Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prince Philip ftw

• 14-03-2010 2:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭

Otherwise known as the Duke of Edinburgh, the guy doesn't give a FUCK :D

* Are you Indian or Pakistani? I can never tell the difference between you chaps.
    At Washington Embassy reception for Commonwealth members.

* Aren't most of you descendants from pirates?
    To islander in the Cayman Islands, 1994.

* British women can't cook. They are very good at decorating food and making it attractive. But they have an inability to cook.
    Addressing mainly female audience at Scottish Rural Women's Institute Display in 1966

* Do you still throw spears at each other?
    To Australian Aborigines, during a visit to Queensland, 2002.

* If you travel as much as we do, you appreciate how much more aircraft have become. Unless you travel in something called economy class, which sounds ghastly.
    During Royal Jubilee tour in 2002.

* You managed not to get eaten, then.
    To student who had been trekking in Papua New Guinea in 1998, suggesting Papuan tribes people were still cannibals

* I don't think a prostitute is more moral than a wife, but they are doing the same thing.
    Speech in December 1988, dismissing claims who sell slaughtered meat have greater moral authority than those who participate in blood sports.

* Deaf? If you are near there, no wonder you are deaf.
    To group of deaf children standing next to Jamaican steel drum band, on visit to new National Assembly for Wales, 1999.

* When a man opens the car door for his wife, it's either a new car or a new wife.
    March 1988.

* How do you keep the natives off the booze long enough to pass the test.
    To Scottish driving instructor, 1995.

* If it has got four legs and is not a chair, if it has two wings and it flies but is not an aeroplane, and if it swims and is not a submarine, the Cantonese will eat it.
    Commenting on Chinese eating habits to World Wildlife Fund conference in 1986.

* Ghastly.
    Commenting on Beijing, China, during 1986 official visit there.

* If a cricketer, for example, suddenly decided to go into a school and batter a lot of people to death with a cricket bat, which he could do very easily, I mean, are you going to ban cricket bats?
    Amid calls to ban firearms after the massacre of 16 children and their teacher in Dunblane, Scotland, in 1996.

* If you stay here much longer you'll all be slitty-eyed.
    To British students in China during Royal visit there in 1986.

* It looks as if it was put in by an Indian.
    Pointing at an old-fashioned fuse box while on a tour of a factory near Edinburgh.

* People usually say that after a fire it's the water damage that's the worst. We're STILL trying to dry out Windsor castle.
    To grieving residents of Lockerbie, Scotland, during a 1993 visit after a plane exploded and crashed into the town, killing everyone on board and several people on the ground (and shortly after a fire swept through one wing of Windsor Castle).

* You were playing your instruments weren't you? Or do you have tape recorders under your seats?
    Congratulating a school band on their performance in Australia.

* You are a woman, aren't you?
    In Kenya in 1984, after accepting a gift from an indigenous woman.

* If you gave a seven-year-old a brush and paints he'd produce something like that.
    In the Sudan, after viewing some of the paintings housed in the country's ethnic museum.

* The bastards murdered half my family.
    In room full of press agents, commenting on Russians in 1967, having been asked whether he would consider a visit there.

* It's a pleasant change to be in a country that isn't ruled by its people.
    To Alfredo Stroessner, the Paraguayan dictator.
    [/QUOTE]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭loveissucide

He's like a Daily Mail reader whose wetdreams came true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭blogga

The quotes above and the attitude displayed must make him a Legend of the Boards. :D

Nobody says anything because he's the only one who doesn't know Harry isn't his.
    Edit: Confuzzled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Nobody says anything because he's the only one who doesn't know Harry isn't his.

of course he's not his!!
    Would you be confusing Philip with Charles by any chance at all?? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I think I might be in love with that man.

Wish more people frequently found in media were less PC, makes things so much more entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

liah wrote: »
    I think I might be in love with that man.

Wish more people frequently found in media were less PC, makes things so much more entertaining.

