Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IDFPA Nationals 2010

• 27-03-2010 7:52pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭

There should be a lot of talk about these over the next week considering the lifting that went down today. Not gonna spoil it for anyone by saying what they did, so lets have it lads!!!

I will say this tho - Brian Irwin 320/225ish/335 raw. SICK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

vids or gtfo. :pac:

No seriously would like to see some when they come online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,392 ✭✭✭COH

Hanley wrote: »
    320/225ish/335 raw. SICK.

Raw?? Thats insane... guy must be a beast!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

COH wrote: »
    Raw?? Thats insane... guy must be a beast!

He's a big lump of a lad alright!!

In other news.... My weight over the last day;

10am - 99.2kg
    *2 trips to Maccy D's, tons of water etc etc*
    4pm - 101.8kg
    7pm - 100.9kg
    *2 chicken kievs*
    9.30pm - 100.9kg

I'm cutting it close!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

There should be a lot of talk about these over the next week considering the lifting that went down today. Not gonna spoil it for anyone by saying what they did, so lets have it lads!!!

I will say this tho - Brian Irwin 320/225ish/335 raw. SICK.
    I'm not sure quite what was happening when I saw that. I've vids of the squat and bench but had to leave so didn't see the deads. Might put them up but don't want to piss him off as I'd be little other than a light snack to him! Saw some triple BW deadlifts (was only spectatin') which was amazing and depressing at the same time!

Dead Ed wrote: »
    I'm not sure quite what was happening when I saw that. I've vids of the squat and bench but had to leave so didn't see the deads. Might put them up but don't want to piss him off as I'd be little other than a light snack to him! Saw some triple BW deadlifts (was only spectatin') which was amazing and depressing at the same time!

I think we need to update the boards.ie lexicon - He Irwin'd (literal translation - "He smashed fcuking weight"). Very nice guy too actually. Which makes it all the harder to hate him.

Weight update - 100.5kg. Fairly happy I'll be under 100kg tomorrow morning at this rate. Gonna project 99.5kg, tho that is subject to change depending on how much I lose over night.

Serious shout out to Vis as well for his stupidly big deadlifts.

Got an update text from Kevpants there as well... prepare to hate him for being so strong!!

Can't wait to hear how Podge did too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Here's the squat:

http://www.vimeo.com/10488454

Bench Press:

http://www.vimeo.com/10489440 (should be converted in about 30mins)

Good luck to all liftin' tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭weeman2

some very impresive lifting Brian Irwin was great but some big big deadlifts buy some very light guys, masters and ladies very impresive stuff i have to say.

Delighted that the IDFPA bench press will take place at our show Sports Expo Ireland on June 5th and 6th in Limerick along with Strongman Champions League ye guys are a great addition and it was great to meet some of ye today.

See ye in June hope to see the standard i saw today or better it will be a great way to promote the sport of Power Lifting and we will have some nice prizes for ye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

Horrible display by me today.

- Put 200 as my squat opener, which I have done many times at this stage. Totally messed up my opener and busted my groin in the process. Came back and made 200 on my 2nd, and then missed 215 on my 3rd

- Not sure what happened when I was benching. Made my opener (112) easily, but my technique was horrible again, and I missed 120 twice.

- My groin was really swelling up by the time deads came around, so I lowered my opener to 215, and stopped after that.

I managed to qualify for the WDFPF worlds in Novemeber, so hopefully I will have a better time there.

Aside from the injury, my main problem today was that I had a real lack of focus. Ill do a more detailed post on my day 2moro.

It was greating seeing everyone from boards again, and I dont think I could have made that 2nd squat without them getting my head right. Also, best of luck to the lads lifting 2moro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

Noteable points from today:

Vis Vires can deadlift anything that can be attached to a bar. Savage.

Podge demonstrated the fickleness of powerlifting. One little pop and months of planning get thrown to one side. Fair play for not giving up though and rescuing a qualifying total while lame.

Brutus gives great vid commentary "Drooooiiiiive ir up!!" :D

Too tired to add anything else.

Myself I totalled 605 (yay). Squat was 225kg, which is great considering my unhappines with prep. Only thing is 230kg was there I think but I can't be selfish.

Bench was 130kg (again). 140 will just never go for me in competition. I should be automatically awarded 130kg and get to skip the lifting for the rest of my career. It's a constant.

