being appointed the Green Animal welfare spokeswoman?
    A radical who espouses and supports violent means for animal rights.EG being a founder of Irish Hunt sabetours Association??Not to mind associating with some VERY dubious chacters from the North.Kind of like putting Bin Ladin in charge of Afghan /United States freindship week.:rolleyes:
    Anyways,hopefully the Irish people will finally see some cop on sooner than the next general election and shift this bunch of idiots out of power.

At this stage anything would be better than FF/Green:mad:

Grizzly, I mentioned it on another thread and I can only reiterate the point here about those huntsabs. They advocate criminal activity like deliberate damaging of hunt and shoot property as strategies. People of their line of thought have made themselves guilty of for example grave desacration in the UK and arson attacks on fastfood restaurants on the continent. Given their ultimate goal of changing government policy and their advocacy of crime in order to get what they want I dare say they're not just a looney fringe. According to some definitions of the term that kind of behaviour; ie use of unlawful force and acts of sabotage for political ends or to influence political decisionmaking is called terrorism.

Folks, before anyone gets the jitters, the website www.huntsabsireland.org openly advocates the use of criminal damage as a strategy. Go look for yourself if you don't believe me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

the greens are similar to a muslim with an explosives belt, unfortunatly they cannot be treated as such for the time being, it looks like they will have untold damage done before they are exterminated,

in an effort to conserve energy the greens have switched off the light at the end of the tunnel.

meathstevie, just had a look at that web site and its making my blood boil. the photo on their homepage of the dog fight...........what the fcuk is their problem????? do they think that us hunters are into this kind of stuff??? Fcuking arseholes should get their dumbass heads out of their holes and realise that if hunting/shooting/fishing is banned then hey presto no wildlife left as its us that look after it.
    i tackeled a local anti shooting person a few years ago when they started on me about "blood sports". one of his arguements was about the lovely ducks down at the river; what a shock he got when i informed him it was the gun club that bought, reared, fed and looked after them and then donated them to the town to enjoy.
    rant over, im going to open a can to cool off:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭johno2

doyle61 wrote: »
    meathstevie, just had a look at that web site and its making my blood boil. the photo on their homepage of the dog fight...........what the fcuk is their problem????? do they think that us hunters are into this kind of stuff??? Fcuking arseholes should get their dumbass heads out of their holes and realise that if hunting/shooting/fishing is banned then hey presto no wildlife left as its us that look after it.
    I don't know anything about where you're from, but I know that badger baiting is a problem around where I'm from. It's a disgusting "sport" and it's been ignored by every government since the foundation of the state. I also know that some of the individuals that are involved in this consider themselves to be hunters, and see it as being one of their rights. Unfortunately unregulated hunting can quickly lead to the tragedy of the commons, so there has to be checks and balances to ensure that doesn't happen.

I'm not trying to paint every hunter with the same brush here. I know a lot of you are responsible, and I used to hunt rabbits and ducks myself. Just like 95% of the people you'll meet on a night out are just having some fun, you'll always find a violent trouble maker every so often. We have laws to deal with those people, and we need laws to deal with the rogue hunters too.

johno

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

doyle61 wrote: »
    i tackeled a local anti shooting person a few years ago when they started on me about "blood sports". one of his arguements was about the lovely ducks down at the river; what a shock he got when i informed him it was the gun club that bought, reared, fed and looked after them and then donated them to the town to enjoy.
    rant over, im going to open a can to cool off:cool:

Had a quick look aswel and if you click in the shooting section they have one piece about a golf club a man making signs in cork and a bit about some yank who hit a child,
    i mean how stuck are they for something to trough against hunters.
    What a farce of a website makes my blood boil:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

johno2 wrote: »
    I don't know anything about where you're from, but I know that badger baiting is a problem around where I'm from. It's a disgusting "sport" and it's been ignored by every government since the foundation of the state. I also know that some of the individuals that are involved in this consider themselves to be hunters, and see it as being one of their rights. Unfortunately unregulated hunting can quickly lead to the tragedy of the commons, so there has to be checks and balances to ensure that doesn't happen.

I'm not trying to paint every hunter with the same brush here. I know a lot of you are responsible, and I used to hunt rabbits and ducks myself. Just like 95% of the people you'll meet on a night out are just having some fun, you'll always find a violent trouble maker every so often. We have laws to deal with those people, and we need laws to deal with the rogue hunters too.

johno
    Em, johno! Badger baiting is illegal is it not! So how can you say that its been ignored by the government! I mean, people who dig badgers know their breaking the law, and if caught are punnished in court just like any other crime!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 379 ✭✭Dvs

If anyone is of the opinion that they are only concerned with banning the ward hunt and dog welfare educate yourself.

