Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Comebacks for being called Gay???

• 31-03-2010 1:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭

Hi, I get a fair bit of the old "your gay" abuse from cheeky ignorant people where I live, mostly strangers. Obviously you are not allowed be in any way fashion conscious and male without being gay to these people so I am just trying to think of some comebacks that would annoy them. Sorry I am not very witty so thinking of them on the spot can be tough. I don't get the least bit offended though as I think there is nothing wrong with being gay and am very comfortable with my sexuality and the fact I am straight. I actually find it sort of a complement that I stand out so much to these people that don't even know me that they have to shout names at me in the street. And its not like I even dress that gay, but then again where I am from you would get abuse for wearing white socks, lots of very cynical and narrow minded people. I usually don't even respond but it would be nice to have something clever to throw back at them now and again. Anyway, just thought I would see if anybody else experiences this and how they handle it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

"You wish"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

"you'd know, love"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

Crucifix wrote: »
    "You wish"

Turning it back is the tried and true. As above, or bits like "No, you wanting to sleep with me makes you gay, not me." You can also be fake serious ie "You constantly hitting on me makes me very uncomfortable. I'm cool if you're into guys and all, but I'm not."

Or you can go straight up laddish: "Your mother would know otherwise."

Oh you can try and go with it and one-up them in crudeness - ie: "That only happened once, i didn't know any better, the priest said it was the only way into heaven." or "What? Did your father tell you about me and him?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭whynotwhycanti

'Thats not what your mum said last night when i lobbed it into her'. Or replace mum with sister when appropriate, but if they are big guys maybe hold back on this one as they might get annoyed. Main thing is don't let them rattle your cage. Don' take it to heart, you'll be up and away in no time and they'll probably be stuck in the same town doing the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I actually used this as a young lad when someone said "AnonoBoy rides men!"

"Is your old lady a man?"
    "No." (confused look)
    "Then I'm afraid I don't cause I was banging her last night!"

It's crude and lowbrow but it worked.

But really only use these when you know you can keep your cool and don't say it to anyone who's liable to get violent. It wouldn't be worth it dude. As long as you're cool with who you are that's the main thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭*eadaoin

i would say to continue not to respond to them, i know it's hard though.

if you react you're giving them exactly what they're looking for, the knowledge that they're getting to you. if you continue to ignore it they'll have nothing to grab onto to use against you.

plus you sound like a nice & thoughtful person and if i were you i wouldn't want to be like them hurling abuse at people in the street, don't be the same as them and don't let them drag you to their level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭Communicationb

"Wish you were as open minded as your father was last night.."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Yer Ma didn't think so last night....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Main thing is don't let them rattle your cage. Don' take it to heart, you'll be up and away in no time and they'll probably be stuck in the same town doing the same thing.

That's the ironic thing, they are laughing at me thinking I am the loser but they represent the lifestyle that I never want to have. They just drive around all day in their piece of **** cars think they are in "the fast and the furious" and looking for people to abuse, its hilarious! I'm not trying to sound snobbish or anything but growing up around these people has being the single greatest motivator to become something different. Its unfortunate though that these young people seem to be multiplying lately where I am from and now it seems like you cannot walk outside the door without seeing them in their droves. There are so many genuinely lovely people that have to live amongst them, its annoying.

*eadaoin wrote: »
    i would say to continue not to respond to them, i know it's hard though.

if you react you're giving them exactly what they're looking for, the knowledge that they're getting to you. if you continue to ignore it they'll have nothing to grab onto to use against you.

plus you sound like a nice & thoughtful person and if i were you i wouldn't want to be like them hurling abuse at people in the street, don't be the same as them and don't let them drag you to their level.

Yeah I completely see your point here, sometimes I see it coming like a group of young lads across the street and I make a concious effort not even to look in their direction and act like I did not even hear them. To be honest it is quite pointless responding as they will either just shout back or come over looking for a fight, and I'm not big enough unfortunately to tackle most of these. I guess this is just an aspect of society that most people have to live with. Thanks for the highly entertaining replies though guys, and maybe I will use one of these in a not too threatening situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭whynotwhycanti

Nathan19 wrote: »
    That's the ironic thing, they are laughing at me thinking I am the loser but they represent the lifestyle that I never want to have. They just drive around all day in their piece of **** cars think they are in "the fast and the furious" and looking for people to abuse, its hilarious! I'm not trying to sound snobbish or anything but growing up around these people has being the single greatest motivator to become something different. Its unfortunate though that these young people seem to be multiplying lately where I am from and now it seems like you cannot walk outside the door without seeing them in their droves. There are so many genuinely lovely people that have to live amongst them, its annoying.

