Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National firefighter all out strike from Apr 15th

• 22-03-2010 5:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0322/economy.html

Hope the arsonists are not reading this :mad: :)

Did I read before that there are too many chiefs and not enough Indians in the firefighting service?:eek:
    The country's 1,400 full-time firefighters intend to hold a national all out strike from 15 April.

The strike is over pay and conditions. National Secretary of the Full-time Firefighters John Kidd said staff are not being replaced, which is having a huge impact on services.

He said the Dublin fire service lost 108 officers last year and they were only replaced by 30 officers.

Mr Kidd said training was a very important aspect of the job and that there is currently no training in Dublin. He said the situation had reached crisis point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

No passports, Now No Firefighters.. Excellent.

Anyone up for a hunger strike?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I cant wait for the first death resulting from a Public service strike.

It's going to be superb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Cherrycola

Oh my lord, what the hell next?!

Cops are not using their personal mobiles or laptops either, but that can only be a good thing, no ringing Shannon when they pull you over for no tax and you tell them you're waiting on your vehicle reg cert! :D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Green Goddeses anyone?

orourkeda wrote: »

It's going to be superb

Looks like that might happen in the Passport office yet!! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Knowing my luck,my house will catch fire on that day!

Cherrycola wrote: »
    Looks like that might happen in the Passport office yet!! :D:D

Thats the way its going. People wont be able to get out of Ireland as soon as they would like to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

It's going to be superb

Someone dying is great. :rolleyes:

Ciaran500 wrote: »

I meant the reaction to it.

Ciaran500 wrote: »

Well, its the new criteria for a passport.......:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Fcukers have been riding the wave of 09/11 for long enough.

Most of them double job anyway and the absentee rate I'm told is awesome.

So fcuk off and strike, plenty of those on the dole with a few days training could take over.

I'm not fooled by you people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

So fcuk off and strike, plenty of those on the dole with a few days training could take over.

A few days training, with no experience to take over from trained firefighers/paramedics?

Good luck with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

I'd be capable of putting out a fire in a skip after a couple of days training :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Poccington wrote: »
    A few days training, with no experience to take over from trained firefighers/paramedics?

Good luck with that.
    /AH response

Ah but sure they're only using dem fire hoses and dem defribibiliblators. Sure I could do that by reading it up on wikipedia, so I could.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

the fact that they have to double job says they're underpaid.
    also recovering charred corpses and arriving on the scenes of accidents and suiciedes really should take it out of a normal person,hence the absentee rate.

also i dont think irish firefighters ever took praise for 9/11.

this is one group of people who are truely undervalued by society. I tried to get into the firebrigade but failed due to my poor eye sight. in hindsight im delighted i didn't get in, it's a terrifying job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Poccington wrote: »

Good luck with that.

Getting paid way over the odds based on training and education pocco.

You know that, I know that..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭star.chaser

civil servants are a bunch of ****e bags. you'd never get away with this type of thing in the private sector. if you not happy in a job, you leave it. you don't hold the public to ranson ffs

not sure if i'll be as sympathetic next time i hear about the firemen being attacked...

jesus you hear about the french being a bunch of striking priicks. at the moment we have the assport office, taxi shiitebag drivers, gardai and now the firemen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Fire fighters go through a lot of training and are exceptionally good at what they do. They really only pick the best and those who are the most capable of doing it physically and mentally. If you picked up lads from the Dole queue they simply wouldn't be able to do it.

I'm all for public sector cuts but not in life or death areas like fire fighters/paramedics etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭Littleblondehen

Stupid question. Even though it says National Firefighter strike, I just want to clear it up for myself.
    Are the fire brigade not allowed to go on strike or is that just the guards?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Why don't they just fire them :pac:

getting paid extra for the risk factor involved and the stress involved

not all jobs are paid to reflect the training or education involved,some are paid because the job is hard,this is one of those jobs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭fizzynicenice

Dont know about that now.
    Wont be leaving anything plugged in anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

antodeco wrote: »
    Why don't they just fire them :pac:

Ah stop with the arson, would ya.
    This is serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

civil servants are a bunch of ****e bags. you'd never get away with this type of thing in the private sector. if you not happy in a job, you leave it. you don't hold the public to ranson ffs

not sure if i'll be as sympathetic next time i hear about the firemen being attacked...

jesus you hear about the french being a bunch of striking priicks. at the moment we have the assport office, taxi shiitebag drivers, gardai and now the firemen

You know what, and I don't care if I get banned for this..

get your head out of your arse.. Men and women put their lives on the line each and every day to help idiots like you. And this is the thanks you show?.

I don't know whether you were going for a 'i'm going to get a load of thanks'
    response, but the viewpoint you show, if true, is completely idiotic.

You have a lot to learn in life, and it's people like you who fcuk this country up for everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

tech77 wrote: »
    Ah stop with the arson, would ya.
    This is serious.