Dvs.

http://www.vegaplanet.org

Some words of wisdom from Bernie Wright.
    here is a sample:

Bernie Wright:
    "Most people don’t realise that hunting hounds (foxhounds, harriers, beagles or stag hounds) are not re-homed by the hunts when they lose their hunting ability. A vet in Meath told me in his surgery one day that he kills 30 hounds for each of two local hunts in his area.

I asked if these hounds were healthy and he replied "yes, they might have uterus problems (from the overbreeding) but that’s all. Sure who would want them, what did you think they did with them?"

Multiply that 30 hounds per pack by roughly 300 hunt packs here and it appears the number of hounds killed annually in Ireland must be near 9000 animals. Obviously these statistics are not publicised but I was told this fact by the Vet who killed dogs for hunts every year, he did so as he obviously was their Vet. How many other Vets do likewise.

The upcoming puppy farming Bill will possibly result in more statistics on hunt kennels. The hunt were lobbying for an exemption for hunt kennels. They failed to get the exemption so they will now be inspected like all the other dog breeders establishments.

Added to the forthcoming end to carted Stag hunting and the Ward Union Stag abuse, things are certainly not going their way. And Yes, fox hunting , fishing, shooting, and the whole animal abusing community will be next in line …yes…..just call this the vegan agenda."

Source:
    http://aliberation.vegaplanet.org/bernie.wright.interview.php

Yeah,yeah,yeah.Nice and peaceful is Bernie & Co.
    Pity they never mention some of their buddies that are not so peaceful in their methods.Like.
    Robin Webb PRO of the UK ALF,arrested for possesion of an illegal sawn off shotgun and bomb making materials in the 1990s.Filmed undercover by Panorama film crew making a explosive device.Got off on a technicality.:mad:

Jerry Vlaseck.Another violent animal rights activist,whom the UK home Office prohibited from visiting the UK,due to his incitement to hatred speeches.Yet he was allowed to address a crowd of animal right terrorists in Dublin two years ago,hosted by Bernie Wright.:mad:

A renegade or EX Loyalist bombmaker who runs[ran] the Derry branch of HSA.:mad:
    Invited down to speak at a meeting of HSA in a bar in Dublin on the Quays in the mid 1990s.Yours truly was at that meeting,as well as numerous Garda SB,and some other intresting "shadow people."Fortuneatly he never made it down,he had "car trouble".
    If that isnt enough to get those people and their activities on a proscribed organisation list.I dont know what is.
    Of course maybe Dermot Aherne might actually have to do his job on somthing as unpouplar as this.After all it is easy to persecute and harrass the law abiding,but leave criminals and potential terrorists to go and incite hatred of others.:mad::mad:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,809 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I think people are losing the run of themselves here - angling, shooting, conventional hunting are not going to be banned. Even Gormley said that at the recent GP Ard dheis. Even if they wanted too they would not get a vote through in the Dail with the amount of opposition from all other parties including their coalition partners - in any case this government is living on borrowed time with both parties likely to be wiped out at the next election with the GP in particular unlikely to return more then 1 TD.

Come on people, save your anger for the real sh*t thats coming down the line thanx to this Goverment, the type that threatens the future for every man, woman and child for decades to come:(

The amount of strays put down and the owners:rolleyes:
    The horses in council estates

or

the green party aren't green they have a veneer of political slime on them that appears green from a distance:mad:

TF there finished as apolitical party:D

[
    QUOTE=Birdnuts;65227839]I think people are losing the run of themselves here - angling, shooting, conventional hunting are not going to be banned.

Reeeeelllayyyy???Amazing then that their goons in ICABS,CACS,AHS,ARM,etc.Never shut up about banning them,how crwel they are,how" these kind of people are not fit to live in society",etc.
    Sure,didnt they all pack up and go home to raise their lentils after the nasty fox hunters were banned in the UK?Like FC*K they did!!
    Called the domino theory.Thin end of a wedge,get the most minority sport banned [carted stag hunting] ,then move onto the next nastier,coursing,then shooting ,then fishing,then whatever else.

