Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

rabbit numbers

• 08-03-2010 11:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭

lads is it just me or is there a serious decline in rabbits, i have been out the last few evenings and on land that would hold a load of them in the last few years is empty, whats it like in yer area, is it too early in the year to see them or is disease killing them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Thomasofmel

I have noticed the same, chatting to few mates only yesterday and we all agreed that the bunnies have gone rare :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭moan 77

Up my way no change at all still loads of the little f*ckers, only the other day in a now small field (due to new dual carrageway cutting right up the middle of it) i saw at least 40 of them and a few years back with a .22 with silencer i met a lad who shot 35 in a hour same field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭moose112

Yeah i have noticed a serious decline in them over the past two years, from one end of the county to the other. I have also noticed an explosion in the hare population locally, wonder if the two are anyway connected.

moan 77 wrote: »
    Up my way no change at all still loads of the little f*ckers, only the other day in a now small field (due to new dual carrageway cutting right up the middle of it) i saw at least 40 of them and a few years back with a .22 with silencer i met a lad who shot 35 in a hour same field.

Brilliant - need to move inland then? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 hunter91

Same in my area seen a lot less rabbits in the past two years but a lot more hares... dont have a clue if they could be connected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Terrier

In regards to the Hare population, I believe it's the result of lamping foxes.
    I started lamping 4 years ago, back then 1-2 hares would be seen a night. Remove 100+ foxes a year and now i see 20-30 hares a night!

Rabbits are making a come back in my neck of the woods, now 5 good warren systems within a few miles of my place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

I asked the same question on another site. This time last year i would been a couple of weeks into shooting them. Only seen a handful this year and the farmer who owns the land has only seen one. He reckons cos of the hard winter and its still cold. But when the weather heats up they'll be back.
    Wait and see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

Same here I went off early last Sunday week, and I never saw them as scarce and was wondering did the cold spell take it's toll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Bunnies are sun worshippers ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Seems it's dependent on locality. One permission, high up in the mountains, they've gone scarce and very skittish. Can't get a shot at them these days. Another place, feckin' crawling with the dopiest bunnies you ever saw. Going to be brilliant sport there when it warms up a little. All the shot lines are fairly long is the only thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭ferrete

in the west and north west in m usual quarrys i have stopped hunting them for the moment for they are in rapid decline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭sako75 hunter

Has to be the cold weather. Usually a fair scatter of rabbits around my way (sth tipp). Hope they start coming back soon, im putting a deposit on a new 22wmr just for the feckers.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Hoping to get out for a quick wander and scouting session with the gun this weekend, so will report on any productivity of that good permission then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭moose112

I have been noticing this decline over two years now and it def not a weather thing.
    I could go out on a lovely summers evening and not see one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭EastTyrone

around me they were all over the place up to septmeber then bucking maxy hit dem. but still more than there has been about the past few years in other parts of my parish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭sonofthegun

just back from walking the dogs and my spot for the bunnies is alive with the little beuties will head out this weekend if the weather holds nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

im sure numbers will bounce back, after all they breed like erm:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:.......rabbits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

Did notice myself that the numbers are down this year but I reckon the prolonged cold snap we're still having is definately after having an effect on them, theres a few out but not that many- its still early though.
    Have to admit theres notin like a warm summers evening when the sun is just starting to go down, the midgets are starting to buzz around and there isnt a breath of wind in it and to take a leisurely walk in the fields going after the bunnies is great.
    i live near the coast and some of the land I shoot on is near cliff edges and just to sit down for 5 mins and take a break from walking, look out to sea, take in the fresh air and pop a few rounds at the bunnies is just great - roll on the summer - feck off cold snap !!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭ivanthehunter

Good husbandry is the key!!

If you go around your land killing off rabbits during the breading season (i.e.Warm Weather-Summertime) then low numbers is to be expected!! Because you have killed your own sport:mad:

Old Saying,"Never kill rabbits in a month with 'R' in the months name"..

Its up to you to protect you hunting range... Land has been managed in such a way for thousands of years......

=
    ##

I'll will however say that if numbers are too high you'll be facing 2 issues-

# 1 being an imminent population crash which would be devastating and
    #2 Poor conditioning by either lack of food or stress = poor shabby coats and stressed meat....i.e. You'll alway get a better rabbits when they're on the scarcer side of things:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭damagegt

i noticed this in maybe the last year or so.So i have been feeding a few runs i shoot the most and its working well.Maybe 30-40% more then before i was feeding.

what have you been feeding them with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭damagegt

alfalfa pellets and black sun flower seeds with some apple pieces sometimes,but never to much fruit or leaves as there is to much water in them and that plays with there digestive system .Try it yourself if you have a few runs you know no one else shoots i was doing it once or twice a day at the start and after a week or so it was looking a lot better.I didn't shoot straight away but let them get comfortable with the feed and have a look at night if you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

Good husbandry is the key!!

If you go around your land killing off rabbits during the breading season (i.e.Warm Weather-Summertime) then low numbers is to be expected!! Because you have killed your own sport:mad: /QUOTE]

Old Saying,"Never kill rabbits in a month with 'R' in the months name"..

Its up to you to protect you hunting range... Land has been managed in such a way for thousands of years......

