Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bob Dylan - Thomond Park Stadium, Limerick 4th July 2010

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Impressive coup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bob the Seducer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 aliroly

I'll be going :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭RolandGoose

Can't wait for this!!!!! :)

Anyone reckon this will sell out fast? The O2 gigs last May sold out very fast!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Van Occupanther

I live about 100 metres from the stadium and this just about makes up for Elton John and Rod Stewart being inflicted on us last year. Still a way to go to make up for Pink though. Whats Bob like live these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mystic86

Presale started 45 minutes ago, anybody have any info on how to buy them in the presale????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

I live about 100 metres from the stadium and this just about makes up for Elton John and Rod Stewart being inflicted on us last year. Still a way to go to make up for Pink though. Whats Bob like live these days?

well these days (like the last few years at least) he can't sing for sh*t! His songs are unrecognisable due to his failing voice and often different time signatures on his live stuff compared to his recorded stuff..but people will go just to say they've seen the legend live...that was my motivation a few years ago anyway :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

Presale started 45 minutes ago, anybody have any info on how to buy them in the presale????

Presale code is MUNSTER

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Rosie_McRose

RoadKillTs wrote: »
    Presale code is MUNSTER

I just tried that and it didn't work for me.
    Anyone got another code?
    I desperately want tickets to this - do you think it'll sell out quickly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

I just tried that and it didn't work for me.

Its working for me! Are you sure you putting in the code correctly?
    I desperately want tickets to this - do you think it'll sell out quickly?

Yes.

well these days (like the last few years at least) he can't sing for sh*t! His songs are unrecognisable due to his failing voice and often different time signatures on his live stuff compared to his recorded stuff..but people will go just to say they've seen the legend live...that was my motivation a few years ago anyway :)

I gotta disagree with you, as for changing the time signatures and song styles, Bob has always done this, in fact he has always done the opposite to what people wanted!, As for his voice well yeah its changed alott and I guess its either love it or hate it, he is quit croaky these days and sings the songs more bluesy to suit, No doubt there will be disappointed people leaving having expected Bob to sound the same as he did singing Blowin in the Wind when he was 20!!! as for me this will be my 12th Dylan gig and I truly believe he puts on a great show along with top quality musicians!

Thomond Park holds near to 27,000 people! that must be the biggest Irish audience Bob's played to in a good while! maybe ever!

Anyone got any ideas for support? I dunno why but for some reason I can't get Van Morrison out of my head! Its been a long time since Van last played here, and as far as I know himself and Bob are good friends, If he brought his Astral Weeks tour here the demand would be crazy!!! maybe wishful thinking, but I'm keeping my fingers crossed!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Rosie_McRose

I don't know whay that wasn't working for me. I logged out of ticketmaster and them followed the link again and it worked fine second time.
    Got my tix now thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Got my ticket. Heard that David Gray:( and Seasick Steve:D are playing support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mystic86

where did u hear that?

Can't say. Hope Seasick Steve is right, he is brilliant:D. David Gray will be handy for a trip to the bar.

EDIT: Confirmed http://www.hotpress.com/news/6319555.html

YESSS!! Also two more acts to be announced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭DylanJames

Got my ticket yesterday, it'll be my 3rd time seeing Dylan and 4th time seeing Seasick, gonna be a great gig!

RonMexico wrote: »
    Got my ticket. Heard that David Gray:( and Seasick Steve:D are playing support.

Yeah I guess that's official now, Its showing on Ticketmaster,

A little disappointing of a line up, but it could have been worse I suppose,
    I was hoping for another major act like Van Morrison!

The line up for Kilkenny a few years ago was better, The Violent Femmes and The Flaming Lips, they made for a great show! and Dylan didn't disappoint either the best performance I've seen from him!!!!

EDIT: Oh I didn't realize there was more acts to be announced!!! Fingers Crossed!!!

I could be wrong here but I can't imagine Van Morrison agreeing to pay second fiddle to anyone, Dylan included.

Yeah I guess it would be doubtful, especially since Van is on his Astral Weeks tour which would be a headline act! But I just noticed his new website is nearly done, and I thought he might launch it with new tour dates, and he hasent been to Ireland in a long time!!! I think himself and Dylan are kinda friends so that would make it more probable!

Van supported Dylan at Slane in 1984, he also supported Neil Young at Slane in 1993, I don't think Van minds playing support as long as the bill is a good standard of music, which is a great way of doing things!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Mr. K

Dylan's a bit of a legend. I'm not a huge fan of all his stuff, but you've gotta respect the guy! I was at Elton John and Rod Stewart last year, they were both good gigs.

