Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are Local Garda Committed to our Community

• 20-03-2010 10:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭

What's your view of your local Garda's presence , Do you feel you can call on them if your been Victimised / harassed or being bullied by a neighbour/s. Say your broken into, or your car has being interfered with, or maybe damaged while outside your home? Strange things happening around your home when your out, you know someone's been in your back garden. Do you feel confident enough to call on the Garda if you feel you need them. Or would you just not bother them and try and sort it yourself?

Any advice you can pass on would be good to listen to....!
    What experiences have you had ?, Were they there for you? Or if not, how did you deal with it, how did it work out for you?

Thanks for any in put in advance...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Xinkai

Garda? You mean the guys who are supposed to bring authority to your local area? Didn't know they existed in todays day & age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

No. they're eatin' doughnuts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

TBH there's been a million threads about this

They are very under-resourced so until such time as they are not they wont be great for the local community.
    In the circumstances they do a pretty good job, there's a few pr1cks but there is in every organisation

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

Yes, I have called on them. They were there immediately for an emergency, and came after a couple of hours for a non-emergency. They were fine.

I like to see them on patrol around the place, and will greet them if I'm passing. But then I'm not 'known to the Gardai'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Guards in my area are useless... Called them lots of times "ah we can't do much about that", but there's a man beating the shít out of a woman while driving "yea it's a domestic disbute, we can't do anything about that..." I mean, WTF?

I get more trouble from them myself for stupid crap. Some of them are just not good at their job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

From my experiences i find the police force in this country terrible. Have had a few dealings with them personally and they seemed very amatuer and more like the local butcher doing the garda thing as a part time gig. And from living in Finglas i have seen them being bullied and pushed back out of areas by gangs of 14 year olds. I know the justice system isn't great here so they aren't backed up by tough sentencing. So maybe there's a lack of motivation or adequate training provided. For a small country the crime here is unbelievable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Under staffed, under supported, under appreciated and out numbered by the criminals.
    Are they committed to the community?
    When a member of the Garda is sworn in, they make a promise to serve the public no matter what "community" they are in - and thats despite all the crap they are up against!

I have no beef with them and the vast, vast majority of them have my respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

while walking past the garda station in tallaght on tuesday, i saw the sign(metal council signpost) for the civic theatre which had been ripped down over night and thrown in a bush at the side of the street(beside the garda station and 500 meters from the theatre itself)..2 guards were walking past the sign at the same time as me and we all had a look at the sign in the bush..while standing there i fully expected the garda to pick the sign up and either bring it to the station or the theatre but no....the guard takes out his mobile phone and says to his co-worker that he just recived a text with some tips for the racing (cheltenham)...the two clowns then away form the scene over toward paddy powers...
    a disgrace to the uniform..

Nozebleed wrote: »
    while walking past the garda station in tallaght on tuesday, i saw the sign (metal council signpost) for the civic theatre which had been ripped down over night...
    ...and instead of expecting them to pick it up, you did instead eventually?
    A plumber, a carpenter, a nurse, a fireperson could pass by - would you expect any of those to pick it up too or were you just waiting for the whole world to do it?
    Aaa no, lets say its the Garda's duty to pick it up for thats his/her job (litter warden?)! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I live in a small rural village. The station is manned only a few days every month & the guards rarely, if ever do patrols in the area. I'm sure this is down to funding, but when they do come to the village, it's for one of two things - to kick people out of the pubs after closing has passed & to do checkpoints for drink driving.

I've no problem with that, except that they do the breath testing at stupid times (usually afternoons) & at a spot in the village where, no matter which direction you are coming from, you can see them a mile off & take an alternative route to avoid them if you so choose.

I don't blame the Guards themselves, as I'm sure they've targets to meet on checkpoints & pub raids done in each area, but this just prevents them from doing real community policing & achieves very little indeed.

Biggins wrote: »
    ...and instead of expecting them to pick it up, you did instead eventually?
    A plumber, a carpenter, a nurse, a fireperson could pass by - would you expect any of those to pick it up too or were you just waiting for the whole world to do it?
    Aaa no, lets say its the Garda's duty to pick it up for thats his/her job (litter warden?)! :rolleyes:

yeah that would make sense wouldn;t it....there i am walking down the street with the sign for the civic theatre...whaen all out of nowhere another retarded garda pulls me up to say what am i doing with sign from the civic theatre...of course the garda supposed to pick it up...its his fcukin job to serve the public, retrieve stolen property etc.... Im not a member of the gardai...im not gona pick it up...when tow of these fools are standing there looking at it...you twit.

"Serve the public"

What are you expecting? him/her to "serve" you up cups of tea next for fcuks sake?
    Their role is to "protect" so unless some twat has picked up the sign and is going to hit you on the head with it and knock sense into you, the government and state (not to mind the unions!) would prefer they not become automatic rubbish collectors!

