Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St Patrick's Day foreign trips

• 11-03-2010 11:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭

How many of our politicians are on trips to far flung shores for out national day?

How much does it cost to have Ms Harney in New Zealand for two weeks!?

What about, in future, they all stay at home and we, as a nation, invite representatives from USA, New Zealand, Japan etc to spend St Patrick's Day with us, as our guests?

Show them a good, Irish, time. Bring them to the parade. Buy them a pint in The Sackville Lounge. Tour the Arran Islands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

Is there not enough work in ireland for these idiots that they have to swan off on a paid holiday?

This country is going down the tubes and the dail seem to think sending harney off to New Zealand for a bull****ting session is more important than actually doing her JOB.

Sit back folks sure at least cowen will hand some shamrocks to Obama before he tucks into a steak dinner at our expense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭ClayDavis

To be fair if she spends the time checking out their healthcare system, regarded as one of the best in the world, it'd be worth it.

ClayDavis wrote: »
    To be fair if she spends the time checking out their healthcare system, regarded as one of the best in the world, it'd be worth it.

Most likely out there telling a load of lies about how great the irish system is....they do say if you tell the same lies enough times you start to believe them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭SLUSK

Bertieism is running wild in Ireland :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭whippet

SLUSK wrote: »
    Bertieism is running wild in Ireland :D

i'd call it begrudery.

I think it is vitally important that our politicians use the worldwide recognition of our national holiday to promote all things irish.

But I suppose the notion of getting out there and selling yourself and your products is alien to the flowing tide of socialism and protectionism that seems to be making a rebirth in this country.

What exactly are they out selling? Our broken banking system? our broken healthcare system? it must be our top notch ideas about public transport...get real..the only thing they are selling is BS and nobody is buying.

Jaysoose wrote: »
    What exactly are they out selling? Our broken banking system? our broken healthcare system? it must be our top notch ideas about public transport...get real..the only thing they are selling is BS and nobody is buying.

eeehhh .... tourism, irish exports, the stuff that brings money in to our economy. Why would you even think that Public transport would be discussed? Get back to reading the irish daily star, full of useless headlines!!!

whippet wrote: »
    eeehhh .... tourism, irish exports, the stuff that brings money in to our economy. Why would you even think that Public transport would be discussed? Get back to reading the irish daily star, full of useless headlines!!!

Tourism? oh so thats why they introduced the €10 travel tax..to encourage tourism..i see.

yeah ... the irish government don't want any tourists in the country.

And the fact that you have to pay about twice that to exit NewZealand had decimated their tourism market, nobody ever goes there.

If you listen to O'Leary you'll form the opinion that the drop in passengers through Dublin Airport is all down to the €10 tax, nothing to do with a world wide recession, weakness in the Dollar and Sterling and a massive reduction in business travel, but don't let the facts stand in the way of a good story.

yeah ... the irish government don't want any tourists in the country.

And the fact that you have to pay about twice that to exit NewZealand had decimated their tourism market, nobody ever goes there.

If you listen to O'Leary you'll form the opinion that the drop in passengers through Dublin Airport is all down to the €10 tax, nothing to do with a world wide recession, weakness in the Dollar and Sterling and a massive reduction in business travel, but don't let the facts stand in the way of a good story.

No problem...world wide recession caused our issues..sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I think it is vitally important that our politicians use the worldwide recognition of our national holiday to promote all things irish.

This is my point. They should, however, be celebrating and demonstrating it in Ireland.

Bring them in, show them what we are and can do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

i'd call it begrudery.

But I suppose the notion of getting out there and selling yourself and your products is alien to the flowing tide of socialism and protectionism that seems to be making a rebirth in this country.

You were doing so well until there.

The issue isn't politicians going overseas and networking etc. London, Washington, Brussels, Berlin, Bejing, Tokyo; crack on lads and try not to disgrace us.

The issue is where and for how long some go. It is very hard to justify NZ for a fortnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Guramoogah

The Dáil will be adjourned this afternoon (Thurs 11th March) until Tuesday 23rd March for the St Patrick's break. Huh? I get ONE DAY off for St Patrick's Day. Is it any wonder that the country is going down the jaxx.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Pappy o' daniel

nipplenuts wrote: »
    How many of our politicians are on trips to far flung shores for out national day?

What about, in future, they all stay at home and we, as a nation, invite representatives from USA, New Zealand, Japan etc to spend St Patrick's Day with us, as our guests?

Show them a good, Irish, time. Bring them to the parade. Buy them a pint in The Sackville Lounge. Tour the Arran Islands.

