Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Planter Fasciitis - so frustrating.....

• 19-03-2010 3:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭

Hey folks. I don't post in this section at all, but I've got a bit of a problem and I'd be interested in some suggestions.

Recently I've been told that I have a condition called planter fasciitis. For those who don't know, it's basically the muscle running from my heel to my toes on the bottom of my right foot is over-stretched and damaged, creating a very sore/tender spot on my heel, where it's also rubbing against a small bony spur on the heel. So as a result I'm walking funny to avoid the pain, and pulling ligaments and muscles in the base of my foot and my ankle.

I've been through physios etc, and am waiting on orthotics. So we'll be working on it when I get them, hopefully in the next couple of weeks.

Anyway, my question is this. I'm not a huge runner, but I used to run a bit (I really mean a bit!!) a couple of times a week, and swim. Enough to keep a level of fitness up. My running is limited due to a bad knee, but I could run, and enjoyed it. Since this problem with my foot, I really can't. Also I work in a job where I walk miles every day (site engineer), which aggravates my foot even further. By the time I get home, I can't even go for a walk to clear my head, I'm in that much pain.

So I'm thinking I need to go back to the gym a bit and try and do something a little lighter on my foot there. I need to lose about 8lbs, that have piled on since I stopped running about 8 months ago. Has anyone any suggestions as to what I possibly could do? I'm really hoping the orthotics help me out because this is really getting me down, and I'm finding it very frustrating. I'd also love to hear if there's anyone out there that has had this problem and got through it - I'm finding it hard and feeling a bit sorry for myself at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭EileenG

Been there, done that, still get it.

Orthotics will help, also consistent stretching. I keep rubber tubing beside the bed so I can do a couple of quick stretches before that first painful step in the morning. Freeze a water bottle, then roll your foot over it to ice and massage at the same time. Rolling a small ball (golf or tennis) under your foot with as much pressure as you can bear may help.

Make sure any shoes you wear have plenty of protection for the bottom of your feet. I'm getting on pretty well with the Bounce ones.

However, I'd also had three injections in the sole of my feet, which work brilliantly but don't last forever. The injection is not fun, and you will have a very very sore foot for about three days, then you'll be pain-free for about three months.

Exercise: Cycling is the way to go. You can do really high intensity workouts on a bike without hurting your foot at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

You have my total sympathy! I had that last year and it was the most annoying fecking injury I've ever had! I was lucky enough though, it only took 2 trips to the physio and a fair bit of stretching in between for it to ease up. I also got a heel wedge for my shoe which helped alot, did you get one of those? You can pick one up in the chemist even. The important thing to remember is it WILL get better, mine was grand after 3 or 4 weeks - although I know it can take a fair bit longer in some cases. As for the gym, I'm sure there are some things you can still do - why don't you just try the bike or something like that? That's not going to put any pressure on it.

Chin up! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

Plantar fasciitis is really unpleasant. Don't underestimate the need to keep stretching and make sure you're holding it long enough.

Also make sure you have good runners as well as the orthotics. Cycling as already mentioned won't bother it. Unfortunately anything where you are weight bearing is likely to exacerbate it until you have it under control. I'd wait until you have the orthotics.

Don't go to the gym first thing in the morning either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Waffle

Ya, got it a few years ago and still have it to a certain extent. Went to two different physios, six sessions each with not much improvement. Got orthotics which helped a lot (eventually! wear them in very very gradually).
    I don't jog anymore, but play a bit of five-a-side. I find that if I'm half hearted doing my calf stretching, then I'm in agony after 10 minutes.
    Edit: Best of luck, btw :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

Golfball stretch tends to be the best for people who find calf stretching too painful at first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

hurt mine there recently, couldnt walk for 3 days, still get the odd bit of pain, good luck with it man

G86 wrote: »
    The important thing to remember is it WILL get better, mine was grand after 3 or 4 weeks - although I know it can take a fair bit longer in some cases.

Chin up! :)

To be honest, I'm not sure this is true. If it gets bad enough, it stays bad and even religious stretching/orthotics etc only give partial relief. I suppose in theory rest would fix it, but no-one can stay off their feet for long enough for that to work.

Oddly, the one time I'm never bothered by it is when I'm skiing. Don't know if it's spending six hours a day with calves in a stretch position or the totally rigid soles, but that skiing is pain free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭cc87

I dont really know if this is effective but apparently walking or running barefoot 2/3 times a week can help with planter fasciitis.

I cant for the life of me remember the name of the book it was in, but it spoke about how athletes are recommended to run barefoot as part of training as the whole thing about orthotics and insoles is that they tend to provide too much support for the arch of your foot and as the best way to weaken any arch is from beneath this leads to problems such as planter fasciitis or fallen arches. It was Ger Hartmann that the book spoke about in terms of him using it with his athletes.

Obviously im not suggesting the OP go hell for leather barefoot running or anything like that, just thought it was interesting point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

Thanks for all the responses guys, it's good to know I'm not the only one!!

