Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the primary instrument that you play?

• 09-03-2010 4:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭

As perhaps to get an idea of the make up of this forum (and because it interests me) i am curious to see what instruments people here play or what they would consider to be their 1st instrument? why is it your 1st instrument also?

Obviously its gotta be drums for me. Been playing since 14 and its the only thing i like to play. I can play guitar and bass also but they are boring i suppose.

how do you play yours?

What is the primary instrument that you play? 87 votes

Keyboards
    0% 0 votes
    Guitar
    6% 6 votes
    Bass
    39% 34 votes
    Drums
    24% 21 votes
    Vocals(!)
    19% 17 votes
    Other
    5% 5 votes
    Cowbell and/or Triangle
    4% 4 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Rigsby

DrumSteve wrote: »
    I can play guitar and bass also but they are boring i suppose.

:mad: ( Bass, first and foremost here ).

Good idea for a poll. I have often been curious about this. I'd say it's a foregone conclusion that guitarists would be the most abundant though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭KeithTS

I'm a guitarist, I just picked it up when I was a wee lad as it was the most accessible and easiest to practice without offending the n neighbours.
    1st choice was drums but wasnt an option so here I am being an axeman.

I'm assuming it's gonna be 90% guitarists around here, hopefully I'm wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭seriousfizz

I'd prefer if that poll were multi-choice... just sayin':p

My first instrument is guitar, been playing for 5 years now. I picked up bass guitar recently (I love it!) and I'm also interested in drumming, got myself a darbuka (hand-drums are much easier to work with :p)

Also consider myself to be a vocalist, yus yus :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,070 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Rigsby wrote:
    I'd say it's a foregone conclusion that guitarists would be the most abundant though.
    I've just cast my vote and bassists are currently tied with guitarists on 5 each so maybe not as much of a foregone conclusion as you might think?

For the record I'm a bass player who also plays guitar so maybe a multiple-choice poll would have been more appropriate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Malice_ wrote: »
    For the record I'm a bass player who also plays guitar so maybe a multiple-choice poll would have been more appropriate.

Same here, bass player primarily but I also (attempt) to play guitar. :o :pac:

I've just cast my vote and bassists are currently tied with guitarists on 5 each so maybe not as much of a foregone conclusion as you might think?

It's early days yet !! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭srvhead

Started playing drums at 12, moved onto guitar at 15. Have a long term on / off relationship with the bass. Love it at the moment! 39 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Ah lads im a drummer... a multi-choice poll is a bit much for me to set up :D

tbh honest though my main question was what would you consider to be your primary instrument? single choice poll seemed the best option for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭ClutchIt

Great idea for a poll. I don't think it should be multiple choice. Every guitar player plays some bass and vice versa so we don't really learn anything.

The question should be:

"What instrument would you feel most comfortable playing in a band"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Drums all the way.

I can play a bit of guitar. Very basic stuff though.
    Same goes for bass and I can get away with a bit of singing... Only a bit mind.

Wanna try and learn piano. I've always wanted to learn it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

Guitarist here, but I'm not happy about it :p

I listen to lots of electronic music, and try to make my guitar sound as far away from a usual guitar as possible. Technique doesn't matter to me as much as sounds and textures. Having said that, I'm saving up so I can get some jazz lessons. I got bored with standard 'rock' playing ages ago. Jaysus I sound like a wanker don't I? :p

I practice keyboards, drums and program computers more than I sit down to practice guitar, but I guess that stems from my not-wanting-to-be-a-guitarist kinda thing. But guitar is the only instrument I have enough technical knowledge/the right gear to use in a band.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 505 ✭✭✭DerKaiser

Definitely should be multiple choice, some people are multi-instrumentalists and comfortable with several instruments

I play all of the above, it's also a very limited poll as there are other instruments out there

DerKaiser wrote: »
    Definitely should be multiple choice, some people are multi-instrumentalists and comfortable with several instruments

I play all of the above, it's also a very limited poll as there are other instruments out there

thats all well and good but what i was asking is what would you consider to be your 1st or primary instrument? not how many instruments do you play... :rolleyes:

Also could you please elaborate as to what the other instruments might be as i though these would have been covered under the other option.

some people will find any excuse to complain about anything, eh?

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

Another vote for a multi-choice vote...

I play several instruments.

Ah lads im a drummer... a multi-choice poll is a bit much for me to set up :D

tbh honest though my main question was what would you consider to be your primary instrument? single choice poll seemed the best option for that.
    If you like I can change the thread title and poll question to make it a bit clearer.

probably the best option to stop all the hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭pauliewallie

started on guitar at 16 and that has remained the one I am most comfortable with .... started playing bass at 18 as no-one else in the band was willing :D glad I did as love the bass .....
    During my 20's I also learned, to varying degrees, the mandolin and the bodhran ....

i'd also love to learn piano ... I would consider this to be a great instrument to start on if you dont get too bored as a kid ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭odonopenmic

thats all well and good but what i was asking is what would you consider to be your 1st or primary instrument? not how many instruments do you play... :rolleyes:

