Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do knackers know they are knackers?

• 25-03-2010 4:27pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭

I was on the bus today and there were a couple of knackers at the back. Between their mobile phones blaring out dance tunes and their dodgy accents I could just about hear them saying "Do you know him, he is a right knacker "(Juno hem, hays a roide nakur).

I had a quick giggle to myself and shook my head wandering if they were aware that they too were knackers. I considered going politely over to them and explaining the whole concept of irony (I hoped they had notebooks with them) but then the bus came to my stop.

As I left the bus to make my way to claim my job seekers allowance I caught my reflection in the window, hooped ear-rings, a five year old o'neills shell tracksuit, a crewcut and a permanent angry look on my face and worst of all, white socks pulled up outside of the tracksuit!!!!! :eek::eek::eek:

Could I too be a knacker????

The hooped ear-ring thing just makes me a bit camp/transvestite/transexual wannabe...I can live with that but a knacker aaaarrrrrggghhhhhhh!!!

But enough about me, do knackers know they are knackers??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

IBTL! ooooh look a kitty ----> (=^;^=)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SadieSue

Does a tree know its a tree?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

donfers wrote: »
    I was on the bus today and there were a couple of knackers at the back. Between their mobile phones blaring out dance tunes and their dodgy accents I could just about hear them saying "Do you know him, he is a right knacker "(Juno hem, hays a roide nakur).

I had a quick giggle to myself and shook my head wandering if they were aware that they too were knackers.

As I left the bus to make my way to claim my job seekers allowance I caught my reflection in the window, hopped ear-rings, a five year old o'neills shell tracksuit, a crewcut and a permanent angry look on my face and worst of all, white socks pulled up outside of the tracksuit!!!!! :eek::eek::eek:

The hooped ear-ring thing just makes me a bit camp/transvestite/transexual wannabe...I can live with that but a knacker aaaarrrrrggghhhhhhh!!!

But enough about me, do knackers do they are knackers??

Yes they do do don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Nope. Knackerism is something you can only see in other people. Nobody likes to look down on themselves with smugness and disgust.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

SadieSue wrote: »

Why woodn't it?

If a tree falls in the woods and nobody's around to see it, do the other trees laugh?
    Roadend wrote: »
    Why woodn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭MrPain

I often wondered why they put their socks over their trousers, where didi this originate from? Do they think the look like cyclists or something:confused:. This combined with runners and tracksuits they must think they're elite athletes:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

I had a quick giggle to myself and shook my head wandering if they were aware that they too were knackers.

As I left the bus to make my way to claim my job seekers allowance I caught my reflection in the window, hopped ear-rings, a five year old o'neills shell tracksuit, a crewcut and a permanent angry look on my face and worst of all, white socks pulled up outside of the tracksuit!!!!! :eek::eek::eek:

But enough about me, do knackers do they are knackers??

what is a knacker, is it a person or thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Fago! wrote: »

Que? Why would this be locked? Why would you postcount +1 in disguise?

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SadieSue

If a tree falls in the woods and nobody's around to see it, do the other trees laugh?

Ahh sure you can leaf that one alone now... no branching off the subject!

/gets coat.

After they a 500 metre run, they know they're knackered! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

goat2 wrote: »
    what is a knacker, is it a person or thing

It's a race...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

MrPain wrote: »
    I often wondered why they put their socks over their trousers, where didi this originate from? Do they think the look like cyclists or something:confused:. This combined with runners and tracksuits they must think they're elite athletes:confused:

That's to stop the rats running up the legs of thier trusers when they go home to their shanty towns *smug*

Ahh sure you can leaf that one alone now... no branching off the subject!

/gets coat.

AAANNNDDDD STAY OUT!!!!
    funk-you wrote: »
    Que? Why would this be locked? Why would you postcount +1 in disguise?

-Funk

What the fuhk are you shyting on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

I am a fine gentleman, this much I know for sure.

A pox on the lower classes, where did I leave my monocle, the latest reports on the eastern markets have arrived by telegram.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

If a knacker falls in the woods, and nobody is around, then does the knacker make any sound?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭tony231974

As I left the bus to make my way to claim my job seekers allowance I caught my reflection in the window, hopped ear-rings, a five year old o'neills shell tracksuit, a crewcut and a permanent angry look on my face and worst of all, white socks pulled up outside of the tracksuit!!!!! eek.gifeek.gifeek.gif

Who the hell dressed you?You sound like something from miami vice :D

If a knacker falls in the woods, and nobody is around, then does the knacker make any sound?

No he trys to mug an elk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I am a fine gentleman, this much I know for sure.

A pox on the lower classes, where did I leave my monocle, the latest reports on the eastern markets have arrived by telegram.

I can't abide those new-fangled tools of the devil, a native runner brings ours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

After they a 500 metre run, they know they're knackered! :pac:

run , do , sprint , finish ,complete , attempt, here are a few words that fit, feel free to use them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

It's a race...
    where is this knacker race held and when, how many miles is the run

Knackers is such a disgusting term. That is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I caught my reflection in the window, hooped ear-rings, a five year old o'neills shell tracksuit, a crewcut and a permanent angry look on my face and worst of all, white socks pulled up outside of the tracksuit!!!!! :eek::eek::eek:
    Well? Do you?

lonad wrote: »
    Knackers is such a disgusting term. That is all.