Not really sure about P!nk yet. Not a fan, but she's alright. Also, I think she looks rather hot here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Missundaztood

I see that album in shops and think "Hm, maybe I wanna see her live"! Shallow, I know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

didn't Van support Bob at the Smithwick's Source in Kilkenny a number of years ago now??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Jess7

I'm looking for some advice on the stadium, I've never been and it's hard to get a good idea of it from the seating chart. I've seen Dylan several times but never in a venue this large so I'm not sure about the ticket situation. I usually just buy standing tickets but I'm going for seats this time. My question is are the seats like Croke park and the R.D.S. in that if you are sitting low down in sections your view is blocked by the people standing? Would I be better to buy tickets higher up in the sections? Any help is greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Reaganomical

Jess7 wrote: »
    I'm looking for some advice on the stadium, I've never been and it's hard to get a good idea of it from the seating chart. I've seen Dylan several times but never in a venue this large so I'm not sure about the ticket situation. I usually just buy standing tickets but I'm going for seats this time. My question is are the seats like Croke park and the R.D.S. in that if you are sitting low down in sections your view is blocked by the people standing? Would I be better to buy tickets higher up in the sections? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Hey Jess, the seating shouldn't be an issue at TP as there are terraced areas in front of both stands. This means that the front row of the seats in the stand are already at a decent height so viewing shouldn't be a problem.

The only risk would be if temporary seating was to be installed in the terraced areas in front of the stand and you got seats there...the view might not be great from there.

Once you click thru the various stages on Ticketmaster, you should be eventually given your seat numbers, row and section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

I've never really been inspired by Dylan as it happens....

Oh Today?

I've just been sitting on the pavement shouting bout the Government:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭EyesClosed

any news on the rest of the support???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Saw Dylan in Galway a few years ago and can safely say it was the worst concert I've ever been to.

Never again.

He's back on form though in the last year or so, I agree he was bad in Galway and Kilkenny but I've seen him a few times since then and he's been fantasic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭SB-08

Can anyone tell me the name of the first track that is played on the radio advert for this gig? I hear the ad on 2FM all the time but don't know the first. It has a country sound to it but I can't find it on the 'Dylan' compilation album I have. Anyone?:confused:

I'd like to see Dylan live just for the experience but judging by youtube clips I've seen and what i've been told my a few mates, some of the songs are almost unrecognisible due to the way his voice is now. Although some others say his voice is better now than ever...

He's well worth seeing live and the song from the ad, although I haven't heard the ad, is from the album Nashville Skyline

i like his live voice he changes the songs to match his voice, its more bluesy and jazzy now so thats how he plays the songs

I seen Dylan in Galway and Kilkenny and I though he was fantastic both times! his voice was alot better in Kilkenny but his band had changed, the gig in Galway was more rock n roll based whereas Dylan's new band are very jazzy and bluesy, depends on what your into really, I am a big Dylan fan and I genuinely enjoy his gigs immensely!!! :)

I hope he announces a gig for the Cork Marquee after Limerick!!! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

kraggy wrote: »
    Saw Dylan in Galway a few years ago and can safely say it was the worst concert I've ever been to.

Never again.

When I seen his in Slane back in 1984 I said the same thing. Only two gigs I've ever truely hated - Dylan in Slane '84 and Yusuf Islam last year in The O2, although I'd love to see Yusuf again I wouldn't take a chance on Dylan.

Whoa, you didn't like the Slane gig!? I thought it sounded great!

What didn't you like about Yusuf? despite the drawn out play in the middle which had most of the hits played over the PA, and the over ignorant crowd reaction,

Other than this I thought the gig was great his voice is as good as ever, maybe even better!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I went to Dylan once. Never again. The man is a disgrace. He doesn't bother to put on a show. He is indecipherable live

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Whoa, you didn't like the Slane gig!?

This;
    Ally Dick wrote: »
    I went to Dylan once. Never again. The man is a disgrace. He doesn't bother to put on a show. He is indecipherable live
    What didn't you like about Yusuf? despite the drawn out play in the middle which had most of the hits played over the PA, and the over ignorant crowd reaction

Yusuf Islam discussion HERE.

I never mentioned Yusuf. I only mentioned the dreadful live Bob

Ally Dick wrote: »
    I never mentioned Yusuf. I only mentioned the dreadful live Bob

Nobody said you did, Makikomi was using your post to explain why he didn't enjoy Dylan live, and the Yusuf Islam comment was meant for me,

BTW Makikomi from reading that thread it is still pretty unclear what you dis-liked about the gig so much,

Sorry to have to deviate away from the original thread topic again,
    I guess with Dylan nowaday you either like it or hate it, Dylan was never one for interacting with the crowd, IMO with a musician of his class and his huge catalog of incredible songs it doesent matter!!!

IMO with a musician of his class and his huge catalog of incredible songs it doesent matter!!!