And i'm sure they are probably not by themselves when they are getting on your back, they do it in goups because they are cowards, the old mob mentality. Thats what makes it somewhat difficult as its easy to tell one ignorant fu%kwit to get lost but if there are a few it ain't so easy.

It seems you'd have no problem mopping the floor with them in any sort of verbal spat, and you could easily put them in their place but when there are alot of them it's hard. Funny thing is everything you said about them, they know that themselves and it probably part of the reason they are such assholes. I know the type of guys you're talking about, driving the ****test cars that they have 'modified' when in fact they are driving a sh%t box on wheels.

Just plough on through it, i know it ain't easy but you'll be out of there in no time, travel the world, meets loads of women, see amazing places and you'll come home when you're a bit older and see that those ignorant twats that used to annoy you are in the exact same place, doing the exact same thing. You may even feel sorry for them at that stage. Don't let it get to you and believe me mate, you'll have the last laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Barracudaincork

I usually don't even respond

You already have the best come back down to a tee IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

You already have the best come back down to a tee IMO.

Exactly
    No point in lowering yourself to the level of these narrowminded ****s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Barracudaincork

Thanks for the highly entertaining replies though guys, and maybe I will use one of these in a not too threatening situation.

Another one for you then:

"well with a dick as big as mine it would be a shame to just share it with the ladies" and add "think of how that would make your Dad feel if i did that" as an extra if you like :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

I know the OP isn't gay but there's nothing wrong with being gay. Gay men get on very well with women and often have more open friendships with them than straight men. Straight men can envy this. Why slag gay people to get back at people making ignorant remarks. Ignore them and don't sink to their level.

I know where you're coming from but I'd avoid getting into a "your ma/your da" slagging match as that can very quickly escalate into a fight. Been there a few years back. People get very annoyed at it AND others will be quick to back them up (and from the sounds of it, they're the exact people who'd get riled up by those replies).

I'd go down the route of -

"sorry, but do I know you?........ then why do you think I give a fu)k about what you say?"

You just take a bit of power (?) away from them by asking them a question, almost disarm them and you've made a point of telling them you don't care what they say. you haven't referenced the "gay" comments either which they think you're going to get upset about.

I think that's the best way to put them in their place..... once you go down the name calling/slagging route, you can be in for more hassle

Hey,

Honestly if you can ignore them as much as possible, I had a very similar situation to yourself. Local village ****e, etc, etc.

The best thing to do is look at them, and laugh at them to yourself. The highlight of their lives is going to be saying "you're gay".

I actually ended up snapping a few times (in my defense it was the run up to my Leaving Cert, so they were asking for it) first of all shouted a few smart remarks back which only made it worse since they'd twist them and throw it back at me. Anyway after one of my exams I was walking home, same remarks came out again except they followed me, and kept shouting, ended up flinging one of them onto the bonnet of a car and dared them to say it again, threatening to break all of his fat fingers if he ever called me anything or followed me like that again.

You think that'd work, but it didn't. Instead I had this lovely group of individuals saying "no, no he did it like this, no, no, no, it was more like this" etc, etc.
    Funnily enough word got round, and people who went to school with this guy, etc asked me was I the guy that threw him on the bonnet, etc and basically said that he deserved it, didn't like him, or whatever.

Actually to go back it all stemmed from a guy who I used be friend's with younger brother starting calling stuff out, and then getting his friends to continue. If there's one or two people who you know specifically doing it, another idea would be scare the **** out of them by calling to the house and telling the parents what they've been saying, and put it down to bad parenting if it came to it.