We've caught one people, ready the cage!

no wait...he spelt disgusting right...sigh

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I can't abide those new-fangled tools of the devil, a native runner brings ours.

Good sir if we did not support our finest engineers and latest technologies, we would not have the steam tractor, the spinning jenny, or child labor factories to produce shower curtains, nor would we have convenient hand cranked showers!

A lack of foresight is your limitation sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭BongoJuice

They have a sense of smell don't they so ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

What if we're all just figments of one joy-riding glue-sniffing young fellah in a cell in Mountjoy?

Think about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Yes, something like...

ehhhhhhhhhhnnnnnnnhhthgggggggggggggggbud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭hitlersson666

Nope knackeres think there cool and above everyone else :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

If a knacker falls in the woods, and nobody is around, then does the knacker make any sounda compo claim?
    :D FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

IBTL :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

do knackers do they are knackers??

Do middle class laptop weilding career-getters know they are impotent, uniformed slaves conditioned from the day of their birth to become nothing more than cogs in the system? Probably not, and I'd say they are about as self-aware as your average knacker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭why so serious?

Most knackers and chavs are gangster wannabes, just look at there bebo and facebook profiles, nothing but "2pac" and "Biggie" quotes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭ocokev

Does a dog know he is a dog if so why does he keep humping legs?

And who put the springs in the balls of their feet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

bonerm wrote: »
    Do middle class laptop weilding career-getters know they are impotent, uniformed slaves conditioned from the day of their birth to become nothing more than cogs in the system? Probably not, and I'd say they are about as self-aware as your average knacker.

i before e except after c... oops big boy , you just knackerised yourself:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

goat2 wrote: »
    where is this knacker race held and when, how many miles is the run

The Knacker race is held every hour on the north side of the city where the young contenders and potential inmates of mountjoy, race away from security guards or if in an senior race the Gardai, affectionaltely know as 'da fooking pigsa'

Competitors preferably dress in tracksuits and runners for comfort, tuck their socks into their shoes for safety reasons. A shaved head or crew cut is usually worn for aerodynamic purposes.

The competitor will eventually be caught by the pursuers and will be rewarded by repeative strikes of a baton. There are no winners, the biggest loser is society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

i before e except after c... oops big boy , you just knackerised yourself:D

Keep living the dream pedant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

a knacker to me isnt the way someone speaks, their accent or anything like that. Its more their nature. You can have whatever accent and still be the scum of the earth.. you would think the irish would have recognised this by now....

Knackerism isnt restricted to the working class areas or people on buses playing music.

I'd say all the money and quality of life means they don't care. They certainly commit less crime and assault less people, and burden the state less.

Knacker =/= Real person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

fago, stop flaunting pussy everywhere!

you're obsessed.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭vangoz

Did you not die of starvation in that abandoned bus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds1

Socks thing is so items taken in shops can be put down their pants pockets. Well informed by a student about that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Most knackers and chavs are gangster wannabes, just look at there bebo and facebook profiles, nothing but "2pac" and "Biggie" quotes.
    Check out this scaldy degenerate and his mates. You could spend hours looking through all their comments. Absolute head the balls, are there really people like this out there?!?
    http://www.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=1931105217
    Me, Myself, and I
    im here on this earth to bate around dopey little poshs hu tink dere mad .i love robing bikes and cars and rallying them down park then burnin them ou.so if ne one here wants a go of me r was slaging me mates fookin say it 2 me and ill have ya.i box 4 de army in me spare time only buzzin i dnt go school i jst train 4 the army all week.i bet u around ya prody wanker (english cnut i killt )

i wasnt on for bleedin years cause i was livin in the army barracks trainin all day every day ,,quality it was u wanna see how much a better boxer ive got ..
    Music
    love all dance listen to it b4 a go u no.love all comercal dance tunes
    Films
    porn .greenstreet football factory
    Sports
    boxing soccer
    Scared Of
    little woman hu rat on me wen i kick the shít outa dem
    Happiest When
    sleepin drinkin fighten

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭BongoJuice

I didn't know Kevin Myers posted here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

BongoJuice wrote: »
    I didn't know Kevin Myers posted here.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/member.php?u=321175 Au contraire!

viva la revolution...now where did I put my che guevera boxers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭dcmu

i before e except after c...
    Leave him alone - not everyone has the knack of good spelling.

seriously though, the statistical likelihood is that at least one person who has posted on here is a knacker or has had sexual congress with one

Me on both counts , right boss , what is your problem:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

It's a race...

Is it? Please explain.

Knacker:

1) A person who disposes of dead or unwanted animals. (COD) The person who collects dead and diseased animals from farms in order to salvage any products of value (eg, hides and skins, meat for pet food) and dispose of the remains, usually to a renderer.

2) One who makes knickknacks, toys, etc; One of two or more pieces of bone or wood held loosely between the fingers, and struck together by moving the hand

3) Someone who buys old buildings or ships and breaks them up to recover the materials in them.

Not all travellers are knackers, and not all knackers are travellers. A knacker was a job once upon a time. I am not sure how popular that trade is now. I would hazard a guess it is all but gone.