Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Disappointed by payrise

• 24-03-2010 9:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I am a newly qualified accountant (age 28). I worked in accounting when I was 24-25, then travelled a year then did some ridiculously dead-end work so despite a good start my cv is shaky!

I worked for my current employer (X plc) for 2.5 years.

I spent 1.5 years in a generic "office job" for this company in my home town. The starting rate was 21k with 3-4k guaranteed bonus (and I got €4k).

I transferred to a job as trainee accountant in the same company just to get my life on track - but the office is in Dublin. The pay was 25k, but no bonus, a horrible daily commute and €2k for my bus ticket. I was worse off! That was a year ago.

6 months ago they put me up to €28.7k.

I qualified this month and today they told me my new salary is €32k.

Now, I have 5 years college education, paid for my professional exams myself, have 3 years accounting experience and good knowledge of the company's accounting systems not to mention products. I actually have better experience than some of the other newly qualified people because they just sat at the same desk for years producing the same set of reports and little else.

Most of the accountants on my team did their practical experience there got at least €45k when they qualified. However, they took on a few recently qualified accountants in 2008 (during "the boom") at €55k and who now earn about €57k.

It's not a horrible job. I have flexitime so can work 8-4 and be home by 6. They pay 9% into my PRSA and I get a staff rate mortgage.

But I have no quality of life. I'm not the kind of person who works crazy hours to buy **** I don't need. But I had expected that I could buy a car, so when I get off the bus in the evenings I could drive places (saving time and giving me a bit of freedom).. being able to afford nice holidays.. being able to get some dental work done! Maybe get some councilling too. Basically that I wouldn't be scrimping and saving the whole time as I had been for years before.

I can see where my manager is coming from. It's hard to justify an employee going from €21k to €32k in the space of a year. But I just feel so unappreciated. And it doesn't help that we basically know what others are earning (accounting job and some people have access to payroll)

This has been a bit of a rant but can anyone give me some advice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭S23

I hope this is a wind up. Otherwise, grow up and take your head out of your arse.

You think you are hard done by. Honestly get a grip.

You are on 32k a year after 2.5 years. You think this is a bad thing.
    You did a whole five years in college on top of the 2.5 years. You think in this economic climate thats bad? There are plenty of people with a lot more experience and qualifcation than you that can't get a job full stop.

So count your blessing. Keep working hard and don't go round thinking you are entitled to more just because some of your contemporaries have spun you a few fairytales about what they earn.

Honestly, at the risk of getting a slap on the wrist here from the Mods, I think this has to be a wind up. The mind truly boggles if you meant half of this stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

How much do people in other firms get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭cailinoBAC

Look, I know how you feel. When you do your exams you're promised the sun, the moon and the stars. At least a few years ago you were. I was disappointed when I went travelling and came back to a job that paid the same as my job when I was part qual. But then I realised how lucky I was to have any job and any time I feel like ranting I have to think of that. There were certain things I expected I could afford when I was qualified and I can't and I know people who qualified only a year before me are on much higher salaries. But that's just life. The thing is though, it's still better to have the qualification than not. If I hadn't had the qualification I might not have got anything. As it happens I'm now leaving the country for a much better job. If you asked me this time last year I wouldn't have thought I'd be doing this. But at least I'm doing it out of choice, not necessity. All I can say is, keep your eyes open, there might be something better out there. But at the same time, remember that starting in a new company is a bigger risk now than a few years ago.
    And also be careful who you rant to, as you're still in a much better position than a lot of people these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

Sorry, it's far harder to get raises up to a certain level (after getting hired a lot lower) than to get hired at a certain level. That's just how it works.

You could try and argue wage parity if you know everyone else makes a certain amount, but the best way is to look around for a new job and negotiate a higher rate of pay when you move to that new job (or use the job offer to get the higher wage at your current place).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭bigjohnny80

This must be a wind up. I am a qual accountant myself - doesn't matter what I'm on in terms of this thread but I know the market and you must be on an absolute piss take to post something like this. There are plenty of unemployed accountants if you would like to swap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭S23

I was waiting for someone else to say it. But +1 to the post above.

