Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to start a car company?

• 25-03-2010 11:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭

Its been a dream for a while. I wanna set up my own car manufacturing company. Now I know right now it doesn't seem like the best thing to get into but this is a 10year plan so things should change by then.

I'ld love to set up two brands. One luxury brand making sports cars, for the brand image. And one baby brand making small affordable but fun cars.
    Something like Lotus. Making small quantity but high quality of handbuilt cars. Something that would require a lot of brains to sort out the design and skilled mechanics to assemble the bits together.

So what do you guys think. Would this work in Ireland?
    And if so what all would one need to set up a successful brand?...

With cars its always next to impossible to be successful with a new brand unless its got some history behind it like or unless its absolutely bonkers and amazing like Pagani or something revolutionary like Tesla.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Do you have a few million in the bank?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

What were you smoking this morning. :D

Get a job with one of the specialist car manufacturers in the UK and work your way up. Who knows in twenty or thirty years. With a bit of engineering excellence behind you, a kit car may be a more realistic dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

steve06 wrote: »

Billions would be better.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

steve06 wrote: »

Make that 10-100 million. You can start a car company no problem, it's making it profitable that's the hard part. I suggest something stripped down like an Atom rather than a sportscar. If you're wealthy or have wealthy and indulgent friends then you're fine. If not, build a prototype and start looking for seed/venture capital. To build a prototype will cost bucketloads, but if you have a dream you do what you can to make it reality.

PS: Any jobs going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

would it work.... possibly.....

but you would a lot of money.... and the ROI would be a long time....

but to start out with two brand a luxury and a small fun car one would be a hell of a lot of hassle,

you would be better off building supercars than small cheap cars....

supercars/// look at koiesengggeisisisawer ( you know the one i mean) to see how they started off, and where they are now...
    supercars are fine to be handbuilt... so a lot less start up costs...

small cheap fun cars would be very hard to do from scratach to make money... too much competition and needs a lot of automation to keep costs down which involve a lot of front end investment...

Are you for real or is this a wind up thread :D
    You seem like a splendid chap (or chapette) from your posts on here but having a car company is potentially more loss making than a football club :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Confab wrote: »
    Make that 10-100 million.

That's what I meant, I wasn't talking pennies! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

dont tell me you all never dreamed of opening up a car company.....

feck me I am 36 and still dream of it......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

bladespin wrote: »
    Billions would be better.

Yeah, and dont get to attached to it either as there is no faster way to burn through cash than setting up a car company!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I do remember reading somewhere that Koneigsegg spent something like 15million a year developing their car. And it took them something like 10 years to build the CCR.
    And its only now they've started making some real profit.

But I don't wanna build a supercar.
    Just a simple roadster. With a simple V8 engine in the front that I could maybe source from some good manufacturer.

Its all very longterm I'm thinking off. I know there's a lot of money involved and even after putting in all that money you won't be looking to get back anything for a good few years till the product becomes successful and you make enough sales to break even. But its all about building a good brand image first so once your name is being taken alongside the big names, you know you're doing well...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

robtri wrote: »

Nah. I just let other people design the cars for me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Its simple really. Become the head of a major car manufacturer to make your name, get some wealthy friends on board. Get a chassis Engineeered by sports car specialist then travel the world offering to build the car in areas of high unemploymment in return for government funding & possibly catch the british government for a few billion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

OP, if you design and build a race winning Red Bull Soapbox contraption, we will have a Boards.ie whip round, to get you started.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Why not Build a car at home then sell it and with the money build another better one

Step by Step . You don't need to compete with the Giants but you can try and start up a business

In England there is alot of Private builders who are building sport verions of the cars from the 40s 50s and 60s and People do buy them

Good luck with your Venture

would it work.... possibly.....

but you would a lot of money.... and the ROI would be a long time....

but to start out with two brand a luxury and a small fun car one would be a hell of a lot of hassle,

you would be better off building supercars than small cheap cars....

supercars/// look at koiesengggeisisisawer ( you know the one i mean) to see how they started off, and where they are now...
    supercars are fine to be handbuilt... so a lot less start up costs...

small cheap fun cars would be very hard to do from scratach to make money... too much competition and needs a lot of automation to keep costs down which involve a lot of front end investment...

