Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheerio

• 01-04-2010 9:52am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭

Due to a number of complaints received by admins about my "unique" style of modding, I am afraid that my modship of this board is at an end. Its a shame, but what can I do. I will be stripped as soon as a suitable replacement can be found. Talk is it will be a return of a former mod.

Thank to all of you etc etc etc. I migth hang around to continue posting. We shall have to wait and see.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Seriously, im dissapointed but as the other mod wont go into any more details. Please continue to post, you are a good poster and imo are/were a good mod. PM sent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

gimmick wrote: »
    Due to a number of complaints received by admins about my "unique" style of modding, I am afraid that my modship of this board is at an end. Its a shame, but what can I do. I will be stripped as soon as a suitable replacement can be found. Talk is it will be a return of a former mod.

Thank to all of you etc etc etc. I migth hang around to continue posting. We shall have to wait and see.

Whatever about modding which is not the most exciting job in the world, you did alot to bring some life back into the place when you became one and were 10 times better than I ever was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

I'm not that attentive but I didn't see you do anything wrong? The board has been fantastic since i've become a regular.

I imagine i'll never get the details but it sucks you're going. I'm happy with the current mods and PW forum :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,734 ✭✭✭✭Penn

jaykhunter wrote: »
    I'm not that attentive but I didn't see you do anything wrong? The board has been fantastic since i've become a regular.

I imagine i'll never get the details but it sucks you're going. I'm happy with the current mods and PW forum :(

Pretty much this. I never noticed any mod decision you've made which wasn't either completely fair, or just stood out in any way at all. But whatever. Hope you stick around anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Is this an April's fool joke?

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

ohhhhhhh YOU SON OF A BIIIIIIIII!

Ya got me!

BTW i don't wanna make a new thread but wow BH you clocked in at 2 minutes from post to closing the thread; that's some slick modding on that new poll :cool:

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

would someone really joke about such a matter :pac: Id be more interested in who his replacement is, only just found out myself (please dont speak ill of former mods atm ;)) and i didnt expect it
    Jaykhunter wrote:

BTW i don't wanna make a new thread but wow BH you clocked in at 2 minutes from post to closing the thread; that's some slick modding on that new poll :cool:

you should check out the poll results

(please dont speak ill of former mods atm ;)) and i didnt expect it

They want me back don't they? The admins LOVED my 6 month AWOL approach.

It never occurred to me what the date was even after the Hornswaggle thread.

They want me back don't they? The admins LOVED my 6 month AWOL approach.

I found that hilarious how every so often you would pop in and only then would people realise you were still mod, think you had the title essentially up until i got the moderation belt off Orestes.

I requested to be future endeavoured by the mods. It took them 2 months to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,734 ✭✭✭✭Penn

AAAAHHHHHHHH!!

Do you want your hook, line and sinker back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Sorry guys but the sheer level of complaints received in the office is so high that we've had no other option. Today's the start of a new quarter and modding needs to be considered.

I won't go into details out of respect for the work he's put into the forum but I hope you'll wish him well. Vince, if you want to be considered as his replacement we can look carefully at that.

sceptre wrote: »
    . Vince, if you want to be considered as his replacement we can look carefully at that.

Look very carefully and then say no. I'm keeping my fingers crossed for rovert. This place needs to become a war zone for 6 months.

I requested to be future endeavoured by the mods. It took them 2 months to do it.

2 months for you 24 hours for Gimmick, check out the bottom of the PW forum people his name is gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,946 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

pfft bloody copying the sf stunt for last year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Yup, I am officially one of the proletariat again.

I liked seeing my name all boldy. Made me feel like a man. Fun while it lasted I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Im happy to see him go TBH. Way to heavy handed and dished out warnings like they were growing on trees. The less of him the better. Im one of the people that complained and now have faith in the Boards system.

:p

gimmick wrote: »
    Yup, I am officially one of the proletariat again.

I liked seeing my name all boldy. Made me feel like a man. Fun while it lasted I guess.

i didnt notice myself until someone pointed out how menacing Bounty Hunter was all in bold... gotta admit i like it :)

the timing/date of this is unfortunate and id like to echo my earlier statement that as your co-mod i found you to be very good as a mod. I guess the replacement isnt decided yet I must have only been privy to the shortlist and one surprise candidate who's a former mod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

If nobody else wants the job I'll do it.

Also, very surprised that Gimmick was removed. Never thought anyone had any issues with him apart from the few trolls we get here from time to time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭campo

I still think it is a April fools but if not sorry to see you go Gimmick I thought you were doing a good job ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Happy April 1st to you too Gimmick!