I'm not an accountant so I didn't want to interject with the 'state of the accountacy market' bit. Because its easy to write off someone if they don't work in the field. However, it just so happens that 4 good friends of mine are accountants so I know roughly how each of them are getting on in this climate.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I'm lucky enough to work for a company that's doing reasonably well at the moment. We had no salary increases last year, but we didn't have any cuts either. This year there were moderate pay increases which the vast majority of people were very surprised about and happy to receive them. For the very few that thought they should have got more they were given the standard line - "Go out the front door and take a walk down the street. Then come back and tell me how many empty offices you saw". Oddly enough they all stopped complaining after that.

I hired two staff 18 months ago on pretty much the industry standard starting salary. If I was hiring this week they'd be on at least 10% less than they got 18 months ago. The OP needs a reality check tbh. The country's in sh*t and the old rules don't apply any more. What the other guys in the office are on is irrelevant. If you have a job that's a result. If it's paying moderately well or you've received an increase recently, thank your lucky stars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

OP, i'm not going to say "you're lucky to have a job". Because I have a job too and while Im fortunate to have one, I still earn my wage.

But seriously, 32k! What are you doing that you can't afford a relatively decent lifestyle. By the sounds of things, you don't have a spouse or dependants.
    Ok you live in Dublin which is more expensive, but you can house share.

I live in Galway, earn 24k in the financial sector. I have one child whose father isn't involved. I have debt which my ex racked up.
    My outgoings are as follows (Income approx 2200 per month - incl FIS and child benefit. Out goings - rent 750, creche 400, loan 300, insurances 60) So myself and my child live on 600ish per month for all our expenses. And we manage fine. It's tight but I even managed a holiday last year to the UK.

Your perspective is a bit skewed imo.

My God, Im gobsmacked after reading your post. Its hard to believe its not a joke. No-ones plans are going as expected due to THE RECESSION.

OP, get real !! Its 2010 not 2003 !!!

You are actually very well off, relative to many people. Stop whingeing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭SueWho

To those who recommend you just suck it up, ignore them. It doesn't matter if half the country's construction workers and others are unemployed: if you know that you are being paid far below the industry norm in your area of expertise then you should A) look for another job that pays the rate you are really worth or B) approach your employer with evidence that you are underpaid for your level of qualifications and experience, especially if they are one of these big multi-nationals with an official policy on paying industry norms etc.

Personally I think looking for a new job is the better option. I know a few accountants that have recently moved jobs, they'd be just newly qualified this year. I know (anecdotally) that accountants are being hired in companies around the IFSC in the financial services sector.

OP I took a drop from €40k to €24k in the space of 12 months due to losing my job and finding a new one, after a horrible period of being unemployed. While I was unemployed I was on the equivalent of €10k per annum.

This is the reality of working in Ireland today so count your blessings. You have a salary you can live on for now and a good PRSA contribution. If you go to your boss complaining about your pay I cant imagine the response you're going to get!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

SueWho wrote: »
    To those who recommend you just suck it up, ignore them. It doesn't matter if half the country's construction workers and others are unemployed: if you know that you are being paid far below the industry norm in your area of expertise ...

The OP isn't being paid far below the industry norm for a newly qualified accountant. In fact I would say at present he's on the upper side of average tbh.

• What is wrong with 32K? Why on earth are you moaning that you have 'no quality of life' when you work regular hours and have a decent salary? That really rubs me up the wrong way as I spent all of last year working afternoons and evenings for about 23K (also have five years of college and various diplomas and qualifications). You have your evenings free, you have your weekends free, you're making enough to have a nice lifestyle. What are you doing that you can't afford a car, dental work or holidays? On 32K? I know loads of people who can easily manage all of that on much less than you. I understand you're disappointed and feel you should be earning more in your field (I don't agree - you started at 24, took time off and then worked dead end jobs, sounds like you're lucky to earn what you earn), but I'm not getting this 'no quality' of life stuff at all. Sounds like a great life to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭krankykitty

