Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where's nice to live in County Limerick?

• 18-03-2010 2:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭

Well as the title says I am hoping to move from just outside of Limerick City to wherever is nice to live, perhaps in Limerick County - ideally no more than 30 minutes drive.

- Limerick City's standard of living was never exceptional but it has been in decline for the past number of years and now I'd like to get out - as soon as possible :(

Would be looking to sell a 3 bed Semi in Suburbia for in the region of 200K (Don't know if this figure is accurate or laughable to be honest!) and then simply refinance and move without having to break the Bank....

Would like to move into a small Estate in Limerick County with a few Green areas/Playground where the Kids can play with the other Children in the Neighbourhood without any anti-social behaviour around, such as speeding cars, rubbish dumping, gangs of Scumbags loitering, broken glass on the green areas etc.

Would also like to be near some local Park like for example the way Kildimo has Curraghchase so near by etc. Also somewhere with a bit of Community spirit would be nice too - most of our friendly, approachable Neighbours seem to be Eastern European.

- Would really appreciate any help or advice you might have to offer!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭toothie

Is Newcastle West too far for you? We have a lovely sense of community, playground, a large and beautiful park called the Demesne. There's plenty of houses for sale in NCW at the moment, Liosán is a lovely small estate with big green area and no rubbish thrown around, loiterers or anti-social behaviour. It's only 25 - 30 mins drive to Limerick city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Murroe or Newport(in Tipp I know but close enough) are nice villages on the outskirts of Limerick too, both are about 12 miles outside the city. Both are also very close to the Clare Glens which is nice for walking.

In Murroe you also have Glenstal abbey. They are also about to start the construction of a play ground in the village.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭johno2

Adare is one of my favourite parts of Limerick. Friendly people, nice bars, wish I lived there.

johno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,948 ✭✭✭✭phog

Clarina ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 smurff

I have friends that live in Croagh and they love it. It's 20 minutes from the city, has a bus every hour and the prices are nowhere as high as Adare (for a modest house). It's handy too for trips to Curraghchase. If the children are young there is a playschool near the park. As for sport there are sports clubs and a sports complex. They go to Clonshire, a few minutes away for horse-riding. Ths school of music provides music dance and drama lessons and there a few other organisations to get involved in also. It might be worth checking out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

smurff wrote: »
    I have friends that live in Croagh and they love it. It's 20 minutes from the city, has a bus every hour and the prices are nowhere as high as Adare (for a modest house). It's handy too for trips to Curraghchase. If the children are young there is a playschool near the park. As for sport there are sports clubs and a sports complex. They go to Clonshire, a few minutes away for horse-riding. Ths school of music provides music dance and drama lessons and there a few other organisations to get involved in also. It might be worth checking out.

Hey Smurff - Thanks for taking the time to post that! Am going to check it out in detail as soon as I can.

Will let you know!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭skullzxr

murroe, newport, and ncw are far from been quite towns and villages, both have the same type of problems limk has with scumbags in fact a lot of them moved to newport and murroe and ncw has problems with drunk foreginers drinking by the river, didn't some guy ram he's car into a door of a nightclub last year,

skullzxr wrote: »
    murroe, newport, and ncw are far from been quite towns and villages, both have the same type of problems limk has with scumbags in fact a lot of them moved to newport and murroe and ncw has problems with drunk foreginers drinking by the river, didn't some guy ram he's car into a door of a nightclub last year,

Murroe is a reasonably quite village. I have lived there for a lot of years now and have never had any trouble first hand (touch wood). About two years ago there were some undesirable people living in the area but most have now moved on. As with any big village/town there are some incidents of crime and anti social behaviour, but it is at a minimum and (I don't say this often but) the Gardai are doing a good job in crime prevention. The village was lacking a Garda presence for a long time (only one Garda) but now it's greatly improved. There are now three Gardai in the village, they do a walkabout/drive about most days and evenings through the village and estates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭fatboypee

Did you consider this way ? We moved here 10 years ago, at the time we had the choice: 5 bed in Corbally, or 3 bed in Ballina. Wife chose Ballina and reminds me ever since :o Of course I'm biased, but being right on the shannon/lake, good pubs, 2 play areas, Sunday Market.... all within 17 miles of Limerick City, new bypass going live v.soon so journey in / out would be no time.. you can pick up a reasonable house now for around 200 +- .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭lorenzo87

I would reccomend Foynes. :)

lorenzo87 wrote: »
    I would reccomend Foynes. :)

Hey Lorenzo - That side of the County would be handy for a few reasons.

- But why in particular do you recommend Foynes? You don't really see too much as your drive through so its hard to guess at!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭lorenzo87

Raiser wrote: »
    Hey Lorenzo - That side of the County would be handy for a few reasons.

- But why in particular do you recommend Foynes? You don't really see too much as your drive through so its hard to guess at!

Well maybe i am a biased Foynes man but i am now living in Mayo past couple of years but Foynes is a lovely area. You are close to Newcastle West, 30 minutes drive from the City, 30 minutes drive from Ballybunion, 30 minutes drive from Listowel. It is a lovely area, especially in the summer along the River shannon, is a great spot for fishing, the people are friendly, there is great craic in the pubs, there are some very lovely 4 bedroom hourse (marine cove) for sale at a very reasonable price as far as im aware. Then you also have the forestry which is super for long walks and if you did get a place in Marine Cove, your house would be overlooking the shannon, foynes island and you can also see Clare and Shannon Airport's lights at night!!! You have 2 fine big supermarkets, post office, AIB bank, big community centre great for kids, outdoor swimming pool in the summer, also have the yacht club and they hold a regatta every year, there is the flying boat museum which is a huge tourist attraction, particularly for americans. You have the large port which creates a lot of jobs in the area, now have an indian/chipper restaurant in the town, the shannon house does nice food, fine library, good fire service, there is a guarda station but it is usually empty, lovely GAA pitch now, football is a huge thing in the parish. I could go on for ages but Foynes is a lovely spot, nice people and i find it relaxing there. :)

Thanks for that - You're a great Ambassador for Foynes!!!!

- I'll do my research and let you know & your long and detailed reply is very much appreciated!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

fatboypee wrote: »
    Did you consider this way ? We moved here 10 years ago, at the time we had the choice: 5 bed in Corbally, or 3 bed in Ballina. Wife chose Ballina and reminds me ever since :o Of course I'm biased, but being right on the shannon/lake, good pubs, 2 play areas, Sunday Market.... all within 17 miles of Limerick City, new bypass going live v.soon so journey in / out would be no time.. you can pick up a reasonable house now for around 200 +- .....
    Has the county boundary recently changed? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Well as the title says I am hoping to move from just outside of Limerick City to wherever is nice to live, perhaps in Limerick County - ideally no more than 30 minutes drive.

- Limerick City's standard of living was never exceptional but it has been in decline for the past number of years and now I'd like to get out - as soon as possible :(

Would be looking to sell a 3 bed Semi in Suburbia for in the region of 200K (Don't know if this figure is accurate or laughable to be honest!) and then simply refinance and move without having to break the Bank....

Would like to move into a small Estate in Limerick County with a few Green areas/Playground where the Kids can play with the other Children in the Neighbourhood without any anti-social behaviour around, such as speeding cars, rubbish dumping, gangs of Scumbags loitering, broken glass on the green areas etc.

Would also like to be near some local Park like for example the way Kildimo has Curraghchase so near by etc. Also somewhere with a bit of Community spirit would be nice too - most of our friendly, approachable Neighbours seem to be Eastern European.

it really depends on your budget and what side of the city you need to be at
    clarina and adare can very expensive

amiable wrote: »
    it really depends on your budget and what side of the city you need to be at
    clarina and adare can very expensive

I like Adare - Clarina was really nice too until the Planning Office obligingly allowed someone to Bulldoze it and cover every inch of it in re-enforced concrete :eek:

Well if Adare is in your budget go for it cos its a lovely place and handy for convenience of the city nearby on the motorway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Dont laugh....Caherconlish, I moved out there 6 years ago and sorry i didnt move sooner , quiet village , some nice small estates . Less than ten minutes from the city , and Lough Gur in the other direction.