You're a member of one of the most PC internet message boards i've ever seen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

dodojoe :P

I is joking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Only the other day Prince Philip asked a Navy Cadet,while on a tour of the ship, did she work in a strip club. He's some man alright :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

In fairness you can't argue with his logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Diabhal_Glas

Has he ever made any comments about the Irish, Id say they are hilarious when taken with a pinch of salt.
    He must have over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

I move that we make Prince Philip an honourary moderator of AH, considering he can't even moderate himself!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

he just says what were all thinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

He really can put his foot in it

cruiser178 wrote: »

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Im no royalist, not by a long shot, but the guy cracks me up. Sharp as a tack and doesnt give a damn. Walks around like "bloody hell Im a prince. Deadly". Yea hes got the daily mailisms but he hits the spot a lot too. I saw him being cornered at some flower show going out live a few years back and he was priceless. Funny guy.

"When a man opens the car door for his wife, it's either a new car or a new wife." Oscar Wilde wouldnt have thrown that one out. :)

Other ones;

"Do you know they're now producing eating dogs for the anorexics? " After giving a prize to a blind woman and her dog. Classic.

"Your country is one of the most notorious centers of trading in endangered species in the world." In Thailand right after he accepted a WWF prize for services to conservation.

Actually his stuff on conservation is good http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Prince_Philip,_Duke_of_Edinburgh

Yep defo honourary AH mod. I suspect he'd get a kick out of it too. "Betty, this bunch of drunken paddies just made me prince of the internet". Traveller threads could get interesting though... :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Audio is terrible in that video what did he say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

OutlawPete wrote: »

I have listen to this 5 times and still can't make out what he says, can some transcribe it for me . Hearing must be going !!!!!!!

Hogzy wrote: »
    Audio is terrible in that video what did he say?
    lonad wrote: »
    I have listen to this 5 times and still can't make out what he says, can some transcribe it for me . Hearing must be going !!!!!!!

I can hear it fine but then my stereo triple bass treble injectors are top of the range :cool:

Here's a subtitled version:

cruiser178 wrote: »

At least he didn't say something like "let's give him a hand".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

No wonder the royal family dont let him out in public much. its cos hes a cnut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Dubs

This is why we like to elect our leaders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭WaltKowalski

He's so witty. And handsome.
    I think he's hilarious.

Always thought he was a legend.. He was born into that family but doesn't give a fek. He just wants to be fairly normal.
    He was in the papers for weed aswell I think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Wibbs wrote: »
    Yep defo honourary AH mod. I suspect he'd get a kick out of it too. "Betty, this bunch of drunken paddies just made me prince of the internet". Traveller threads could get interesting though... :D
    I just spat tea out laughing at that. I can hear it in his own voice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

He's like a Daily Mail reader whose wetdreams came true.
    I don't know though - typical Daily Mail readers might still be outraged by some of his comments. I think the man's hilarious too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Ah he's bloody brilliant, wild funny ****er.

And Wibbs, you're going to have to apologise to the lady I was just on the phone to, I snorted down the phone at her when I read that.

Can just imagine him sitting at a desk in Buckingham, in a dressing gown, slippers, spec's perched on the end of his nose, peering at the computer screen.

"Betty, LIZ, LIZ COME HERE! Those damn micks are laughing at me! What should I say?"

"One's mother!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

I'd knock the cúnt out if he ever cracked a racist joke in my direction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I'd retire to some armchairs by the fireplace and crack open a nice 12 year old and here the things that he wont say in public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Zatman

So this is where the inspriation for Alan Partridge came from

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Yep defo honourary AH mod.

He's too witty for that.

Ya know, if you didn't let little things bother you, the world would get on a whole lot better.