Deadlift was an easy 250kg followed by a harrowing miss at 260kg. 260kg might have happened if it wasn't attempted at nearly 10pm after weighing in at 8am!

I'm shaking like Michael J Fox's car keys I'm so tired now. Night night. Shoot the sh1t about today later.

Good luck to Hanley, Cardio et al tomorrow. Make gravity feel foolish.

Out of bed and 99.4kg. Time to hit the bricks. Wish me luck y'all.

That guy is a man monster!

Well done kev and podge, hard luck on the injury. Worlds are in Ireland this year aren't they? or did I pick that up wrong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭brutusthebarber

From my log..

I made weight a bit too much today. Weighed in at an extremely light 88.1kgfrown.gif So at start of the week I was close to 92 and managed to drop bout 4kgs! Bleh. I did not feel good on the day but fcuk it.

Squats

Warmups felt heavy and just before I warmed up with 130 I realised I was going to have to bring my belt in a notch! Which is not good at all.. no bloat! So I brought it in and 130 felt okay. 145 opener was not smooth at all really. No question with depth tho. Equals PB. Went 152.5 and it was ground out. On to 155. As I took the bar out I started seein stars, squatted the weight and got called on depth. Think I just hit parallel.

Bench
    Bah.. I hate the bench. Opened with 102.5 with a view to hitting 110 2nd attempt. All warmups were easy. 102.5 was grand. Went to 110, no lift. 3rd attempt.. no lift. Fcukin bench.

Deadlifts.
    Again warmups were fine. I think I may have warmed up too early but this is something I will nail down from attending comps on a regular basis. 160 opener was fine, bit slow at top (got caught on suit). 170 was fought the whole way. Comp PB by 7.5kg. 175 got about 2 inches off the floor and that was that.

My prep for this comp was shocking. I was so worried about not hitting weight that I didn't focus on the actual weights! Lesson learned. Totalled 425 so a 12.5kg PB on my total. Not happy with it but happy that I have another competiton under my belt. Back to training and weight gaining nowcool.gif

Well done to all the lads from Boards.. some great performances. Big shout out to Vis and his bro for the help in the warm ups and for Hanley's advice on what weights to take when I was suckin balls on the platform:)

Good luck to the lads lifting today!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭_JOE_

Super lifting from all the lads on Saturday, and also today; some sick lifts and PBs well earned. I noticed a serious amount of young potential over the last two days...

On another note, I've like 80 videos of all the boards lifters (amongst others) which i will upload to my bro's (VIS VIRES / Anthony) Youtube page. You can then download the video and edit as you wish...

A strange day for me....

Weighed in at 99.2kg - sweet.

Squats:
    290kg x - miss by stepping back at the top
    290kg x - miss on depth
    290kg good - pressure lift, got it very strongly

Bench:
    195kg x - miss on; starting too soon, lifting my head and dipping on the way up
    195kg good - smoke show (WDFPF junior world record)
    205kg good - best of the bunch (WDFPF junior world record)

Deadlift:
    240kg good - zooooooom
    257.5kg good - smoke show (WDFPF national and euro junior total record)
    272.5kg good - 600lb FINALLY (national and euro junior total record)

And the titles/rewards/records;
    -100kg junior and senior national champ
    -Overall best lifter, junior and senior
    -National and European junior total record in the WDFPF
    -World junior bench record in the WDFPF

Will fill in the deets and post vids later.

Big thanks to Ger Smith for being the biggest ledge ever and getting me thru the day <33 Massive shout out to Mic G. and Trev K. as well for coming down and giving me a big dig out. Couldn't have done it without their help.

Well done to everyone who lifted, thanks to the ref's, spotters, loaders, Chesty, Billy, all the officials and everyone who made the weekend run smoothly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

Heres me little update.
    had an okish day.