I suppose it's disappointing for you now that the rules of engagement have changed, things are different to how they were a few short years ago. However, you're not on a terrible salary, and perhaps your issues with your standard of living might be helped if you were to implement a better budgeting system for yourself? I know I probably sound silly advising an accountant to budget, but seriously, some of the accountants I know are dreadful with their own money :D

Also you're an accountant, so perhaps you might get a few hours work here and there for yourself in the evenings doing someone's books, get a few bob to boost your earnings. Just an idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

If you think you should earn more find some way to do it, don't take the "grateful" attitude if it doesn't sit right with you. Theres nothing wrong with seeking a payrise compared to the elites people are bailing out, with the knock on effect of a tightening of the economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Dark Phoenix

You got a pay rise ...in a recession...and your moaning. And worse - expecting sympathy.
    I, like many others, got a pay cut this year. I've been in the company seven years but it didn't matter how long your there, what salary your on or how much experience and qualifications you have we all got cuts.

I consider myself lucky - I got a cut many others got a lot worse and my heart goes out to anyone who is struggling at the moment through no fault of their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

Only 32k, you poor wee thing.

Be happy that you are on the up in the company you work for. Sit back, do your job and see where it takes you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,723 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Also, 32k a year and you thought you'd be able to afford a nice car and holidays etc. You can. It's called making a budget. You're an accountant ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭SueWho

I think people are being far to hard on the op. Do a bit of job hunting and you'll either find that you are on a suitable salary and you can't do any better (take the "suck it up" option) or you'll find there are better paid jobs that you are qualified for so try to get your hands on one of those jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

OP you're obviously not much of an accountant if you cant figure out a way to stretch 32K a year to pay for a few holiday and a car, I'm on a lot less than that and live in a decent house, go on plenty of holidays and weekends away a year and am getting a new(er) car later this summer.

"no quality of life" on 32 grand a year? are you joking? try living on less than 800 quid a month like a lot of people are and then come back and complain

krudler wrote: »
    OP you're obviously not much of an accountant if you cant figure out a way to stretch 32K a year to pay for a few holiday and a car, I'm on a lot less than that and live in a decent house, go on plenty of holidays and weekends away a year and am getting a new(er) car later this summer.

+1. Am also doing all of the above and supporting my wife at the moment on a lot less than €32k as a part-qualified accountant, so I know the OP is well within average range salary-wise of a newly qualified accountant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭fasty

I won't wheel out the "You should be glad you have a job" thing that the begrudgers love to do on boards.ie

OP, you'll have to either discuss it with your employers, put up with it and gain experience, or just look for another job. It's not really that complicated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭McCrack

This thread has to be a piss-take, right?

Do people with the mentality of the OP exist? They probably do I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

I love the attitude of people here - you have job, you should be lucky, enjoy it, blah, blah.

The fact is that the OP is earning less than people who are doing the exact same job as him. This is plainly unfair.

Your boss told you that to give you more would look bad as it would seem as if you jumped pay scales too quickly in too little a time. This may be true but ask him if the pay difference between yourself and your coworkers will rectified over time or if a different pay scale has been introduced, which, in the current climate, is very possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭McCrack

32K for a newly qualified with the limited experience the OP has is not below average. That much is fact. Everything else is opinion.

McCrack wrote: »
    32K for a newly qualified with the limited experience the OP has is not below average. That much is fact. Everything else is opinion.

He has claimed that others who qualified in the same company as him started out on €45k.

If this is true, whether his salary of €32k is or is not below the average for a newly qualified accountant, it is below what others in the same position as him in the same company as him earned when the qualified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Curry Addict

i see your dielma OP, working side by side with guys earning twice as much doing the same job.
    i think u have a sense of entitlement that is now justified by gaining your qualification. but unfortunately the financial markets and job markets are not in sync with your needs.
    i would recommend that you write an official letter of dissatisfaction to your superiors, be carefull to make this a very positive and upbeat letter. bide your time and hopefull the situation will be adressed at your next review. If the situation is not adressed then i would resign out of principle.

reprazant wrote: »
    He has claimed that others who qualified in the same company as him started out on €45k. If this is true, whether his salary of €32k is or is not below the average for a newly qualified accountant, it is below what others in the same position as him in the same company as him earned when the qualified.