Not as fun as "Faceboards" form last year though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

Gotta love April fools day lads almost as convincing as hornswaggle getting released:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

If this aint a joke then I'm sad to see gimmick go. Couldn't say a bad word about the job he's done on here, not that we're a misbehaving bunch anyway but the environment on PW has been fantastic over the last while and he contributed greatly to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

sceptre wrote: »
    Sorry guys but the sheer level of complaints received in the office is so high that we've had no other option. Today's the start of a new quarter and modding needs to be considered.

I won't go into details out of respect for the work he's put into the forum but I hope you'll wish him well. Vince, if you want to be considered as his replacement we can look carefully at that.

Have you taken notice of the levels of positive feedback the current mods have received on this forum? Between gimmick and BH, they have brought a new life into the PW forum. You cannot deny that. I honestly doubt any regular poster had a bad thing to say, quite frankly. And personally, I cannot see a thing anyone would have to complain about, unless they were set on causing trouble

Gerard.C wrote: »
    Have you taken notice of the levels of positive feedback the current mods have received on this forum? Between gimmick and BH, they have brought a new life into the PW forum. You cannot deny that. I honestly doubt any regular poster had a bad thing to say, quite frankly. And personally, I cannot see a thing anyone would have to complain about, unless they were set on causing trouble

I can't for the life of me imagine any of the regulars on here complaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

Seriously?!? PLEASE tell me this is an April's fool.

If it ain't, I'm really sad to see this. Gimmick, you were 1 of the soundest mods I've ever met on boards. I think other's will agree with me, PW won't be the same without ya as a mod.

BTW, I nominate Flah to be a mod here (or myself)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

You just don't understand. As a mod I can say he's doing a shocking job. He's not getting close to his ban quota

Bubs101 wrote: »
    You just don't understand. As a mod I can say he's doing a shocking job. He's not getting close to his ban quota
    He could've just asked me to post a rant about ppv prices and I would've obliged :(

Voltwad wrote: »

I can't for the life of me imagine any of the regulars on here complaining.

Very true. All the regulars here get along grand and there's been no trouble what-so-ever here

Voltwad wrote: »
    He could've just asked me to post a rant about ppv prices and I would've obliged :(

The only PPV price is free:D:D:D:D

I see....

It is coming up to easter....

Could there be an uprising in order I wonder.....

Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me!

(The Who's "won't get fooled again" hits) Nope it's a work. Nobody gets fired for realsies on April Fools!

jaykhunter wrote: »
    Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me!

(The Who's "won't get fooled again" hits) Nope it's a work. Nobody gets fired for realsies on April Fools!

Ya but we should still have a 2010 Rising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Bubs, are you thinking what I am thinking!

BAN EVERY MUNSTER PERSON EVER OF THE PW BOARD!

Let us cultured Leinster gentleman bring some integrity and some much needed sophistication to this place, while those Munster lowlife can go and marry their sheep.

I need a latte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Gimmick sorry if you have to go but you must understand that there is a greater purpose.......................

The return of KENTONBOMB!!!!!!:p

I nominate meself for mod, but Flah is also a great choice

Rjd2 wrote: »

Let us cultured Leinster gentleman bring some integrity and some much needed sophistication to this place, while those Munster lowlife can go and marry their sheep.

I need a latte.

Oi!! Very harsh words:(:(:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,946 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

someone should start a thread about this injustice that befallen our comrade in the feedback forum

I need a latte.

Ah yeah, the Leinster Ladyboys go into defense mode almost immediatly. We in Munster let our victories do our talking for us, not our Abercrombie Tops, bagels and scandelous hair cuts!

Hey! They let us into the Leinster championship. Ye hard bais leave the Leinster posh lads alone!! :p

I need a latte.

Don't worry, eventually this place will need a short term mod and I'll step in and ethnic cleanse the **** out of this place

Hey! They let us into the Leinster championship. Ye hard bais leave the Leinster posh lads alone!! :p

You're an honourary member lad don't worry. T'was oft times said that Collins himself said that all the boys of the old brigade needed was a little divil to send the brits packing once and for all

Further proof that I should be made a moderator. I saved Ireland FFS!!!

Can't understand why Gimmick would get any complaints. For the short while I've posted here I've never seen a problem with the modding on the forum.

Same. Himself and BH are two of the best mods we ever had.

Come on lads check the date..

Look for his mod tag.............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Time for the second coming, your saviour is here :cool:

Look for his mod tag.............

Commitiment to the bit. Honestly how could anyone complain about him being a mod? Himself and BH do a tremendous job

orestes wrote: »
    Time for the second coming, your saviour is here :cool:

w00t my soulmate