Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eggs in the fridge?

• 31-03-2010 9:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭

Conversation in work blew my mind this morning. Apparently, not everybody keeps their eggs in the fridge. Okay, so they're not sold from the refrigerated sections of supermarkets, but most fridges have special egg holding compartments, and I don't think they're for creme eggs.

Do you keep your eggs in the fridge? If not, where do you keep them?

Where do you keep your eggs? 260 votes

in the fridge
    0%
    outside the fridge
    77%
    D-GenerateLex_DiamondsDont be at yourselfentropijoolsveerTuskygurramokRuu_OldDempseySwampyChad ghostalNevynpetesparasitedonutheadhomerGummy PandaThetadellyHolstenenda1 201 votes
    all in one basket
    22%
    Seaneh[Deleted User]CoregaKevokbanquorubadubSeiferNooptibrianthebardMick ShrimptonWibbs[Deleted User]NikkofaigsIrish HaloDermot2468ciano1Monkey61The Voltarybvtcw0eolkf 59 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

all in one basket
    Nope, never in the fridge. Also apparently if you use eggs from the fridge for a fried egg for example, if will have a higher chance of the yolk busting when it hits the hot pan. Very cold -> Hot or something

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

outside the fridge
    Only one egg, and it's in the oven.

**Blue runs!**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

all in one basket
    Nope, we never keep ours in the fridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

outside the fridge
    When sitting at home I always keep one under my bum in the hope that one day one will hatch and I'll keep it perched on my shoulder as my feathered companion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Fridge all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

outside the fridge
    Fridge

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

all in one basket
    Keeping them in the fridge is an EU regulation more than anything. Not really required unless you plan on hanging onto a box of 6 for weeks. Like you say the shops dont keep them in the fridge section. Fridges are not around that long when you think about it. 50 years ago they would have been kept in a pantry. IMHO they also taste better if they're left out(somewhere cool obviously, not over a radiator).

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Absolutely in the fridge.

Hot climate + eggs outside = stinky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

and it's in the oven.

Sure its not a bun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

outside the fridge
    Conversation in work blew my mind this morning. Apparently, not everybody keeps their eggs in the fridge. Okay, so they're not sold from the refrigerated sections of supermarkets, but most fridges have special egg holding compartments, and I don't think they're for creme eggs.

Do you keep your eggs in the fridge? If not, where do you keep them?

Im a fridge type guy,

I think its got to do with a constant temperature rather then the actual temperature, there is also a case for contamination in eggs through the shell if you have to many temperature changes.
    If stored in the fridge in supermarket then taken out to purchase and maybe half an hour at 10-15c higher temperature then into fridge, if they are stored at room tempertaure there is only one temperature change to the refrigerated temp..... Im lost now:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭seanaor

outside the fridge
    Fridge, always!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

outside the fridge
    With the weather here it's gotta be in the fridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

outside the fridge
    Be very wary of those fridge egg holders. Some medium eggs don't quite fit the holes and if you take out the egg tray you just end up with a floor covered in Humpty Dumpty juice. Thanks Erin, ya clumsy beech!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

outside the fridge
    but most fridges have special egg holding compartments, and I don't think they're for creme eggs
    Man, that is a cracking idea. On the way home today i'm going to purchase 6 creme eggs and put them in my fridge's egg holder compartment. The look on my friend's face when they open the fridge and see them will be awesome!

Now all I need is some friends :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

outside the fridge
    Fridge..

We had a similar conversation in the pub the other day about tomato sauce, i keep ours in the fridge, not to keep it fresh, but because i like it cold. Anyone else do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭happyfriday

all in one basket
    I used to put them in the fridge but I don't anymore. I have since found out that the fridge just made them a pain in the arse to deal with. As pointed out above the yolk is more likely to bust when frying them, they don't bind as well when poaching and if you need to beat an egg it will take twice as long if they are cold as opposed to room temp!! All in all the fridge does nothing to help when it comes to eggs, just hinder. As long as they are in a cool, dry and dark place then no need for a fridge IMO!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

outside the fridge
    Fridge..

We had a similar conversation in the pub the other day about tomato sauce, i keep ours in the fridge, not to keep it fresh, but because i like it cold. Anyone else do that?

I had a friend who's family kept the salt in the fridge. I always took it out and put it in the press when I was there. I refused to play by their crazy backwards rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

I keem them in the freezer. When they freeze, the shell cracks and you're left with a lovely frozen chicken foetus. Shove a lollipop stick in the middle and it makes a refreshing snack on a warm summers day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

all in one basket
    I keem them in the freezer. When they freeze, the shell cracks and you're left with a lovely frozen chicken foetus. Shove a lollipop stick in the middle and it makes a refreshing snack on a warm summers day.

I don't know where you get your eggs.......but I ain't going there! :p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

outside the fridge
    Caoimhín wrote: »
    Sure its not a bun?
    Too early to craic an egg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

outside the fridge
    NothingMan wrote: »
    I had a friend who's family kept the salt in the fridge. I always took it out and put it in the press when I was there. I refused to play by their crazy backwards rules.

And rightly so. Such madness should not be tolerated.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

outside the fridge
    Fridge of course.
    Helps slow down the growth of possible bacteria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

outside the fridge, i don't keep tomatoes in the fridge either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭2 Espressi

outside the fridge
    Eggs in the fridge, but I take em out and let them get to room temp before cooking.
    My mum puts salt in the fridge, to "stop it getting damp" even though I've explained the damp is caused by condensatio when you bring the cold salt back into the warmth of the kitchen...