A wise man once said, "The only way to be properly PC is to insult everyone." One of my better days, that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

OutlawPete wrote: »
    I can hear it fine but then my stereo triple bass treble injectors are top of the range :cool:

Here's a subtitled version:

What's the big deal with what he said? The presenters were suggesting he said something offensive to Obama . . i think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

Ya know, if you didn't let little things bother you, the world would get on a whole lot better.

A wise man once said, "The only way to be properly PC is to insult everyone." One of my better days, that.

I'm far from pc but i tend to place racism in a category a bit higher than 'the little things'. There's being witty and avoiding all that pc bollix and then there's being straight up ignorant and racist. He has no problem visiting the latter.

True that, (and I'm in no way suggesting that being racist is ok, just in case)

I'm just saying why let it annoy you. He's an old, ignorant man, who happens to be quite funny in what he says. I mean, you couldn't make the **** up that he says.

From a different generation (and completely different social class)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Winty

When Cate Blanchett told Prince Philip that she worked in film he may have misunderstood her position in the industry.

Rather than question Miss Blanchett about her latest screen roles he decided to ask for some help in getting his home entertainment centre working.A palace courtier said: "Prince Philip began discussing his DVD, which he said was broken.

He said: "There's a cord sticking out of the back of the machine. Might you tell me where it goes?"."

As the story goes, Miss Blanchett politely responded that she was in fact an actress and not much of a technician.

Hogzy wrote: »
    No wonder the royal family dont let him out in public much. its cos hes a cnut

He's one of those people who just doesn't give a ****, and he says what's on his mind. I wish more people had the same set of balls he has.
    Dubs wrote: »
    This is why we like to elect our leaders

Seriously though, I read another article on that chap that lost his arm and his eyesight from the IRA pipe bomb, even he wasn't offended by what Philip said, he thought that maybe Philip was just trying to break the ice. In fairness, Philip did fight in WWII so I'd say he's seen his fair share of maimed soldiers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

lol people gave Prince Harry loads of slack for that controversary last year when he called a solider in his unit a Paki or something. But Prince Philip dosen't seem to get as much trouble for his little comments. Is it because he's the Queen's husband I don't know but I think it's weird that you never see his name in the news when it comes to controverseries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

I'm far from pc but i tend to place racism in a category a bit higher than 'the little things'. There's being witty and avoiding all that pc bollix and then there's being straight up ignorant and racist. He has no problem visiting the latter.

We know he is racist. That's what makes it funny - I'd love to hear what he's said about the Irish over the years. It must be way out there if we haven't heard it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭sron

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prince_Philip_Movement

This is certainly one of the nicer cults I've heard of.

Riddle101 wrote: »
    lol people gave Prince Harry loads of slack for that controversary last year when he called a solider in his unit a Paki or something. But Prince Philip dosen't seem to get as much trouble for his little comments. Is it because he's the Queen's husband I don't know but I think it's weird that you never see his name in the news when it comes to controverseries.

It's probably because the media knows he won't give a fook if someone complains

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I dunno, I recall a comment he made to a missionary nurse along the lines of you have mosquitoes, I have the press. I'd say he's well aware of the goldfish bowl. He was under scrutiny early on, but I reckon at this stage of the game doesnt give a damn and aims to get a rise out of them.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I honestly don't think there's malice there and that he's just engaging in good-natured slagging - maybe I'm wrong...

Dudess wrote: »
    I honestly don't think there's malice there and that he's just engaging in good-natured slagging - maybe I'm wrong...

You're not wrong imo, he's just one of those aul lads that people love talking to cos he'll say whatever he wants for the simple reason that he's 'a character'

Yep I reckon the same. Like I say the whole royalty thing passes me by, but I just find him a likable type of chappy. He's also an example of a generation that is largely gone. Good its gone in a lot of ways that were out of date, but that just roll your sleeves up, damn the naysayers and bloody well get on with it aspect was often thrown out with the bathwater.

Probably the best mindset you could have and to hell with all this self-consciousness
    I hate having to choose words carefully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

He's a mans man.