Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you go to an event on your own?

• 18-03-2010 3:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭

Ok, here is a question for ye. I went to the cinema by myself before and I went to a event again by myself last night. The reason I went to the cinema by myself was it was one of the only times I could go without having to organise a baby sitter and none of my friends were available at that time of day. And my partner hated the prequel to that movie so I felt I would not ruin his day by making him go see it with me. I went to the event alone last night because everyone else wanted to go out for Paddy's day.

I am not bothered about doing things alone, but when I say this to my friends all I get back is "what, you went by yourself?" "Oh jesus, I would be too embarassed to go alone" etc.

So who here actually would go to something by themselves or would you force someone to go with you/miss the event?

Would you go to an event on your own? 146 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 146 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

ive no problem going to anything on my own if necessary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Teddy Chips

There is nothing wrong with going to the cinema on your own. I have done it many times, admittadly at early shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

went to see the crazies on my own as nobody I knew was interested in going to it and my wife was never going to get a babysitter to go and see it . .

I have gone to the cinema on my own in the past . . Whether its going to see a movie nobody else wants to see or going to a movie that I really enjoy again. Generally I will go with somebody (going to shutter Island tonite with the wife) but I dont see whats wrong with it . . I dont understand peolpe who have to have somebody with them . Im well able to enjoy my own company and for a movie you dont need somebody to talk to !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Depends on what the event is though.

You went to see that sparkly gay vampire movie right? You know you are lucky you still have an OH right? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Does masturbation count as 'an event' ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

There is nothing wrong with going to the cinema on your own. I have done it many times, admittadly at early shows.

I'd say 50% of the time I go to the cinema alone and that's usually around three times a week.

Wouldn't go alone at night though, would feel awkward.

I do prefer it though as less chance of someone rabbiting in your ear :p

Drumpot wrote: »
    I dont understand peolpe who have to have somebody with them . Im well able to enjoy my own company and for a movie you dont need somebody to talk to !!

yeah i struggle to understand that too. its not like you spend your time at a movie talking or anything

dont really understand the whole "oh id be embarrassed" thing. why on earth would anyone be embarrassed? do they think people care that theyre there on their own, or even notice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Have done. It's no bother really. Nicer to be with someone of course, but not everyone I know has the same taste or motivation as me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Few weeks back I was goin to a comedy gig after college and had about 5 hours free in the middle of the day so I went to Avatar on my own (****), back to college, then to the gig on my own. Was a fun day. Don't have to worry about anyone else. :)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Wouldn't with cinema, but I wouldn't be that bothered with cinema anyway, matches/gigs then yes, though I usually have someone to go with

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭anto2

I have gone to the Cinema many times alone ( day time only ) .I would not go to a play or concert alone though as it would feel weird for some reason .
    I often go to music pubs alone at night ,and feel ok about it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

If I want to do something I'll do it, I don't need anyones backup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I used to go to the cinema on my own plenty of times. Nothing wrong with it, if it's a film you want to see. These days, I'll generally go with friends and make a bit of a night out of it. It's a different experience really, if I'm on my own, it's just watching a film. If I'm with friends, we'll have a few pints beforehand and have a good chat, and a good chat afterwards as well.

WindSock wrote: »
    Have done. It's no bother really. Nicer to be with someone of course, but not everyone I know has the same taste or motivation as me.

Exactly, asking someone to go see a subtitled movie in the Lighthouse usually gets a: "Sure I'd fall asleep response.."

One thing I have noticed a lot the past few years actually is the amount of woman on their own at the flicks. I see way more women on their own that I do guys.

Also, women are far better behaved than men in the cinema.

They know how to whisper and keep their feet to themselves for a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I often go to the cinema on my own during the day.
    It's one of my favourite things to do.
    Don't have to listen to other people giving stupid remarks while the film is going and it's just me and the film.
    Fcuking love it.
    I honestly find it kind of irritating now when someone asks me what I'm doing and I say going to the cinema, they tag along and it's just not the same...

