Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

any Viz readers on AH

• 21-03-2010 2:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭

This fine periodical is still in production, saw it on the shelf in easons today. billy the fish/ roger mellie is there still a role for them today?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Still in production?!?! I haven't read it in donkeys, but can only imagine that it's gone as stale as the last few series of South Park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

I'm a big Viz fan, it's still brilliant, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

The greatest comic known to man.

Probably shit now though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Love it.

My favourite book is Roger's Thesaurus...

Topical?

Top Tips FTW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭filthymcnasty

I thought it was pretty funny back in the day i.e a fair few years ago. maybe it still is ??- was surprised to see it still on sale.
    liked all the bull**** news stories.. some pretty good satire there.
    Anyone remember a short lived irish version called Smut- granted was fairly crap though.

"Pretend to be Welsh by putting coal dust behind your ears, talking gibberish and singing all the time"

Gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

El Weirdo wrote: »

Ripped off by McDonald's !
    McDonald's advertising executives. Why not steal someone else's idea and then claim you overheard it in a bar, you ****ing c*nts".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Anyone remember a short lived irish version called Smut
    Oh cringe... :(

And I remember there was Acne and Zit - clearly produced by people who didn't actually understand Viz.

Dudess wrote: »
    Oh cringe... :(

And I remember there was Acne and Zit - clearly produced by people who didn't actually understand Viz.

yes Zit it was crap/ Maybe this led onto the slate.. the mongrel etc. prob student lads messing about

some of the above were not bad..
    ps viz's origins: think it started in newcastle, UK, it was top notch back in the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Any comic with a superhero called "Topless Skateboarding Nun" can only be pure class.

I have an annual somewhere I'll have to "Get it out and have a quick flick" phnaar phnaar gumph!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭rugbyman

Ageispolis wrote: »
    Topical?

thanks for link, very funny.

I had been a viz reader for years, class. drifted away though.

Rugbyman

Went into a fit of laughing in an airport in England,while reading Viz, amused many onlookers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Used to read it, didn't realise it was still about though!

I remember Roger Irrelevant, Sid the sexist, The fat slags, Spoilt Ba$tard, Roger Melly etc

And the 'letters' page :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

The fake ads were the best, they were a great laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Yes. Looking at a few under the coffee table here beside me.

What's the deal with the Viz characters? They seem to use the same ones for promotions, ie: Roger Mellie, Fat Slags & Sid the Sexist. None of these are my faves. I don't think I have even managed to read a full story of Roger although I do like the Profanisaurus.

Letterbocks & Top Tips are my fave though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Bought a subscription to it a couple of years back and it wasn't very good at all. Not at all how I remember it. Either it has gotten a lot worse in recent years or I have gotten a lot more sophisticated. The latter is unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭tinner777

big vern, you slag, :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I must pick up a copy again, I used to get it a lot. I love Drunken Bakers and Modern Parents.

They were the high-brow strips in Viz. I always got the impression that the writers preferred creating those ones and furthermore even got off on the fact that most of their readership hated them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭C_Dawg

I found two sorta Viz annual type books in my big brothers room containing the first 20 issues of Viz. Some quality stuff indeed. Found a few other newer issues too. Gotta love Johnny Fartpants and Buster Gonad :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

I see Bill Clinton has been using these Top Tips.

"An empty aluminium cigar tube filled with angry wasps makes an inexpensive vibrator"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭hacx

It's awesome.

Theres a new copy of it, called "Poot!", featuring a ****ing tampon doing stupid ****. The height of unfunnyness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

TheZohan wrote: »
    The fake ads were the best, they were a great laugh.

"Raped? Burgled? Run over? Why not call the police" that was a classic

and this guy,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

A memorable letter:

"My wife and I have been trying for a child for some years without success. Imagine our great surprise when we found one outside Asda, complete with buggy and matching accessories. We are now trying for our second."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Jagera

Avoid paper cuts by carefully cutting off the sharp edges before handling.

Star Trek Captains : Think of the most unlikely solution to your problem and then try that first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Erren Music

I loved 8 ace, big vern, wife trader

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

I remember playing this years and years ago.

DEPRESSED people: Instead of attempting suicide as a 'cry for help', simply shout 'Help!' thus saving money on paracetamol, etc.

EMPLOYERS: Avoid hiring unlucky people by immediately tossing half the CVs into the bin.

El Weirdo wrote: »

Minor skin grafts can be performed on pigs by covering any cuts and grazes with thin strips of bacon.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Love the Viz comic. My fave strip is the Drunken Bakers. The humor is that particular cartoon is quite dark.