The physio held off casting me for orthotics for a couple of weeks to try a couple of other options, but we've gone for that now, as keeping the weight off the sore spot seems to help a lot. She's been very clear all along that this may not heal at all, at best I'll have to learn to manage it.

I think I'll hold off the barefoot approach.....it's sore to even walk around the house in bare soles especially after a day at work. But thanks for the suggestion!

Funnily enough I was skiing in February, and it's probably the most pain free week I've had since I did this. I was worried that it might be a problem, but thinking about it, your weight should be on your toes when you're skiing anyway, not your heels. Also I've my own boots which are moulded to my feet, so I was essentially in boots with the correct insole in them, as they are moulded to the shape of my foot as it was when I bought them 5 years ago. It was nice!!!!

Anyway, cycling seems to be the way to go so. I do swim aswell, but it's just something for a bit of variety. It's tough to think I'll essentially have to rule out weight bearing sports though. Also can't help thinking if I had a job where i wasn't on my feet all day, at least I'd have a chance to try and heal, but unfortunately that isn't the case. It's pretty bad at the moment, it swells a lot after a day on site.

thanks for making me feel better though!

That reminds me, another thing which may help is jumping barefoot on a trampoline or trampette. Similar principle to walking barefoot in sand.

You can still do weight training. As long as your foot placement is good, you can squat and deadlift as heavy as you like without setting off the PF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jinka

Sorry to hear you have this and hopefully it will heal up. I'm worried I have it now. My foot is sore since the Rathfarnham 5k on and off. It's the heel only. Was wondering if it was a bruised heel though. I ran the race without my orthothics and I think that was the problem.

When you have a level of fitness and used to getting out it can be very hard. Cycling is great and coming into the right time of year too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

I suffered from this from August 2009 for weeks. Two physios later and still no improvement. I was playing field hockey at the time and I had to give it up for good. It was sore when I ran on it but there were nights I barely slept with the pain. ......And the mornings Agh!

I stopped playing sport. I took out my bike from the garage (after 8 years!) and started cycling as much as possible. I decided to go back to the gym after a few weeks to do weights and the gym instructor told me to try out the cross-trainer. The cross-trainer worked really well, because there was no impact on the sole of the foot.

I hadn't done any running anywhere up until 7 weeks ago. I decided to try out the Couch 2 5k program which would really ease me in to running again, so if I felt any twinges I could stop before I did any major damage again. I'm on Week 7 now. I can run for 25 mins or 4k and not a twinge! I'm pretty amazed as I thought my running days were over for good a year and a half ago!

Runners are important as well. The runners I wore for hockey were made for grip on on astro turf pitch - hardly any support or bounce at all. I now wear Asics Kayanos. They really suit my foot.

I'm not a high-heels type of girl. I'd wear them occasionally but when I was suffering with plantar fascitis they gave me great comfort!!! :)

I hope you get over this soon. Try the cross-trainer or cycling, patience, good runners and gradually build up again! Good luck :)

Right that's it-i'm getting the high heels out-got a pair with a steel toe in a 10?!

Actually, I was in TK Maxx recently and saw lots of lady's shoes, with heels, in size 10, 11 and 12. For once, I had to put shoes back because they were too big for me.

jinka wrote: »
    Right that's it-i'm getting the high heels out-got a pair with a steel toe in a 10?!

lol! for some reason I thought you were a woman! :D

And for the reckon I'm not suggesting high heels will cure plantar fascitis!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

Thanks again all.

I tried a bit of running today, because well, I just couldn't sit still. It actually wasn't too bad - my knee was the bigger problem, but that's a whole other issue...but I'm feeling a lot of throbbing now. I did take it very gently, and Ive no plans to try again soon, but it was good while it lasted!

Used the suggestion of freezing a water bottle and running it under my foot afterwards, as well as a lot of stretching. It definitely helped. I tried a cross trainer yesterday, and felt my weight was on my heels a lot. I'm pretty sure it wasn't set properly, so I'll be looking for help with that one when I'm back at the gym again!

I have decent runners, and I put insoles into them - at the moment I'm using dr Scholl ones for heel pain...they are shaped to make your foot land in the correct position, and to relieve the pain of this problem. They're okay, very well cushioned.They'll do until I get the orthotics!

thanks again for the suggestions folks.....

dan_d wrote: »
    Thanks again all.

I tried a bit of running today, because well, I just couldn't sit still. It actually wasn't too bad - my knee was the bigger problem, but that's a whole other issue...but I'm feeling a lot of throbbing now. I did take it very gently, and Ive no plans to try again soon, but it was good while it lasted!

Used the suggestion of freezing a water bottle and running it under my foot afterwards, as well as a lot of stretching. It definitely helped. I tried a cross trainer yesterday, and felt my weight was on my heels a lot. I'm pretty sure it wasn't set properly, so I'll be looking for help with that one when I'm back at the gym again!