Salaries rise and fall. Just because someone got that last year or the year before doesn't mean the OP is entitled to it this year.

• reprazant wrote: »
    I love the attitude of people here - you have job, you should be lucky, enjoy it, blah, blah.

The fact is that the OP is earning less than people who are doing the exact same job as him. This is plainly unfair.

Your boss told you that to give you more would look bad as it would seem as if you jumped pay scales too quickly in too little a time. This may be true but ask him if the pay difference between yourself and your coworkers will rectified over time or if a different pay scale has been introduced, which, in the current climate, is very possible.

We can't know all the specifics of why they are earning more, but there are plenty of reasons that could be happening. What gets on my nerves about OP's attitude is that he's behaving like 32K is living on the poverty line. Who on earth can't afford a car and dental work on that salary? He hasn't mentioned having a family to support or any obligations such as supporting a sick family member or paying for a retirement home for someone. I don't see why someone working regular hours on a very decent salary is moaning about having no quality of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭fasty

You don't know the original poster's full circumstances, rent, savings, outstanding loans etc. 32k isn't really a lot and you wouldn't get much of a mortgage on it or be able to buy much nice things. There's nothing wrong with wanting more money.

annoyed1 wrote: »

I qualified this month and today they told me my new salary is €32k.
    But I had expected that I could buy a car, so when I get off the bus in the evenings I could drive places (saving time and giving me a bit of freedom).. being able to afford nice holidays..

I'm on less than you, I've just finished paying off my car loan and I enjoy nice holidays :confused: I also don't get 4k bonuses
    will ya cop on

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 85 ✭✭bon ami

As part of your accountancy course did you do basic economics i.e. Supply & Demand and there effect on the price paid for products. In this case you are the product and there are loads of you out there, supply exceeds demand so prices drop.

Live with it until the next Celtic Tiger apears but you will probably be retired by then.

fasty wrote: »
    You don't know the original poster's full circumstances, rent, savings, outstanding loans etc. 32k isn't really a lot and you wouldn't get much of a mortgage on it or be able to buy much nice things. There's nothing wrong with wanting more money.

Depends on what your opinion of "nice" is, I live on a lot less than that and dont struggle, have rent, bills, car loan, credit card, plus a long running illness that costs 120 per montrh on meds then my doctors and consultant visits every month, bout 300 a month sometimes, if I had an extra 10k to spend I wouldnt know what to do with it,sure who wouldnt want more money? I wouldnt say no to a payrise, but I;m not gonna complain about not being paid enough when theres people who are literally struggling to make ends meet all over the country.

The op just comes across as a celtic cub who assumed once they were qualified there'd be a BMW waiting for them at the door and everything would be fine and dandy, welcome to the real world, and the car thing, wtf?! you could pick up a little runabout for less than a grand, tax and insurance shouldnt cost that much on a 1 litre Polo or Fiesta or something. Anyone who is on 32,000 quid a year and cant seem to find the money to get a small car is in the wrong profession if they're an accountant tbh

I dont agree with all this "its a recession cop on" atall. After 5 years of college and 2.5 years of professional exams people will feel they are entitled to more than 32k gross per year. The only thing I feel thats against the op is the time out from work. Yes there are people out of work but thats not a reason for people in jobs that are not effected to have to settle for less than they deserve.

I did 4 years undergrad and now a year into a phD, with at least two more years earning roughly 17k per year. Tbh I would not be happy starting on any less than 40k after almost 8 years of study (this is in general the minimum starting salary for jobs in my area with a phD).

Hi guys

I was genuinely disappointed at going from 28.7 to 32k because I was expecting more. Having said that, yea I overreacted. They probably will increase my pay every 6 months incrementally.

It's not all about the money, I just felt a bit insulted to be paid so low when I do the same quality of work as others in the office.

For the people suggesting I don't have much experience or I only have a couple of years.... Basically, I have 3 years accounting experience plus an additional 1.5 years of working in the company in a non-accounting role (which is why I don't think I'm getting as much respect or money). Apart from this I worked in another job for 9 months full-time, and I have never been out of work since I started college at 17 (apart from a couple of summers on the dole and a few months abroad.) I have a degree, a masters and professional accounting exams. And I always worked hard so I'd like it to be recognised a bit.

