Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tubridy Depreciation Group

• 22-03-2010 6:30pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

Let's see if this get's more posts then the Appreciation Group;) Anyway I hate the guy (not personally) - just can't stand him on television. Comes across very smug and is not the most gifted presenter anyway.:rolleyes:

Then there is just the hint of political bias toward Fianna Fáil - just a hint mind.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Sign me up!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I'm in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

This made me laugh .. :-) ... I'm in..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Ah, poor ol' stickman... He can't help the way he is wired, no more than the rest of us.. Nevertheless I'm weighing in 100% behind the sentiment of this thread. It's a travesty of a mockery of a sham that we're exposed to his talents every Friday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

I remember seeing Des Bishop doing an impression of Tubridy, it was basically a cross between a bobble head and woody the woodpeckers laugh. That about sums him up to a tee.

Dustin's joke about Tubridy..

"What I want to know is .. if the camera adds ten pounds.. does Ryan Tubridy actually exist?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Way out of his depth on The Late Late Show. He gave chancers like Bertie Ahern and Jim McDaid very easy interviews.

He was decent enough on Tubridy Tonight, but I don't rate him anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

An average Tubridy has depreciated by 10-15% over the past two years. Nissan dealers are offering scrappage deals on all Tubridys with every purchase of a brand new Craig Doyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

yep. in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

Count me in too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Hippo

I have seen none of this season of the Late Late. There's only one reason for that....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Very poor chat show host.

Excusable if he passes my " make an exception, and cut some slack test".......namely, Could you have a pint with him?
    No.
    Guess that's it so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Deep down, even he knows he's not much good at juggling the LLS. Weekly LLS thread here on boards is now far more entertaining than the show itself.

Lads I have the new logo for Tubridy Depreciation Group..

tdg.jpg

I think we should set up a facebook group as well :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Putting aside his poor presenting skills, inability to conduct serious or light-hearted interviews, immaturity, smug nature, lack of wit, hideous Toby Jug face, hackneyed mannerisms, annoying voice, boring taste in everything, emaciated skin-stretched-over-a-chicken-wing-frame and inability to relate to average members of the public or indeed talk to them without being condescending, I find Ryan alright.

Perhaps some of you should try presenting, if you think you could do a better job. Typical Irish begrudgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,430 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

i'm in

Ageispolis wrote: »
    Putting aside his poor presenting skills, inability to conduct serious or light-hearted interviews, immaturity, smug nature, lack of wit, hideous Toby Jug face, hackneyed mannerisms, annoying voice, boring taste in everything, emaciated skin-stretched-over-a-chicken-wing-frame and inability to relate to average members of the public or indeed talk to them without being condescending, I find Ryan alright. Perhaps some of you should try presenting, if you think you could do a better job. Typical Irish begrudgery.

I've read this three times and I still cant work out which side you're on ... LOL... Toby Jug face.. :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

Putting aside his poor presenting skills, inability to conduct serious or light-hearted interviews, immaturity, smug nature, lack of wit, hideous Toby Jug face, hackneyed mannerisms, annoying voice, boring taste in everything, emaciated skin-stretched-over-a-chicken-wing-frame and inability to relate to average members of the public or indeed talk to them without being condescending, I find Ryan alright.

Perhaps some of you should try presenting, if you think you could do a better job. Typical Irish begrudgery.

Don't begrudge the begrudgers!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

You forget one thing, nobody here said we could do a better job.
    He's the "qualified" presenter, his choice of profession.
    It's not begrudgery, he's entitled to be analysed and scrutinised by the public, that's what this thread is about.
    I tuned in for his show last friday and his smarmy and unwitty carry on with Tess Daly was cringeworthy,and we're paying €160 for this!!!
    His selection for the show seriously needs to be reviewed imo.

And yes, I changed over!

staker wrote: »
    You forget one thing, nobody here said we could do a better job.
    He's the "qualified" presenter, his choice of profession.
    It's not begrudgery, he's entitled to be analysed and scrutinised by the public, that's what this thread is about.
    I tuned in for his show last friday and his smarmy and unwitty carry on with Tess Daly was cringeworthy,and we're paying €160 for this!!!
    His selection for the show seriously needs to be reviewed imo.

And yes, I changed over!

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

About two years ago two of my friends were collecting money for charity (Share I think) and Tubridy came along for a publicity shoot/photo, all the collectors gathered together for the photo and he nudged one of my friends out of the way and said "out of the way faty" in a very smug voice trying to sound funny. Now my friend isn't exactly thin but it was still a very arrogant thing to say.

Seriously? Sounds like something he would do alright. For the Late Late Show competitions, the person receiving the callback has an extra hurdle to clear before claiming the prize. Now, as well as repeating the correct answer to the question, the winner must endure two minutes of sly mockery from Tupperware, usually along the lines of "you sound like you need to get out more" or, if the person is quiet, "don't get overexcited" or "she's a barrel of laughs" as he smirks to the audience. Hilarious stuff.

Tubridy corners the market in smug and smarm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭RubyBlu

That's mean. The poor man.

I bet anyone of you would have loved to shake hands with Obama himself in Washington. Envy is so destructive. :p

Obama is just a man like me, the only difference is his job. I don't laud or worship people because of the job they do or how much money they have, they are no better then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

Tubridys interview skills amount to asking the guest about their Irish connections, the last time they were in Ireland, and what do they think of Ireland.

Obama is just a man like me, the only difference is his job. I don't laud or worship people because of the job they do or how much money they have, they are no better then me.

Yea right. I believe ya. Not many come around like Obama and no matter what he was doing, he is someone special. I never mentioned his job as far as I remember anyhow. Put it this way, there's nobody pushing and shoving to shake Brian Cowans hand and isn't he the leader of a small country. Richard, I don't know you, but I will still go for Obama. Sorry Schweetheart. :o

Bob_Harris wrote: »
    Tubridys interview skills amount to asking the guest about their Irish connections, the last time they were in Ireland, and what do they think of Ireland.