Jeasus, some people are unreal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Tail Wagger

while walking past the garda station in tallaght on tuesday, i saw the sign(metal council signpost) for the civic theatre which had been ripped down over night and thrown in a bush at the side of the street(beside the garda station and 500 meters from the theatre itself)..2 guards were walking past the sign at the same time as me and we all had a look at the sign in the bush..while standing there i fully expected the garda to pick the sign up and either bring it to the station or the theatre but no....the guard takes out his mobile phone and says to his co-worker that he just recived a text with some tips for the racing (cheltenham)...the two clowns then away form the scene over toward paddy powers...
    a disgrace to the uniform..

So did they win a few bob?
    Or are they looking into that to? the bush I mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

My local Garda lives right next door to me..
    So yes i feel safe in my house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

I think they need to be armed better. At the moment they are simply not a deterent for a lot of scumbags. If would male sure they are all armed with non lethal taser guns. It would hopefully strike a bit of fear in to scum bags.

"Serve the public"

What are you expecting? him/her to "serve" you up cups of tea next for fcuks sake?
    Their role is to "protect" so unless some twat has picked up the sign and is going to hit you on the head with it and knock sense into you, the government and state (not to mind the unions!) would prefer they not become automatic rubbish collectors!

The gardai's role is to serve their community..thats what they're paid to do..if tea has to be made...tea has to be made..but they can pick the fcukin rubbish up aswell..especially when it's property of the local council within which they work. if a garda has no regard/respect for the area where they work why the fcuk should i have respect for the garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Nick_oliveri

Mrmoe wrote: »
    I think they need to be armed better. At the moment they are simply not a deterent for a lot of scumbags. If would male sure they are all armed with non lethal taser guns. It would hopefully strike a bit of fear in to scum bags.

Yeah, beacause tazers scare scumbags.... I'm sure in many areas that the gardaí knock ****e out of scummers all the time. It doesn't work.

Is the scummer going to be thinking about the tazer when he's assaulting someone with his scumbag friends? Is he going to be thinking about it robbing old women, terrorizing neighbourhoods or torturing animals?

There is no real cure. The best thing is to take these halfwits away from their comfort zones altogether, their friends and their neighbourhoods. After that, who really gives a crap where they go?

Anything further I could say would be "illegal".

The gardai's role is to serve their community..thats what they're paid to do..if tea has to be made...tea has to be made..but they can pick the fcukin rubbish up aswell..especially when it's property of the local council within which they work. if a garda has no regard/respect for the area where they work why the fcuk should i have respect for the garda.
    If you had any respect for the place you were in and/or walking, you might do the same except for looking around at rubbish and listening in on others phone conversations.
    ...But no, we can go on the internet, bitch and moan about a group of folk one clearly has a chip on the shoulder about and feck it, if anyone disagrees, hell, lets call them twits too!

Your a lovely person - and you know what, if you were still in trouble on the street, they still would do their best to protect you - thats if your appointment of them as rubbish collectors don't interfere with their official role and duty in the meanwhile!

If you had any respect for the place you were in and/or walking, you might do the same except for looking around at rubbish and listening in on others phone conversations.
    ...But no, we can go on the internet, bitch and moan about a group of folk one clearly has a chip on the shoulder about and feck it, if anyone disagrees, hell, lets call them twits too!

Your a lovely person.

you obviously spend too much time on the internet..9000+ posts. im not surprised you dont know what's expected of a garda out in the real world. or maybe you're a gurad. either way i dont give a shi.t. cy'a bud.

Yea, good rebuttal.
    Go back to school, learn a bit of kop-on and grow up.

If you gave the Gardai guns, they'd probably shoot themselves in the foot (literally!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Yeah, beacause tazers scare scumbags.... I'm sure in many areas that the gardaí knock ****e out of scummers all the time. It doesn't work.

Is the scummer going to be thinking about the tazer when he's assaulting someone with his scumbag friends? Is he going to be thinking about it robbing old women, terrorizing neighbourhoods or torturing animals?

There is no real cure. The best thing is to take these halfwits away from their comfort zones altogether, their friends and their neighbourhoods. After that, who really gives a crap where they go?

Anything further I could say would be "illegal".

I would love to give them a lot more power but I know people would object to it and you know that some would abuse those powers. I think it would help reduce any assaults on Gardai. They have no fear now but hopefully a few thousand volts coursing through their bodies might teach them a lesson eventually. It will not solve all the problems but it is a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

yeah that would make sense wouldn;t it....there i am walking down the street with the sign for the civic theatre...whaen all out of nowhere another retarded garda pulls me up to say what am i doing with sign from the civic theatre...of course the garda supposed to pick it up...its his fcukin job to serve the public..