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,732 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Biggins wrote: »
    Fridge of course.
    Helps slow down the growth of possible bacteria.

Does it do anything for actual bateria though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

MaybeLogic wrote: »
    When sitting at home I always keep one under my bum in the hope that one day one will hatch and I'll keep it perched on my shoulder as my feathered companion.

I used to put eggs in the hot press, hoping for the same :o

I don't keep butter in the fridge. Stick eggs there as there is a holder for them, but they'd be fine otherwise.

outside the fridge
    Does it do anything for actual bateria though?
    I'm not an expert by any way in this field but I'm led to think that the coldness might slow it down.
    Someone better knowledgeable will hopefully say "yea" or "nea"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

outside the fridge
    Keep them in the fridage. Although the other day the fridge got accidentally turned up and things were starting to freeze in the fridae. I still stuck one on the pan and they were fine.

Someone said that going from fridge to pan could be a reason why the yoke would burst. Is this true? Happens me a bit. Could just be that I'm ****e at frying eggs!!

outside the fridge
    WindSock wrote: »
    I used to put eggs in the hot press, hoping for the same :o

I don't keep butter in the fridge. Stick eggs there as there is a holder for them, but they'd be fine otherwise.

I remember reading a story sometime where someone bought some eggs, cracked one and a healthy little chick actually did pop out. Awww.
    I once cracked an egg and got triplets. 3 yoke bonus. Must be proximity to Sellafield.
    Anyway, duck eggs, ftw.
    I love that extra, tasty duckiness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

all in one basket
    I'm a chef.

In the pantry, always.

They will last 28 days from the time they are laid out of the fridge and putting them in the fridge will not improve that. Maybe in much hotter countries the fridge is needed but not here. eggs cooked from room temp. cook much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

outside the fridge
    yeah I'm an eggs in the fridge and butter outta the fridge kinda guy.Girls dig me for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

outside the fridge
    I would guess that the fridge manufacturers know their stuff and that they wouldn't have the egg holders in there unless they were required ?

I mean even if those tray "yokes" ;) cost 20c each, 50,000x20c = €1,000, so they're definitely not going to include something that you don't need to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭happyfriday

all in one basket
    Huh!! Well I decided to look this up. And according to the food safety authority of Ireland I am wrong not to store in the fridge. http://www.fsai.ie/food_businesses/topics_of_interest/advice_for_caterers_on_eggs.html

But I still maintain they are easier to work with when they are at room temp. :)

@MaybeLogic I got 2 twin eggs before. And one blood egg :( must have been an omen of some sort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

outside the fridge
    They wouldn't put egg trays in the fridge if they weren't meant to go in there. So that's where they're kept.

outside the fridge
    Liam Byrne wrote: »
    I would guess that the fridge manufacturers know their stuff and that they wouldn't have the egg holders in there unless they were required ?

I mean even if those tray "yokes" ;) cost 20c each, 50,000x20c = €1,000, so they're definitely not going to include something that you don't need to use.

They pass the cost onto the consumer one would assume.
    And, 33 posts in before the first egg pun.
    Good to see AH showing some restraint for a change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

outside the fridge
    We keep ours in the fridge. My father(a chef) use to say a boiled egg is best done by removing the egg from the fridge 30min before boiling. It helps prevent it crack...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

all in one basket
    Outside the fridge, no need for the fridge and never got food poisoning from eggs.
    It is easy to know if an egg is good or bad, just don't keep them for weeks on end, just use the eggs within a reasonable timeframe and there is no problem keeping them outside the fridge.

outside the fridge
    @MaybeLogic I got 2 twin eggs before. And one blood egg :( must have been an omen of some sort.

We're both doomed.
    I got a bloody egg one time too.
    The chickens must be trying to tell us something.
    I wish there was some other way to communicate with chickens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

all in one basket
    We're both doomed.

Cluck, cluck, cluck.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

outside the fridge
    Only one egg, and it's in the oven.

**Blue runs!**

Do you have any buns in the oven?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

I keep them in the larder. Cold enough in there and easier to cook with as they are closer to room temperature. Particularly when poaching.

We're both doomed.
    I wish there was some other way to communicate with chickens.

I once brought a chicken back to life through the magical force of Reiki.

outside the fridge
    I once brought a chicken back to life through the magical force of Reiki.

The laying on of hands, innit?
    Jesus would be proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Strings.ie

As someone who keeps Chickens I can confirm Eggs will be grand at room temp for up to 3 weeks. Eggs have quite sufficient protection (shell/membrane) to stop bacteria getting in.

The bigger question is why would you waste valuable Beer space in your fridge to store Eggs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

outside the fridge
    Preusse wrote: »
    I keep them in the larder. Cold enough in there and easier to cook with as they are closer to room temperature. Particularly when poaching.

I can't afford a larder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

all in one basket
    NothingMan wrote: »

That keeps it from sticking together in the shaker.

Sticking some rice in the shaker also works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

outside the fridge
    Ah my brain is scrambled trying to answer this question so I googled it and found this:

http://www.banderasnews.com/0810/rr-iloveeggs.htm

Apparently cold eggs fry better but room temperature eggs bake better.
    Ah you can't beat this internet yolk for getting under the shell of sticky questions and whipping up an answer.

outside the fridge
    AnonoBoy wrote: »
    ...Ah you can't beat this internet yolk for getting under the shell of sticky questions and whipping up an answer.

Stop... You crack me up! :P