Major Misunderstanding is another favourite of mine. He's a senile right-wing prudish conservative who constantly mistakes one situation for another. In one episode he mistook a kid with a Guy Fawkes doll in a pram for a scrounging single mother. In another one he mistakes a Scarecrow for an anti-hunt protestor. Brill stuff:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Major Misunderstanding is good. And Mrs Grady the Old Lady :pac:
    Suicidal Sid is another one.

Mrs Brady-Old Lady is very funny, especially when she's harping on about her medical conditions or her late Husband Sydney, "Eeh, my Sydney hated bag tea, he said you could taste the paper. If I gave my Sydney bag tea instead of leaf tea he would hop the teapot off the wall. And burn me with his Woodbines."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Also Finbarr Saunders and his Double Entendres!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I loved Norbet Colon..the miser..he goes to his cupbaord for something to eat and discovers "nothing but a few mouse droppings"...the next frame we see him pushing away a plate,plainly full and uttering "Filling,and economical to boot"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

drunken bakers, major misunderstanding, and buster gonad are brilliant. the one off strips can be hilarious too, there was one a few months ago called 'scum mothers who's 'av em'. it was about an alco mother that was brought out for her birthday and ended up being arrested after starting a fight in a indian resteraunt. it was hilarious.
    profanosaurus is my way of talking too

Degsy wrote: »
    I loved Norbet Colon..the miser..he goes to his cupbaord for something to eat and discovers "nothing but a few mouse droppings"...the next frame we see him pushing away a plate,plainly full and uttering "Filling,and economical to boot"!

I've seen the one where he's looking forward to a toungue sandwich but he's too mean to buy some tongue so he just cuts off his own tongue with a scissors and sticks it between two slices of bread.

In another episode he can't afford a pair of boots so he cuts off his own feet and sells them to the local Cornish pasty factory so he could make enough cash to buy the boots:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

drunken bakers

forgot to mention 8 ace and meddlesome ratbag

I've seen the one where he's looking forward to a toungue sandwich but he's too mean to buy some tongue so he just cuts off his own tongue with a scissors and sticks it between two slices of bread.

In another episode he can't afford a pair of boots so he cuts off his own feet and sells them to the local Cornish pasty factory so he could make enough cash to buy the boots:confused:

He arrives at his relatives house for christmas,is told to help himself so he bundles up all the food in a tablecloth and announces it'll last hm for months.
    The host then suggest adjourning to the livingroom wherupon norbert says "Can i have the chair by the fire"...next frame we see him pushing the chair home through the snow piled up with stuff he's nicked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Sid the Sexist and 8 Ace have always been my favourites. They're done some fantastic 'true life' photo strip stories too, and Jack Black & his dog Silver always seem to get into great extreme right-wing reactionary fixes too. :D

Melodeon wrote: »
    Sid the Sexist and 8 Ace have always been my favourites. They're done some fantastic 'true life' photo strip stories too, and Jack Black & his dog Silver always seem to get into great extreme right-wing reactionary fixes too. :D

8 Ace is brill. I remember one strip where he spilled his can of Ace into the grass. He then dug up the sod of grass and mud with his hands and started sucking the Ace out of it:eek:

Jack Black, I also remember when he managed to expose a visitor to the village as a Muslim terrorist after he got suspicious when he found out the visitor read the Guardian instead of the Daily Mail.

he likewise got a legless old man sent to prison for copyright theft.
    The man had photocopied the details,from a newspaper of the plane crash in which he lost both his legs.."Take this legless copyright thief to prison,constable,the smell is making me sick"

Degsy wrote: »
    he likewise got a legless old man sent to prison for copyright theft.
    The man had photocopied the details,from a newspaper of the plane crash in which he lost both his legs.."Take this legless copyright thief to prison,constable,the smell is making me sick"

Jeesus:D

I remember another one when he got a cafe owner arrested at Christmas time using an obscure tax law. The cafe owner was giving out free soup to the homeless, which Jack and the people of the village objected to ("If yougive homeless people anything free they'll keep coming back. They're a nuisance, like pigeons").
    The pot he used to make the soup was used by his business and the cafe owner applied for tax back on the purchase of it. Jack found out that by using the pot for an activity outside the business the cafe owner defrauded Her Majesty's Government of a sum no greater than £1.65.
    The cafe owner got chucked into jail for his troubles ("There's no soup where you're going, only porridge").

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Not as funny as it used to be but still a good laugh.