True, but if they picked up the rubbish, then the litter wardens would be out of a job.
    Isn't there enough jobless people atm.
    Im not a member of the gardai...im not gona pick it up...when tow of these fools are standing there looking at it...you twit.

Watch it!
    "Serve the public"

True, but can we leave it there.

Absolutely. Moved on already. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭mail4liam

Well to be honest, I'd hate to have anything to do with them.
    I never done anything in my life for to attract their attention, but I know people who dealt with them{ like the threader explained} and got no good from them at all.
    I know the world is changing, but unfortunatly their the first people we call when things go wrong? Give them 5/10

If you gave the Gardai guns, they'd probably shoot themselves in the foot (literally!).

I have a big chip here, I think it fell off your shoulder :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭dammitjanet

Anytime I've call the Gardai in Bray they've turned up an the fastest an hour later, they don't fill me with confidence
    Though i suppose that is Bray, they've enough on their plates....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

It's probably the most thankless job going, and some of the most recent corruption cases didn't do them any favours. But I'd say some of the corruption probably stems as much from irish society than the organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

So, has anyone told the theatre where their sign is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Anytime I've call the Gardai in Bray they've turned up an the fastest an hour later, they don't fill me with confidence
    Though i suppose that is Bray, they've enough on their plates....

Out of curiosity what were you calling them about? Unless it was a serious crime that needed to be prevented urgently (assualt, robbery, vandalism etc) I'd expect more than a hour considering how understaffed they are.

Victor wrote: »
    So, has anyone told the theatre where their sign is?

I was meaning to, but I couldn't find the place.

You'd think there would be a sign or something.

Do you think someone took it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Its the light roofed place on this image http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=tallaght&sll=53.287064,-6.365075&sspn=0.004823,0.011587&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Tallaght,+County+South+Dublin,+Ireland&ll=53.288237,-6.373218&spn=0.002572,0.009892&t=k&z=17

Its between the shopping centre, Luas stop and council offices.

You'd think there would be a sign or something.

Do you think someone took it?

I don't know. I stopped a Garda & asked him - he didn't know either. Gave me a good tip on Cheltenham though.

Fair cop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭dammitjanet

RMD wrote: »
    Out of curiosity what were you calling them about? Unless it was a serious crime that needed to be prevented urgently (assualt, robbery, vandalism etc) I'd expect more than a hour considering how understaffed they are.

One time was a load of lads broke into my OH's parents garden and nicked the security cameras. We were in the house watching as this was happening! While we were waiting my OH and his brother in laws went out and scared them off. Gardai turned up and hour and a half later. Meh, not a big deal but you wonder what would have happened if there hadn't been three big lads in the house.

The last time I was shocked at their response time. I was driving home around bray main street about a year ago and a woman ran out in front of my car screaming. She'd been walking home and a guy grabbed her and tryed to make her give him a BJ, she managed to get away, minus her bag and coat, but ran straight out in front of a car and got knocked down and the guy drove off! (granted i suppose the condition she was in, the driver was probably scared she was off her head)I called for an ambulence and the Gardai and tried to calm her down (her whole left side was swollen and cut). The ambulence arrived after about 40 minutes, the gardai arrived after an hour! (station being only 10minutes away!)
    Nither of these are like being held at gunpoint or anything like that, but i was just suprised at how long it took

No

From http://www.breakingnews.ie/archives/2010/0126/ireland/report-recommends-better-allocation-of-garda-resources-443575.html

A new report is recommending a shake-up of garda rosters that would see more boys in blue on the beat.

The sixth report by the Garda Inspectorate has made 27 recommendations aimed at better resource allocation and deployment in the force.

The report recommends the introduction of a nationwide IT-based human resource system to manage rosters, overtime and leave.

"Leading police services elsewhere in the world are organising deployments to meet daily and hourly fluctuations in demand for service," a statement from the Inspectorate said. "The Garda Síochána must do the same."

"The research undertaken by the Garda Inspectorate reveals there is often a disconnect between the demand for police services and the number of gardaí on duty.

"Today, more than ever, public agencies, including the Garda Síochána, must adopt modern approaches to resource allocation."

The head of the Garda Inspectorate Kathleen O'Toole said rosters were last negotiated in the 1970s and will have to change.

The report's recommendations have been welcomed by Justice Minister Dermot Ahern.

"This report is all about the core service of the Garda Síochána - in particular uniformed Gardaí patrolling our streets and communities," Minister Ahern said.

"I welcome the recommendations of the Inspectorate which aim to improve the service to the public and the working conditions of frontline gardaí.

"The Garda Commissioner is preparing to implement a range of improvements to resource allocation systems and I will work with him and all concerned to deliver an even better policing service for communities across the country."

The Garda Representative Association however said it won't cooperate with any attempts to change the force's roster system.