Thats the plan.

A crazy sports car (like the Spyker C8) would be relatively cheaper to develop and build and would instantly create a great brand image.
    Once you've got the luxo/sports brand settled, you can shift your focus towards introducing a "baby" brand with small cheap cars that could sell fast because they're fun and cheap and their name is associated with the luxo/sports brand and then you could look into making some proper profit.

I got this rather crazy idea by looking at the amount of dreary crap all these car manufacturers are putting up for sale lately.
    I always asked myself "how hard can it be to design a good looking car?!"
    Car manufacturers pay millions to designers and they come up with ****e, I could do a much better job for free!
    And so I set out to design a good looking car.
    And so far I'm quite pleased with my designs, I've got a whole range of cars designed now.

And then I went one step further and started looking into how these car would be built and two words came to my mind. Simple and fun!
    Inspired by the Lotus Elise. A simple car with a simple chassis, plastic body, a great Toyota engine and loads of fun! That's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Probably better off going down the route of modifying existing cars.
    And not that plastic boy racer shoite.

More along the lines of AMG, Brabus, Alpine etc ...

Build your presence in the market and a name for yourself and then make a car.

Even then use a proven chassis from someone else and off the shelf components.

Prototyping is incredibly expensive, even outside the car industry .. do you know how much it costs to get a custom part made at a fabricators ... well its big money :)

Designing a concept is the easy part, developing it into something that performs and meets safety standards is a totally different kettle of fish.

i.e. Spinning blades and a flaming exhaust may look cool .. but isnt really something you could drive around dublin city center :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭swe_fi

Its been a dream for a while. I wanna set up my own car manufacturing company. Now I know right now it doesn't seem like the best thing to get into but this is a 10year plan so things should change by then.

I'ld love to set up two brands. One luxury brand making sports cars, for the brand image. And one baby brand making small affordable but fun cars.
    Something like Lotus. Making small quantity but high quality of handbuilt cars. Something that would require a lot of brains to sort out the design and skilled mechanics to assemble the bits together.

With cars its always next to impossible to be successful with a new brand unless its got some history behind it like or unless its absolutely bonkers and amazing like Pagani or something revolutionary like Tesla.

I wish all my friends were like you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Why not Build a car at home then sell it and with the money build another better one

Step by Step . You don't need to compete with the Giants but you can try and start up a business

In England there is alot of Private builders who are building sport verions of the cars from the 40s 50s and 60s and People do buy them

Good luck with your Venture

Ladder frame chassis made from steel tubes. Engine and suspension from a Ford Escort, and a fibreglass body in whatever style you want. It would have to be put toghether really well to stand out from the hundreds of other kit cars available.

Probably better off going down the route of modifying existing cars.
    And not that plastic boy racer shoite.

More along the lines of AMG, Brabus, Alpine etc ...

Build your presence in the market and a name for yourself and then make a car.

Even then use a proven chassis from someone else and off the shelf components.

Prototyping is incredibly expensive, even outside the car industry .. do you know how much it costs to get a custom part made at a fabricators ... well its big money :)

That could be a good way to start up too. Never thought of that.

I always preferred a simple steel tubular space frame design over complex monocoques cuz they'ld be cheaper to built in low quantities (tough tougher to design a good one) and as they're body on shell, you could use fiberglass body panels which are easy to shape in any design you want and cheap to build. And the spaceframe is a much stiffer chassis. Ideal for a fun racer.

But maybe using simple cars and then modifying them into fun racers (not skangermobiles) could be a good place to start from.
    Modifying a Merc or a BMW isn't gonna be easy as they're already engineered to a very high degree. But something like small hatchbacks could be a good place to begin with.

Maybe like that "ChopShop" show on Discovery, though I think I could do a better job with design than the guy in that show...