Don't think I would ever go to a gig or that on my own though.
    I think I'd probably feel like a bit of a tit.
    Not that there's anything wrong with it, I'd just feel odd doing it personally.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Gone on my own many times to events, functions and the cinema.
    Many times I was the better off for it. There was lesser others to wreck my head and I could view whatever without constant interruption.

anto2 wrote: »
    I have gone to the Cinema many times alone ( day time only ) .I would not go to a play or concert alone though as it would feel weird for some reason .
    I often go to music pubs alone at night ,and feel ok about it .

You'd feel awkward going to a play or concert alone but not a pub :eek:

I HATE being in a pub alone at night.

Often I have to meet friends in Whelans and while I'm in there waiting I feel quite self conscious. Girls thinks guys on their own are serial killers and men think you're Gay :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    I often go to the cinema on my own during the day.
    It's one of my favourite things to do.
    Don't have to listen to other people giving stupid remarks while the film is going and it's just me and the film.
    Fcuking love it.
    I honestly find it kind of irritating now when someone asks me what I'm doing and I say going to the cinema, they tag along and it's just not the same...

Don't think I would ever go to a gig or that on my own though.
    I think I'd probably feel like a bit of a tit.
    Not that there's anything wrong with it, I'd just feel odd doing it personally.

That's why I wouldn't go on my own, because I wouldn't be able to keep my stupid comments to myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

OutlawPete wrote: »
    ...Often I have to meet friends in Whelans and while I'm in there waiting I feel quite self conscious. Girls thinks guys on their own are serial killers and men think you're Gay :p

Just hide your "Womans Way" behind a lads mag!
    (I do!) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Spent 5 weeks wandering around Europe on my tod when I was 20, way back in 05. Best experience of my life so far and that involved museums, sites, the beach, gigs, pubs, restaurants etc.. on my own.

I appreciated the times when I got chatting to people and went clubbing with them or even travelled along with them for a few days but mostly I loved the solitude.

NothingMan wrote: »
    Spent 5 weeks wandering around Europe on my tod. Best experience of my life so far and that involved museums, sites, the beach, gigs, pubs, restaurants etc.. on my own.

I appreciated the times when I got chatting to people and went clubbing with them or even travelled along with them for a few days but mostly I loved the solitude.

i think everyone should do this tbh

it makes you realise that doing stuff on your own can be super fun, and frees you from the whole "i wanted to do so and so tonight but nobody wanted to come so im stuck doing nothing" thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Teddy Chips

Exactly, asking someone to go see a subtitled movie in the Lighthouse usually gets a: "Sure I'd fall asleep response.."
    Sounds like the response of an uncultured goon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

I've gone to cinema, concerts and football matches on my own, purely due to the fact that many of my peers do/would not like what I'm going to see. I prefer to have others with me, but if I have to, I will go on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

Does masturbation count as 'an event' ?

Depends how many poeple stay to watch...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭anto2

You'd feel awkward going to a play or concert alone but not a pub :eek:

I HATE being in a pub alone at night.

Often I have to meet friends in Whelans and while I'm in there waiting I feel quite self conscious. Girls thinks guys on their own are serial killers and men think you're Gay :p

I only go to music pubs alone at night and often end up getting into conversation with somebody .
    Some times i go into a pub juring the day for one pint but will have a paper or book to read .
    Now being in a relationship my nights out alone are very limited .

Spent 5 weeks wandering around Europe on my tod when I was 20, way back in 05. Best experience of my life so far and that involved museums, sites, the beach, gigs, pubs, restaurants etc.. on my own.
    Same as that, even in the same year.
    Helix wrote: »
    it makes you realise that doing stuff on your own can be super fun, and frees you from the whole "i wanted to do so and so tonight but nobody wanted to come so im stuck doing nothing" thing
    Makes you realize how much of a drag other people can be too, holidays where you have to wait around for everybody and do stuff you have no interest in are awful I prefer traveling alone, it's not like they'll be a lack of people when I get there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I enjoy my own company, so yeah. I'd definitely go to the cinema on my own, or for a drink or two if I'd no one to go with. I just went to visit my sister in Australia for 2 weeks and I spent a lot of time on my own as she was studying and working. It's made me really want to go travelling on my own for a few months. I met so many interesting people and got talking to people who I never would have, had I been with someone else!