Whats worse is that we'll have to pay for 2 seats, one for each of her cheeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Why do we send politicians? Why dont we send Irish trad musicians or Irish dancers, something symbolic of the country? Or famous recognised Irish actors/musicians/business people who have profile.

The last thing that people in New Zealand to see is a another dull politician like Mary Harney clearing out the fridge for the two weeks. I'm sure they have enough dull politicians themselves.

Why do we send politicians? Why dont we send Irish trad musicians or Irish dancers, something symbolic of the country? Or famous recognised Irish actors/musicians/business people who have profile.

The last thing that people in New Zealand to see is a another dull politician like Mary Harney clearing out the fridge for the two weeks. I'm sure they have enough dull politicians themselves.

because a bowl of shamrock or shane mcgowan would have trouble articulating the advantages of Foreign Direct Investments, tax implications, market opportunities, work force skills & availability or many other subjects that could gain business or opportunities for ireland etc .. .

But I suppose its far to easy to be critical and mock rather than actually think about it.

I was being facetious about Mary Harney, but I am 100% serious about sending cultural icons. We can see from the last few years how well we have been served by foreign investment.. Dell, Gateway, etc etc... The IDA fawn all over them to get them here, and then they f**k off when they find somewhere with lower labour costs. We should be looking at indigenous industry instead of this unsustainable foreign investments. Not that anybody wants to invest here anymore anyway.

There certainly should be some representation on behalf of Bord Fáilte, and this would be served by sending cultural icons/ musicians / respected Irish people. . But more importantly, we need our Ministers HERE, to do the jobs they are being paid for..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Jaysus, is it time for the 'annual faux outrage thread' surrounding St Patrick's Day junkets already?

Two words, 'Brand Ireland'.
    If half the world wants to throw you a parade it would be rude not to turn up and take advantage of the opportuntites to promote the country that St Patrick's Day represents. You simply can't buy that kind of publicity and you'd be a fool not to take advantage of it.
    That won't stop the petty begrudgers moaning of course.... :rolleyes:

PS. My only qualifier would be that the above is only applicable if they lock 'sweary' Mary Hanafin in the dail basement for the duration.

conorhal wrote: »
    PS. My only qualifier would be that the above is only applicable if they lock 'sweary' Mary Hanafin in the dail basement for the duration.

Coughlan.. I was just imagining where she might be going, and what he language would be like after a few green pints..

Jaysus, is it time for the 'annual faux outrage thread' surrounding St Patrick's Day junkets already?

Two words, 'Brand Ireland'.
    If half the world wants to throw you a parade it would be rude not to turn up and take advantage of the opportuntites to promote the country that St Patrick's Day represents. You simply can't buy that kind of publicity and you'd be a fool not to take advantage of it.
    That won't stop the petty begrudgers moaning of course.... :rolleyes:

What they are selling the rest of the world aint buying. Wasters on free holidays doing more damage than good, leave them at it i say if they are away from ireland who will notice the difference.

Petty begrudgers...are you for real?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Southsider1

because a bowl of shamrock or shane mcgowan would have trouble articulating the advantages of Foreign Direct Investments, tax implications, market opportunities, work force skills & availability or many other subjects that could gain business or opportunities for ireland etc .. .

And sadly, I think you probably believe what you're saying. I had the misfortune to be present during the visit of Ms Harney to Cape Town four years ago for St Patricks day. Embarrasing is a fairly conservative way of putting it. She was rude, ignorant and disrespectful and that was to the Irish people there. She ignored the locals. I never met her before that and thankfully never since. So Yeah. It's well worth sending her around the world.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

What they are selling the rest of the world aint buying.

Tell that to Obama, last year he was ordering some strange Paddy off his lawn and wondering what he was doing standing there with a bowl of weeds in the first place. One lost senate seat in Boston later and he's organizing a trip to Moneygall in this summer and inviting every second Irishman alive to the Whitehouse to admire his green tie.

Jaysoose, begrudgery be thy name! :D

Perhaps we should send (as was mentioned above) a selecton of cultural and business ambasadors instead of politicos.

Tell that to Obama, last year he was ordering some strange Paddy off his lawn and wondering what he was doing standing there with a bowl of weeds in the first place. One lost senate seat in Boston later and he's organizing a trip to Moneygall in this summer and inviting every second Irishman alive to the Whitehouse to admire his green tie.

Jaysoose, begrudgery be thy name! :D

Perhaps we should send (as was mentioned above) a selecton of cultural and business ambasadors instead of politicos.