You need a hosing down ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭targus

I dont ever recall Irish firemen 'riding the wave'...on the contrary, in my opinion they go about their business in a low-profile professional manner.
    They are highly trained and never make a big deal in the press about a lot of the good work they do that often goes unoticed.

Anybody who has to double job is obviously not getting paid enough in their main employment. I read in the newspaper over the weekend that there are some firemen on family income supplement, a crazy situation for the risks they take in performing their duties.

I would be careful about insinuating their absenteeism being high without being able to back up your statement,who told you?

Your ignorance knows no bounds if you think a couple of days training would provide you with the knowledge these guys have obtained through many years of ongoing training. Maybe you will only realise the work that they do when you need them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭star.chaser

DubMedic wrote: »
    You know what, and I don't care if I get banned for this..

get your head out of your arse.. Men and women put their lives on the line each and every day to help idiots like you. And this is the thanks you show?.

I don't know whether you were going for a 'i'm going to get a load of thanks'
    response, but the viewpoint you show, if true, is completely idiotic.

You have a lot to learn in life, and it's people like you who fcuk this country up for everyone.

ha ha that gave me a good laugh. you must be a civil servant. just about all your points were completely inaccurate but in fairness you were going on just one post. i know some of you are useful and i didn't mean to tar you all with the same brush but to be fair the majority need a good kick in the arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

In fairness to them (and I have no sympathy for most of the public service), if this strike is genuinely about safety concerns then their concerns should be addressed. Get rid of the passport office and use the money to recruit more firemen.

If an additional payment in their salaries suddenly cures their safety concerns then they can go jump.

The fire union spokesman on the news quoted some statistics that at face value seemed to suggest a problem, I'd be interested to know whether those stats were accurate and fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

It's going to be superb

I would take that back, mocking is catching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

This action will really fan the flames of the public v private sector war

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 252 ✭✭viclemronny

Passport office workers can fcuk off. But Firemen run into burning buildings for strangers.

Normally i detest any sort of trade union activity but if Firemen want more cash and equipment, then give it to them. It's there, just being spent on civil servants or dole money. Granted much of the money spent on the dole is well deserved for people who are trying to find work, but there are people who have been unemployed for years, fcuk 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

smurgen wrote: »
    this is one group of people who are truely undervalued by society. I tried to get into the firebrigade but failed due to my poor eye sight. in hindsight im delighted i didn't get in, it's a terrifying job.
    That, and that it's practically a closed shop to anyone not related to someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Is a full time fire fighter not quite a well paid job? I was under the impression that when over-time is included, it's a lucrative line of work.

I'm sure they deserve it whatever the wage is (seriously, they do) but it seems a strange time for a relatively well paid group of public sector workers to announce a strike. They are a group that could rightly expect public sympathy/backing for their complaints at another time but at the moment, it looks like incredibly poor timing to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

If the fire service is curtailed it will inevitably lead to "have a go fire fighters", It could also see an increase of fire extinguisher and fire blanket sales from those fearful that a reduced service could risk their properties.

One of the things that was omitted from the FAS safe pass course was fire fighting, this was because they did not want Joe soap attempting in to put out fires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

Ah, I have a ****ty degree so I should get paid more than anyone else.

All becomes clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Diary April 15th
    07:00 - Do some work stuff
    12:30 - Buy milk
    16:00 - Pick up dry cleaning
    16:30 - Buy petrol, oily rags, marshmallows and a toasting fork
    17:15 - Set fire to the passport office

Firefighters and gardaí must have good PR men - I have a lot more sympathy for their actions than I do for people who try to claim that answering the phone or issuing passports isn't part of their job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 50euro

Fair enough in my opinion. If the firemen are not getting replaced then it makes their job a lot more dangerous, also in the job training is important and from what the report says the training has been stopped. It is a dangerous job and is draining physically and mentally.

Speaking as a retained Firefighter, if we where to strike any risk to life calls, house fires Car accidents etc will be dealt with. Car fires, bin fires, automatic alarms etc will not be. But i cant speak for the full-time men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

smurgen wrote: »
    the fact that they have to double job says they're underpaid.

Or they have the opportunity to be Taxi drivers in their off-duty time
    also recovering charred corpses and arriving on the scenes of accidents and suiciedes really should take it out of a normal person,hence the absentee rate.

Then they should hire people with the stomach for the job.

~What's next - soldiers who can't bear the thought of shooting people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Is a full time fire fighter not quite a well paid job? I was under the impression that when over-time is included, it's a lucrative line of work.

My understanding is that the initial/probationary pay is dire. These guys should be on a ongoing training schedule in a job like that, if they aren't then there's a major problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭kravmaga

gurramok wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0322/economy.html

Hope the arsonists are not reading this :mad: :)

Did I read before that there are too many chiefs and not enough Indians in the firefighting service?:eek:

Firefighters are very well paid in this country.