ScumLord wrote: »
    Same as that, even in the same year.

Hmm, wonder if we ever crossed paths. I did randomly bump into a good friend in Prague. That was fun.
    Makes you realize how much of a drag other people can be too, holidays where you have to wait around for everybody and do stuff you have no interest in are awful I prefer traveling alone, it's not like they'll be a lack of people when I get there.

Tell me about it. 2 years ago I travelled for 2 weeks with my gf and friend and I seriously wanted to kill the 2 of them. Ended up being a pretty sh1t holiday for me and it definitely affected my friendship with the guy. Would never travel with him again.

Travelled Croatia last September with the gf and it was amazing so at least I know I can travel with her ok, as long as there's no stupid third wheel.

Hmm, wonder if we ever crossed paths. I did randomly bump into a good friend in Prague. That was fun.
    Czech was the only country I can remember running into any Irish people at all, I was traveling off peak though. Ran into a load of lads from Tuam in Cesky Krumlov though that was good craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

A friend of mine is a bit of moan about missing films/gigs because noone would go with him. I always say well why didn't you go on your own? Fair enough if he isn't comfortable going on his own but it annoys me when he starts giving out about missing things. Its a bit sad really. Going to the cinema isn't a social occasion you don't go there to talk, you go there to watch a film and maybe eat some overpriced sweets. Why you need someone there to hold your hand is beyond me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Lux23 wrote: »
    A friend of mine is a bit of moan about missing films/gigs because noone would go with him. I always say well why didn't you go on your own? Fair enough if he isn't comfortable going on his own but it annoys me when he starts giving out about missing things. Its a bit sad really. Going to the cinema isn't a social occasion you don't go there to talk, you go there to watch a film and maybe eat some overpriced sweets. Why you need someone there to hold your hand is beyond me?

Ah it's quite the social event to be honest. Plenty of groups go to see a film they like...

Sounds like the response of an uncultured goon.

She's a good kisser though :p

anto2 wrote: »
    I only go to music pubs alone at night and often end up getting into conversation with somebody.

Guess it depends on the Music pub, some are very cliquey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Ahh. Cesky Krumlov is mad. Would love to go there again :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

WindSock wrote: »
    Ahh. Cesky Krumlov is mad. Would love to go there again :pac:

Have you got a bit part in Hostel 3?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Absolutely no problem going to the cinema on my own or even walking into a pub preferably if something was on like a match or a band etc...
    In fact last tuesday due to poor phone coverage I went into Flannerys pub instead of Slatterys pub and got a beer and sat and watched Chelsea lose, twas lovely!

However I wouldn't get concert tickets or comedian tickets on my own, think i would enjoy it more with someone I can talk to before during and after.
    A buddy of mine always gets one ticket, went to see Kanye West and just stood there, dancing on his own, said twas a good night!
    He also got one ticket to Ricky Gervais, i mean surely one could buy 2 tickets and try and sell it to a friend or at a last resort just say to someone 'Please come with me to this' i would feel it adds to the enjoyment. At large social event like that its nice not to be on yer own imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

I do the Women's Mini-Marathon every year on my own because i like to run it at my own pace. I wouldn't like to keep up with runners that were too fast, or walkers that are too slow. But I always hear "What, you did it on your own!". Very annoying tbh.
    I would go to the cinema on my own too.
    But I wouldn't go to a concert or out to a pub alone, I prefer to have somebody to hang out with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Ah it's quite the social event to be honest. Plenty of groups go to see a film they like...

But your not supposed to talk in the cinema, groups of people going to the cinema is just sad once you are over the age of 15.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭GA361

Drumpot wrote: »
    going to shutter Island tonite with the wife

Warning,movie spoiler:
    It turns out Leonardo di Caprio crazy.