Even Gormley said that at the recent GP Ard dheis

And he is about as beliveable as Hitler was on trying Kosher cooking recipies.:rolleyes:
    Even if they wanted too they would not get a vote through in the Dail with the amount of opposition from all other parties including their coalition partners - in any case this government is living on borrowed time with both parties likely to be wiped out at the next election with the GP in particular unlikely to return more then 1 TD.

Dumber things have happened in this land of ours.
    [Lisbon round 2 springs to mind.}
    I wouldnt be surprised if we were collectively so dumb as to vote this whole rotten lot straight back in!!"Ah shure the divil you know is better...":rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: In that case we deserve everything we get.
    Come on people, save your anger for the real sh*t thats coming down the line thanx to this Goverment, the type that threatens the future for every man, woman and child for decades to come:(
    [/QUOTE]

That is true enough,but why should we tolerate any more from a bunch of luddites whose ideas cost us alot of money,are fanciful in the extreme,and worst of all,we NEVER even voted into Govt in the first place???:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 379 ✭✭Dvs

Birdnuts wrote: »
    I think people are losing the run of themselves here - angling, shooting, conventional hunting are not going to be banned. Even Gormley said that at the recent GP Ard dheis. (

Just incase it is unclear the section in bold that I highlighted is not my comment, it is part of Bernie Wrights interview.

Source:
    http://aliberation.vegaplanet.org/be....interview.php

Dvs.

Eddie B wrote: »
    Em, johno! Badger baiting is illegal is it not! So how can you say that its been ignored by the government! I mean, people who dig badgers know their breaking the law, and if caught are punnished in court just like any other crime!

It's illegal in law, but due to inertia and tradition there is no political will to follow up on those laws. And everyone knows that so don't play the eejit with me. Due to the crackdown on the practice in the UK, it's actually turning into a tourist attraction in the Republic now. I wouldn't be surprised to hear that members of the gardai know of badger baiting incidents, but ignore them. That attitude of complacency is where the problem lies, and in my opinion it needs to change. If hunters want to be self regulated, then you need to cultivate a mature responsible culture amongest yourselves, and show the rest of the country that you can be trusted with our wildlife heritage, before ye get a carte blance to do as ye want with it. And I say that as a person who understands the passion and thrill that goes along with hunting. Torture has no place in that hobby.

johno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭gavlaw

the sooner the greens are out the better thats all i can say

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    [

Reeeeelllayyyy???Amazing then that their goons in ICABS,CACS,AHS,ARM,etc.Never shut up about banning them,how crwel they are,how" these kind of people are not fit to live in society",etc.
    Sure,didnt they all pack up and go home to raise their lentils after the nasty fox hunters were banned in the UK?Like FC*K they did!!
    Called the domino theory.Thin end of a wedge,get the most minority sport banned [carted stag hunting] ,then move onto the next nastier,coursing,then shooting ,then fishing,then whatever else.

And he is about as beliveable as Hitler was on trying Kosher cooking recipies.:rolleyes:

Dumber things have happened in this land of ours.
    [Lisbon round 2 springs to mind.}
    I wouldnt be surprised if we were collectively so dumb as to vote this whole rotten lot straight back in!!"Ah shure the divil you know is better...":rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: In that case we deserve everything we get.

To quote Prince in the recent court case concerning his cancelled Irish concert "that cat needs to chill"!!

I'm so confident that you have nothing to worry about that if armageddon did come to pass I would personally offer up my carcass for use in a drag hunt of your choice;)

I don't know anything about where you're from, but I know that badger baiting is a problem around where I'm from. It's a disgusting "sport" and it's been ignored by every government since the foundation of the state. I also know that some of the individuals that are involved in this consider themselves to be hunters, and see it as being one of their rights. Unfortunately unregulated hunting can quickly lead to the tragedy of the commons, so there has to be checks and balances to ensure that doesn't happen..........

So to follow this train of thought as some fools drink & drive in cars should all cars be banned.

Of course they should,
    Bicycle is the way forward bunny.:rolleyes:

No, but there should be a system that makes it possible to identify the ownership of a car, and a way to ensure that everyone that is driving one has been educated in how to operate it in a proper manner. Also add some severe penalties to impose on people who are caught misusing cars, and I think that people in general will be better off.