Shammy wrote: »
    Dont laugh....Caherconlish, I moved out there 6 years ago and sorry i didnt move sooner , quiet village , some nice small estates . Less than ten minutes from the city , and Lough Gur in the other direction.

The Lish is a fine place and has some lovely new houses out there

Shammy wrote: »
    amiable wrote: »
    The Lish is a fine place and has some lovely new houses out there

Are the sound Lads from the famous Caherconlish Taliban still conducting 'Operations' in the area though?!?!?!?!Link

- Aside; Does Caherconlish not have a small bit of a reputation for being a bit of a Limerick away from Limerick!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Are the sound Lads from the famous Caherconlish Taliban still conducting 'Operations' in the area though?!?!?!?!Link

Ha ha i had to laugh when that happened.Doesnt every town have their few who go against the grain.
    - Aside; Does Caherconlish not have a small bit of a reputation for being a bit of a Limerick away from Limerick!!!

It has a bit of a reputation, but i have never seen any bit of trouble.While personally the village is ugly , the estates are nice and generally the people living in them like to keep them that way.
    Its a case of dont believe everything you hear until you've tried it yourself.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭gihj

Perhaps you should consider a move out Newcastle west way.
    Property prices should reach affordability out that way pretty soon.
    Nice part of the world out there.

gihj wrote: »
    Perhaps you should consider a move out Newcastle west way.
    Property prices should reach affordability out that way pretty soon.
    Nice part of the world out there.

When the Dundons come to town? Link
    ONE of the country's most notorious criminals is seeking a country hideaway to escape a garda surveillance crackdown on his activities.

Wayne Dundon (32) is planning to move his entire criminal operation from Limerick city to the Newcastle West region in Co Limerick, the Irish Independent has learnt.

The feared crime boss has already looked at several properties in the town. One leading drug dealer has already fled the area over the past 10 days in advance of Dundon's move.

Dundon, who has been under 24-hour garda surveillance since he was released from prison in March, is officially unemployed and it has yet to be established how he will finance his planned purchase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭gihj

Well if they move out there then why not stay put?????
    Problem solved:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭MmmmmCheese

skullzxr wrote: »

I really wouldn't reccomend Murroe. I've lived here all my life and to be honest you'd get worse scumbags around some of the estates here than you would around Limerick. As skullzxr said a lot of the rough types moved from town out to the new houses in Murroe over the last few years. It used to be a nice little place alright but at the moment its gone seriously downhill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 spud96

2 b onest ....Limerick is a nice county....i live dare lik...it has it city...few towns (sum gud nd others ..if i was passin thru id close my eyes:rolleyes:)(not name-in any ;)...but i no dis place called Castletown/Ballyagran _ Beal an Caislean/Beal Atha Grean...nd i wudnt cal it half bad lik....its a nice village wiv a shop ,3 pubs... &gaa grounds (3 pitchs ) ....i wud advise u 2 visit dare sumtime....nd 4rom pure luck....u mite meet me :cool::eek::)

spud96 wrote: »
    2 b onest ....Limerick is a nice county....i live dare lik...it has it city...few towns (sum gud nd others ..if i was passin thru id close my eyes:rolleyes:)(not name-in any ;)...but i no dis place called Castletown/Ballyagran _ Beal an Caislean/Beal Atha Grean...nd i wudnt cal it half bad lik....its a nice village wiv a shop ,3 pubs... &gaa grounds (3 pitchs ) ....i wud advise u 2 visit dare sumtime....nd 4rom pure luck....u mite meet me :cool::eek::)