Squat:
    warm ups went well, finished up at 130 and smoked it. i went 145 for my opener but i got called on a technicality(forgot to take off elbow sleeves, racked too early). second lift i took 155 and got it , bit of a struggle. i had a bit of a conference with Joe and the video, i was thikngi 165, he said 160, i settled at 162.5 and absolutly grinded the ****e out of it, wasnt letting it go without a fight. unfortunatly it took a lot out of me which affected my bench.
    so far i had
    155/162.5 32.5kg comp pr

Bench:
    absolute freaking disaster, warm ups went crap, hips crampt, arms shaking, elbows ****ed. i dropped my opener to 92.5 and i almost bombed on it. got it ,but i didnt pause, and i lifted my head, luckily two didnt see it and i got a very shaky 2 whites. i attempted two 97.5s a missed both. unlucky, but feck it, i had my opener, thats that. i was actually terrified because kieran thought i had bombed so i had to recheck after my deadlifts.
    so i had
    92.5kg 5 kg comp pr

Deadlift:
    this is where i stole the show, warmed up to 180 and it felt easy. i opened at 200kg and smoked it!! i got the national deadlift record on Wilks here. took alook at the video and went 210 and got that with a bit of a struggle, i went 215 for my third but unfortunatly i couldnt set the belt up well and it felt really loose, so i lost it just before my knees, next time.
    so i had
    200 210 30kg comp pr

if i maths are correct i totalled 465kg with a 67.5kg total pr. and qualified for the worlds.

big shout out/thanks to everyone who helped me today with lift picks and warm ups and motivation. but a special thanks to Joe and Anthony for helping load bars , and recording all my lifts, joe should be on the payroll at this stage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Good Work there lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

good job everyone uber congrats to hanley

cardio was that your first comp? what weight you compete at?

PeakOutput wrote: »
    good job everyone uber congrats to hanley

cardio was that your first comp? what weight you compete at?
    2nd and 106.

Good stuff Hanley and Cardio, very nice totals and DL PR's by both of you
    _JOE_ wrote: »

Super lifting from all the lads on Saturday, and also today; some sick lifts and PBs well earned. I noticed a serious amount of young potential over the last two days...

On another note, I've like 80 videos of all the boards lifters (amongst others) which i will upload to my bro's (VIS VIRES / Anthony) Youtube page. You can then download the video and edit as you wish...

You were seriously busy with that camera yesterday! You and the rest of the lads were a huge help to me too

Heres my vid of the successful attempts, still very disappointed with it

The injury was a big setback for me, but I don't know if I would have had that great of a day anyway. I wasn't focused at all, and alot of the technical aspects of the lifts that usually come naturally for me were just not happening.

Standing around for so long was a big factor too - I found it impossible to get warmed up properly. I was also afraid of losing weight with my cold during the week, and I think I over-compensated, and ended up weighing 107.6kg. As a result, my belt was much tighter than normal, which also contributed to the injury

Some of the things I know I need to do going forward:
    - Stop messing with my squat technique so much
    - More conservative squat openers
    - I need to get more focused / aggresive before a lift

My plan now is to take this week off and get my injury checked out, and then take it easy for 3-4 weeks. I have been training hard since October-ish, so I need a bit of a break

Thanks again to everyone who was there yesterday, there was a great atmosphere and lots of encouragement from/for everyone

paul seriously, get better squat shoes or atleast widen your stance man! your basically doubled over!

Its just how he's built, its not like he's gm-ing it up!

paul seriously, get better squat shoes or atleast widen your stance man! your basically doubled over!

Yeah, I think with the length of my legs and using a low bar position means there is going to be a lot of forward lean. I don't really think it is a limiting factor though. The main thing I want to do over the next few weeks / months is get a more consistant squat technique, and have all my squats looking the same

well i know it works for you, but get some shoes!! theyd really suit your stance.

Ed Coan squatted like Podge, in shoes like Podge. I think he's doing ok.

He's gotten thru a full Smolov cycle, hit huge PR's over the last 12 months and done some great work. One bad meet does not a bad squatter make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Esse85

Some savage lifting there guys well done.

How often would ye guys be drug tested for events such as these?

Ed Coan squatted like Podge, in shoes like Podge. I think he's doing ok.

He's gotten thru a full Smolov cycle, hit huge PR's over the last 12 months and done some great work. One bad meet does not a bad squatter make.
    fair enough, cant really argue with that.

Esse85 wrote: »
    Some savage lifting there guys well done.

I think 10% of all lifters are tested but a lot of category winners or people who set big PR's over previous competitions get tested.

They have the right to test us out of season but don't exercise that right at the moment.

Esse85 wrote: »

Every fcuking competition! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

kevpants wrote: »
    I think 10% of all lifters are tested but a lot of category winners or people who set big PR's over previous competitions get tested.

