Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wheeler Dealers

• 30-03-2010 10:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭

Am addicted this programme on Discovery every evening at 6...learning loads about cars...

Good show..anyone else watch it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

I've watched the MR2 one on youtube a gazillion times, they make it look so easy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

Yeah, I like it. Its handy for learning bits and pieces but Im still to wimpy to go do a simple service by myself haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭ocokev

Great show but his profit / loss never includes man hours spent working on the car.
    I love the one where Edd China cannot fit into the Lotus Esprit drivers seat, when Mike Brewer surprisses him with a day out on the test track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Yeah he makes it look so easy plus having all the equipment and garage is a big help no doubt...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

I'm addicted to it, the recent ones where they revamp much more exotic stuff like SL's, Esprits etc make it a much better show, unlike Top Gear this show is real petrolhead stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,436 ✭✭✭bladespin

Me too, great show.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

ocokev wrote: »
    Great show but his profit / loss never includes man hours spent working on the car.

the way i look at it is, it shows how you can buy a good car cheaply and fix it up yourself, for yourself and save a fortune......

robtri wrote: »
    the way i look at it is, it shows how you can buy a good car cheaply and fix it up yourself, for yourself and save a fortune......

And the pleasure of achieving it yourself.

ocokev wrote: »
    And the pleasure of achieving it yourself.

And of course keeping a classic on the road...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

I love the show, but for some reason the gf -despite not minding top queer- hates it with a vengeance!?

pajo1981 wrote: »
    I love the show, but for some reason the gf -despite not minding top queer- hates it with a vengeance!?

Prob because of the low production value and lack of sparkly things....it's too real man..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I don't think so. There are good cars and there are cheap cars.... the margins they make are so small and they cut a lot of corners too - remember the ford capri episode where they didn't even match the pain up properly? I doubt half the cars the 're-vamp' last too long afterwards and I've heard that most don't even sell on, they just use actors and bad ones at that!

On the other hand I think episodes like the beach buggy or land rover ones are good because it shows you how to do a proper project.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

A great series. I watch it whenever it's on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭voxpop

steve06 wrote: »
    I doubt half the cars the 're-vamp' last too long afterwards and I've heard that most don't even sell on, they just use actors and bad ones at that!

I dont know - I would think the mechanical work they do is grand, sure they replace bits with brand new parts when a patch up or scrappie part would do the job. The dodgy bit is Ed and his spray can paint jobs, they must look awful, especially where hes done a wing or half a door

Do they really have actors buy the cars ? I know that porsche they did was sold on to a few different ppl

voxpop wrote: »
    I dont know - I would think the mechanical work they do is grand, sure they replace bits with brand new parts when a patch up or scrappie part would do the job. The dodgy bit is Ed and his spray can paint jobs, they must look awful, especially where hes done a wing or half a door
    I think if you're going to do it, then do it properly. Ever see the way they'd throw 500 on a set of alloys, but then fit cheap tyres and put the old rusty nuts back on the wheels... Or patch up a dash board and then leave a gaping hole in a seat... come on like.
    voxpop wrote: »
    Do they really have actors buy the cars ? I know that porsche they did was sold on to a few different ppl
    I said most, not all. Sure that Porsche is in Ireland now.

I doubt half the cars the 're-vamp' last too long afterwards and I've heard that most don't even sell on, they just use actors and bad ones at that!
    Where did you hear that?

EDIT:
    And dont forget that their margins dont include their wages for making the program. It would be down right greedy for them to take a wage off Discovery or whatever and then have 2 or 3 grands profit per car.

bbk wrote: »
    Where did you hear that?
    I heard it on a UK forum years ago where someone said their friend was a camera man and he was asked to pretend to do a deal on the car.
    bbk wrote: »
    EDIT:
    And dont forget that their margins dont include their wages for making the program. It would be down right greedy for them to take a wage off Discovery or whatever and then have 2 or 3 grands profit per car.
    Margins would never cover the cost of the show. It's entertainment and I take it as that... I'd still rather they just did it right though.

I heard it on a UK forum years ago where someone said their friend was a camera man and he was asked to pretend to do a deal on the car.

Margins would never cover the cost of the show. It's entertainment and I take it as that... I'd still rather they just did it right though.

Id take what you hear on any forum with a pinch of salt and I get what you mean. There have been some slim profits that would be slashed if man hours were factored in, but at least poor Ed is getting paid for all that work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭deadlast

Am addicted this programme on Discovery every evening at 6...learning loads about cars...

Good show..anyone else watch it?