I have decent runners, and I put insoles into them - at the moment I'm using dr Scholl ones for heel pain...they are shaped to make your foot land in the correct position, and to relieve the pain of this problem. They're okay, very well cushioned.They'll do until I get the orthotics!

thanks again for the suggestions folks.....

The knee problem could be related to your heel injury. When I got physio, they eventually worked out that all my injuries related back to a torn ligament injury from 18 years ago! I had unconsiously trained myself to walk and run a certain way to take the pressure off the injured ankle. I completely unalligned (if thats a word!) most of my joints as a result from my toes to my thigh. 18 years later the wear and tear has begun to show!

dolliemix wrote: »
    lol! for some reason I thought you were a woman! :D

And for the reckon I'm not suggesting high heels will cure plantar fascitis!

I'd be some woman with size 10 feet-now that would be scary meeting a woman with bigger feet.:P

I'm very close to that. Glad I scare you....

Are your hubbys bigger ?:D

jinka wrote: »
    Are your hubbys bigger ?:D

No, but his have steel toecaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭who what when

I have to say im something of an expert on the old planter fasciitis since getting it over a year ago. Such a horrible injury! Theres a very simple 3 step cure which i garauntee will get rid of it in about 6-8 weeks.

1 (and most importantly) ICE. Whenever you feel any pain whatsoever in your heel apply ice for ten or so minutes. Early on its going to be difficult as it may be 8 or 10 times per day but this is the key!

2 Stretching. Stretch constantly. For both the calf and achilles. Any time you have 5 mins, stretch.

3 Insoles, these are more of a prevention rather than cure but are necessary to keep it from coming back.

Unfortunately you will have 2 give up running until its gone but dont worry about walking. Providing you apply the above steps you wont find even a lot of walking difficult. Hope this helps

I have to say im something of an expert on the old planter fasciitis since getting it over a year ago. Such a horrible injury! Theres a very simple 3 step cure which i garauntee will get rid of it in about 6-8 weeks.

1 (and most importantly) ICE. Whenever you feel any pain whatsoever in your heel apply ice for ten or so minutes. Early on its going to be difficult as it may be 8 or 10 times per day but this is the key!

2 Stretching. Stretch constantly. For both the calf and achilles. Any time you have 5 mins, stretch.

3 Insoles, these are more of a prevention rather than cure but are necessary to keep it from coming back.

Unfortunately you will have 2 give up running until its gone but dont worry about walking. Providing you apply the above steps you wont find even a lot of walking difficult. Hope this helps

How you do ice before you get out of bed? It's always first thing in the morning that it's really appalling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭who what when

EileenG wrote: »
    How you do ice before you get out of bed? It's always first thing in the morning that it's really appalling.

Hmmm i'll give you the benifit of the doubt here and presume youre asking a genuine question. Ok for me i usually worked it in this order;
    Feel pain - apply ice - resume daily routine - repeat as often as necessary.

Personally i never felt any pain whilst asleep, it was normally once i woke up. Always found an ice pack under my foot whilst eating cornflakes did the trick.

Also kept an ice pack in freezer in work and once or twice had to call into a shop for frozen peas or such whilst on the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭tankbarry

Ive just paid 289 for insoles. getting them off Foot Solutions was impressed by the way they dealt with me when I was there and I felt like they knew what they were doing..... Hopefully they will get rid of my pains in knee, hip, shins and back.... I really hate having to start from scratch all the time I want to be fit all the time now.... I got my fitness up to about 12 to 13 miles I was happy with that considering I was at 2 miles when I started.... this injury is a nightmare.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭leopardus

I would suggest, based on whats worked for me, looking into barefoot running. I also bought a pair of "vibram fivefingers" (the KSO model) and I absolutely love them. Have had no knee pain since starting. It was initially a killer on my calves but stretching and foam rolling sorted that out.
    Check out the following links:

http://barefootrunning.fas.harvard.edu/index.html
    The two papers on this site are particularly interesting.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7jrnj-7YKZE
    A 'Nature' video about the same research.

http://www.vibramfivefingers.com/index.cfm
    Vibram FF website. Look at sizing guide if your interested. They're fairly good with exchanging sizes too. Much cheaper in the U.S. though and fairly widely available there.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/science/6968891/Why-expensive-trainers-could-be-worse-than-useless.html

http://www.elsevier.com/wps/find/authored_newsitem.cws_home/companynews05_01399

Good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 deirdreheg

Hi Dan

Well I have been suffering with pf and heel spurs for 3 years now. I had the orthotics made cost €300 and without them i can hardly walk. icing is so important, but putting your feet for 3 mins in to iced water then out then in. I go to physio as when it gets bad she also does acupunture and it does help. I would suggest that you join VHI silversteps or Gold steps at €15 per month, as you get €25 per physio back up to 7 and you will use it , as well as gp's I did go to the laser centre in hume street and got relief in one not in the other but it is worth a go, i got back €60 from that, so already have my annual cost refunded, they refund with in two weeks so it helps with the medical expenses and the balance you can claim back on your med 1 form in January.

The orthotics will help no end best of luck