Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your Online Persona/Personality V's 'Real Life'?

• 29-03-2010 12:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭

This is an interesting topic. Someone mentioned in another thread that "nobody's the same in every aspect of their daily life" and " you're not the same at work as you would be on a night out". Load of shíte, IMHO.

I couldn't disagree with this statement more. I'm the exact same person in my "everyday life" - at work, at home, in the pub and everywhere else for that matter. The exact same me!! Ollie.

My 'internet life' or my 'internet persona' is obviously going to be a lot different - as it's artificial, not real and it's only a virtual world.. It's impossible to tell what a 'poster' is really like. You can't even see the poster's face or their reactions for christ sakes, so it's obviously only a virtual world and not real at all.

Deal with it, and don't try to distinguish between the two please. Internet = not real life. FACT! If you really want to interact with people, communicate or transmit thoughts or feelings, then go to the pub please.

Thanks.

Ollie

Please try and stay on topic as the other thread was closed. This thread is specifically about your internet persona/personality and your real life character. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Is this not about exactly the same thing as the one that was locked? :confused:

On topic-i actually am a different type of person on a night out or in the pub than i am during the day. I'm very quiet usually,but if i get drunk enough i'd chat to the wall if i had to :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

<Ollie> wrote: »
    This is an interesting topic. Someone mentioned in another thread that "nobody's the same in every aspect of their daily life" and " you're not the same at work as you would be on a night out". Load of shíte, IMHO.

I couldn't disagree with this statement more. I'm the exact same person in my "everyday life" - at work, at home, in the pub and everywhere else for that matter. The exact same me!! Ollie.

My 'internet life' or my 'internet persona' is obviously going to be a lot different - as it's artificial, not real and it's only a virtual world.. It's impossible to tell what a 'poster' is really like. You can't even see the poster's face or their reactions for christ sakes, so it's obviously only a virtual world and not real at all.

Deal with it, and don't try to distinguish between the two please. Internet = not real life. FACT! If you really want to interact with people, communicate or transmit thoughts or feelings, then go to the pub please.

Beautifully put, couldn't agree more :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Which internet persona for a start?!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Just wondering which one of your personas posted this thread? ;)

edit: my internet persona is too slow :D

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I don't try to be different from real life, and I don't really know how I come across on boards, so it's hard to say

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Anyone else got Déjá vu?

IBTL:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

But while your personality remains the same, your behaviour is going to be dictated by your environment - that's what was meant. Obviously we behave differently at work to how we behave in the pub.

I think that's what was being said too - that the internet also shapes how you behave, within limited confines, and it can't be used to sum up a person's entire character, so accusations of being hypocritical are moot (unless a person is actually putting on a full-blown act).
    My persona here is pretty different to what it is in real life - I wouldn't say it's fake as I don't put it on, I am what I am (within the context of this discussion forum) but it isn't a gauge of my entire character at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Just wondering which one of your personas posted this thread? ;)

edit: my internet persona is too slow :D

Ikky Poo2 will not discuss his other personas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Im the same as i am on here as I am in real life. thick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I don't have a personality in real life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Ikky Poo

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »

This is true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Dudess wrote: »
    But while your personality remains the same, your behaviour is going to be dictated by your environment - that's what was meant. Obviously we behave differently at work to how we behave in the pub.

I think that's what was being said too - that the internet also shapes how you behave, within limited confines, and it can't be used to sum up a person's entire character.
    My persona here is pretty different to what it is in real life - I wouldn't say it's fake as I don't put it on, I am what I am (within the context of this discussion forum) but it isn't a gauge of my entire character at all.

Yeah but are you not 'technically at work here?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭hare05

Well my 'Internet Persona' often feels more like the real me than my life does. Guess anonymity helps me enact those parts of my personality that would embarrass me in real life.