It aint on my TV schedule for 6pm....? Deadliest catch??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

deadlast wrote: »
    It aint on my TV schedule for 6pm....? Deadliest catch??

Discovery Turbo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭salad dodger

I like it, but only the mechanical parts. Ed China seems lie a sound enogh bloke.

Mike Brewer tho has always, in any programme he's been in, bugged the bejaysus out of me!!

EDIT: A facebook page that agrees with me :)
    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=23036144390&ref=ts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭deadlast

Discovery Turbo.

Balls.....UPC!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

its a great show....

but much prefer...

A racing car is born, an MG is born, or a 4x4 is born....

pure classic tv right there from a car point of view .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭voxpop

its a great show....

but much prefer...

A racing car is born, an MG is born, or a 4x4 is born....

pure classic tv right there from a car point of view .....

That vet guy is one of the most boring guys on tv and more annoying than mike brewer - which is saying something. Always has some special tool for whatever job hes doing aswell - gets on my nerves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

sure I watch it...if I run out of drying paint to view....:D

Wheelers dealers new episode on Discovery RT Tuesday night doing a Ford Sierra Cosworth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,891 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I'm addicted to it! Have to say I'm getting fierce sick of the Mercedes E190 Cosworth one. For some reason that's been repeated more than any other one! Bloody missed the Jensen Interceptor last Tuesday due to the mother fooking up my Sky+ recording :mad:

I am in the process of doing up a Renault 5. A lot of what I'm doing I learned from Ed and it's working out fairly well! He's a good auld inspiration!

On another note, anyone ever seen Deals on Wheels? Mike did this in 1997 and it's UTTER SH!TE!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Yeah its a great show alright even though ive watched some of them 3 or 4 times already. Feckin repeats. If i see the one about the little suzuki 4x4 again my heads gonna explode.

That ed china bloke is very modest. He knows his sh!t & makes everything look easy but i'd say most of the stuff he does would be very difficult for most people to sort.
    Helps that he has a big workshop & all the tools he needs though. Anybody see the episode were he fcuked up a paint match on an old ford capri??? He was well pissed off.

Ive watch all the 4x4 is born/ MG is born/ a racer is born etc etc at least twice & enjoyed them all except when that presenter tries to be funny. And he just aint funny.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,730 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I love the show but its always works out a bit easy for them. They might buy something thats wandering all over the road. Ed instantly sees a worn bush & all is cured when in reality, when dealing with very old stuff, it quite likely that every bit of rubber in the suspension would need to be replaced to get it handling right. The Jenson Interceptor too worked out a bit handy. £500 spent & it was good to go.
    Auto gearbox problems are always solved by an oil & filter change on this show too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I love all the car shows on Discovery Turbo.

I see Wheeler Dealers as a show which shows you how you can buy a cheap car, fix it and sell it for a little profit. So that way the man hour's thing shouldn't matter as its more of a hobby thing you're doing than like a job.

And I think Ed does a great job with the cars. I've learnt a lot from it. He gets the car working again in decent mechanical order and makes it worth more than what he got it for so even if some bits are still left out and dodgy, its still in better shape than it was when he got it.

I think by this stage I've watched all the episodes of the show as well.

I've love to have a garage like his with all the tools and stuff. He does make some very big jobs look pretty easy as he's got all the right tools for it.

And comparitively I sorta really don't like the American shows like Custom my Ride where all they care about is flashy wheels, flashy interior and what's with all those speakers and amps?! Really how loud do you listen to your music in the car...! Still I watch it as they do really good paint jobs. Overhauling is not a bad show as they don't go over the top with their designs and keep the car pretty close to the original look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Maruney

I met Mike Brewer twice and both times I left thinking how highly he thinks of himself, he is a knob alright.
    He was obsessed with fixing his hair in every car window he looked at?

I just kept asking him about Ed China and his motorized couch, garden shed etc. that seemed to piss him off even more.

He loved my Alfa though, I was very surprised at that as I thought it would be as bad as starting an Alfa thread here - so maybe he does know what he's talking about after all!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭kqcregg

Thanks for the reminder. Didn't know a new series started. Missed one but interesting ones coming according to their schedule

Ep 1 Jensen Interceptor Jensen Tues 4th May
    Ep 2 Ford Cosworth Cosworth Tues 11th May
    Ep 3 VW Camper VW Tues 18th May
    Ep 4 BMW 840 BMW Tues 25th May
    Ep 5 Stag Stag Tues 1st June

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 536 ✭✭✭ahal

The presenters may look like Janice Battersby after a sex change and Limahl's passive cousin respectively, but it's a great show. I really enjoyed the Beetle one, and the MR-2. I do hate the way Mr. Battersby keeps saying "But it looks the same!". A member of production crew whacking him with a truck spanner would be nice at that point.