You are deluded.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I think they SHOULD go abroad, genuinely. But 2 weeks is madness.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭danman

Of course they should be going. If fact I'd send most of the opposition as well

every State should have a representitve for their parade.

If none of you understand the significance of 1 small Island nation having 1 day in the year that the whole world recognises, there are some very small minded and bitter people posting on here.

We should try to send representitiveS to as many countries and regions in countries as we can.

Some one suggested bringing people here. Would that not cost more?
    Send a TD to Boston. He will get to meet many more business people than we could invite here for Paddies day.

Get real posters. Instead of begrudging, incourage them to send as many as possible to get any type of job into this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭IrishTonyO

danman wrote: »

every State should have a representitve for their parade.

If none of you understand the significance of 1 small Island nation having 1 day in the year that the whole world recognises, there are some very small minded and bitter people posting on here.

We should try to send representitiveS to as many countries and regions in countries as we can.

Some one suggested bringing people here. Would that not cost more?
    Send a TD to Boston. He will get to meet many more business people than we could invite here for Paddies day.

Get real posters. Instead of begrudging, incourage them to send as many as possible to get any type of job into this country.

No problem with them going, but 2 weeks is ridiculous and why the hell should we pay for her leech of a husband to go????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

There has been a rise in the use of words like 'Begrudgery' & 'Leftist' of late. The idea is that being associated with either should scare you away from casting any opinions or making seemingly negative points against the mindset/view of the Government. This is not the U.S., (mostly not). We shouldn't be brainwashed into dismissing alternate views by right-wing scare mongers spouting 'communism!'. All views should be given a listen.

As regards St. Patrick's holidays. We should send representatives, but for a limited period, people who are articulate and knowledgeable. It just seems every Government official gets to go on a free (to them) holiday and the only matter is who gets to go where. Harney should remain until her house is in order, concerning the most current scandal. It would be the classy thing to do and go a little way to instilling confidence...which would be a nice little present to the Irish people for St. Patricks day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

they do, dervish!! nobody is against trips, or trade missions, but do these all need politicians? i know when there making big country to country deals they do but is that case in all these trips?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

danman wrote: »

we do, but why do these particular politicians have to be there? patrick day can go on without them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Do you really think €10 on a transcontinental flight that cost upwards of €500 will be noticed? Only the low cost carriers oppose the tax because they have to absorb the charge to advertise fares below €10.

Think about it? would €10 really make you think twice about your holiday destination?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 murnhome

Breaking news Harney snapped sunbathing nude at Newzeland Resort. Follow link http://www.tvgasm.com/newsgasm/jabba.jpg Warning some viewers may find this disturbing:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

they do, dervish!! nobody is against trips, or trade missions, but do these all need politicians? i know when there making big country to country deals they do but is that case in all these trips?

i agree, surely mary harney isn't the best person to send to check out new zealand's health system. wouldn't it be more appropriate to send the head of the HSE? since mary herself spends quite a lot of time fobbing off questions saying that they're a HSE matter..
    i'm not sure who the best people to send are, since the heads of quangos are government appointed, but i don't think politicians are the right people.
    there are the other lesser known foreign trips though, the various town and county councillors that go to new york to walk in the parade.. they really really serve no purpose, but we still pay for that too.

• Do you really think €10 on a transcontinental flight that cost upwards of €500 will be noticed? Only the low cost carriers oppose the tax because they have to absorb the charge to advertise fares below €10.
    • Think about it? would €10 really make you think twice about your holiday destination?
    The Uk is irelands biggest market for tourism so using transcontinental flights to justify a €10 Tourist Tax is way off, if your paying 40-50 for your flights then a 20% tax is very significant. If your travelling inside Europe there are much cheaper alternatives than coming here for pretty much everything i.e. Food, drinks, activities so adding this tax was a ridiculous decision as Ireland is an Uncompetitive as it gets right now.

Sure its alright lads we will take a fortnight off and draw holiday destinations out of a hat, dont forget your bowl of shamrocks now. Its a fckin joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭DirksDiggler

DeVore wrote: »
    I think they SHOULD go abroad, genuinely. But 2 weeks is madness.

DeV.

Indeed. They should bloody well stay out there for all the good they are to us here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

ClayDavis wrote: »
    Except she was in the states last year (or at least in interview) Touting Ireland as having one of the best healthcare systems in the world...

ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭skearon

Whats worse is that we'll have to pay for 2 seats, one for each of her cheeks.

Precisely how does your pathetic, tabloid comment contribute anything to this debate?

Petty begrudgers...are you for real?