:confused::confused:
    Sorry, come again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

spud96 wrote: »
    To be honest, Limerick is a nice county. I live there like, it has its city and a few towns (some good and other, if I was passing through I'd close my eyes :rolleyes:)(Not naming any ;) But I know this place called Castletown/Ballyagran - Beal an Caislean/Beal Athat Grean, and I wouldnt call it half bad like. Its a nice village with a shop, three pubs & GAA grounds (three pitches). I would advise you to visit there sometime, and from pure luck, you might meet me :cool::eek::

Any better - probably not, I'm not sure I would like to visit there :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I think Spud96 is trying to convey the message that Castletown/Ballygran is a wonderful place to live. I drive through there on my way to work and have to admit Im not a big famn of the East side of Limerick. I think the West is where its at cos your closer to the coast and kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

panda100 wrote: »
    I think Spud96 is trying to convey the message that Castletown/Ballygran is a wonderful place to live. I drive through there on my way to work and have to admit Im not a big famn of the East side of Limerick. I think the West is where its at cos your closer to the coast and kerry.

agreed.
    I wrote on a poem on it before:

The West
    Is the best

Itsdacraic wrote: »
    agreed.
    I wrote on a poem on it before:

The West
    Is the best

The west is the best
    Get here, and we'll do the rest

The blue bus is callin' us
    Driver, where you taken' us

The killer awoke before dawn, he put his boots on
    He took a face from the ancient gallery
    And he walked on down the hall
    He went into the room where his sister lived, and...then he
    Paid a visit to his brother, and then he
    He walked on down the hall, and
    And he came to a door...and he looked inside
    Father, yes son, I want to kill you
    Mother...I want to...fcuk you

Jim Morrison - Don't mix your LSD/Peyote Binges with lots 'n lots of Bottles of Vodka now Kids.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 DrStriver

Considering move from limerick surburbs to county myself, but finding it hard to convince townie wife to move more than a few miles! Whats Clarina like? Primary school good? Looks nice out there, access will be much improved with tunnel, and seems a little bit cheaper than Lisnagry/Ahane/Crecora/Cratloe etc. Is the primary school a direct feeder to a secondary school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Ballingarry boi!! There are now 2 chippers when last year there were none.

ah ha, but the Castletown/Ballyagran area is geographically in West Limerick but has been transferred to South Limerick for sporting activities.

DrStriver wrote: »
    Considering move from limerick surburbs to county myself, but finding it hard to convince townie wife to move more than a few miles! Whats Clarina like? Primary school good? Looks nice out there, access will be much improved with tunnel, and seems a little bit cheaper than Lisnagry/Ahane/Crecora/Cratloe etc. Is the primary school a direct feeder to a secondary school?

Clarina was recently destroyed by the Planning Department of Limerick County Council though - Its like an ex-communist, concrete-poured, bleak Warzone out there now, a desolate, cold, grey, barren wasteland.

- I'd also carry out a lot of research before touching any property there that was built in the last couple of years, seemingly there may well be a host of services issues attached.

How about Croom? What are the chances of getting planning in the county if you are not from the area, but intend to leave there for long term?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Croom is a lovely spot...if you can ignore the skangers hanging around outside the Chinese (who do a mean chicken fried rice by the way:eek:)

I loves my chicken fried rice :D

RikkFlair wrote: »
    Ballingarry boi!! There are now 2 chippers when last year there were none.

Whats with all the stray dogs roaming around Ballingarry??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Limerick_Lass

Who let the dogs out....

Seriously, If Ballingarry had a national anthem that song would be it.
    Every time I drive through there at least 10 of the bleedin mutts stroll out in front of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Every time I drive through there at least 10 of the bleedin mutts stroll out in front of me.