As opposed to??? Pretending they are still in their home country, England? America?. They come over to Ireland to do an interview and it's not good to talk about Ireland? And how does he manage with the 'domestic' guests. You're gas Bob.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

He's still better than Pat Kenny...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭MajorThom

I'm calling shotgun on this bandwagon.:D:D:D

^ that's not saying much really...a glove puppet would be better then Kenny.

OisinT wrote: »
    He's still better than Pat Kenny...

Cheers Oisin,
    Would you mind posting positives onto the 'Appreciation' thread.

I didn't know glove puppets came in wood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭MajorThom

It essentially means I really really dont like Tubridy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

RubyBlu wrote: »
    Cheers Oisin,
    Would you mind posting positives onto the 'Appreciation' thread.
    I'm not saying it in a good way!

As opposed to??? Pretending they are still in their home country, England? America?. They come over to Ireland to do an interview and it's not good to talk about Ireland? And how does he manage with the 'domestic' guests. You're gas Bob.....:D

STOP HIGHJACKING OUR THREAD RUBYBLU, you have your own love-in on the other one. Though I really think a thread like that should be posted in the "Mental Health Issues" forum. ;-)

Tubridy should never have been fast-tracked in to the job. And even if you accept the fact that he now has the job, he is exceptionally poor after having been given run at the job, and somebody else should be given a shot. Not this usual civil service sh1te where if you're given the job you are entitled to it for life. He's a private contractor, fire him. .

I would love to have seen Derek Mooney given a shot. He's got a combination of humility, honesty and humour that nobody else in RTE has.

^ LOL!...pwned!

STOP HIGHJACKING OUR THREAD RUBYBLU, you have your own love-in on the other one. Though I really think a thread like that should be posted in the "Mental Health Issues" forum. ;-)

Tubridy should never have been fast-tracked in to the job. And even if you accept the fact that he now has the job, he is exceptionally poor after having been given run at the job, and somebody else should be given a shot. Not this usual civil service sh1te where if you're given the job you are entitled to it for life. He's a private contractor, fire him. .

I would love to have seen Derek Mooney given a shot. He's got a combination of humility, honesty and humour that nobody else in RTE has.

hehe!

Cheers Oisin, Would you mind posting positives onto the 'Appreciation' thread.

And can we have no grooming of posters please

Did she bring a comb and scissors?....short sides and back please :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

I don't dislike him as much as some posters here, I wasn't really all that aware of him outside the occasional newspaper article before he got the Late Late, and the resultant comedy gold that is the TV forums Late Late threads got me to watch him sometimes.

What grinds my gears is his attempt to portray himself as some sort of "intellectual" in articles - he can be a real patronising git in a lot of them, especially when he's writing about the books he's read - and then seeing what an utter shambles he is when dealing with say, someone like Dawkins. Maybe he is a smart guy, but it sure doesn't come across in his interviews. I would say he should stick to the fluff, but he's possibly even more cringeworthy during those.

So - intellectual lightweight in the serious interviews, FF hack in the political ones, condescending in the entertainment interviews, inability to relate to anyone he perceives as beneath him - how on earth was he considered suitable for the Late Late? Say what you will about Kenny - he was good at the less lightweight stuff, and nearly always well researched. Tubridy never seems to have done any kind of research on his guests.

Huh, maybe I actually do hate him...

MikeC101 wrote: »
    What grinds my gears is his attempt to portray himself as some sort of "intellectual" in articles - he can be a real patronising git in a lot of them, especially when he's writing about the books he's read - and then seeing what an utter shambles he is when dealing with say, someone like Dawkins.

Yeah I agree on this. He forces the whole "I read loads of books" / Kennedy / History thing down your throat to portray himself as intellectual. But he cant carry it off. And he is so badly prepared for his interviews, particularly politics and sport. Pat Kenny was/is incredible for his dedication to research, and ability to argue specific points with respected intellectuals on subjects he would not have an inherent knowledge of. If Pat Kenny (for all his faults), had done the Dawkins interview, it would have been far more insightful and respectful.

Yes, you can't argue, Kenny was very smart, but he lacked the balance of smart and ability to have a laugh. And most of the content on LLS is light, so it didn't make sense. He is move suited to his radio show. He excels on that and seems a lot happier.

arsebiscuits.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Tallspoon

Bob_Harris wrote: »
    Agree 100% with BHs analysis. He interview style consists of asking anyone about their Irish connections and how often they visit Ireland. Very lazy. He is a pseudo intellectual lightweight who likes to project an academic, scholarly image, eg he goes out with a brainy girlfriend, constantly refers to himself as a nerd or geek, dresses like an english professor and always going on about books. I cannot wait until his long anticipated book about JFK comes out...if it ever does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Tallspoon wrote: »
    He is a pseudo intellectual lightweight who likes to project an academic, scholarly image, eg he goes out with a brainy girlfriend, constantly refers to himself as a nerd or geek, dresses like an english professor and always going on about books.

Yup. Has one or two of intellectual trimmings but doesn't use his brain in any way at all. What's worse, he knows this - and knows that if he didn't have the tweed jacket and the sad young fogey references, he'd be nought. IMO, he's one step up from those PITA fauxhemians who litter the streets of Dublin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

This made me laugh .. :-) ... I'm in..

^ closet Tubridy Appreciation Group member

rovert wrote: »
    ^ closet Tubridy Appreciation Group member

^ Closet Jonathanon Appreciation Group member

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

^ Closet Jonathanon Appreciation Group member

Get get enough of those witticisms