There I just saved you two hours of your life

GA361 wrote: »
    Warning,movie spoiler:
    It turns out Leonardo di Caprio crazy.

There I just saved you two hours of your life

I really hope Drumpot doesn't read that. It's a good movie and definitely worthy of two hours of anyones life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭GA361

I really hope Drumpot doesn't read that. It's a good movie and definitely worthy of two hours of anyones life.

You're right. Who am I to judge, I fell asleep near the end and was told how it ended.

Plenty of groups go to see a film they like...

And most of them ruin the fcuking movie for everyone else.

Sick to death of **** going to the cinema to chatter with their mates while they text and over-laugh just to impress their mates.

Went to see Odine last week and one row had around ten skangers that would not shut the fcuk up.

They were warned a bunch of times by staff but still weren't asked to leave.

People like that should have their tongues removed with a rusty razor blade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

And most of them ruin the fcuking movie for everyone else.

Sick to death of **** going to the cinema to chatter with their mates while they text and over-laugh just to impress their mates.

Went to see Odine last week and one row had around ten skangers that would not shut the fcuk up.

They were warned a bunch of times by staff but still weren't asked to leave.

People like that should have their tongues removed with a rusty razor blade.

They'd still be making a noise though OutlawPete, just not intelligible speech. And they'd be cross with it. Could get nasty !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I remember once telling my friends I was planning to travel around Europe in 6 months time and 3 friends said they would like to do same . Come the time for departure I was the only one ready to go and I did , travelling around europe for a few months and had a ball doing so . I have gone to movies ,concerts ,football matches and other events alone as much as have gone with friends . It's never being a problem for me although can understand and see why it might be for others

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I'd go to the cinema on my own as I don't believe it requires company - anything else though: gig, pub, nightclub, travelling, meal (apart from e.g. a quick coffee and sandwich) I'd rather have company as I consider these social outings. But that's just me - others might not consider them social outings (especially gigs - I suppose you don't actually interact that much with your co-attendees once the act is on, but it's still nice to share the experience with others) and I certainly wouldn't judge them for attending them alone, nor do I feel they need to explain themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

You went to see that sparkly gay vampire movie right? You know you are lucky you still have an OH right? :P

Haha, Yes, yes it was! :D There were alot of guys there with their gfs and they were saying why didnt you come alone, my OH hated the movie so I knew it would be his version of hell and my version of Premiership football for 2 teams he doesnt even support so I went solo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

It depends on the event. I have no problem going to the cinema alone whenever I get the time to go. I wouldn't go to a pub or nightclub alone.

I will be going to Michael Buble on my own later in the year. I dont know anybody that likes him, and I love him far to much to miss him. When it came to buying my ticket I only had to look after myself and I got a seat up front. I could have bought an extra ticket in the hope of forcing someone along but I'd have to more than likely listen to him/her moan about how sh1te buble is instead of listening to him sing and Michael Buble is just great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Used to like going to afternoon films by myself when I was not working/student.

An afternoon pint by yourself in a quiet pub with a book or newspaper is also one of life's great pleasures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

ilovesleep wrote: »
    It depends on the event. I have no problem going to the cinema alone whenever I get the time to go. I wouldn't go to a pub or nightclub alone.

I will be going to Michael Buble on my own later in the year. I dont know anybody that likes him, and I love him far to much to miss him. When it came to buying my ticket I only had to look after myself and I got a seat up front. I could have bought an extra ticket in the hope of forcing someone along but I'd have to more than likely listen to him/her moan about how sh1te buble is instead of listening to him sing and Michael Buble is just great.
    Oh yeah, I'd go to a gig alone if it was an act whom I just could not miss and I couldn't for the life of me find anyone else to go - but I wouldn't be too overjoyed about going alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

stovelid wrote: »
    An afternoon pint by yourself in a quiet pub with a book or newspaper is also one of life's great pleasures.

Yes totally agree. Breakfast or lunch or dinner in the local hotel with a newspaper is great. I do this at least once a week without even thinking about it.