Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who is your current World XV ?

• 24-03-2010 9:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭

Hasn't been done in a while, and I'm bored.

Here is my current world 15, after the VI Nations.

15. Muliaina
    14. Bowe
    13. Brian O Driscoll
    12. Jauzion
    11. Habana
    10. Dan Carter
    9. Du Preez
    8. Harinordoquy
    7. McCaw
    6. Dusautoir
    5. Matfield
    4. Botha
    3. Carl Haymen
    2. Stephen Moore
    1. Thomas Domingo

16. William Servat
    17. Gethin Jenkins
    18. Lionel Nallet
    19. Rocky Elsom
    20. Morgan Parra
    21. Matt Giteau
    22. Rougerie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Current World IV?
    Even a Sevens side would kill them :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Why do you have 15 names when you are talking about a world 4 in the title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Ciaran-Irl

Typo. Can some mod edit that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Ciaran-Irl wrote: »
    Typo. Can some mod edit that?

If you double left click just under the thread title in the forum page, you can edit it.

Works for me.

Robinson
    Servat
    Hayman
    Matfield
    Botha
    Dusautoir
    McCaw
    Harinordoquy
    Du Preez
    Carter
    Habana
    Giteau
    Hook (on current form)
    Bowe
    Poitrenaud

Moore
    Alexander
    Kellock
    Elsom
    Parra
    Parks/Trinh-Duc
    Earls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Co45

If you double left click just under the thread title in the forum page, you can edit it.

Works for me.

Robinson
    Servat
    Hayman
    Matfield
    Botha
    Dusautoir
    McCaw
    Harinordoquy
    Du Preez
    Carter
    Habana
    Giteau
    Hook (on current form)
    Bowe
    Poitrenaud

Moore
    Alexander
    Kellock
    Elsom
    Parra
    Parks/Trinh-Duc
    Earls

Earls in a world 22? Good lord.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

New Zealand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Co45 wrote: »
    Earls in a world 22? Good lord.

There for his versatility.

Who would you put there instead?

There for his versatility.

Who would you put there instead?

You don't pick a world 15 on versatility. Shane Williams is definitely ahead of him as is Sivivatu, Turner and Rokocoko. I'd say even Halfpenny might nudge ahead of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Have we to start this nonsense again co45? It's his opinion that's all. We all know what you think about Earls.

buck65 wrote: »
    Have we to start this nonsense again co45? It's his opinion that's all. We all know what you think about Earls.

What do I think about Earls? Please tell me.
    I dont think he should be in a world 22 ahead of the likes of Shane Williams (nominated for 6 nations player of tournament) The IRB nomination board and Gerry Thornley (article today) agree with me by the way. Am I not allowed disagree or something?
    Edit : Even you agree that the New Zealand wingers are ahead of him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

buck65 wrote: »

Indeed it would be nice to have one thread free of the Red/Blue argument.

If you're basing the XV on currnet form then it has to be a Genia/Cooper 9/10 combo.

Indeed it would be nice to have one thread free of the Red/Blue argument.

If you're basing the XV on currnet form then it has to be a Genia/Cooper 9/10 combo.

I wasn't the one who brought Leinster/Munster up!
    For godsake, disagreeing that Earls belongs in a world 22 is now being provincially biased?

In fairness, Earls isn't good enough to be in a world 22. YET. You never know.

That surely has nothing to do with province, no?

Sivivatu perhaps. I picked Rougerie, even though he played shag all in the 6 Nations because of injury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

You've posted your opinion about Earls enough times though, Co45, have you not?

If I post enough times that "I don't like coffee, I think tea is better" people would be entitled to say "I know what you think about Coffee"

If someone thinks a certain player should be in a World XV, fair play to them, if someone else thinks they shouldn't, then fair play to them too.

As long as the discussion is kept civil, I see no problem with people posting what their opinion is.

I don't care of someone posts that Cristiano Ronaldo or David Beckham should be in a World XV, if they can back it up and give proper reasons for their opinions, more power to them.

What I don't want to see is anyone posting that a person's opinion is only down to where they happened to be born, if they have backed up their opinion sufficiently, then it's ok by me.

buck65, don't do it again, either dispute the opinion in a civil way, or don't post at all.

Co45, don't assume that because someone disagrees with you that they are accusing you of provincial bias.

Just as you are entitled to an opinion, others are entitled to challenge those opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Works for me.