He should included the words ignorant and short sighted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Pappy o' daniel

skearon wrote: »
    Precisely how does your pathetic, tabloid comment contribute anything to this debate?

It contributes by showing my displeasure at her continued existence as a minister.

Maybe you should remove your head from those cheeks, and see what a joke these trips are. Free holidays is what they are, sold to the public by calling them "fact finding missions".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

St Patricks Day is the one day a year that we Irish can promote ourselves worldwide, this necessarily involves sending our politicians to represent us abroad. I have no problem with them going to far flung places as long as they represent Irish interests and promote us. However I can not agree with the length of time each is allowed to spend abroad at the expense of us. It should be between 3-7 days depending on how far away they are travelling. Any more I dont believe can be justified.

It contributes by showing my displeasure at her continued existence as a minister.

Maybe you should remove your head from those cheeks, and see what a joke these trips are. Free holidays is what they are, sold to the public by calling them "fact finding missions".

Congratulations on posting probably one of the most ignorant 'contributions' ever made here

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    St Patricks Day is the one day a year that we Irish can promote ourselves worldwide, this necessarily involves sending our politicians to represent us abroad. I have no problem with them going to far flung places as long as they represent Irish interests and promote us. However I can not agree with the length of time each is allowed to spend abroad at the expense of us. It should be between 3-7 days depending on how far away they are travelling. Any more I dont believe can be justified.

It depends on the itinerary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Essexboy

Ireland's Prime Minister Brian Cowen, the Taoiseach, as the Irish say, is expected to accompany Mayor Richard Daley to the festivities
    http://www.chicagobreakingnews.com/2010/03/beverly-hopes-to-please-kids-and-st-pats-revelers.html

This is what really happens. Biffo is in second place behind the mayor and gets a byline, much the same as a visit to your locality by the Slovenian minister of Agriculture!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 murnhome

Fair enough if these "junkets" are trade missions please can we see the results of these missions, I have worked in sales all my life and i can tell you if i was sent to solicit business from a potential client my bosses would want to know who i met, what prospects of trade we had with them and if I followed up on all my leads.

Oh and By the way dose Harneys son not have any school to go to? 2 weeks off mid school year not good me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭IrishTonyO

murnhome wrote: »
    Fair enough if these "junkets" are trade missions please can we see the results of these missions, I have worked in sales all my life and i can tell you if i was sent to solicit business from a potential client my bosses would want to know who i met, what prospects of trade we had with them and if I followed up on all my leads.

Oh and By the way dose Harneys son not have any school to go to? 2 weeks off mid school year not good me thinks.

She doesn't have a son

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

murnhome wrote: »

In the case of New Zealand and Harney, this countrY is a major competitior of Ireland's agricultural industry so I am baffled as to what purpose is served in sending a Health Minister for two weeks ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭LookingFor

Just a note to register my dismay - yet again - at Brian Cowen's manner in holding himself at the Paddy's day events in the US.

Was the same last year.

He's clearly learned nothing about how to look and at least pretend to be dignified in the intervening year.

At the St. Patrick's luncheon he's there sitting with his back to the speaker, variously drinking and eating and scratching, tonguing his mouth for bits of food, etc. etc.:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=In9KEeinMDc&feature=channel

And then at the Whitehouse, he looks like a schoolchild, face in various states of contortion, tongue out at times as he listens to the President.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3TbXvB5LXlE

It's like he just can't keep a straight face, mouth closed for any appreciable length of time.

Can we take a little bit of all that money we spend on these guys and get them some elocution lessons before next year? Or preferably, before his next foreign trip? It's one expense I'd happily support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

The Irish Mail had a story on Connor Lenihan's junket to Vietnam and apparently a very happy time was had by all, lasting into the early hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

I was reading the IT roundup of the various parades, and they made special mention of Buenos Aires having no official representation for the second year in a row, despite having the biggest parade in Latin America with some 40k people involved. Considering there is real ancesteral links with this country, and that some of our culture is actively celebrated on a continual basis by the locals, you'd think someone should be sent there from the Oireachtas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Kingdom wrote: »
    I was reading the IT roundup of the various parades, and they made special mention of Buenos Aires having no official representation for the second year in a row, despite having the biggest parade in Latin America with some 40k people involved. Considering there is real ancesteral links with this country, and that some of our culture is actively celebrated on a continual basis by the locals, you'd think someone should be sent there from the Oireachtas.
    Paddy's Day junkets have bugger all to do with Irish culture.
    A minister is abroad to do one thing and that is to sell what Ireland can offer business-wise. Thats all there is to it.