Look, my life isn't fun. My dad always treated me bad when I was living at home and between him and my brother driving me to the depths of depression at the start of last year I just don't think I've felt right since. I cut ties with them and a few other people and I haven't felt really depressed. Just weary. I'm not even interested in trying to get into a relationship and I generally don't really trust people. Oh and i put on about 2.5 stone, mainly from being driven to it by people making fun of my for being too thin and now I just feel rotten.

I bought a pretty modest house and can manage bills. That includes essentials like health cover, house cover, esb, heating, mortgage, life cover, bus, phone, house insurance... it's easy to scoff at people for complaining about having a job but it doesn't mean I'm wealthy in the slightest!

Main reason I can't afford a car is because my insurance is loaded through the roof and I have to pay €2000 a year for the bus anyway. I might try to stretch to buying a car anyway because it would really give me some freedom in the evenings.

My daily routine is to get up at 6.45, get ready and walk to the 7.30 bus, get to work just after 9, work til 5.15, get the 5.30 bus and by the time i get off the bus and walk home it's 7.15. And as I said I don't have a car so I'm stuck at home on my own - I have a three hour window to watch tv and use the internet and then get to bed by 10.45 so i can get 8 hours sleep for another fun day at work. No such thing as going for a few drinks or even going to a late film.

Before I commuted I had so much free time and now I have none. When I was on the dole one summer I had the time of my life, lying in bed til 11am, getting up and making breakfast, uploading a few songs to my ipod, then taking a nice long stroll, popped into the amusements with €2 and left with €4 or nothing, maybe buy the paper and read it while drinking coffee. Meet a few other "jobseekers" and go to the cinema with an old student pass. See, it's not nice to point out why other people have it easy..

Trust me just because I'm on a half-decent salary doesn't mean I'm having such a brilliant life. If you must know I would like to be on 32k if i was only doing a 4 day week.. as it is, work takes up 5/7ths of my life and 32k isn't a whole lot of compensation for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

Op.

You sound like you are unhappy and money isnt going to fix that. Its not going to help with your time shedule.

Focus on what you have got. You have your evening and weekends free. I think you would be better devoted to taking up interests and events in that time. Stuff to do which doesnt nesscarily need to cost a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

Op don't you have weekends? Lie around listening to your ipod then like everyone else does. My boyfriend earns a good bit less than you and pays a mortgage, all his bills, car, quite a large loan and still has spare cash, I have never had an annual income of more than HALF what you're earning and I have always had a great time of it, I truly don't understand how an accountant with no dependents doesn't have any spare change from 32k? :confused:

Surely you can save for a little while and buy an old car, there's plenty of them being sold cheap now, get your evenings back and do stuff.

And to be honest saying that your experience justifies you being entitled to a bigger payrise is redundant, maybe a few years ago it would have, but there are plenty of people out there, accountants and many others, with decades more experience than you begging for jobs, there is no way an employee would give you an even larger payrise in this economy, so there's no point comparing what you think you should've gotten to what you did get.

I can't believe I'm even trying to console someone about this.

• OP, you're not getting it. Most people are up at 6.45 every day to go to work. Most of them are making much less than you, I'm willing to bet. I've had loads of jobs where I finished work at 11 one night and had to be back at 7 the next day (hotel industry), working every weekend as well. I just don't get why you're complaining about the hours or not having free time. You're in the same position as every single other person who works, and better off than a lot of them. I don't think anyone is saying you have it easy because you're on decent money, but there's nothing about your daily routine or working week that makes it seem you have no quality of life. Your commute is a bit long, but you chose to live where you live and work where you work, that's not your employer's problem.

I still don't see how you're so poor. You have bills and mortgage/rent to pay, who doesn't? I'm a full time student on a very demanding course and pay my rent from what I earn in my 6 hour a week part time job. I do a translation every couple of weeks to pay for the bills and most of my groceries. I'm paying for a lot of medical stuff at the moment as well. I still don't get how a full time accountant on 32K can't afford a car or a holiday.