It's the fact I have latent homosexual tendencies, possibly even transsexual ones that would obviously cause rifts in real life, but can be taken in my stride here on boards. :eek:

For instance, the above statement brings my sexuality into question, but as you can't see me, you can't tell whether I'm male or female, and thus the only possible reactions you can have to what I write are devoid of weighting due to physical sex. :o:confused:
    Confusing, I know, but it means a lot to someone like me that people don't take my appearance into account in their replies to me. Only personality matters, and that can be gleaned from writing style and a smiley count :pac:;):rolleyes::D:p

Sorry if I just made this topic uncomfortable, but it had to be said. There are more uses for the internet than finding information and watching youtube :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Not all people change depending on where who and how they are interacting it's a bad personality trait to do so
    so the net can be real or fake but don't tar everyone the same

Tigger wrote: »
    Not all people change depending on where who and how they are interacting it's a bad personality trait to do so
    so the net can be real or fake but don't tar everyone the same
    But you're going to behave differently e.g. when you're at the cinema to when you're at a football match - that's not "putting on an act", that's just conforming to certain accepted modes of behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I'm the same annoying tit wherever I am, and whoever I'm with.

Ikky Poo wrote: »
    This is true.

Emmm what the fcuk?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

As I mentioned in the other thread, I'm basically still the same plonker. Love me, tolerate me or dislike me, I am what I am ...I'm Popeye the sailor man - TOOT TOOT! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

My behaviour doesn't really change at all Dudess, whether I'm in the pub, at work or at home. I'm the same me, all the time.

You're the same you, yes, but your behaviour is bound to be different - even if just a little bit - in the pub versus the workplace.

I agree with Dudess on this.
    While I'm still the same person on here, different facets of my personality are clearly going to be coming to the fore.
    I wouldn't say that I act much different, but I certainly am not exactly like I am in the pub while on here.
    Typing something is a completely different process to actually saying the words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

My behaviour doesn't really change at all Dudess, whether I'm in the pub, at work or at home. I'm the same me, all the time.
    I take it you behave in a single, jack-of-all-trades way all the time so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

You're the same you, yes, but your behaviour is bound to be different - even if just a little bit - in the pub versus the workplace.

Unless you happen to stagger around the workplace with a pint in your hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Just to have my say:

Everything I say on here I would have no problem with saying in person, and I frequently do. But I can completely understand why people might be in a position where giving a certain opinion in real life might lead to negative consequences (sc?). But here they have the opertunity (sc, again) to do so. To be honest I would draw a much more judgemental appraisal (I've given up sc,ing my post at this stage) of what people post in regards to people having a go at people than what the people may have said under the cloak of anonimity.

(Most times the word "people" was included in a post on boards? Priceless)

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Emmm what the fcuk?

Obviously a split personality :eek:
    (i can't even begin to spell the correct name for it!! )

I think we are being a missing a bit of the fuller picture here.
    In AH I can be a plonker - and god knows I do be - but in other sections such as the Politics, computers, and more serious sections I do be other types of mentality and deportment.
    Over all in other words, the whole of my character and/or make-up is being expressed in some way I suspect.
    Those that judge themselves just by the way their express themselves in one or two individual areas of the forum, depending on the "atmosphere" of those sections, are doing themselves no credit to seeing the full picture of their character being expressed across a wide and varied forum such as Boards.ie

I hope all that waffling above makes sense. :D

Roses are Red,
    Violets are Blue,
    I'm a split personality,
    And so am I.

But you're going to behave differently e.g. when you're at the cinema to when you're at a football match - that's not "putting on an act", that's just conforming to certain accepted modes of behaviour.