Also could you please elaborate as to what the other instruments might be as i though these would have been covered under the other option.
    QUOTE]

Hey DrumSteve,

Great poll! given that everyone is always looking for someone on here, if we knew that there were moxies of guitarists but little else, we could tailor searches better too :)

I understand that you're looking for the primary instrument but I suppose, I'm in sort of a similar boat. I play hammond/piano and that's my main instrument with one band, then in another it's fiddle, in another vocals etc. Maybe easiest solution is that you can vote a few times? (Not sure if that's desirable, or possible mods)

Also, if you wanted to expand a little on the other instruments, maybe include categories like 'brass' or 'strings'? Anyway just a suggestion but I like your work! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 milnerrm

i play the drums...have a tamburo kit, and also acquired a pearl CS-1450 snare recently...sweet!

QUOTE]

Hey DrumSteve,

Great poll! given that everyone is always looking for someone on here, if we knew that there were moxies of guitarists but little else, we could tailor searches better too :)

I understand that you're looking for the primary instrument but I suppose, I'm in sort of a similar boat. I play hammond/piano and that's my main instrument with one band, then in another it's fiddle, in another vocals etc. Maybe easiest solution is that you can vote a few times? (Not sure if that's desirable, or possible mods)

Also, if you wanted to expand a little on the other instruments, maybe include categories like 'brass' or 'strings'? Anyway just a suggestion but I like your work! :cool:

thanks!

only thing is i play about 5 different instruments myself so i figured whats the one i'd consider my main instrument... i.e.drums

i think malice is gonna change the thread title anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

I'm chairman of the Cowbell and Triangle Player's Union and we demand our own poll option :mad:

"Other"...pfft.

probably the best option to stop all the hassle.
    i think malice is gonna change the thread title anyways.
    I've changed the thread title and the poll question. Hopefully it's a bit clearer for anyone that hasn't voted yet.
    Savman wrote: »
    I'm chairman of the Cowbell and Triangle Player's Union and we demand our own poll option :mad:
    You didn't think of people that play cowbell but not triangle or people that play triangle but not cowbell did you? Happily I took care of that with another poll option :).

I've changed the thread title and the poll question. Hopefully it's a bit clearer for anyone that hasn't voted yet.

thanks malice.

You didn't think of people that play cowbell but not triangle or people that play triangle but not cowbell did you? Happily I took care of that with another poll option :).
    This is a great day for my people :pac:

"Other"...pfft.

What about the "spoons" ??? :D

Rigsby wrote: »
    You can't just ask politely, you have to demand it. Bolded text is optional :p.

Chancers.

some people will find any excuse to complain about anything, eh?

Do I have to have a primary instrument? I don't think so, I have experience of live and recording playing a variety of instruments, I'm comfortable on quite a lot of instruments, is this poll going to degenerate into a 'You can't play more than one instrument' thread, it's all jealousy I reckon :rolleyes:

Violin and saxophone are two for starters, Other is insulting to those who play them, and they are probably better musicians than 75% of people on here

And damn right I complain, about mediocrity in music! So?

Do I have to have a primary instrument? I don't think so, I have experience of live and recording playing a variety of instruments, I'm comfortable on quite a lot of instruments, is this poll going to degenerate into a 'You can't play more than one instrument' thread, it's all jealousy I reckon :rolleyes:

Violin and saxophone are two for starters, Other is insulting to those who play them, and they are probably better musicians than 75% of people on here

where was that stated? In my opening post, i stated that i played more than one instrument comfortably.the whole point of my post was to ask people what they consider to be their primary instrument... in my case its the drums.

Coming from a band situation, i picked the instruments that i feel are most commonly used. Sure why not give one of the mods a shout and ask them to include Violin or Saxophone if it means that much to you?

Would you care to expand on your claim there bout the 75% as i think its insult to the many good musicians who frequent these forums... Also I think having 4 way limb independence as a drummer maybe more impressive than picking up a violin but hey that just my opinion.

What the hell has that got to do with anything?

C'mon DerKaiser !! Dont take it as a personal attack. Lighten up a little. :) It's just a light hearted poll, which will hopefully give us a general idea of people's primary instrument. 99.9% of the time, it is the instruments listed in the poll that feature most on this forum. I would not consider "Other" an insult, merely in the minority. Surely that is no one's fault.

I would not consider "Other" an insult, merely in the minority.
    Wrong. I know as many Sax players as I do Bass Players. This poll is really just about your bog standard 'rock band' scenario with Drums Bass and 2 Guitars. Eventually you break free from this and realise the world does not revolve around this format and how limiting it can be musically.

really? this elitist attitude is what keeps me away from this forum.

Do you really know that many sax players... i mean anyone can play bass (no offence haha!)...

Some people in here really need to lighten up. If you want a poll full of saxophones and violins and whatnot then make one. why bother giving out that they were not included initially?

You possibly may know as many sax players as bass players, but I'd bet you are in the minority. I doubt if there has been more than maybe two ( if even that ) sax players posting here in the last year. If people want a "bog standard rock band" poll, what is the problem with that :confused: If we were to bring your arguement to a logical conclusion, then we should include the washboard also. :D

Maybe, as Drumsteve says, you could post another poll featuring "other" instruments (dont forget to include that washboard !! ).