It seems like you expect to be paid huge amounts for 'bothering' to work when you could be on the dole, as if nobody else has to work as much as you do or has as many qualifications as you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,723 ✭✭✭✭Penn

My daily routine is to get up at 6.45, get ready and walk to the 7.30 bus, get to work just after 9, work til 5.15, get the 5.30 bus and by the time i get off the bus and walk home it's 7.15. And as I said I don't have a car so I'm stuck at home on my own - I have a three hour window to watch tv and use the internet and then get to bed by 10.45 so i can get 8 hours sleep for another fun day at work. No such thing as going for a few drinks or even going to a late film.

I'm pretty much the exact same schedule. I get up about 10 to 7, and chances are I won't get home until after 7 in the evening, and I probably go to bed around 11. And even then, tuesdays and thursdays, I go to the gym after work so I'm not home until about half 8 on those days. And I only earn 28k a year, with no bonuses. And I do a lot of unpaid overtime.

But it's called having a job and responsibilities. I was unemployed for 3 months before I got this job, but instead of sleeping in until 11 and going for long walks to the amusement arcade, I spent a lot of my free time looking for a job. I don't think your problem is work. I think your problem is your own expectations of work.

Make the most of your weekend and days off

If you must know I would like to be on 32k if i was only doing a 4 day week.. as it is, work takes up 5/7ths of my life and 32k isn't a whole lot of compensation for that.

Wouldn't we all.. if I was doing four day weeks I'd love to be on 32k too..
    what a ridiculous thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,503 ✭✭✭secman

OP whilst you might think that your timing of qualifying was bad luck with the much lower rates of pay. Lets look at flip side.

You qualified in 2004/05 earning say €50k........... bought a house for say €300k.......mortgage €290k.......... all rosy

2009 huge lay offs in accountancy firms, 20% to 30% cuts in salary............. now on say €35k...... Mort €280k house worth €200k

negative equity €80k ! and on say €35k

I would suggest you are in a better place than that scenario

Yours

secman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 sinequanon

op Im sorry to join the begrudgers brigade but I too feel little sympathy..everyone's lives are a bit crap at the moment. I wake up at 6.30 and do 120 mile round trip every day, so I can work as a soon to be qaulified professional for less than 400euro a week. Most nights I come in the door around seven exhausted..I have put down the worst winter ever driving in really bad conditions, my car is a drain because there is always something wrong with it, due to it's age and mileage, but I can't afford to get a new one..I have been in really crappy situations like breaking down on dark wintry mornings with the rain lashing down and wishing I was somewhere else entirely!! Like you I have paid for all of my professional exams, am in a lot of debt because of my education which I commited to and endured on the basis that I would eventually be well remunerated. I won't be employed in my chosen profession when I qaulify but will remain on my trainee salary in a qausi trainee role...this is not what I envisaged for myself at all at nearly 29..I thought I would be able to afford a nice lifestyle with at least some of the trappings...after all of my outgoings every month, I have about €500 to call my own and I get by...now Im not on poverty's door, but I can't exactly splash out on holidays, expensive clothes etc...what keeps me going is my boyf, my family, my optimism..I think to myself that it can't always be like this and ultimately life can't all be about career, career, career, you have to have perspective on the things that really matter also...my qaulity of life isn't exactly amazing during the week either due to my commute but I make sure that I really enjoy and make the most of my weekends. For one I don't step inside the door of my car as I am sick to the teeth of driving!! :eek:

It does sound like there are other underlying issues though with you op, and I accept that. You have to try and think to yourself how you can improve your life in the other areas that don't involve work and that might contribute to a happier sense of self...however I wouldn't be openly voicing my discontent with my working conditions if I were you in such straightened times as at the moment, we are all working to capacity for a smaller premium..
    S

Before I commuted I had so much free time and now I have none. When I was on the dole one summer I had the time of my life, lying in bed til 11am, getting up and making breakfast, uploading a few songs to my ipod, then taking a nice long stroll, popped into the amusements with €2 and left with €4 or nothing, maybe buy the paper and read it while drinking coffee. Meet a few other "jobseekers" and go to the cinema with an old student pass. See, it's not nice to point out why other people have it easy..