Robinson
    Servat
    Hayman
    Matfield
    Botha
    Dusautoir
    McCaw
    Harinordoquy
    Du Preez
    Carter
    Habana
    Giteau
    Hook (on current form)
    Bowe
    Poitrenaud

Moore
    Alexander
    Kellock
    Elsom
    Parra
    Parks/Trinh-Duc
    Earls

Dude....Hook?
    I disagree.

He attacked quite well with ball in hand, missed tackles all over the place and made some absolutely shocking decisions.

And Parks? He did well, kicked well, but with a proper backline outside him? You are putting him ahead of Cooper, Steyn etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

Works for me.

Robinson
    Servat
    Hayman
    Matfield
    Botha
    Dusautoir
    McCaw
    Harinordoquy
    Du Preez
    Carter
    Habana
    Giteau
    Hook (on current form)
    Bowe
    Poitrenaud

Moore
    Alexander
    Kellock
    Elsom
    Parra
    Parks/Trinh-Duc
    Earls

That's a nice in form looking 22. Maybe Williams or Pocock too would be nice.

One thing i haven't brought up once this 6 nations is Poitrenaud. What happened there? Like, we all knew he had it, but now he's actually using his talent. :eek: Freddie Michalak must be pissed. :p

Des wrote: »
    You've posted your opinion about Earls enough times though, Co45, have you not?

If I post enough times that "I don't like coffee, I think tea is better" people would be entitled to say "I know what you think about Coffee"

I don't think I have ever posted my opinion on Earls being in a world 22. What exactly do you mean I've posted my opinion about Earls enough times? Hes one of a number of a large number of players that I mention in my posts. What exactly are you suggesting?
    Also " Have we to start this nonsense again co45?" [buck65]
    What nonsense? Disagreeing with someone? I am trying to have a discussion here and yet am being accused of provincial bias and starting up nonsense for disagreeing that Earls should be in a world 22, (and backing that up with reasons why) and yet somehow, in all this I am being picked out by the mod despite the fact I have done nothing wrong, have been civil, and have backed up my reasons.
    Co45, don't assume that because someone disagrees with you that they are accusing you of provincial bias.
    This comment isn't accusing me of provincial bias?
    "Indeed it would be nice to have one thread free of the Red/Blue argument."

That's a nice in form looking 22. Maybe Williams or Pocock too would be nice.

Who would you put Williams ahead of out of interest?

No one. I should of been clearer. I think he deserves to be on it but not at the expense of anyone listed.

Surely a player nominated for RBS six nations player of the tournament deserves to be placed ahead of a player that played in the same competition, in the same position, but wasn't. I just feel its a case of green tinted glasses. I doubt a rugby forum from any other country would list him in the 22. He had 2 good games, and a poor game along with an average one. He really doesn't deserve to be in a world 22 if were being objective.

You STILL going on about Earls?

I am responding to your opinion that Shane Williams doesn't deserve to be ahead of Earls. Its called a discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I am responding to your opinion that Shane Williams doesn't deserve to be ahead of Earls. Its called a discussion.

Leave Britney...I mean Earls alone!!!

I don't remember calling it anything else.:D

Richie McCaw was the IRB Player Of The Year 2009. Richie McCaw was not the best player of the year in 2009.

I take no heed of those things. Would you argue why Hook is on that team?

I don't remember calling it anything else.:D

Richie McCaw was the IRB Player Of The Year 2009. Richie McCaw was not the best player of the year in 2009.

I take no heed of those things. Would you argue why Hook is on that team?

Of course I would. I pointed out Earls though because its such an Irish thing to include him in the team. Its typical irish overhyping our own players and then wondering why we didnt perform at the WC despite all our "world class" players. Earls shouldnt be considered the 3rd best winger in the world after 2 games. I've no doubt he may become world class but its so premature.

This thread is 'Who is your current world XV?', No one put him on the pitch or in a XV. Someone threw in a bench for the craic and gave Earls a 22 jersey, where i'd have him for versatily ahead of Shane Williams myself. No one said he was the best winger in the world or 3rd for that matter.

Hey-oh! After reading over the thread again i see you've put Joe Rocokoco (sic) and Halfpenny ahead of Earls. In that case, i wonder why you venomously need to get folk to discuss and explain their views on Earls when you clearly have no interest in anything but shooting them down.

