Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**unintentional funny scenes**

• 17-03-2010 10:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭

I was watchin The Green Mile on the telly last night, and you know that scene where Percy executes Dale and he doesn't wet the sponge therefore prolonging his death.

Well was that meant to be funny:confused: cause i found it hilarious:) or am i just a sick f&ck ?

So do you know of any other "serious" scenes you found funny in movies......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

It wasn't supposed to be funny... obviously :)

Ironic username considering your post. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,722 ✭✭✭✭Penn

It's been a while since I've seen it, but the bit in The Exorcist where the girl comes down the stairs in the middle of some fancy dinner party, says something like "You're all going to die", then p*sses on the floor. I thought that was hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Kettle316

That scene in taken when liam neeson is walking up the stairs of his ex wife's house he screams at her husband: "stuart this is no time for d*ck measuring!!"

Hillairious!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

I remember seeing "Saving Private Ryan" in the cinema, and when they are clambering up the beaches of Normandy and reach the dunes before the bunkers one of the guys looks over the edge and a bullet ricochets off his helmet. He's shocked and takes his helmet off to look at it, and when he does he gets shot in the head.

This bit: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DOC-E3qIsUQ#t=3m40s

My friend and I burst out laughing... and then as we simmered down came to the chilling realization that nobody else in the cinema was laughing. Awk. ward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭hitlersson666

The Box is really funny the whole 90 mins :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

There was one bit in Brokeback Mountain, just after to see the two lads skinny dipping, where it cuts away to this guy with an epic mustache taking his binoculars down from his eyes and looking on in disapproval.
    It just minded me of that scene in Futurama where Fry and Amy are in the broken down car waiting for the pickup to arrive. The windows are all steamed up. When the pickup guy arrives he wipes away the steam and giigles in a very perverted fashion, "Nyi-hu-hu-ha hoi........"

Inappropriate giggles ensued :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭Flamed Diving

There is a bit in Rambo 2 where the shot is from above of him running down some winding bamboo steps:

--->
    <---
    --->

So he is twisting and turning as he does so. On the second flight of steps he clearly loses his footing as his right boot slips away from him but he manages to maintain composure and keep running. I can't find a clip, but it is pure hilarity as it breaks the fantasy in motion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

(equally creepy, cringeworthy and hilarious .... none of which I imagine they were going for).

Hopefully they'll eventually make a Special Edition where this scene cut out or replaced with Ewoks or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

unfortunately I cant imbed a youtube vid with a time skip.. this'll have to do

the indestructible mannequins in commando :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭Skinfull

The bit in Pride and Glory when
    Colin Farrells character *almost* punches that baby in the face!
    I let out a huge guffaw in the cinema that earned me more than a few bad looks. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

That scene in meet Joe Black with the car accident. Given the scenes leading up to just made it even more hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

During In Bruges in the cinema my mate burst out laughing really loud at the scene in the playground when Colin Farrell is crying and first says aloud that he killed a child.
    Completley out on her own and made a show of herself :p haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Armageddon - Bruce Willis talks to Liv Tyler on the screen before he dies to save the world. Hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭JJ

I was watching the cartoon version of Lord of the Rings on VHS with some friends many years ago. In the scene near the beginning where Gandalf is telling Frodo all about the ring, Frodo offers the ring to Gandalf and Gandalf screams, "NO!"

I can't find a screenshot or video of it but the way he screamed like an old ghost and had his arms up in the air like a madman was hilarious. We kept rewinding it and playing it again. We managed to pause it right at the part with his mouth opened wide and arms in the air. This was all a little more awkward with a VHS compared to a DVD nowadays.

When the Peter Jackson film first came out, I paid extra special attention to their version of the same scene but it didn't contain the same kind of unintentionally funny "NO!" as the cartoon movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

The last few scenes of End Of Days where Arnie dies impaled in the church, and saves all humankind.

Laughed my little socks off.:)

Shutter Island -
    The first time we saw the kids covered in blood, I burst out laughing. It was nothing to do with the dead kids but more so to do with the fact that one of cinemas biggest taboos was being shown.

Pretty much any really gory horror film, I nearly always laugh at the more grotesque death scenes or bounce in my seat with glee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Wossack wrote: »
    unfortunately I cant imbed a youtube vid with a time skip.. this'll have to do

the indestructible mannequins in commando :pac:

Just watched it last night... That film is chock full of hilarity!
    I love pretty much the first (and lenghiest) line of dialogue;

Matrix: [reading about Boy George in a pop magazine]
    Jenny: Oh, Dad, that is so old.
    Matrix: Ha Ha. You know when I was a boy and rock'n'roll came to East Germany, the communists said it was subversive.
    [thinks and smiles]
    Matrix: Maybe they were right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

tman wrote: »
    Just watched it last night... That film is chock full of hilarity!
    I love pretty much the first (and lenghiest) line of dialogue;

Matrix: [reading about Boy George in a pop magazine]
    Jenny: Oh, Dad, that is so old.
    Matrix: Ha Ha. You know when I was a boy and rock'n'roll came to East Germany, the communists said it was subversive.
    [thinks and smiles]
    Matrix: Maybe they were right.