R.O.R wrote: »
    Ladder frame chassis made from steel tubes. Engine and suspension from a Ford Escort, and a fibreglass body in whatever style you want. It would have to be put toghether really well to stand out from the hundreds of other kit cars available.

I have plans on converting the Ford Puma I just bought into a track day racer.
    I guess it should be a good car to learn on.
    I've got plans on sticking Cosworth's 2.0l duratec engine in it, stripping it out to the essentials, strengthening the chassis, fitting a roll cage and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Maybe like that "ChopShop" show on Discovery, though I think I could do a better job with design than the guy in that show...

It wouldnt be hard to do better than those things. They are brutal & death traps too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

Post your designs!

The budget thing would not work and wouldn't even be attempted by any sane producer of a high end sports car unless you have really significant luxury market share. Even if you have a huge foothold in the luxury sector, any activity in budget sectors will do nothing but devalue your brand and reduce turnover.

Successful budget cars have multiple common recipes;
    innovative (Kia warranty)
    Mass produced at a low cost (ie not your shed :))
    Low risk image that customers relate to (Toyota reliability in the aygo)

I doubt you can fulfill any of these requirements in your whole lifetime if you were to start tomorrow without HUGE investment! Sorry!

Also any Johnny with a shed can bolt a Toyota V6 onto a recon ford escort chassis and make it go fast but you gotta mould fibreglass and tune the exterior to its best aerodynamic properties ala koenigsegg, spyker etc. You'd need a wind tunnel!

mickdw wrote: »
    It wouldnt be hard to do better than those things. They are brutal & death traps too.

Yeah that lads unreal .. cutting cars in half, roofs off etc .. wouldnt be surprised if one of them broke in half on the motorway !

Would be better put together with Duct tape and a prayer :)

david wrote: »
    You'd need a wind tunnel!

Erra don't mind that, a can of lynx, a fan and some ribbons you'll be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭BennyBlanko

I think it a great idea...go for it OP!

Everyone's got to have a dream, as mad as it may be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

Definitely look into the kit car route. Fantastic hobby with the long evenings looming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Moses7

do you have any experience?

If based on existing platforms and engines you dont need tens of millions, but it surely wont be cheap. It is also very important that you know the PR world if you ever get into it.

^Nope, no experience.
    But as I recently got a Ford Puma, which I plan on building into a track car, should give me a lot to learn!
    david wrote: »
    Post your designs!

The budget thing would not work and wouldn't even be attempted by any sane producer of a high end sports car unless you have really significant luxury market share. Even if you have a huge foothold in the luxury sector, any activity in budget sectors will do nothing but devalue your brand and reduce turnover.

Successful budget cars have multiple common recipes;
    innovative (Kia warranty)
    Mass produced at a low cost (ie not your shed :))
    Low risk image that customers relate to (Toyota reliability in the aygo)

I doubt you can fulfill any of these requirements in your whole lifetime if you were to start tomorrow without HUGE investment! Sorry!

Also any Johnny with a shed can bolt a Toyota V6 onto a recon ford escort chassis and make it go fast but you gotta mould fibreglass and tune the exterior to its best aerodynamic properties ala koenigsegg, spyker etc. You'd need a wind tunnel!

Exactly.
    I've really thought about this a lot! :p
    Which is why even the budget cars aren't truly "budget".
    They're not the cheap Micras or Clios but instead even the budget cars are like smaller versions of the luxo/sports cars.

Like the design for my roadster (which is the first car I've designed and probably the first I'll build when I got to it) is a simple 2 seat roadster with a good muscley V8 in the front, rear wheel drive, spaceframe, aluminium body, simple but luxurious leather interior and a folding softtop. Simple and fun. The only available option is the choice of color.

While the design for the small car is a 2 door sports coupe. Maybe 1.4l or 1.6l engine. Rear wheel drive, spaceframe chassis, fiberglass body, 4 seats, simple interior. Its like a simple hot hatch. And its not very expensive either because of its simple stripped out design. Like the RS Clio Cup.

