Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Grand National

• 29-03-2010 6:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭

Hey,

Heading to my first Irish Grand National this weekend, I have a terrible record picking the winner of this race, anybody got any stand out info that might help change that luck this year!!!??? Be nice to have something to cover the beer money for the day :D

Reading RacingPost.com earlier and I see they have a poll as to who will win this. Now I know these things mean nothing but the current leader of the poll is Lydon House, an 11 year old 100/1 shot who has won in a long time!!! Anybody know where this is coming from cause I for the life of me can't see why!!!?

Cheers
    Gampdub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭D4NI3L88

will jamie run each way imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭deewhy

After C'ham - I nominated 3 horses on another thread that were National Horses - The Midnight Club, Gallant Nuit and BecauseIcouldntsee - all 3 have a great chance.... if they run.

I am however waiting for the weeks weather to run its course because judging by the rain today and f/cast, we are going to be looking at soft ground at best.

If the ground is soft, the Gallant Nuit could well run (Ferdy Murphy had indicated on ATR he would run in Whitbread). Assuming the ground is soft, then I think horses like Hangover and Oscar Time must come into the reckoning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

Alpha Ridge is the winner of this race imo. 20/1 at the moment and i think he is thrown in here off a mark of 135. Loves soft ground and looks like he will like the trip. Had a mark in the 140-150's over hurdles. Disapointed in his last run but has had a break. Wouldnt have Becauseicouldntsee in a month of sundays. Had a tough race in Cheltenahm and imo Alpha ridge is a much classier horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭Morgans

Owner said that Becauseicouldtsee is unlikely to run. Prefers going left-handed (despite winning right handed before cheltenham).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,540 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Alpha ridge was spoken about very positivley by Paul Nolan in yesterdays Examiner. About 8/1 now only though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭MIP

I've been offered tickets for the Grand National on Monday and just wondering if anyone's been in the last few years. Found a post from 2006 (http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=51229035&postcount=17) saying it was a disaster getting in and out of Fairyhouse on GN Day and just wondering if things have improved at all in the meantime? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,540 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Just arrive early and leave early, no traffic problems then. There is 8 races, you could leave after the 6th or 7th. Last year we were there 2 hours before the first, plenty of time to have lunch and find a nice spot in the bar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

I backed Lydon House in the Ulster National at Down Patrick there a few weeks ago. Thought he had a nice weight with a 7 pound claimer on board and he had been aimed for that. Wouldn't fancy him too much for this though OP,but crafty trainer might have held him back for a big run at a big price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭manafana

I went last year, was pretty cold day, got their early parked up no bother, left before the last and got out quickly enough no bother, i prefer punchestown though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭MIP

finbarrk wrote: »
    Just arrive early and leave early, no traffic problems then. There is 8 races, you could leave after the 6th or 7th. Last year we were there 2 hours before the first, plenty of time to have lunch and find a nice spot in the bar!
    manafana wrote: »
    I went last year, was pretty cold day, got their early parked up no bother, left before the last and got out quickly enough no bother, i prefer punchestown though.

Thanks lads, looking to have a few drinks too so just wondering has anyone tried using the Bus Eireann service? Also are there taxis available out there to get home or can anyone recommend a private bus/taxi service operating that will pick up in Blanch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,227 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Alpha Ridge is my pick e/w bet maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭phkk

Equus Maximus for me,good e/w bet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭D4NI3L88

rubys mount has no chance,save your money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,581 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

Hangover e/w ill be on, considering ill prob have one tomorrow after today ha & I like the vibes from the trainer....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Gaunty

Moskova will run a big race i feel. Conditions suit and Geraghty on board. Worth an e/w at 16/1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭deewhy

Probably easier to lay in this race than back but in the hope it stays, I am going for Stewarts House. Nice Profile. I was going to back Oscar Time or Hangover but OT is big drifter on exchange and will prob do a small e/way on Hangover. :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Shakeandbake!