You are entirely correct. I actually think people are winding you up at this stage. There is no way people think that Earls could possibly be good enough to get into a world 22. There are plenty more versatile players, and regardless, the team could easily reshuffle given the quality of the people in the 15.

This thread is 'Who is your current world XV?', No one put him on the pitch or in a XV. Someone threw in a bench for the craic and gave Earls a 22 jersey, where i'd have him for versatily ahead of Shane Williams myself. No one said he was the best winger in the world or 3rd for that matter.

Hey-oh! After reading over the thread again i see you've put Joe Rocokoco (sic) and Halfpenny ahead of Earls. In that case, i wonder why you venomously need to get folk to discuss and explain their views on Earls when you clearly have no interest in anything but shooting them down.

This thread is about the 22 best players currently in world rugby. Do you think Earls is one of the 22 best players in world rugby?
    Honestly, hes only been included because this is an Irish forum. Ask for a world 22 on a NZ, South African or French forum and not one person would have him on it.
    Such typical overhyping.
    By the way I included Halfpenny as an example of a player who had an excellent two games like Earls and is young like Earls that a lot of Welsh feel would definitely be ahead of Earls. Looking at both players objectively on this years 6N not many people would consider one superior to the other yet I dont see Halfpenny get half as much praise on these forums than our own "world class" Earls.
    Can you not see that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭gavkm27

This thread is about the 22 best players currently in world rugby. Do you think Earls is one of the 22 best players in world rugby?
    Honestly, hes only been included because this is an Irish forum. Ask for a world 22 on a NZ, South African or French forum and not one person would have him on it.
    Such typical overhyping.
    By the way I included Halfpenny as an example of a player who had an excellent two games like Earls and is young like Earls that a lot of Welsh feel would definitely be ahead of Earls. Looking at both players objectively on this years 6N not many people would consider one superior to the other yet I dont see Halfpenny get half as much praise on these forums than our own "world class" Earls.
    Can you not see that?

If you go on a NZ/SA forum they will be biased toward their men too,whats the big deal,i know you are striving for the ultimate objectivity in picking the 22 and fair play,but please accept people are bias,are'nt managers not the same in their pickings of teams?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

1. Ben Alexander
    2. William Servat
    3. Nicholas Mas
    4. Victor Matfield
    5. Dean Mumm
    6. Rocky Elsom
    7. Thierry Dusatoir
    8. Imanol Harinordoquy

9. Will Genia
    10. Morne Steyn (Quade Cooper a very close second for me)
    11. Shane Williams (i'm not usually a big Ickle fan, but he's been great for Wales this 6 nations)
    12. Wyand Olivier (might seem a weird selection but he's been unreal this super 14 - he breaks the line every time.)
    13. BOD (i'm actually not that sure though)
    14. Tommy Bowe
    15. Lee Byrne (this might seem a bizarre selection, but in between his various moments of idiocy recently he's actually been good. He's the real deal at full back - great under the high ball, strong, attacking prowess.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

1. Barcella
    2. Moore
    3. Tialata
    4. Botha
    5. Matfield
    6. Elsom
    7. Brussow
    8. Parisse
    9. Du Preez
    10. James
    11. Habana
    12. Nonu
    13. O'Driscoll
    14. Bowe
    15. Kearney (2009 version)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

1.ALEXANDER(AUSSIE INCUMBENT,EXCELLENT)
    2.TATAFU POLOTA NAU(RUNNING AMOK IN SUPER 14 AT THE MOMENT.SCORES PLENTY OF TRIES FOR A FATTY)
    3.ROBINSON(AUSSIE INCUMBENT,EXCELLENT)
    4.BEKKER(IMPERIOUS AT LINEOUT TIME,FREAK IN THE LOOSE)
    5.NALLET(VERY VERY UNDER-RATED)
    6.MCCAW(PLAYING BLINDSIDE FOR CRUSADERS AT THE MOMENT) TO ACCOMODATE POFF AND WHITELOCK)
    7.ADAM THOMSON (FASTER THEN DAN CARTER OVER 40 METERS AND IS THE HEIR TO MCCAWS THRONE.CAN ALSO PLAY 8 AND 6)
    8.HARRYNORDICKY(SUPPORT RUNNING IS IMPECCABLE,CARRYS ALL DAY)
    9. GENIA/PARRA (VERY INTELLIGENT PLAYERS)
    10CARTER(BEST FIRST FIVE EIGHT EVER)
    11SIVIVATU(ELECTRIC)
    12QUADE COOPER( BURGLER COME OUTHALF/CENTRE WHO IS CURRENTLY PULLING UP TREES IN SUPER 14)
    13FOURIE( SWITCHED TO STORMERS AND IS GETTING QUALITY BALL AND NEVER TAKES A BACKWARD STEP)
    14 RENE RANGER(POCKET ROCKET,CAN PLAY ANYWHERE FROM 12-15,SINGLE HANDEDLY DEMOLISHED BRUMBIES AT THE WEEKEND)
    15 ISRAEL DAGG(BEST UP AND COMING PLAYER IN THE WORLD IN MY OPINION,KICKS PENALTIES CONVERSIONS TOO,SCORED HAT TRICK AGAINST BULLS IN LOFTUS)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Tone it down on the caps lock buddy.