Shouldn't spoil the brand image cuz even though the smaller cars are cheap, they're still like "baby" versions of the bigger cars and not just a generic hatchback.

And the main selling point of my cars is gonna be their design. They're not gonna be generic, boring, dreary tin cans!

Thats the plan.

A crazy sports car (like the Spyker C8) would be relatively cheaper to develop and build and would instantly create a great brand image.

I always asked myself "how hard can it be to design a good looking car?!"
    Car manufacturers pay millions to designers and they come up with ****e, I could do a much better job for free!

I respect your enthusiasm but in fairness - it is just a smidgen more complicated than that.

'A crazy sports car like the Spyker C8' would cost a few hundred million euro to develop. There are tens of thousands of design regulations and tests required before you can sell the vehicle. Think of the number of components in a car - it takes YEARS to develop and test them all and they are usually not all new either.

Homologation reqs, crash reqs, structural tests, tuning etc etc etc

Even just the equipment needed to design, test, manufacture would cost tens of millions.

In terms of styling - there are always reasons things look the way they do. Packaging, cooling, pedestrian impact, noise regs, wind noise, aero performance etc etc all dictate the styling of a vehicle to some extent.

You really cannot just sketch some bodies and slap in a V8.

Well, not if you want to sell it anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭mountain

yep,

small run per year, little 2 seaters, beautiful to look at, large V8 engine,
    built by real people not robots, handmade leather interiors...

To give you an idea - the approx cost to develop a new model line is anywhere from £500million to more than £1billion. And thats using shared components from other lines and already having a manufacturing route!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

One could have all the knowledge and funds and still produce nothing if they don't have the urge to get out and do it. Practicalities and future success or failure aside, go for it OP, I bet many great brands of today started off like this somewhere..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Im afraid Margaret Tatcher is now off the list so your going to have to get some other mug to pay for it. :D

Reference: Delorean Factory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

R.O.R wrote: »

Agreed but im sure the op could sell it for profit as there is a lot of buyers for this sort of thing and what ever money is made just gets put back into the company . Thats how it starts .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭ocokev

Take note...

the-homer-car-simpsons-powell-motors.bmp

Mr.David wrote: »
    I respect your enthusiasm but in fairness - it is just a smidgen more complicated than that.

'A crazy sports car like the Spyker C8' would cost a few hundred million euro to develop. There are tens of thousands of design regulations and tests required before you can sell the vehicle. Think of the number of components in a car - it takes YEARS to develop and test them all and they are usually not all new either.

Homologation reqs, crash reqs, structural tests, tuning etc etc etc

Even just the equipment needed to design, test, manufacture would cost tens of millions.

In terms of styling - there are always reasons things look the way they do. Packaging, cooling, pedestrian impact, noise regs, wind noise, aero performance etc etc all dictate the styling of a vehicle to some extent.

You really cannot just sketch some bodies and slap in a V8.

Well, not if you want to sell it anyway!
    I believe the main reason cars look so dreary is because they need to be produced on the assembly lines of the previous models and they need simple designs for the ease of robots/machines they use to mass produce the body parts. This shouldn't be an issue for a car design starting from scratch and for handbuilt vehicles. Which is why supercars can afford to have more extreme designs. Like in the case of Pagani and Lamborghini which are handbuilt in low quantities.

And with the mainstrem cars its also the case of not going too far from the generic look and having a design with mass appeal. No matter what new model is released, a BMW needs to look like a BMW, an Audi needs to look like an Audi. The designers can't venture too far away from the car's trademark look and neither can they design something too radical that could potentially hurt the sales.

I do realise as I'ld to get closer to manufacturing, I'll end up constantly hitting into the "Health and Safety" wall.
    Which is why I think starting off with modifying existing cars would be a good place to start. You can skip past all the regulations and health and safety checks and just focus on making the car better.

