Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

** ALL ** Passport Related Questions in here! Please Read Post#1 first!

1327328329330331333»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 Cape Clear
    ✭✭✭

dia squish wrote: »
    Looking to book a mid-week hotel deal somewhere in Ireland (probably Leinster/Connacht) for a few nights in September. Ideally would be a nice hotel with spa, swimming pool, nice grounds, etc. Have been looking at luxurybreaks website, but wondering if anyone knows of other website/places to look for good deals?

Try escapes.ie which is related to pigsback. Plenty of options self-catering luxury etc. I think Faithlegg is running some offer at the moment. September is a great time to travel in terms of deals and you might be lucky with the weather also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,764 Muahahaha
    ✭✭✭✭

New flight route ex.Dublin starting up means cheap fares for the early birds.

Dublin to Moscow direct by Aeroflot- begins on 28th October 2018 and flying 7 days a week. Tickets are selling now starting at e127 one way for economy saver tickets. Flying time is 4 hours over. Sample fare -depart Saturday Nov 3rd and return Saturday Nov 10th- e250.

Please note the above e250 is not the cheapest possible fare to get to Moscow- it is possible to fly Dublin-Moscow via Helsinki with Finnair for approx e200 return but the flight time is between 5.5 and 7 hours each way. Well worth paying the extra 50 quid for a direct 4 hour flight IMO.

another new route to keep tabs on -Dublin to Dallas, Texas direct by American Airlines. Runs from June 2019 to Sept 2019, not on sale as yet but should be in the next couple of months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,149 Gael23
    ✭✭✭✭

Has the turnaround time for passports reduced at this stage or is it still as long?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,218 Caranica
    ✭✭✭✭

Gael23 wrote: »
    Has the turnaround time for passports reduced at this stage or is it still as long?

https://www.dfa.ie/passporttracking/turnaroundtimes/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 deiseindublin
    ✭✭✭

Jeez, don't be so innocent as to believe anything about turn around times on their site. Basically, it's random, you might get in a week, or they might leave you for 6 weeks, there's no telling which it is until the process is complete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 grimm2005
    ✭✭✭

Friend of mine did it online back in June when his last one expired. Had it within about 4 working days. I was stunned at how quickly it came tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 fxotoole
    ✭✭✭

Depends on what route you take. If you renew online, you’ll have your new passport within a few days. Otherwise it’ll take weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 pillphil
    ✭✭✭

I think mine was 3/4 weeks online, but that was a replacement of a lost passport that was 10 years out of date, it was a week under the estimated time though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,653 salmocab
    ✭✭✭✭

pillphil wrote: »
    I think mine was 3/4 weeks online, but that was a replacement of a lost passport that was 10 years out of date, it was a week under the estimated time though.

The quick online is for just run of the mill passport renewals, which is probably most of what they deal with. Mine was in my letterbox in less than 24 hours, which is very impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 pillphil
    ✭✭✭

salmocab wrote: »
    The quick online is for just run of the mill passport renewals, which is probably most of what they deal with. Mine was in my letterbox in less than 24 hours, which is very impressive.

Yeah, I wasn't complaining. I was worried when applying about how accurate the estimated processing time was and if I should apply for an appointment instead.

When I tried to do the online process last year, it took them 2 months to refund me when they said they couldn't do it due to the old passport, so I was a bit wary.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,274 pc7
    Mod ✭✭✭✭

salmocab wrote: »

Wow that's unreal, that's some service. Just renewed online now, will see how long it takes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,653 salmocab
    ✭✭✭✭

pc7 wrote: »
    Wow that's unreal, that's some service. Just renewed online now, will see how long it takes.

When I saw the envelope in my postbox I was actually thinking what the F is in this. I was expecting it to take weeks. Got my passport card that I ordered at the same time the following day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,194 ebbsy
    ✭✭✭

Strazdas wrote: »
    When getting your passport form stamped, is it normal for the Garda to go into another room at the station with your form and other ID and not return for about ten minutes or so? That happened this week.

Is that regular or were they checking up on me or something?

Where did ye hide the body ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 nailer54321
    ✭✭

I applied for my passport on line on a Thursday and it arrived in the post on Monday morning, it was actually printed the same day as o applied for it. Great service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 stevensi
    ✭✭

Hey guys,

My wife who is french has lost her ID card which the French use to travel on. She is France at the moment and her flight is tomorrow. I have her passport here in Ireland. Tried DHL but closed on a weekend. Anybody got any advice what choices I might have.

Ta

✭✭

Following up on this I suppose no boardsies are flying to Lyon tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,958 munchkin_utd
    ✭✭✭

stevensi wrote: »
    Following up on this I suppose no boardsies are flying to Lyon tomorrow?

Post on the aviation forum
    There’s a lad there who works at passport control who may have an idea.

If she got as far as Dublin then maybe there’s something can be arranged that you get the passport to immigration or something?

✭✭

Thanks for the advice guys. Yeah my plan is to head up to the airport this morning and see if I can get someone in aerlingus who is on the flight i.e air hostess to bring it over. Or if that's not possible get a passenger to bring it over. I suppose it sounds a bit like a scam so not sure will I be successful but have to give it a try

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 Under His Eye
    ✭✭✭

Best of luck. :)

✭✭

At the airport now. Aerlingus won't do anything for me unfortunately. I partly guessed that. Only hope is I can meet a passenger who may help. Bit of a Longshot

✭✭

Mr.S wrote: »
    What’s the price for a return ticket? If it’s under 300euro I’d say it’s the quickest and easiest option! You’ll most likely spend the guts of that by having your wife rebook her flight + the charge for a courier to get her the passport.

Got it sorted. Met someone at the airport I knew who happened to be traveling to Lyon. What are the chances. Phew

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 Under His Eye
    ✭✭✭

Fair play. Glad you got sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,748 josip
    ✭✭✭✭

Hi Lisa, here's what the status of our son's renewal currently looks for what it's worth.

The issue date hasn't changed since applying and the progress bar has moved across steadily.

4nwMHvR.png

(We live in Dublin)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 cherryghost
    Mod ✭✭✭✭

Are you based in the Republic?

Submitted our daughters first yesterday. Flying on 19th of April...

Yes, in Dublin. So basically an entire month. 19th April is cutting it fine without chasing this down.

We were given estimated 20 working days so I would say it more or less arrived on time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 mac.in
    ✭✭✭

It's noted in this thread (as per many posts here), and also in my own experience, that the minor's passport take around 1 to 1.5 months for the renewal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 kerry4sam
    ✭✭✭✭

Thread closed by me.

Our new Take.Two Passport thread can be located here and is also linked in on our stickied useful links thread.

Thanks,

and

Thanks to All for Helping our Forum Users and Lurkers w/their questions and queries and for enabling our thread to reach that 10,000 limit.
    kerry4sam