2040 wrote: »
    1. Ben Alexander
    2. William Servat
    3. Nicholas Mas
    4. Victor Matfield
    5. Dean Mumm
    6. Rocky Elsom
    7. Thierry Dusatoir
    8. Imanol Harinordoquy

9. Will Genia
    10. Morne Steyn (Quade Cooper a very close second for me)
    11. Shane Williams (i'm not usually a big Ickle fan, but he's been great for Wales this 6 nations)
    12. Wyand Olivier (might seem a weird selection but he's been unreal this super 14 - he breaks the line every time.)
    13. BOD (i'm actually not that sure though)
    14. Tommy Bowe
    15. Lee Byrne (this might seem a bizarre selection, but in between his various moments of idiocy recently he's actually been good. He's the real deal at full back - great under the high ball, strong, attacking prowess.)
    dean mumm is having a cracking super 14.he has a face like an altar boy though. he looks so soft. until he makes a 50 yard carry that is. he is lightening when he gets going

Des wrote: »
    Tone it down on the caps lock buddy.
    apologies. i always write in caps lock.think it looks neater.i work in aviation.have to write in block all the time.

sorry again.:pac:

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Broken caps lock...QUOTE]

Do I detect a certain hemisphere bias there mr cake??
    Also Fourie better than BOD?!

1.ALEXANDER(AUSSIE INCUMBENT,EXCELLENT)
    2.TATAFU POLOTA NAU(RUNNING AMOK IN SUPER 14 AT THE MOMENT.SCORES PLENTY OF TRIES FOR A FATTY)
    3.ROBINSON(AUSSIE INCUMBENT,EXCELLENT)
    4.BEKKER(IMPERIOUS AT LINEOUT TIME,FREAK IN THE LOOSE)
    5.NALLET(VERY VERY UNDER-RATED)
    6.MCCAW(PLAYING BLINDSIDE FOR CRUSADERS AT THE MOMENT) TO ACCOMODATE POFF AND WHITELOCK)
    7.ADAM THOMSON (FASTER THEN DAN CARTER OVER 40 METERS AND IS THE HEIR TO MCCAWS THRONE.CAN ALSO PLAY 8 AND 6)
    8.HARRYNORDICKY(SUPPORT RUNNING IS IMPECCABLE,CARRYS ALL DAY)
    9. GENIA/PARRA (VERY INTELLIGENT PLAYERS)
    10CARTER(BEST FIRST FIVE EIGHT EVER)
    11SIVIVATU(ELECTRIC)
    12QUADE COOPER( BURGLER COME OUTHALF/CENTRE WHO IS CURRENTLY PULLING UP TREES IN SUPER 14)
    13FOURIE( SWITCHED TO STORMERS AND IS GETTING QUALITY BALL AND NEVER TAKES A BACKWARD STEP)
    14 RENE RANGER(POCKET ROCKET,CAN PLAY ANYWHERE FROM 12-15,SINGLE HANDEDLY DEMOLISHED BRUMBIES AT THE WEEKEND)
    15 ISRAEL DAGG(BEST UP AND COMING PLAYER IN THE WORLD IN MY OPINION,KICKS PENALTIES CONVERSIONS TOO,SCORED HAT TRICK AGAINST BULLS IN LOFTUS)

Do you watch any Northern Hemisphere rugby?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

In fairness he does have HARRYNORDICKY in there ;)

wixfjord wrote: »
    Broken caps lock...QUOTE]

Do I detect a certain hemisphere bias there mr cake??
    Also Fourie better than BOD?!
    im from the northerm hemisphere