They have the right to test us out of season but don't exercise that right at the moment.

yeah, its about 10% and that'd usually be the top 10%.
    the lifters who win and set records etc.

Well done to all who lifted at the weekend.
    another great performance by the boards posters

Jaaaaaaaaays I'm absolutely wrecked. There's a significant chance I won't wake up tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭mushykeogh

Sweet baby jesus and the orphans. There is some Phenomenal lifting in this thread! Well done all, must be some satisfaction after all the hours that ye put into training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

U came in really ripped for your comp, great to see, a class above my man! Congrats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

great lifting there Hanley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭magotch07

fair play hanley thats savage lifting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Pavel66

Well done to everyone who lifted over the weekend! It was a great comp and I really enjoyed it. I have a detailed report with videos over on my training log, so probably not much point in putting it up here too :D

It's worth checking out, if only to see me fall on my ass in my squat opener :o

I got 160/110/190 for a 460 total - a 15kg PR :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Horses of men, the lot of you.

Well done.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

bloody highlight reel of massive lifting!!!

Looking lean also man. Very impressed

Here's my vid. Drooooooooiiiiiive irup!

I'm still absolutely shattered. Feel like I've the flu. I should really hand back my wages for today in work. Desperate.

Here's my vid. Drooooooooiiiiiive irup!

I'm still absolutely shattered. Feel like I've the flu. I should really hand back my wages for today in work. Desperate.

Holy fcuk. Where'd you pull that squat out of?? Absolutely stunning. Well done!!

130 bench looked real smooth...

The deads were seriously strong looking too. Start targetting 230/140/260 REAL soon!!

d-gal wrote: »
    U came in really ripped for your comp, great to see, a class above my man! Congrats
    Transform wrote: »
    bloody highlight reel of massive lifting!!!

Looking lean also man. Very impressed

Cheers lads... wouldn't say ripped tho.

I'm on my way to 94kg now, my calipers are like 11mm at my suprailliac fold now, so it'll be interesting to see where I get to with 5kg off!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Cheers lads... wouldn't say ripped tho.

I'm on my way to 94kg now, my calipers are like 11mm at my suprailliac fold now, so it'll be interesting to see where I get to with 5kg off!!
    5kg off!! man you will be down to my weight then - going to have to go head to head on some serious wods then!

Transform wrote: »
    5kg off!! man you will be down to my weight then - going to have to go head to head on some serious wods then!

I've already been warned not to go mad on CF stuff so I'm fresh... haha!!

Tell ya what gimme a few months and then we can go ar Grace or Isabelle any time!! Hell.. isa-grace!! That'd be sick.

Holy fcuk. Where'd you pull that squat out of?? Absolutely stunning. Well done!!

McDonalds that's where! Swear to god it's good for 5kg on your squat.

I was a notch up on my belt and all. Felt really puffy going into the squat. It was great! My core was like a board, for once I was never going to lose a squat forward.

Can't believe how easy your lifts look. The first bench was funny though. It was like an instructional video for all the little things you can get red lighted for. Followed by one of how it's meant to be done.

I'm so scared of bench shirts thanks to you. The difference in lifts with the same weight for no apparent reason is nuts!

McDonalds that's where! Swear to god it's good for 5kg on your squat.

I was a notch up on my belt and all. Felt really puffy going into the squat. It was great! My core was like a board, for once I was never going to lose a squat forward.

Can't believe how easy your lifts look. The first bench was funny though. It was like an instructional video for all the little things you can get red lighted for. Followed by one of how it's meant to be done.

I'm so scared of bench shirts thanks to you. The difference in lifts with the same weight for no apparent reason is nuts!

MaccyD's wasn't good to me!!! 6 pancakes, half a ton of syrup and a crap squat!!

The only things I coulda done to make my lift more illegitimate were to raise my a55 and move my feet. It's ridiculous!!

The actual lifts were so slick... fast descent on my 3rd squat and it woulda looked like the 2nd. The 257 pull moved SO fast. Couldn't believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Great lifting everyone, some incredible stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Ridiculously impressive stuff lads. I hate every one of you.

MaccyD's wasn't good to me!!! 6 pancakes, half a ton of syrup and a crap squat!!
    was good to me, those pancakes are no joke, cant believe i doubted the glories of the breakfast over there. the apple pies there are criminally good