Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Goody Two-Shoes

• 28-03-2010 4:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Do people on boards think that they're acting the same as they would in real life? Because I'm convinced it couldn't be more to the contrary. In fact, I think that a lot of boardsies, with their online personas, become people that they wish they were in real life.

So often I reald threads on After Hours that make me a bit sick.

A recent example is the interflora thread about the chap that had the affair...i knew it wouldn't take too long before the houlier than thou brigade arrived... "Serves him right, the idiot" And then the post is thanked by dozens of people...people who of course have never cheated on a partner. Yeah right...

Someone says they downloaded a film... You should go to the cinema...what you're doing is theft ya know...

And loads of people will thank the post...the same people who used surely download music, or taped things off the radio in the past. Hypocrites is the only word for it really.

Another example is this thread - People love to appear to be high and mighty and, I'll say it again, holier than thou....

Absolutely no way they're like that in real life.

Why can't you just be consistant with who you are in real life? Not everyone is perfect and we all make mistakes. None of you have the right to act better than people who are simply more honest than you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Fear Uladh

Thanks mum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Jaysus I knew the first person to reply would have to try and be smart to gain a few thanks but you didn't even try mate. Poor fare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭RustyBeanTin

Who pissed in your cheerios?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

Don't know what you are talking about but my farts smell of rose-water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,576 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

On the other hand, other people feel less inhibited due to their anonymity and admit to acts and intentions they would never admit to in person.

Maybe the polarisation cancels out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Bigdeadlydave

Pathetic.

Grow up, this is boards, not real life.

Jaysus I knew the first person to reply would have to try and be smart to gain a few thanks but you didn't even try mate. Poor fare.

Give over would you? The reason people come on here is to have a bit of craic or have a serious discussion on issues, if people decide to take the piss a bit and have a laugh(within reason) who are you to say they shouldn't. Also newsflash buddy the real world is full of idiots.

Chillaxe wrote: »
    Give over would you? The reason people come on here is to have a bit of craic or have a serious discussion on issues, if people decide to take the piss a bit and have a laugh(within reason) who are you to say they shouldn't. Also newsflash buddy the real world is full of idiots.

I'm not sure what that has to do with what I posted. Did you stumble into the wrong thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I think goody two shoes might not be correct as lots of people will also be more "naughty" on the internet than they dare be in real life. Its basically down to there being fewer repercussions to what you say / do on the internet, well except that there is a written record. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

In fact, I think that a lot of boardsies, with their online personas, become people that they wish they were in real life.

Not to self-depreciate too much, but honestly, if I could become the person I wish I was in real life, I think I could do better than this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

In fact, I think that a lot of boardsies, with their online personas, become people that they wish they were in real life.

I think in real life you would be a real douche:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

Do people on boards think that they're acting the same as they would in real life? Because I'm convinced it couldn't be more to the contrary. In fact, I think that a lot of boardsies, with their online personas, become people that they wish they were in real life.

A recent example is the interflora thread about the chap that had the affair...i knew it wouldn't take too long before the houlier than thou brigade arrived... "Serves him right, the idiot" And then the post is thanked by dozens of people...people who of course have never cheated on a partner. Yeah right...

Someone says they downloaded a film... You should go to the cinema...what you're doing is theft ya know...

And loads of people will thank the post...the same people who used surely download music, or taped things off the radio in the past. Hypocrites is the only word for it really.

Another example is this thread - People love to appear to be high and mighty and, I'll say it again, holier than thou....

Why can't you just be consistant with who you are in real life? Not everyone is perfect and we all make mistakes. None of you have the right to act better than people who are simply more honest than you.

I feel sorry for those people...

The Aussie wrote: »
    I think in real life you would be a real douche:D:D:D

I'm fantastic, and I'm pretty sure that you secretly agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I would like to think that I'm as close as possible to the person I am in real life, however depressing that really is... :p

Im sure you say that to lots of people in real life....oh wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

well secretly i do love a good wind up and this has the makings for a ripper...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

I don't just thank posts because I agree with them, I thank them because they make me laugh 90% of the time! I have also met a few boardsies in real life and they are exactly how they post, no more no less.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Bugnug

Believe it or not the vast majority of people do not cheat on their partners. It is the minority of people who do this because they are not happy with themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

What's a pirates favourite boards forum?
    Arrrrrrr & Arrrrrrrrr

It's hard to gain context over the internet so we'd never really know everyone's true personality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 jemflux

I agree with you,I'm new to all all this but looking through the contents so far,
    some of the Members (is that the right word?) seem to go into a trance and loose the run of themselves, it's like a dream to them and I don't think many would stand up to a good friendly slaggin in a pub.

jemflux wrote: »
    I agree with you,I'm new to all all this but looking through the contents so far,
    some of the Members (is that the right word?) seem to go into a trance and loose the run of themselves, it's like a dream to them and I don't think many would stand up to a good friendly slaggin in a pub.
    Well. If you're up for it. Here you go.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054945156

Bonito wrote: »
    What's a pirates favoure boards forum?
    Arrrrrrr & Arrrrrrrrr

It's hard to gain context over the internet so we'd never really know everyone's true personality.