Ian_K wrote: »
    In fairness he does have HARRYNORDICKY in there ;)
    and nallet/parra

im from the northerm hemisphere

question still stands.

all my players are internationals for the current irb world raniking top 4 teams.except my fullback and right winger who were both capped for new zealand at 7's level.dagg won the under 19's world cup with zach guildford and aaron cruden 18 months or so ago.he will be picked for the all blacks this year.ranger is a bit of a bolter but is a cracking player in extremely good form. i think o driscoll is over rated. i dont really want to get in to it but its my opinion. ive discussed it at lenght in other notorious threads.fourie is playing cracking rugby

question still stands.
    no.no bias.just opinion.could easily have dropped nallet for matfield/brad thorn,harry north dickey for spies or kankowski( 60 meter try last week was unreal) and not given parra a mention.however the current grand slam champions deserve a couple of representatives.

i think he southern hemisphere has always been the market leader in strike runners and wrecking ball carrying forwards.each to their own i suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

It is a current world XV, and NH rugby has been fairly appalling in the last few months. Leaving BOD out of a world XV isn't a criminal offence. He hasn't had a spectacular 6 nations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

no.no bias.just opinion.could easily have dropped nallet for matfield/brad thorn,harry north dickey for spies or kankowski( 60 meter try last week was unreal) and not given parra a mention.however the current grand slam champions deserve a couple of representatives.

i think he southern hemisphere has always been the market leader in strike runners and wrecking ball carrying forwards.each to their own i suppose.

so you think that cooper and fourie would do more damage than roberts and o driscoll? i think not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

all my players are internationals for the current irb world raniking top 4 teams.except my fullback and right winger who were both capped for new zealand at 7's level.dagg won the under 19's world cup with zach guildford and aaron cruden 18 months or so ago.he will be picked for the all blacks this year.ranger is a bit of a bolter but is a cracking player in extremely good form. i think o driscoll is over rated. i dont really want to get in to it but its my opinion. ive discussed it at lenght in other notorious threads.fourie is playing cracking rugby

Im sure the saffers and aussies know the reply to that one;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭subfreq

Sorry but I can only do this a long winded way.

First my 6N 15 followed by who is currently playing better in the S14

1. Domingo
    2. Servat
    3. Euan Murray
    4. Nallet
    5. Kellock
    6. Brown
    7. Barclay
    8. Harinordoquy
    9. Parra
    10. Trinh-Duc
    11. Williams
    12. Jauzion
    13. Hook
    14. Bowe
    15. Poitrenaud

Now with those added I think are in better current form in the S14. Please note I said CURRENT FORM not based on reputation.

1. Ben Alexander
    2. Servat
    3. Euan Murray
    4. Dean Mumm
    5. Kellock / Bekker too close to call.
    6. Brown
    7. Barclay
    8. Harinordoquy
    9. Genia
    10. Quade Cooper (Reds combo is on fire)
    11. Drew Mitchell (wrong wing but I like Bowe and think Drew is in better form than Williams)
    12. Jauzion
    13. Jaque Fourie - Would never have guessed it but his defense is better than Hooks.
    14. Bowe
    15. Poitrenaud - Israel Dagg showing the goods for the Highlanders but needs a few more performances to unseat Poitrenaud.

Notable All Black omissions are Carter and McCaw and that is purely because their early season form hasn't been as good as others. THat also goes for some of the big name Aussies and Saffas. God people like Berrick Barnes are having a shocker!

Brown and Barkley have turned it in week after week for Scotland and I don't think there is any tear aways down south yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭BoarHunter

I think it is much more complicated than putting the best players at their place ... it works also on association of players.

For exemple Jauzion hadn't been looking so good since Trinh duc makes him play. He is not able to do the same with Toulouse with Skrela.

A prop can benefit a lot from the work of his second row, etc ,etc ...

BoarHunter wrote: »
    I think it is much more complicated than putting the best players at their place ... it works also on association of players.

For exemple Jauzion hadn't been looking so good since Trinh duc makes him play. He is not able to do the same with Toulouse with Skrela.

A prop can benefit a lot from the work of his second row, etc ,etc ...

Agree absolutely. But it is a good laugh to dream them up!

twinytwo wrote: »
    so you think that cooper and fourie would do more damage than roberts and o driscoll? i think not
    jamie roberts had a very poor six nations. passed when he should have held on,held on when he should have passed.i expect more from a lion.
    as i said o driscoll is over rated.