I'm not arguing that the proposed dog bill is perfect, but the status quo is far from perfect too.

johno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Spannerman7

greenpeter wrote: »
    Had a quick look aswel and if you click in the shooting section they have one piece about a golf club a man making signs in cork and a bit about some yank who hit a child,
    i mean how stuck are they for something to trough against hunters.
    What a farce of a website makes my blood boil:mad:

That signs man is I, I would not worry too much, I got loads of e-mails from them (3), some spanners indeed, if they are foolish enough to give me their e-mails then god knows what they now signed up for :D

Some free advertisement spannerman:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Spannerman7

I should write to thank them, they are boosting my google ratings and increasing sales, the more mentions of a site in others and a link improves your google rating when your products are being searched for, a bit of a backfire for them, I hope they don't cop on to it. Made me smile :D

happy days.

I presume you are being sarcastic but just in case you only ride a bicycle, which has no requirement in law for training in it's operation, for a licence to drive it, insurance to be on the public highway, a road tax requirement or any requirement to have it's owner and details registered with a government department and maybe you are not familar with motor vehicle ownership/use and it's requirements I'll explain :confused:
    No, but there should be a system that makes it possible to identify the ownership of a car,

All motor vehicles are registered with a government dept in Shannon, Co. Clare
    and a way to ensure that everyone that is driving one has been educated in how to operate it in a proper manner.

Driving theory and licence for all motor vehicles fullfills this role I believe (apparently)
    Also add some severe penalties to impose on people who are caught misusing cars,

Have you not read the Road Traffic Act :eek: even a bicycle rider is bound by it :cool:
    and I think that people in general will be better off.

But we ARE it's just the Greens, which has been stated here already is approx 5% of the electorate think they are the only ones whose happiness counts :rolleyes:
    I'm not arguing that the proposed dog bill is perfect, but the status quo is far from perfect too.

johno

Currently to keep my Irish Setter at home, is microchipped and my details are recored by the IKC, I have to buy him a dog licence, insure him as he's used for shooting, feed him, provide him with adequate shelter, ensure he is healthy and/or take him to the vet if he needs to go and there is already adequate legislation in place to deal with me if I don't ensure the safety and well being of my Irish Setter.

Why do we need more ?

I presume you are being sarcastic but just in case you only ride a bicycle, which has no requirement in law for training in it's operation, for a licence to drive it, insurance to be on the public highway, a road tax requirement or any requirement to have it's owner and details registered with a government department and maybe you are not familar with motor vehicle ownership/use and it's requirements I'll explain :confused:

All motor vehicles are registered with a government dept in Shannon, Co. Clare

Driving theory and licence for all motor vehicles fullfills this role I believe (apparently)
    Not exactly sarcastic, you started on the car analogy and I just followed you on it. Of course I know that all those things I said currently apply to cars, and anyone who thinks they shouldn't apply to dogs probably has something to hide. Dogs (and dog owners) sometimes cause problems, moreso in cities than the countryside. There is nothing in this bill which I can see causing serious inconvenience to a responsible dog owner.
    Currently to keep my Irish Setter at home, is microchipped and my details are recored by the IKC, I have to buy him a dog licence, insure him as he's used for shooting, feed him, provide him with adequate shelter, ensure he is healthy and/or take him to the vet if he needs to go and there is already adequate legislation in place to deal with me if I don't ensure the safety and well being of my Irish Setter.

Why do we need more ?
    In that case I don't see how this new bill is going to inconvenience you at all. It is primarily concerned with regulation of dog breeders. It also provides a framework to microchip all new pups and keep records of ownership. If this is actually put into practice, it could help significantly with dealing with strays and making irresponsible owners liable for their dogs actions. Cavan Shooter has already stated that dealing with strays should be on the agenda, in my opinion, the provisions in this bill are required before the stray issue can be dealt with properly. From what I have read of it, and from what you have written in this thread, I believe that you have misrepresented it's contents in a couple of your posts. For example, I found no mention of a photo id in the draft bill.

If you guys just want to hang out on a forum together and pull the p*ss outta the GP, that's fine with me. Knock yerselves out. If ye want to discuss the bill though, let's talk about some facts. Is this bill going to cost you extra money for keeping your dog(s)? Is there anything specific you'd do to improve the bill?

johno

If you guys just want to hang out on a forum together and pull the p*ss outta the GP, that's fine with me. Knock yerselves out.

Thank you :cool: :p
    If ye want to discuss the bill though, let's talk about some facts.

Facts :confused: When have the GP ever listened to facts :confused::p
    Is this bill going to cost you extra money for keeping your dog(s)?

There is more to my life than money :rolleyes:
    Is there anything specific you'd do to improve the bill?

johno[/QUOTE]

Yes, apart from the parts directly related to puppy farming scrap the rest !