I couldn't disagree more. It shows tremendous disrespect for the audience to turn up and put on such poor shows consistently. Give me Wilco live any day of the week. Now THERE's a band who know how to perform live

Consistently Poor?? You obviously haven't seen him recently. He's better now than he's been in years, arguably the 70s. Dylan's always said the songs on his records are just blueprints, a lot of the time the way he performs his songs at gigs are better than on the record, especially recent recordings! Give me Dylan any day over bands who just plod out the same setlist at every gig with the same arrangements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭McCruiskeen

Jaysus, save your money folks. The man is a legend and I love him, but his live shows are ABSOLUTELY HOPELESS.

I have seen his gigs rapidly disintegrate over the last 10 years. If people stopped going to his gigs, maybe he'd make some sort of effort again.

He tours cos he enjoys it and the atmosphere (and money) and not for the fans.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

I can't understand why he plays such big venues anymore, seen him a few times in the Point and his voice has become so frail thats its painful to listen to!! He seems to be constantly on tour too, jeez man take a rest!!!:rolleyes: Not worth the money any more imo!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭crazzzzy

its the same argument everytime dylan plays....the people who love hims old albums don't like the sound of his voice now but the people who love his lyrics love to hear new versions

I seen him in amsterdam last year at easter & it wasn't great but i put that down to the crowd being the most boring i ever seen. I loved him at the point last may & can't wait for thomond park.

If you not sure if you wanna go or not....listen to recording of some recent concert & make your own mind up.

crazzzzy wrote: »
    its the same argument everytime dylan plays....the people who love hims old albums don't like the sound of his voice now but the people who love his lyrics love to hear new versions

I seen him in amsterdam last year at easter & it wasn't great but i put that down to the crowd being the most boring i ever seen. I loved him at the point last may & can't wait for thomond park.

If you not sure if you wanna go or not....listen to recording of some recent concert & make your own mind up.

i would agree, he does whatever he wants to at his gigs, i love hearing the different versions of the songs he plays and i to be fair he was never the worlds greatest singer but his lyrics are still genius even on his latest albums, i have seen him twice and the band were great both times and he seemed to be having a great time himself personally i can't wait

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭jimw1988

alabama 3 announced on their website!

also van morrison playing hop farm festival in kent! other acts playing are seasick steve and 1 bob dylan! we can only hope!!!!!

jimw1988 wrote: »
    alabama 3 announced on their website!

also van morrison playing hop farm festival in kent! other acts playing are seasick steve and 1 bob dylan! we can only hope!!!!!

Whoa, I had a funny feeling the support would be Van from the very start,
    One can only hope indeed!!!! :)

Is it likely tho?, I mean if someone of Vans caliber was playing wouldn't they have announced it from the start? tickets in that case would have sold out in seconds!!

funny auld day today, I been looking at Hop Farm Festivals website for a long time and it looks great, really considering going! today I was reading the paper and got really excited when I seen the headline "VAN THE MAN RETURNS!" incredible!!!! I read the article, turns out the dj Armin Van Buuren will be returning to Ireland :pac:, that is NOT Van The Man!!! :mad::(, may have to go to Hop Farm after that let down, :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭squire23

Anyone know if Alabama 3 are gonna play any other dates while they're here? Can't find any info on their site

squire23 wrote: »
    Anyone know if Alabama 3 are gonna play any other dates while they're here? Can't find any info on their site

There playing Leopardstown on Thursday August 5th, as part of the Bulmers, Leopardstown gigs, I think a ticket gets you a day at the races and then the gig after,

here is the line up..............

Bulmers Live at Leopardstown line-up:
    Thursday, June 10th - Fun Lovin’ Criminals
    Thursday, June 17th - Mundy (and band)
    Thursday, July 1st - Aslan
    Thursday, July 8th - Duke Special
    Thursday, July 15th - Paul Brady
    Thursday, July 22nd - Delorentos
    Thursday, August 5th - Alabama 3
    Thursday, August 12th – Sharon Shannon and Shane MacGowan

http://www.goracing.ie/content/hri/hrinews.aspx?id=12414

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 YARG

Anyone know of any return bus transfer from Dublin to Limerick for the gig?

YARG wrote: »
    Anyone know of any return bus transfer from Dublin to Limerick for the gig?

I don't know of any buses, but there is a train been put on specially for the gig, ye can get tickets through Ticketmaster,

There €40, and the train leaves Dublin at 12 noon and returns at 12 midnight,

http://www.ticketmaster.ie/event/18004495A2383D27?artistid=734972&majorcatid=10001&minorcatid=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭GaryW

I don't know of any buses, but there is a train been put on specially for the gig, ye can get tickets through Ticketmaster,

There €40, and the train leaves Dublin at 12 noon and returns at 12 midnight,

http://www.ticketmaster.ie/event/18004495A2383D27?artistid=734972&majorcatid=10001&minorcatid=1

Id go for a bus if there was one, train seems expensive when you have to buy a few ticktes... bus might be cheaper option. Doesnt seem to be any which is strange!