Me and a bunch of mates got pissed and watched Commando one night it was one of the funniest nights ever. From the guys being killed over and over but wearing slightly different costumes and bad stick on mustaches, to guys falling down when Arnie wasnt shooting anywhere near them, to the yellow car been wrecked on one side then fine in the next shot, then wrecked again. Its a continuity clusterfcuk, watch the scene where Arnie goes from the plane to the island in the dinghy, his (stunt double) swimming trunks change from black to white back to black again. and Whhhhhhyyy does Arnie paint his body UNDER his vest with camoflage? you clearly see him put on the vest first then pain his arms and face, but when we see him topless later hes got pain all over him.

funniest part is the final shots on the beach of the island at the end where the general turns up, to the left theres a massive Blackpool style pier on this supposed militia stronghold, do the army guys need funfairs to relax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

There was this part of "The Holiday" where Jude Law or Ewan McGregor (I seriously can not tell them apart:o) is lying on a bed semi-naked talking to Cameron Diaz about their future as a couple. He has kids in the film and is going on about how being in a relationship with him is difficult because he comes with a "package". Cue the immortal line:
    "And I understand that in the cold hard light of day, my package might not be very attractive".

Yes, I'm 12.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

me and some mates got into a fit of laughter when the two lads burst through the balcony door in Inglorious Bastards and brap Hitler and Gobble to kingdom come.

The laughter had just supsisded, when it went into rapturous fits when he starts blowing hitlers head apart with an mp44, quality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 jimmy5bellys

When Peter Jackson's King Kong was in the cinema we went to see it. About an hour or so into the movie when they arrive on the island, there is a scene when they encountered a native for the first time. They stare at each other and there's close-up of eyes and it's dead quite, its all very dramatic. When some legend down the back of the cinema pipes up "You can smell it" ala Eddie Murphy.

Funniest.... thing.... ever....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭wezzopalooza

Never fails to raise a chuckle,makes me wish I had a friend called Charles so I could shout CHAAAAAAAAAAARLIEEEEEEEEEEEE at him lol.......:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

when gandalf shouts ''fly you fools'' then falls of the ledge in the fellowship of the ring that was so funny and this in pulp fiction but i think it was spose to be funny i dunno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

In the notebook where the girl is in the car with her mum and the mum is crying her eyes out and says,
    "Look at me, I'm a big old bawl bag."

Myself and my friends immaturity shone out despite the evil glares of our respective girlfriends. Well thats what they get for trying to make us watch something cheesy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,958 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Giselle wrote: »
    The last few scenes of End Of Days where Arnie dies impaled in the church, and saves all humankind.

Laughed my little socks off.:)

Oh my god yaaaaaaaaaa. Just watched this on telly the other night. The bit before where you said when he first goes into the church and looks at all the statues and candles and realises that guns won't do the trick. That film would have been so great if they just got a different lead actor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭knoximus

I thought this scene was hillarious. From Romper Stomper. I know, im already hellbound:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

The last 10 minutes of Rambo 4, I never laughed so hard in a cinema in my entire life! Tears were actually streaming down my face from the OTT of it all, especially when the Sniper blows the head off the guy on the boat and his body is still standing! :D

Best.Comedy.Ever

The Bad Lieutenant remake is probably the greatest comedy of the last 5 years,just start to finish hilarious :)

Note - 2nd clip contains a pretty big spoiler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Layer Cake

The scene where Duke and Sasha are killed. The face that Colm Meaney pulls is hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The Bad Lieutenant remake is probably the greatest comedy of the last 5 years,just start to finish hilarious :)

Note - 2nd clip contains a pretty big spoiler

But they're intentionally funny scenes. Aren't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

There is a scene in Jurassic Park when Sam Neill and Laura Dern come across these mountainess piles of dinosaur ****e in a field. They decide that they have to play with these piles of ****e, and they look fascinated and excited in the process.

Granted, I may have been a wee bit stoned at the moment......but that was some funny **** !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

I remember watching this in the cinema and half the audience were tittering at the crazy faces Andrew Strong was pulling during this song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Watched rambo 4 with some mates and when you see the kid getting impaled on the bayonett and then flung into the fire we all burst out laguhing som much so we hit rewind to watch it again:D. Yes i aware of how twisted that sounds but its just ridiculoulsy funny:). Although that film had so many ridiculously funny parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭cavemeister

We are all missing the most obvious one....

Leonardo diCaprio slowly sinking into the black depths of the ocean at the end of Titanic while Rose is saying "I'll never let go"

What did she do not more than 5 seconds after saying "I'll never let go"???? she let go of him!!!

Was rolling in the isles!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Kettle316

Not exactly a scene but i couldnt help but laugh everytime nicholas cage spoke in con air!! His accent in it is ridiculous!!:D

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Went to see shutter island with a few friends in the cinema last week.