BTW, if there was not any bass or drums, how limiting would music be then ? ;)

really? this elitist attitude is what keeps me away from this forum.
    Don't let the door hit you on the way out!
    There's nothing elitist about actually being aware of musical instruments. To suggest otherwise is purely showing your ignorance inexperience.

Listen, there's nothing wrong with Rock bands, it's the very essence of most groups, but to disregard pretty much all non-rock based instruments as "Other" is pretty narrow minded.

Btw you shoulda just put Drums and Spoons into the same category :p

Don't let the door hit you on the way out!
    There's nothing elitist about actually being aware of musical instruments. To suggest otherwise is purely showing your ignorance inexperience.

that gave me a laugh.

Maaan this is one of those trainwreck threads I regret getting involved in. Forget everything I said, you and your poll live happily ever after ok champ :)

yeah we will :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭setanta74

Cant believe the grief dished out over a harmless poll. Just my 2 cents.

Bye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭ClutchIt

Awful attitude by some of you. My god he did up a poll which was very helpful. In comes music snob central bragging that they know there are other instruments! Are you guys for real? DerKaiser - Totally bragging that you can play other instruments.
    The polls function was to show people what the majority of users played as their best instrument. Your post served no purpose other than to tell everyone that you could play other instruments. ~Then you have the nerve to call people jealous! Cringe.

Also, are you claiming that just because someone plays violin or sax they are great players? Very naive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭odonopenmic

Right, this is ridiculous. I play violin and I play sax. Neither are my primary instrument. For the record, I am not in the slightest bit insulted by any terminology, au contraire, brevity is great and 'other' makes sense.

As for being a better musician than 75% of people on here? In my dreams! I can hold my own but the idea that you can even quantify an individual's, never mind a group of musicians', prowess in % terms by what they play, or perhaps judging in conjunction with what posts they put up on Boards is just inflammatory. Some would even say idiotic. The majority though, would most likely just see this as snobbery, plain and simple.

How did a great idea for a post turn into something so serious and
    b!tchy?! :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Stephentlig

Guitar: I've always played it for as long as I remember, I thank the Lord Jesus for this great gift of praising him with this talent he has granted me, I certaintly dont deserve it, nor do I consider myself a great guitarist as such, I beleive that the moment we think we have it all covered is the moment we've lost it as the guitar is a continual learning experience and we always have something new to learn all the way to the grave.

what about the Piano? isnt it the king of instruments? shouldnt that be on your list?

Pax Christi
    Stephen <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭The_g-man

I voted keyboards, happy enough to know it covers piano just as much as hammonds, workstations, arrangers and a huge variety of synths.

ClutchIt wrote: »
    Awful attitude by some of you. My god he did up a poll which was very helpful. In comes music snob central bragging that they know there are other instruments! Are you guys for real? DerKaiser - Totally bragging that you can play other instruments.
    The polls function was to show people what the majority of users played as their best instrument. Your post served no purpose other than to tell everyone that you could play other instruments. ~Then you have the nerve to call people jealous! Cringe.

Also, are you claiming that just because someone plays violin or sax they are great players? Very naive.

Right, wait a god damn minute and read all posts before damning me, I merely said I could play several instruments and I was attacked immediately about this, then I put up my opinion on being attacked, as for snob? Elitist? I'm neither mate, this polls function was to wind up people who have a wider view than common or garden rock music and to give the real musos here further proof that boards.ie is full of wasters and bad guitarists and when you have finished reading all posts mate, tell me where I said ALL people who play sax or violin are great players? VERY IGNORANT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Stephentlig

The_g-man wrote: »
    I voted keyboards, happy enough to know it covers piano just as much as hammonds, workstations, arrangers and a huge variety of synths.

Sorry G, I simply didnt think of that, and thank you for pointing that out to me :D

Pax Christi
    Stephen<3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭DANNY22XX

Keyboards
    Guitar
    Bass
    Drums
    Vocals(!)
    Others

nice to meet you all;)

I'd say it's a foregone conclusion that guitarists would be the most abundant though.

It's early days yet !! ;)

Hey Malice !!!

When and where can I collect that 100 euro bet ? :p

i really thought there would be more vocalists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

I like to think of myself as a multi-instrumentalist :D

I am handy enough at the guitar (I'm told)....whereas with the following I would be extremely average, but can just about do enough to say I can play them....

Drums, bass, keyboards, mandolin, recorder, harmonica.

Just got a fiddle which I am absolutely hopeless at!!

Oh and I couldnt sing to save my life...

i really thought there would be more vocalists...

No, that does not surprise me (along with keyboards). What puzzles me though, is why there is not more of both ?

Hey Malice !!!

When and where can I collect that 100 euro bet ? :p
    The what now? I think I might have bet 100 Zimbabwean dollars at most :pac:

Also, mods can edit polls so it really wouldn't be a fair bet as I could give the results a slight nudge in the appropriate direction.