A New Story must have a good chance. Has to carry 5lb more than when finishing 3rd last year but he'll have no problem with the conditions and he was impressive at Cheltenham though this is a tougher assignment. PP offering 25/1, thats great e/w value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭dasium

Will Jamie Run/ Telenor e/w for me..... Should have backed Alpha Ridge earlier in the week... too short now....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

Gaunty wrote: »
    Moskova will run a big race i feel. Conditions suit and Geraghty on board. Worth an e/w at 16/1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Stewarts House @ 22/1

Looks a good chaser and has course form finishing 2nd & 3rd at Fairyhouse. Still relatively unexposed and untried at the distance

Come early plea for Irish Grand National

Sunday 4 April 2010
    1 of 1 Fairyhouse will be expecting the usual bumper crowd for the National
    Fairyhouse will be expecting the usual bumper crowd for the National

Ahead of the Irish Grand National at Fairyhouse on Easter Monday, patrons are advised to come early as a new layout on N3 may cause traffic congestion.

The opening race is off at 2.20pm, with the National itself underway at 4.05pm.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/racing/2010/0404/irishnational.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 violator

Any good tips for winners or good each way bets on monday?

My top tip of the day is - Equus Maximus mounted by R Walsh, should get it @ 16/1 get in there early, deffo a TOP 3 FINISH so ew should see you get something back & IF (very possibly) it wins you'll be laughing all the way to the booZer (remember where you seen it FIRST)

good luck....

I (for the record did £25 ew) :D

now.....we wait ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭restaurants

Numbersixvalverde - remember where you heard it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Obviously something has to win but bearing in mind only three nags dragged their sorry asses over the line in the feature race yeterday I'd say keep your money in your pocket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Daisy Steiner

What time is the race on? Can't find any concrete answer, dunno if it's worth tearing to the bookies as it's miles away if the race is on soon? Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

This is what PP Faller Insurance was made for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭LavaLamp

A New Story must have a good chance. Has to carry 5lb more than when finishing 3rd last year but he'll have no problem with the conditions and he was impressive at Cheltenham though this is a tougher assignment. PP offering 25/1, thats great e/w value.

I fancy him too, only got 16/1 on him this morning, annoying cos I was looking last night and he was 33/1 :mad: should have taken the odds there and then, stupid stupid stupid!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Backed A New Story(good record in the race-placed 3 of last 4 years and coming into it with a decent win at Cheltenham and the 7lb claimer still on board) and Across The Bay( Unexposed type who if he stays i think has a very good chance and was only beaten a 1/2 length last time out by yesterday's winner Jadanli) both e/w.

A few non runners Pomme Tiepy,Stewarts House,Flintoff and Church Island all coming out

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

Blue sea cracker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 pugo79

telenor was 16/1 yesterday 12/1 this morning

Nulty wrote: »
    Stewarts House @ 22/1 NR -> NR

Looks a good chaser and has course form finishing 2nd & 3rd at Fairyhouse. Still relatively unexposed and untried at the distance

Double Dizzy @ 40/1

Gets the distance, 7lb claimer Sweeney, placed in big handicaps before, jumps aroung Cheltenham so no worries there. Top 5 finish in 17 of 23 chase starts and always finishes the race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭kc66

Stewarts house won't be running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,382 ✭✭✭naughto

went for moskoa and new story

alot of the best have fallen:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

argosy2006 wrote: »
    Blue sea cracker

Good stuff

i,m on a roll today,

Well done argosy

double dizzy was in there, good call, would have placed maybe,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 gaafan1

does pp pay for placings?
    how many places?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭paulanthony

PP pay 5 places. Who came in fifth?

double dizzy was in there, good call, would have placed maybe,

Never fallen in 23 chases :rolleyes:
    Nulty wrote: »
    This is what PP Faller Insurance was made for

Boy do I feel dumb now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Shifty

pp pays first 5 places

Blue sea cracker

Well done!

Alpha Ridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,003 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

Blue sea cracker

great picking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Didn't alpha Ridge fall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,003 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

the commentator said agus a vic

brian gleeson said alpha ridge after the race
    i think gleeson got his wires crossed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

just won a fair few bob on blue sea cracker.....a date of birth pick....i won the national 3 out 5years :)

only back in it and punchestown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 gaafan1

argosy.....seeing as ur on a roll...what you think for next race?....need a bit of luck!