This show reminds me of the old 'Top Gear' ie: back in the days when it was aimed at petrolheads. Don't get me wrong, I still find 'Top Gear' entertaining, if getting more and more obviously scripted and 'lifestyle' in nature. Wheeler dealers is still good 'n' oily.

Of course they all pale into insignifigance compared with TV3's *'Xccelerate'

Regards,

Tony

(*Joke)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,724 ✭✭✭whippet

I am totally addicted to this show, tomorrow's Sierra should be a cracker, one of my favourite cars as a young fella.

So far they have actually done three of my father in law's motors:

W201 190E Cossie (he has the 2.5, they did the 2.3)
    Mercedes-Benz R107 280SL
    Jensen Interceptor MKIII

The fact that proves the show is so good is that they can get a few series and plenty of fans despite Mike Brewer !!!! My auld one could negotiate harder over a batch loaf in superquinn at closing time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Will be watching out for this one! Ed's great, love the way he makes out that all jobs are much easier than they look and that you don't need to go near a mechanic. Mostly, he's right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

mickdw wrote: »
    I love the show but its always works out a bit easy for them. They might buy something thats wandering all over the road. Ed instantly sees a worn bush & all is cured when in reality, when dealing with very old stuff, it quite likely that every bit of rubber in the suspension would need to be replaced to get it handling right. The Jenson Interceptor too worked out a bit handy. £500 spent & it was good to go.
    Auto gearbox problems are always solved by an oil & filter change on this show too.

Ya it never shows him with the gas out and a sledge hammer trying to rip out seized nuts :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭1948Wolseley

Love the show too. It used to be very canned, but the latest series is suddenly a whole lot better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

The one with the Merc SL280 was a class episode.

I loved when they did the Mulsanne and the 635CSi.

Favourite episode has got to be the time they had the Dino on it.

I think the show has really stepped up a gear since they started doing up really interesting cars and not run of the mill stuff(though it is nice to see what can be done with "ordinary" cars as well).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,029 ✭✭✭Barr

Great show , watched it for the first time at xmas and think its great.

Is there anything Ed can't do :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Will be watching out for this one! Ed's great, love the way he makes out that all jobs are much easier than they look and that you don't need to go near a mechanic. Mostly, he's right.

and here she is if you wanna buy it!:D
    http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C138729/

Please note that any potential buyer may be filmed for the television programme.........!

850csi or nothin! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭kyote00

It doesnt always turn out well for MB --- remember the classic fiat 500 he bought in Italy (maybe it was France). He got about 100 miles down the road and the engine blew....;)

they trailered it home in the end....car was a bit of a nail in the end

Damnit, now i'm looking at 840s on Autotrader. I have no control... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

kyote00 wrote: »
    It doesnt always turn out well for MB --- remember the classic fiat 500 he bought in Italy (maybe it was France). He got about 100 miles down the road and the engine blew....;)

they trailered it home in the end....car was a bit of a nail in the end
    Sure Ed China will fix it with a bit of t-cut
    :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,436 ✭✭✭bladespin

Damnit, now i'm looking at 840s on Autotrader. I have no control... :(

I know the feeling, getting all sorts of ideas when I look through the classifieds. :eek:

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,365 ✭✭✭MarkN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Will be watching out for this one! Ed's great, love the way he makes out that all jobs are much easier than they look and that you don't need to go near a mechanic.
    Easy to say when you have a carlift. I think a lot of mechanics forget about the difficulty multiplier of working on your back (settle down! :D).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭salad dodger

Ep 3 VW Camper VW Tues 18th May

:confused:Correct me if I'm wrong but have they not already done a veedub camper in one of the previous series?:confused: I remember it being one that ed china actually held on to for himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

I like the show, but the premise is silly. They make a fuss about turning the cars around for a 1-2k 'profit', ignoring all of the professional labour (and use of a fairly well-equipped garage) gone into the cars. Some of the bigger builds look like 100 hours work between the two presenters and the second mechanic.

If the financial stuff included realistic labour rates, every single build would make a loss, and that's fine. What they actually do is keep good and/or interesting cars out of the scrapyard.

It's a tv show not a business, so why dress it up as one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Cmar-Ireland

Cash....

Today....

'old out your 'and...

You've just bought yourself a car :D