In the scene at the end where
    Andrew/Teddy is holding his dead wife after shooting her and the three kids are lying dead beside them
    one of my mates busts out laughing. I was like what are you laughing at, there is
    4 dead people
    on the screen and he says "It looks like there riding"

They kinda did now that i think of it, lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭MrSir

Hitman.So horribly hilarious.Once my friend was on the verge on slapping me in the face because of how hilarious I think it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

Ah hahahahahahahahahaha! What a joke! Saw it five times in the cinema and it never got any less funny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

In The Matrix office scene where Morpheous first talks to Neo:

(embedding disabled, skip to 45 seconds for the conversation.)

Neo: SH!T!

Morpehus: Yeeessssss.

The way he says yes to neo just cracks me up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

the scene in american psyco where he kills the cat brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

All the fight scenes in Bronson, especially the ones from when he was a kid.

The scene in Downfall where Hitler blows his lid at the generals.

The Paul Allen card and murder scenes in American Psycho.

I used to laugh my ass off at Terminator 2 when I was younger. The bits where Arnie picks up the kid in the shopping centre and where the liquid guy chases down the car escaping from the asylum. Also, in Terminator where Arnie crashes the car into the police station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Pretty much the whole of The Quiet Man is hilarious.
    Best scene for me is the fight scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

~5.07 minutes in, Seriously emotional rant from a broken war veteran then he spits out this cracker, "I cant find his legs!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I remember watching Schindler's List and at the part where it has the old Jewish man telling a guard that he's a good worker, the guard says "Yes, you're a good worker." and shoots him in the head, I started roaring laughing in the cinema. I don't know why but I thought it seemed so obsurd it was hilarious.

And of course there's this clip. I saw it posted here the other day and reminded me of this films brilliance. I honestly think that this tops everything else mentioned on this thread:

How did he keep a straight face?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

A couple of schindlers list bits did it for me too (yes I am going to hell for that).

Also Eric Banna in Chopper,
    there is one part where he headbuts his girlfriends mum down the stairs then breaks down the bathroom door to beat up his girlfriend. Then a bit perplexed says something to her like 'look what your doing, your mams upset !!'
    Another one was in 'Gangster no 1'
    when the guys beat someone nearly to death with golf clubs and the boss gangster later on is reprimanding them says 'Gave the poor bastard a handicap' - there is some tittering there but I broke up laughing.

Also there is a part where gangster no.1
    goes to see a guy called eddy who lives in a grotty flat with babies clothes hanging everywhere, kids infants and a wife living in a shoebox flat etc and gangster says something like 'I love that newbaby smell' puts his axe on the kitchen table between himself and eddy and says 'know what this is eddy ?' this is my favourite axe eddy'. Cue eddy crying and sobbing with snot hanging down his nose - he then faints. I was in sti-hitches at that.

Man bites dog
    has a scene where he is trying to save a bullet by giving a granny a heart attack instead of shooting her which also had me in fits of laughter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Any movie that has Steven Seagal running

The invasion when Nicole Kidman throws an Asian kid against a bed frame and Inglorious bastards when the German Propaganda film is being shown, Zoller
    shoots a G.I. through the eye my friend and me started pissing ourselves laughing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

A scene in The Shining (1980), just as the old cook returns to the hotel to save the day.
    Lying in wait is Jack Nicholson, with his trusty axe. As the hapless saviour walks through the lobby, Jolly Jack surges out from behind a pillar with a roar from the pits of hell and drives the axe into the old man's chest. The roar and the look on Jack's face make sure I crack up every single time, without fail.

In The Departed, Jack Nicholson (again!) is in a hotel room with two hookers and has a huge bowl of cocaine. He is flinging handfuls of the snow around and instructs one of the girls to "Do it [the cocaine] until you're numb" and then cuts to a maniacal looking Jack looking on. The glazed, crazy, wired expression always cracks me up.

The Terminator: "You're terminated, fúcker..."

Heat: (these were possibly intentionally funny; but I love them anyway)
    Al Pacino interrogating a suspect.

Suspect: "Aw, man... Why'd I ever get mixed up with that bitch?"
    Pacino: "Cos she got a... [bug eyed shout] GREAT ASS! And you got your head... ALL THE WAY UP IT!"

Pacino: "Sharlene Shiherlis..."
    Suspect: "Who?!"
    Pacino: "Who? Who? What are you, a fúckin' owl?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭1stimpressions

humanji wrote: »
    I remember watching Schindler's List and at the part where it has the old Jewish man telling a guard that he's a good worker, the guard says "Yes, you're a good worker." and shoots him in the head, I started roaring laughing in the cinema. I don't know why but I thought it seemed so obsurd it was hilarious.

And of course there's this clip. I saw it posted here the other day and reminded me of this films brilliance. I honestly think that this tops everything else mentioned on this thread:

How did he keep a straight face?

Your not wrong, thats funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭1stimpressions

Great idea for a thread.

I burst out laughing watching the love scene in watchmen when i watched it last month. The music, the camera angles, its just hilarious when it comes to that part of the movie. That movie is all over the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

cant believe this hasnt been mentioned, this is an out and out classic better than most intentional comedies

OH, NO! NOT THE BEES! NOT THE BEES! AAAAAHHHHH! .......