But remember, either way, karma comes back and bites these people in the ass. This was a few years ago and I'm currently abroad doing great for myself. They're still back in that village, calling randomers gay with nothing going for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

The best reply would be no reply, but if you really felt you had to then hit them with this:

"In your wettest dreams"

Should shut them up quickly.

your better off just saying yep,
    and ah yeah,
    it works best,
    its not really a response or acknowledgement of them,
    its more of a brush off and an i dont care.
    which annoys them more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

It's weird I thought this kind of thing stopped years ago. Shame really - just when you think that folk have progressed you see a thread like this that demonstrate what types of eejits are really out there :(

Op - ignore them - they will soon get tired.
    Any kind of response will let them know they are getting to you and they will be egged on to push you more.
    Try to keep calm, look happy and basically blank them.
    If it escalates or continues then you really should consider going to your local cop-shop and file a complaint of harassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭daisybelle2008

Seriously anyone comfortable in themselves would not be threatened by you. You have something about you that threatens their weak egos. Consider it a compliment, rise above it and walk on, content in the knowledge you know yourself and like it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,618 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

Well there are far worse things to be called than gay. If they called you short, or fat, or pimply they could be hiting a sore spot. But calling a straight man gay is, as far as I see it, akin to saying you're Asian. If you're not, clearly you're not.

Some of the replies here so far have been great! Years of training in After Hours paid off. But as many said it's probably best to ignore them unless you're absolutely confident they won't hop out of their pimpmobile and beat you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

Some of the comebacks given are hilarious.

I have a male friend who is very good looking and is able to make friends with just about anyone- he has many close female friends and is a very popular lad.
    Girls always fancy him and he is popular with the lads because he loves football and a few beers.

When he was in school, there was one lad who never left him alone.
    Every day, he'd get torrents of abuse from this guy.

"You're gay".
    "You're a fag".
    "Stupid poof".

Blah blah blah.

Guess who came out of the closet a few years later? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Three words:

So's

Your

Face.

Here we go trotting out tired responses such as 'yor ma'. Being gay is not a bad thing, by responding crudely you are sinking to their level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

"I know you are but what am I?" :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

Them: Your gay

You: *look at them showing them how pathetic they are... slight giggle to yourself*... Haven't you gotten tired of repeating youself everyday yet? Your going to convince yourself your gay at this stage.. the amount of times you say it and hear it. *walk on*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

My son answers this by saying "Yes, I am Gifted And Young"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

go over and touch his willy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

This forum has a zero tolerance policy for trolling, mink_man banned.

Unhelpful and off-topic posting will get you banned from this forum.
    Do take time to read the charter which contains the rules and abide by them.
    Have a nice day.
    Thaedydal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

"Thank you so much for clearing that up, and there was me being all confused"

"Shove it up your arse, you'd love to wouldn't you?"

"Wow and I still get more women then you.. that says something.."

"I assumed that was obvious when I boned you last night"

"So?"

"Not the best chat up line in the world..."

"You do realise homophobia is statistically a sign of closeted homosexuality?" (link)

Or just ignore them, content in the knowledge you'll do better then them in life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

Takes one to know one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭princeofparma

Simply let homophobes be aware that experiments have been performed on individuals with homophobic views - a special censor was placed on the penises of males with homophobic views and they were observed as they watched gay pornography.
    Non-homophobic men were found to not display any indication of sexual arousal.
    Homophobic men were discovered to be aroused when viewing gay porn.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

"Worried that I'll steal her from you?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Blackdrag

"you got good gaydar, fancy a drink?"

Although i had a experience like that, someone was convinced i was gay. So i touched his leg and asked him out for a drink some time... Oddly enough we turned out to the be best of friends lol made a joke out of it never had a problem since... and no im not gay just alittle twisted ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭katie99

I wouldn't engage them in verabal spats. Rather, seek advice from a solicitor.
    Perhaps, a letter from a legal firm to each of these ignorant youngsters outlining the laws of libel and the implications for them might put them in their place.
    You don't have to put up with that nonsense. In fact, it is a form of bullying that must be eradicated.
    Talk to your community garda.
    These young loud mouths must be restrained and given warnings about their behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

katie99 wrote: »
    I wouldn't engage them in verabal spats. Rather, seek advice from a solicitor.
    Perhaps, a letter from a legal firm to each of these ignorant youngsters outlining the laws of libel and the implications for them might put them in their place.
    You don't have to put up with that nonsense. In fact, it is a form of bullying that must be eradicated.
    Talk to your community garda.

These young loud mouths must be restrained and given warnings about their behaviour.

Justin Biebers anti gay legal costs must be astronomical...