Though this leaves with choosing the right cars to chose to modify and do them in a way that would increase their appeal and not make them a skangermobile and decrease their appeal further. And also the question of how far do you go!
    But this would only be to get some name in the market on which you could launch the real deal, the new brand.

What would you think about importing American muscle cars and then modifying them to work on European roads?!
    You could always import second hand ones as you'ld be changing most of it.
    Ford Mustang, Dodge Challenger, Corvette, Camaro and the likes would make great subjects to work on...

Which is why I think starting off with modifying existing cars would be a good place to start. You can skip past all the regulations and health and safety checks and just focus on making the car better.

Unfortunately you cant!

You sell one single component for a vehicle - a wheel for example. That wheel then fails on a test track at high speed and someone gets killed.

Guess who will end up in court? And guess who will end up in prison unless they have all the FEA, CAE and structural testing (which takes months for every new wheel) completed?

You are liable for any product you sell to a member of the public. You would be guilty of manslaughter if it failed and killed someone.

I dont want to be damping enthusiasm - we'd all love to have a lash at it but its one thing dreaming about it another diving in without any real understanding of the implications!

Go get a job in the development side of the industry and take it from there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

The best way to run a small car company nowadays is to start off with a really big car company and wait...

Unfortunately you cant!

You sell one single component for a vehicle - a wheel for example. That wheel then fails on a test track at high speed and someone gets killed.

Guess who will end up in court? And guess who will end up in prison unless they have all the FEA, CAE and structural testing (which takes months for every new wheel) completed?

You are liable for any product you sell to a member of the public. You would be guilty of manslaughter if it failed and killed someone.

I dont want to be damping enthusiasm - we'd all love to have a lash at it but its one thing dreaming about it another diving in without any real understanding of the implications!

Go get a job in the development side of the industry and take it from there?

But what if you're using after market parts?
    Brembo brakes, OZ Racing wheels, Bosch electronics...
    You could make deals with the companies and buy in bulk for cheaper prices.

The only thing that will be yours would be the design and the setup/tuning and the labour.

Yes, you could use aftermarket parts. They will be fully tested. It would be challenging to get the whole car made from aftermarket parts though! You would still need crash testing for the vehicle. And stuff like ABS to get developed etc.

Other thing is, consider an OEM. They will have an agreement with Brembo for example to supply 40,000 calipers at £x/unit.

you then want 100 calipers - get your cash out because you will pay through the teeth for them. You cannot compete in terms of price then with an OEM. Or engineering integrity as you dont have the resource or capability to do the same level of development or testing.

So what is the selling point? Is it reduced simply to being not as good as a product but great to look at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

What would you think about importing American muscle cars and then modifying them to work on European roads?!
    You could always import second hand ones as you'ld be changing most of it.
    Ford Mustang, Dodge Challenger, Corvette, Camaro and the likes would make great subjects to work on...

This isn't a bad place to start from at all! Muscle cars were built to go fast in a straight line but typically don't handle or brake to well. If you started by importing pre 1980, preferably '65-'72 Muscle and Pony cars and upgrade brakes and suspension and tune the engines there would be strong appeal in that market, plus the styling is already cool.

Also with pre 1980 cars NCT is not applicable so you would have no worries with emissions or other requirements.

Yes, you could use aftermarket parts. They will be fully tested. It would be challenging to get the whole car made from aftermarket parts though! You would still need crash testing for the vehicle. And stuff like ABS to get developed etc.

Other thing is, consider an OEM. They will have an agreement with Brembo for example to supply 40,000 calipers at £x/unit.

you then want 100 calipers - get your cash out because you will pay through the teeth for them. You cannot compete in terms of price then with an OEM. Or engineering integrity as you dont have the resource or capability to do the same level of development or testing.

So what is the selling point? Is it reduced simply to being not as good as a product but great to look at?

I think I should be able to compete on the basis of better engineered and good design.
    Production cars are made soft and heavy because of all the luxuries we ask for like air conditioning, big leather seats, sound insulation and all. Also the cars are made for daily commute hence the engines are tuned for low rpm economy rather than performance.