thats my location not my enviroment
    and i still disagree
    at a football match i'm the same personality just i'm cheering at the cinema i'm trying not to talk because my personality is polite

but when people talk about online personalities they mean people that act differently to the same stimul;us

for example i fiind some internet warriors who i have met are polite and reasnoable in real life but online they are stubborn opinionated and patronising

i am not i am the same whether im online at a match a gig or in the library choosing a book

i'm not different when i'm out with lads or in with the missus
    i'm the same when i talk to my mother as when i talk to a person in a shop
    i might treat them differ my mum would be treated as my mum but the princaples and morals and belifes my own way of expressing myself would still be the same

if my mum asked me do i like headshops on the phone or a bloke on a horse in the middle of a field asked me it;'d be the same answer expressed the same way although id be looking up and talking louder to the bloke on the horse

the bloke who talked about being accepted and not having people pidgeonhole hum because the difffer in te way he is percieved i would ask this
    surkey you are just allowed to be more yourself in this medium as it removes your fears and other poeples stereotyping and bigotry

naw a wanker on boards is wanker irl they just don't wanna show it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Davidius wrote: »
    I take it you behave in a single, jack-of-all-trades way all the time so.

A little bit more relaxed alright, but I'm still the same me, with the same opinions etc. No difference at all. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Biggins wrote: »
    I think we are being a missing a bit of the fuller picture here.
    In AH I can be a plonker - and god knows I do be - but in other sections such as the Politics, computers, and more serious sections I do be other types of mentality and deportment.
    Over all in other words, the whole of my character and/or make-up is being expressed in some way I suspect.
    Those that judge themselves just by the way their express themselves in one or two individual areas of the forum, depending on the "atmosphere" of those sections, are doing themselves no credit to seeing the full picture of their character being expressed across a wide and varied forum such as Boards.ie

I hope all that waffling above makes sense. :D

Yes but Biggins, I have read your posts on all the forums you post in and whether your being serious in Politics or having the craic in After Hours, it shines through like a beacon that you are the person that you are at the core, no matter what if you are online or offline.

I never get the sense that you have two different personas.

I distinctly get the impression that if I was to meet you for a pint, we'd talk politics and have the craic.

You seem very genuine to me and not all someone who changes online from the person they are in real life.

thats my location not my enviroment
    and i still disagree
    at a football match i'm the same personality just i'm cheering at the cinema i'm trying not to talk because my personality is polite
    Yes, that's what I said - your personality is the same, but not your behaviour, according to physical environment.
    i might treat them differ my mum would be treated as my mum but the princaples and morals and belifes my own way of expressing myself would still be the same
    That's what I mean too... I'm saying the same thing as you.
    But you just said above that some keyboard warriors you've met have turned out to be reasonable and polite in real life. Plus, "wanker on Boards" is often subjective. A person whom you personally deem a wanker could be just someone you clash with, and you still don't have enough of an idea of what they would be like if you actually met them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭hare05

the bloke who talked about being accepted and not having people pidgeonhole hum because the difffer in te way he is percieved i would ask this
    surkey you are just allowed to be more yourself in this medium as it removes your fears and other poeples stereotyping and bigotry

Exactly. But what I'm saying is that I often hide parts of my personality in real life, while there's no fear online.

In real life, there are hundreds of factors in how you are perceived and thus people's reactions to you. Online, all that matters is that you're not a trolling pr*ck :D

OutlawPete wrote: »

I distinctly get the impression that if I was to meet you for a pint, we'd talk politics and have the craic.

You seem very genuine to me and not all someone who changes online from the person they are in real life.

I'm like Biggins, only more craic. :p

A little bit more relaxed alright, but I'm still the same me, with the same opinions etc. No difference at all. :)
    Yeah, that's what I said.

Yes, that's what I said - your personality is the same, but not your behaviour, according to physical environment.

That's what I mean too... I'm saying the same thing as you.

But you just said above that some keyboard warriors you've met have turned out to be reasonable and polite in real life. Plus, "wanker on Boards" is often subjective. A person whom you personally deem a wanker could be just someone you clash with, and you still don't have enough of an idea of what they would be like if you actually met them.

the question is are people different
    some are i'm not
    my behaviour is the same here as in real life and no they bare reasonaable and polite in real life because soceity makes them not because they are
    once they have what they believe to be annominity then they act out thier inner wanker

nothing to do with my opinion or clashing i talking about how they are to others not how they are to me . i have a difference of opinion with people all the time i'm still able to respect thier opinion and while i might feel tha=ey are wrong i'll discuss the angles with them if they like

oscar said it best; give a man a mask and he'll tell you the truth

I'm like Biggins, only more craic. :p
    Your female? :eek:

;):D

hare05 wrote: »
    Exactly. But what I'm saying is that I often hide parts of my personality in real life, while there's no fear online.