One of the rules of the R&R forum is that you can't rant about boardsies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Anyone else get a smell of holier than thou off this thread? It might be hard over by the smell of irony

I took that as to you're not allowed rant about a particular boardsie. As in naming them. Didn't know they weren't allowed make generalisations. :)

Some people, you really should take a second and have a little one on one with yourself. Did you not start this thread complaining about people being hollier than thou and goody two shoes? Then you pull somebody up for their infringement of the rules.
    Did you have some kind of life altering experience in the last half hour?:D:D:D:D:D

Where did I pull someone up for infringing the rules?

Here.

You misunderstood. He was insinuating that my post is a rant and I should have posted it in the R&R forum. I was merely pointing out that my post wouldn't have been allowed there.

What's a pirates favourite boards forum?
    Arrrrrrr & Arrrrrrrrr

You misunderstood. He was insinuating that my post is a rant and I should have posted it in the R&R forum. I was merely pointing out that my post wouldn't have been allowed there.

You're a pirate?

Fair enough. I think the majority of people who post on boards are genuine and just want to discuss topics and voice their opinion. If they are being somebody else we will never know and thats just sad for them.

If you don't like anything you read I suggest you save yourself the stress and move on.

Good Luck.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

ITT PEOPLE ON INTERNET MAY NOT BE WHO THEY SAY THEY ARE SHOCKER :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Generally I keep to the same morals online as I do IRL. Never given out to someone for piracy, never will. Always given out to people for cheating, always will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

I think the OP has a fair point, but tbh the thing i enjoy about boards is the fact that there are different threads for whatever mood you're in.

Sometimes i'm serious, sometimes i'm not but what difference does it make but i think that most people are consistant in their views

..people who of course have never cheated on a partner. Yeah right...

I don't know if I should feel a bit sorry for you or just roll my eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

You're a pirate?
    He arrrr!

bluewolf wrote: »

Ask your high horse, he'll tell you what to do.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

The awkward, pain in the arse, stubborn wally that I am here, is the same awkward, pain in the arse, stubborn wally that I am off the boards. :cool:

Ask your high horse, he'll tell you what to do.

If it's a choice between the sad belief that everyone cheats on their partner or being on a high horse, I'm quite happy on the latter

I'm not condoning people who cheat...but I do think there are certain hypocrites on this site who will take the high moral ground with such issues while all the while doing something worse in real life or maybe they have cheated in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

people who of course have never cheated on a partner. Yeah right...

None of you have the right to act better than people who are simply more honest than you.

I have never been unfaithful to anyone so I have every right to act better than someone who is less honest than me.

bluewolf wrote: »

I feel sorry for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

In fairness you've dwelled on the negative aspects of masking your identity on an online forum.

Many people on Boards are very witty in forums and get loads of thanks for what they say but may actually be really shy IRL. Some people may take on a holier than thou persona, but for the most part, if people aren't exactly as they are IRL, it is positive.

Take me for example, my posts generally reflect how I am IRL, but my username name is a complete sham. I am neither a DJ or a "stiggie" (if that is such a thing). Its just a name I came up with when I started using the internet and have kept it since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

What. The. ***????

Magenta wrote: »
    I have never been unfaithful to anyone so I have every right to be better than someone who is less honest than me.
    FYP :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭bertie4evr

Who took the jam out of his doughnut?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

This one time I was in a pub and I nearly talked to a girl. But then I panicked and pissed myself. It was a good night all in all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

I dunno, I've gotten stuck with drunk argumentative folks that'd probably be right at home on some internet threads. And the two lads I know that are internet trolls like to say stupid **** to get a rise in real life as well.

Overall though, this is a written medium and a discussion forum. Long, well thought-out discourses on a topic are likely not to get read (too long!), and, given the short amount of time they're likely to stay active, probably not worth the time to write and edit.

Terse and pithy is the order of the day in this medium. Sadly, not one of my strengths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I think it's good that people agree with what is the correct moral opinion even if they are being hypocrites. At least it shows they realise what they are doing may not be the correct way. Sure as hell beats those who know they're doing wrong and don't give a damn. Rather a hypocrite than a brute!

dsmythy wrote: »
    I think it's good that people agree with what is the correct moral opinion even if they are being hypocrites. At least it shows they realise what they are doing may not be the correct way. Sure as hell beats those who know they're doing wrong and don't give a damn. Rather a hypocrite than a brute!

Good point actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

i usually post seriously in the techy forums, but other than that, my childish and immature sense of humor exposes itself (*sniggers* :D, see what i mean?) but the reason i think a lot of people on boards dont post like what they would say in real life is simply because there are rules and regulations and a certain "decorum in the forum" so to speak.

say for example if you think a person is being silly, as i often am in AH tbh, the first rule of the forums is no personal abuse, so you cant say to the person what you're really thinking. i had the misfortune to be reminded of this recently... :o

this is the interrnet, dont take it so seriously, but keep the rules in mind obviously! ;)

ps. you cant use txt speak either, so is that like asking "do you txt the same way you talk?", the answers "no" to that too btw! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

This one time I was in a pub and I nearly talked to a girl.

That was me.