These cars should be lighter, so handle better, tuned or swapped engine, uprated suspension, better performance...
    But then I'm building just another skangermobile.
    Though I'll have to find some x-factor in what I'm doing as opposed to others and I think it's coming down to the brand image and possibly how bonkers you make the thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭2 Espressi

Ha haha hahahhahaha hahaha !

funniest thing I've read today. Go back to sleep, and keep dreaming...

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    This isn't a bad place to start from at all! Muscle cars were built to go fast in a straight line but typically don't handle or brake to well. If you started by importing pre 1980, preferably '65-'72 Muscle and Pony cars and upgrade brakes and suspension and tune the engines there would be strong appeal in that market, plus the styling is already cool.

Also with pre 1980 cars NCT is not applicable so you would have no worries with emissions or other requirements.

I think you can get some old ones for pretty cheap price. They'll probably be laden with rust and all but you're gonna be stripping it out and starting from scratch anyway by strengthening the chassis and all.

I was also thinking of the new cars. Like the new Mustang is fairly cheap, starts at only $21k, should get an year or two old used one for much cheaper. Import it here, strip it out, put the steering on the right side, give it a proper suspension, give it a nice interior and you have an american muscle car that works on european roads!
    Though I know its not gonna be that simple. But that's the concept.

I'ld still need a good workplace garage and some properly skilled people to put it together and set it up right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

2 Espressi wrote: »
    Ha haha hahahhahaha hahaha !

funniest thing I've read today. Go back to sleep, and keep dreaming...

You are simply a immature a**hole. One day when you enter into the real world and start making a living for yourself you will understand more about how businesses start up and operate.

Many companies were built off dreams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I think you can get some old ones for pretty cheap price. They'll probably be laden with rust and all but you're gonna be stripping it out and starting from scratch anyway by strengthening the chassis and all.

I was also thinking of the new cars. Like the new Mustang is fairly cheap, starts at only $21k, should get an year or two old used one for much cheaper. Import it here, strip it out, put the steering on the right side, give it a proper suspension, give it a nice interior and you have an american muscle car that works on european roads!
    Though I know its not gonna be that simple. But that's the concept.

I'ld still need a good workplace garage and some properly skilled people to put it together and set it up right.

Yeah but you already have that with the modern muscle cars, e.g. Roush, Saleen, Steda variants of the Mustang, etc. Plus there is a reason the modern variants are plummeting in value, even though they are retro versions of the original design they don't have the nostalgic values that the original cars did. I'll post some links later of modernised / tuned old muscle cars that look almost totally original from the outside - you'll see what I mean then.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Yeah but you already have that with the modern muscle cars, e.g. Roush, Saleen, Steda variants of the Mustang, etc. Plus there is a reason the modern variants are plummeting in value, even though they are retro versions of the original design they don't have the nostalgic values that the original cars did. I'll post some links later of modernised / tuned old muscle cars that look almost totally original from the outside - you'll see what I mean then.

Yup, but they're all mostly based in America and still build them to american specifications. They could be what I'll be rivaling against.
    I don't think there is any niche in the motoring market that I'ld enter without finding any competition.

It'ld always be better to modify the classics but as they're no dealers selling modern american muscle cars here in Ireland/UK, it'ld be a good place to enter. They'ld be rivaling the Audi's and BMW's after all the tuning and modifying and should be a good choice for someone looking for something different.
    You are simply a immature a**hole. One day when you enter into the real world and start making a living for yourself you will understand more about how businesses start up and operate.

Many companies were built off dreams.

Most companies wouldn't have had existed if the founders listened to all the people who told them it was impossible!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

OP, I think it's a great idea.

Would be hard but how cool would an Irish Supercar be:D

If you pay well keep me in mind ;)

I can develop the chassis for you!

Under my secret Mc Lovin name in case it all goes wrong and peeps die :D

EPM wrote: »
    OP, I think it's a great idea.

Would be hard but how cool would an Irish Supercar be:D

It could run on ethanol - just like the rest of us :p