Yeah the local girls are a bit rough alright! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭brianon

I haven't seen castleconnell mentioned yet. Any reason why not ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭LoganRice

I'd go to castletroy or dooradoyle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

LoganRice wrote: »
    I'd go to castletroy or dooradoyle

The OP doesnt want to live in another suburb of Limerick!!! I'm only another year away from moving out of suburbia Raiser but have been looking at Ballina. Looks like a great place and perhaps a few more miles north of the town you get a stunning view of the lake ..... at a high premium of course :D

Dont move to Ballina - its not all its cracked up to be

Mc Love wrote: »
    Dont move to Ballina - its not all its cracked up to be
    Yes, apparently its in Tipp and at odds with the title of this thread ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

lorenzo87 wrote: »
    Well maybe i am a biased Foynes man but i am now living in Mayo past couple of years but Foynes is a lovely area. You are close to Newcastle West, 30 minutes drive from the City, 30 minutes drive from Ballybunion, 30 minutes drive from Listowel. It is a lovely area, especially in the summer along the River shannon, is a great spot for fishing, the people are friendly, there is great craic in the pubs, there are some very lovely 4 bedroom hourse (marine cove) for sale at a very reasonable price as far as im aware. Then you also have the forestry which is super for long walks and if you did get a place in Marine Cove, your house would be overlooking the shannon, foynes island and you can also see Clare and Shannon Airport's lights at night!!! You have 2 fine big supermarkets, post office, AIB bank, big community centre great for kids, outdoor swimming pool in the summer, also have the yacht club and they hold a regatta every year, there is the flying boat museum which is a huge tourist attraction, particularly for americans. You have the large port which creates a lot of jobs in the area, now have an indian/chipper restaurant in the town, the shannon house does nice food, fine library, good fire service, there is a guarda station but it is usually empty, lovely GAA pitch now, football is a huge thing in the parish. I could go on for ages but Foynes is a lovely spot, nice people and i find it relaxing there. :)

Would have to agree with these comments on Foynes. One side of my family are from Foynes and Shanagolden, so I have been going out that way since I was a nipper, and used to come across from Liverpool as a kid and stay there for summers.

Marine Cove has a number of houses for sale, I know because I have viewed two of them:D and they are very reasonable in price.

In terms of getting to Limerick it is only a 25minute drive. Foynes itself has plenty of small shops etc for day to day stuff. Newcastle West is only a 10 minute drive away and there is a Tesco there.

Plenty of walks in the area, and you are 25 minutes closer to the likes of Tralee and Killarney than you are in Dooradoyle at present.

If you want to get to Cork from there all you have to do is drive to NCW and then take the Bruff road which pops out near Charleville.

Like yourself Raiser, I am another Dooradoyle head who wants out, for pretty much the same reasons as you stated.

Foynes, and Glin (well near Glin) are the two areas that caught my eye the most out that way.

NCW is a no for me because I know the area too well and despite being 20 odd miles away from Dooradoyle, there is plenty of the same element there. It is grand for popping into for shopping and whatnot, but it is not for me in terms of living. Although having said that, there can be great value to be found there in terms of house prices, and some of the spots a bit out of the town are quite nice.

I also cast an eye around the Shanagolden area, but where I was looking was a little bit out of the village. There are some nice spots there too and I find the people fine in general there as well.

I have also played with the idea of a move out of the county full stop, with a few locations in Cork and Kerry being high on the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Aesop

Kess73 wrote: »
    Foynes itself has plenty of small shops etc for day to day stuff. Newcastle West is only a 10 minute drive away and there is a Tesco there.

Foynes to Newcastle west is a lot longer than 10mins. Closer to 25-30 I would have said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Aesop wrote: »
    Foynes to Newcastle west is a lot longer than 10mins. Closer to 25-30 I would have said.

30 mins to drive from Foynes to NCW? Not a chance. You would be in Limerick from Foynes in that time with a clear run. My 10 mins may be a bit optimistic in hindsight, but it is only a 10 to 12 mile drive. For it to take 30 mins, a person would have to be driving at about 20mph/32kph the whole way.

So a person driving at an average speed of around 40mph/64kph would travel a 10 mile trip in about 15mins.