The amount of allowances they get is un-real and as another poster said a lot of them double job as Taxi drivers , Door Security etc...

They got huge expenses and training in Europe for the Dublin Port Tunnel excercises.........all shipped over to Austria or Switzerland for a jolly

If they dont like their job then leave ....its simple... plenty of people who would fill their shoes........only a number at the end of the day....no one is irreplaceable

Is there a firefighter online here who is willing to cut and paste the current Salary Payscale...

I think not as the pay scale is way too generous imo.

Is there a firefighter online here who is willing to cut and paste the current Salary Payscale...

I think not as the pay scale is way too generous imo.

It's online, no mystery i would imagine.

1. REMUNERATION:- Wage scale commencing at €387.94 per week and rising by annual increments to €640.54 per week
    (€387.94 - €459.07- €502.86 - €546.89 - €590.64 - €604.61 - €640.54)
    €667.07 per week after 11 years service
    €697.13 per week after 17 years service
    In addition to the basic wage scale, payments are made in respect of night and weekend duty and a rent allowance is also payable.

http://www.dublinfirebrigade.com/employment.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭sron

Fare thee well, head shoppes!

Firefighters are very well paid in this country.

The amount of allowances they get is un-real and as another poster said a lot of them double job as Taxi drivers , Door Security etc...

They got huge expenses and training in Europe for the Dublin Port Tunnel excercises.........all shipped over to Austria or Switzerland for a jolly

If they dont like their job then leave ....its simple... plenty of people who would fill their shoes........only a number at the end of the day....no one is irreplaceable

That training is not available here, has been a few serious incidents in tunnels with fires over the years. The training they would have received would be considered world leading, i would hope you would expect it to be.

50euro wrote: »
    It's online, no mystery i would imagine.

1. REMUNERATION:- Wage scale commencing at €387.94 per week and rising by annual increments to €640.54 per week
    (€387.94 - €459.07- €502.86 - €546.89 - €590.64 - €604.61 - €640.54)
    €667.07 per week after 11 years service
    €697.13 per week after 17 years service
    In addition to the basic wage scale, payments are made in respect of night and weekend duty and a rent allowance is also payable.

http://www.dublinfirebrigade.com/employment.html

I have just checked out the link, its from 2003 Application Form dude............NOT 2010.

So I am asking for the 20009 or 2010 Payscales....................

Yeah when you add in all the shift allowances and rent allowance plus over time they are earning 45k plus per year.

Now the reason why they double job is they can as they get fantastic time off......reason why I know this is my mates brother in law is in DFB.

They sleep on nights and due to modern day fire alarm systems in buildings and residential they rarely have to deal with a large fire.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭dekbhoy

unions will spin about how low paid fire fighters are but in reality they do not doo too bad ,esp when you add in shift allowance, overtime, Dinner allowance , danger money , paramedic allowance not too mention rent/mortgage subsidence......

Rumour has it when strike happens they will only be responding to emergency calls ....... sure they are all emergency calls

That training is not available here, has been a few serious incidents in tunnels with fires over the years. The training they would have received would be considered world leading, i would hope you would expect it to be.

I know the training is not available here.

No problem with professional training for DPT but have an issue regarding the large expenses bill incurred.

Yeah but when you add in all the shift allowances and rent allowance plus over time they are earning 45k plus per year.

Now the reason why they double job is they can as they get fantastic time off......reason why I know this is my mates brother in law is in DFB.

They sleep on nights and due to modern day fire alarm systems in buildings and residential they rarely have to deal with a large fire.....

I am not fully up on the ins and outs of their work so i wont comment fully on it. Maybe someone in the ES forum might come along and explain. They are firefighters and paramedics though so i would imagine would be fairly busy. The only stats i could find was 91 thousand incidents for Dublin in 2003.

As for a second job, i can't see why you have an aversion to somone working two jobs.

I am not fully up on the ins and outs of their work so i wont comment fully on it. Maybe someone in the ES forum might come along and explain. They are firefighters and paramedics though so i would imagine would be fairly busy. The only stats i could find was 91 thousand incidents for Dublin in 2003.

As for a second job, i can't see why you have an aversion to somone working two jobs.

Can the Mod move to Other Emergency Services forum please....

What percentage of those calls were Grade 1 calls?

Are they trained up to EMT level or full Paramedic level?

The reason why I have an issue with someone working a 2nd job is 422,000 approx are un-employed in this country and would love just 1 job.

the pay scale is way too generous imo.

compared to which other occupation?bankers? i reckon someone who saves lives over someone who doesn't adds more economics value than nearly all other professions.also add in the number of buildings they prevent from burning down and i reckon firefighters more than earn their keep.also what's with the resentful tone?im sure you wont hesitate in screaming for help if you have to be cut out of your car some night