In real life, there are hundreds of factors in how you are perceived and thus people's reactions to you. Online, all that matters is that you're not a trolling pr*ck :D

i'm glad and i hope it helps you not care about how stupid people can be irl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭D.R cowboy

I'm the same I don't think the Internet changes people what you are, you are...!!

I think that's what was being said too - that the internet also shapes how you behave, within limited confines, and it can't be used to sum up a person's entire character, so accusations of being hypocritical are moot (unless a person is actually putting on a full-blown act).
    Nulty wrote: »
    Yeah but are you not 'technically at work here?'

AHHHEM....

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Obviously a split personality :eek:
    (i can't even begin to spell the correct name for it!! )

Wha...? Who? Me? Or him?

So Tigger, I can tell what kind of a person you are in real life by your posts here? Absolutely no way would I be able to make such a judgement call.

AHHHEM....
    I didn't know what you meant.

Wha...? Who? Me? Or him?

The lot of yis :D

I didn't know what you meant.

I mean like, which personality/persona/whatever are you closest to on boards, your pub-self, work-self or other-internet-self

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Ikky Poo

alwaysadub wrote: »
    The lot of yis :D

What, even Ikky Poo3...?! But he's watching Wrestlemania!
    Jerricho just won.

Ikky Poo wrote: »
    What, even Ikky Poo3...?! But he's watching Wrestlemania!
    Jerricho just won.

Yeah! What''s he done to deserve that?!

Biggins wrote: »
    Your female? :eek:

;):D

I'm like Biggins then, only minus the crack. ;)

:) We still luv ya. :D
    Big hugs and kisses. :pac:

So Tigger, I can tell what kind of a person you are in real life by your posts here? Absolutely no way would I be able to make such a judgement call.

there is no need to try to extrapolate my whole complex self from my posts in ah

but as pete said about biggins if ypou saw all the posts i make on all the forums i post on both on and off birads it would give you an idea of what i'm like

it'd be a bit stalkerish tho

also there is no need to judge people my commi=unication in the typed form is far inferior to my ability and fialr in the direct form for inst6ance i am smiling at you and male female young or old everyoine likes a nice smile

this :D dosen't do it justice

but my opinions and feelings the core of me is preesented here

thats wh i have no avatar although the name Tigger is evocatitative of a type
    Depictions
    In Ernest H. Shepard's illustrations, Tigger appears to walk (or more often, bounce) on four feet as opposed to two. He is, however, capable of holding a pen with one of his front paws - at least well enough to make a BLOT. Though Tigger is described by Rabbit and Piglet as "large", he does not seem particularly big in the illustrations. Pooh states once "He always seems bigger because of his bounces", implying that the other animals think of Tigger as being larger than he truly is.

Personality traits
    That assessment fits well with Tigger's personality and his assessment of his own abilities, which he always overestimates. He is cheerful, outgoing, competitive in a friendly way, and has complete confidence in himself. Some of the things which he claims Tiggers can do include flying, jumping farther than a kangaroo, swimming, and climbing trees. He never actually attempts any of the first three things in the course of the story, but he does try to climb a tree. He only succeeds half-way, being able to climb up but not to climb down again. Tigger also says Tiggers "never get lost"; unlike most of his other claims, this one seems to be true - he is able to find his way through the Forest even in a thick mist, despite Rabbit's attempts to lose him.

Tigger's are called Tiggers in real lifel so its not a fake (its not my name its a nickname of sorts)

I mean like, which personality/persona/whatever are you closest to on boards, your pub-self, work-self or other-internet-self
    I honestly don't know - I don't put on a persona here whatsoever, my views are exactly the same and I say what I'd say in real life, but my behaviour is that of a person posting on a website, nothing else.