GRA President Michael O'Boyce said roster changes were part of the talks process which collapsed before December's Budget.

"The only place these discussions can take place is within the conciliation and arbitration system that we have," said Mr O'Boyce.

"That has been made redundant by the actions of the Government and until that is resurrected or rejuvenated such discussions simply can't take place."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I called the Gardai because some young lads had started egging my house. Now i didn't expect a prompt response as it was hardly an emergency.

They arrived an hour later, came in, had tea. Had a bit of a chat about who I thought it might be and left.

Next day they turn up at my door to "Check on me", in for more tea and one of them asks me for my mobile number.

Other than the gob****es in the story about I have respect for most of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The road I live across from was a complete no go zone for a few years due the scumbag element. I know people who live there and they couldn't leave their flats at night for fear of the scumbags, assaults,windows and properties destroyed, joyriding, big gangs of scummers out all night roaring and drinking.

TBH when the gardai occasionally showed up they were just laughed at, I saw scummers dropping their cacks at the gardai and they just got back in their patrol cars and hightailed it out of there.

Something however over the last few weeks changed, there is a garda presence on that road nearly all the time now. As soon as scumbags start loitering they are moved on in no uncertain manner, and if they try to get stroppy a paddy wagon and back up arrives ASAP. The difference in the area is amazing. Now, a part of me says this should have happened a year ago but at the same time fair play to the gardai for tackling it head on and hopefully they'll keep it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

TBH there's been a million threads about this

They are very under-resourced so until such time as they are not they wont be great for the local community.
    In the circumstances they do a pretty good job, there's a few pr1cks but there is in every organisation

/thread

they are not under resourced , its just that like in almost every area of the public sector , all the investment goes on wages

as for my experience in dealing with them , ive found the force to be full of politics , how willing they are to help depends on who is doing the asking and who is being complained about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

What's your view of your local Garda's presence , Do you feel you can call on them if your been Victimised / harassed or being bullied by a neighbour/s.

From my experience growing up the local Gardaí were the ones carrying out most of the victimisation / harassment and bullying.

irishh_bob wrote: »
    they are not under resourced , its just that like in almost every area of the public sector , all the investment goes on wages...
    Really!!!
    Last year alone!

30hlgts.jpg

But don't worry, they are only actual facts reported by the media, a couple of Garda associations and state departments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭heffomike54

This tread asks if local gardai are committed to our community, how can they be when most of the time the community doesn't support them?

People are complaining about response times & stuff but if you really want to improve the service you get from the Gardai, call them every time you see someone breaking the law or acting suspicious and wait till you see how much you see them in your area. By way the way some great points made in this tread.:)

Oh if you don't think the Gardai are underfunded check out the cars they are driving and the buildings they are working out of, rubbish through and through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

For a small country the crime here is unbelievable.
    It isn't, there's very little crime in Ireland. It's 20.2 crimes per 1,000 people, compared to 85 for the UK, 80 for the US, 76 for Germany, 36 for Switzerland. http://www.nationmaster.com/graph/cri_tot_cri_percap-crime-total-crimes-per-capita

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

goose2005 wrote: »
    It isn't, there's very little crime in Ireland. It's 20.2 crimes per 1,000 people, compared to 85 for the UK, 80 for the US, 76 for Germany, 36 for Switzerland. http://www.nationmaster.com/graph/cri_tot_cri_percap-crime-total-crimes-per-capita
    Thats for reported crime.

Alot of crime goes unreported in Ireland because the Gards dont give a **** and take two days to turn up after a burglary. Too busy eating doughnuts I suppose.

Those figures should be doubled or even trebled.

Stojkovic wrote: »
    Thats for reported crime.

Alot of crime goes unreported in Ireland because the Gards dont give a **** and take two days to turn up after a burglary. Too busy eating doughnuts I suppose.

Those figures should be doubled or even trebled.

Well if its unreported how can you really tell how much there is??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

Well if its unreported how can you really tell how much there is??
    Rule of thumb - double it.

Stojkovic wrote: »
    Rule of thumb - double it.

hardly reliable in fairness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Doll Parts

I had a brand new bmx bike stolen from outside my house, at the start of Feb.. rang the guards as soon as I came home, said they'd be right around, turned up the next morning. When they did show up they actually made me feel quite good and they seemed quite positive it would show up. I asked them the following day to check cctv footage from the place across from me and the woman i was dealing with actually said "wow, that's a great idea"... I got a phone call from her a couple of weeks ago telling me they'd spotted my bike at 10am up by the new court/phoenix park, but were unable to turn around and get it for me... they then told me to go to smithfield and cabra garda stations and report it to them instead cos it was seen in their district, so basically passed it off to them...and ALSO told me that it would be good if i was ever around the area that it was seen, to keep an eye out myself as I might see someone on it... great advice.