Welcome to working life, you have a bog standard 9-5 working week same as a lot of people, try working till 10pm 5 nights a week, meaning you have absolutely no free time in the evenings and have to get up early to try make it into town before work if you need to get anything done. You're portraying yourself as some hard done by, downtrodden worker, if the lack of freedom thing is bothering you, buy a car, simple as. its a buyers market now you can get a nice car for less than a grand, prob cost the same to insure it, so you'd be spending the same amount as you do on the bus
    I bought a pretty modest house and can manage bills. That includes essentials like health cover, house cover, esb, heating, mortgage, life cover, bus, phone, house insurance... it's easy to scoff at people for complaining about having a job but it doesn't mean I'm wealthy in the slightest!

so the same bills that most people that earn less than you and work more unsociable hours than you have yeah?

As for other people "having it easy" thats ridiculous, do you think people who are on the dole suddenly dont have to pay for esb, gas, phone, rent, kids if they have them, clothes, food, car maintenance, etc etc? you must be deluded. You presumabley work mon-fri yeah as most accountants wouldnt open at the weekend, so you have a 5 day working week never past 5pm and get every weekend off (presumably) most people in jobs with crap hours would kill for that

God, so many bitter people in this thread.

It would seem that because some people have it bad, you are not allowed to any sort of complaint about how you are treated, or how you feel you are treated in work.

Nothing to do with "having it bad" or being bitter. All to do with the fact that the OP's complaint has no merit. He might as well be arguing he should be on £100,000 a week, because a footballer is getting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,389 ✭✭✭markpb

sinequanon wrote: »
    Im sorry to join the begrudgers brigade but I too feel little sympathy..everyone's lives are a bit crap at the moment. I wake up at 6.30 and do 120 mile round trip every day, so I can work as a soon to be qaulified professional for less than 400euro a week. Most nights I come in the door around seven exhausted..I have put down the worst winter ever driving in really bad conditions

Why on earth are you living 60 miles from work!?

God, so many bitter people in this thread.

Its not being bitter, its the OP seems to have assumptions about what they should be making after 2 years in a job, I have over 10 years experience of dealing with the public both face to face and in a call centre environment, should I automatically assume I'm entitled to what my manager earns? shes not much older than me and has less overall experience dealing with customers. The op isnt being treated badly in work, they got a payrise of 4k in a recession, some people are taking that as a paycut and have worked in a job for a lot longer than 2.5 years or whatever.

I agree that people should feel the "sure you have a job" guilt tinge when complaining about their work or job, but complain with an acutal issue, not because you cant manage your own finances and are in the same boat counltess other people are.

prinz wrote: »
    Nothing to do with "having it bad" or being bitter. All to do with the fact that the OP's complaint has no merit. He might as well be arguing he should be on £100,000 a week, because a footballer is getting it.

What are you talking about?

Footballers?

He is talking about his colleagues, who he works with, who do the same job as him and who only qualified the year before him.

krudler wrote: »
    Its not being bitter, its the OP seems to have assumptions about what they should be making after 2 years in a job, I have over 10 years experience of dealing with the public both face to face and in a call centre environment, should I automatically assume I'm entitled to what my manager earns? shes not much older than me and has less overall experience dealing with customers. The op isnt being treated badly in work, they got a payrise of 4k in a recession, some people are taking that as a paycut and have worked in a job for a lot longer than 2.5 years or whatever.

He is making the assumptions due to what his colleagues got when they qualified.

Now that he has qualified, he got less than them.

I fail to see what your comparison is meant to mean.

If a work colleague of yours got a promotion and payrise, then you got one a bit later to the same position but on a lot less money, how would you feel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 sinequanon

markpb wrote: »
    Why on earth are you living 60 miles from work!?

for the love of a good man! :D living in Kerry commuting to Cork..by choice admittedly..no jobs to be had in the Kingdom in my field:( so the commute must endure for another while longer...