=
    ##

I'll will however say that if numbers are too high you'll be facing 2 issues-

# 1 being an imminent population crash which would be devastating and
    #2 Poor conditioning by either lack of food or stress = poor shabby coats and stressed meat....i.e. You'll alway get a better rabbits when they're on the scarcer side of things:pac::pac:

July and August are months without an "R" but are also classed as summertime are they not ? So shooting bunnies on a nice warm summer evening in July or August is great and by your reckoning it good husbandry too

plenty of bunnies out this afternoon, leaping from cover. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

dicky82 wrote: »
    plenty of bunnies out this afternoon, leaping from cover. . .

I have shot 5 bunnies in the last few days.
    Not as plentyful as last year but I shot a lot last year. 250 approx.

Farmer is happy as he has more grass.
    And less holes in his field, the rabbits were destroying the place.

Big impact on rabbits around me it the lack of cover. Brush always keeps populations healthy.
    Farmers are making fields bigger and the rabbits have no place to hide from foxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

Decline in my area also. Have to walk alot farther to fill my bag.
    Went out for a look at night with a lamp tho. There was rabbits EVERYWHERE. I recon there coming out at night this weather.

I was out yesterday morning at 6am, bright and warm & calm weather - but did not see one bunny :mad:
    What time do you usually go out lamping?
    I would typically go out early in the morning - around 4am - and there would be few of them in the middle of the field ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

The last night was after dark. Maybe 10pm. All I had with me was a torch. Next time I'll have a gun too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

was in macroom yesterday working ad in one field there was about an inch of rabbit ****e on rocks in the fields, the farmer said he counted 40 one evening, but wont leave hunting on his land, but its good to see that they are still in places

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭jimbrowning

its the same in cavan, big drop in rabbit no. but lots mor hare. must be the mixi back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 ferret lad

moan 77 wrote: »

hi were is that field i am looking for so new places to hunt
    with my ferret i would be very greatful thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

ferret lad wrote: »
    hi were is that field i am looking for so new places to hunt
    with my ferret i would be very greatful thanks

would u kill rabbits in there borrows this time of year ?. kinda ****ixg up your own sport .
    i will not shoot em for a while yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

There was a lot of Mixi down my way the last year or so, I think it was the wet summers that kept them in the warrens and allowed them to cross infect.
    I have seen very few where I usually see plenty.
    No doubt the hard winter made life difficult as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

vixdname wrote: »
    Did notice myself that the numbers are down this year but I reckon the prolonged cold snap we're still having is definately after having an effect on them, theres a few out but not that many- its still early though.
    Have to admit theres notin like a warm summers evening when the sun is just starting to go down, the midgets are starting to buzz around and there isnt a breath of wind in it and to take a leisurely walk in the fields going after the bunnies is great.
    i live near the coast and some of the land I shoot on is near cliff edges and just to sit down for 5 mins and take a break from walking, look out to sea, take in the fresh air and pop a few rounds at the bunnies is just great - roll on the summer - feck off cold snap !!!

They prefer the term 'little people'. ;)

In my area the numbers are down because the lads with lurchers and ferrets are cleaning them out !!!!!!!! Unlike me they leave NOTHING behind :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭The Big Fella

I live in an area in the midlands where I do not see alot of rabbits. Ive recentley bought a 12 bore shotgun and I wounld like to know is it illegal to shoot hares?:confused:

there is a season for them, as far as i know its over now though, i think it might be sept till feb not sure though

why would u want to kill hares , there far from common i could not name the day i seen one.

plicks netting them for coursing

jwshooter wrote: »
    why would u want to kill hares , there far from common i could not name the day i seen one.

i wouldnt kill them either, but there are loads around me, they are a very common sight when walking the dogs most mornings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭The Big Fella

Ill be shooting pests until November after that its all pheasant. I was just enquiring on what the law is on shooting Hares. Thanks for the replys:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

In my area the numbers are down because the lads with lurchers and ferrets are cleaning them out !!!!!!!! Unlike me they leave NOTHING behind :mad:
    Well in all fairness, rabbits are pests! Are we not meant to be doing the farmer a favour when it comes to rabbit controll!

So if a farmer ask's you to clear his rabbit problem, you go down the field and shoot two rabbits, come back up and say, there ya are now!
    Farmer says, is that all your gonna shoot! you say, a well i want to leave some to breed and multiply! sure if ya got them lads with the lurchers and ferrets they'd leave nothing behind. Farmer says, o grand i`ll get them boys so!

Jesus your a great man for putting down other forms of hunting! Its not the first time you've tried to degrade hunting men and their sport on this forum! Do you think your form of pastime is so perfect that i cant throw s*** at you, of course its not! But why would i, there's enough c**** out there (tree huggers) trying to make little of us without you joining in!:mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Fallow

Eddie B wrote: »
    Well in all fairness, rabbits are pests! Are we not meant to be doing the farmer a favour when it comes to rabbit controll!

So if a farmer ask's you to clear his rabbit problem, you go down the field and shoot two rabbits, come back up and say, there ya are now!
    Farmer says, is that all your gonna shoot! you say, a well i want to leave some to breed and multiply! sure if ya got them lads with the lurchers and ferrets they'd leave nothing behind. Farmer says, o grand i`ll get them boys so!

Jesus your a great man for putting down other forms of hunting! Its not the first time you've tried to degrade hunting men and their sport on this forum! Do you think your form of pastime is so perfect that i cant throw s*** at you, of course its not! But why would i, there's enough c**** out there (tree huggers) trying to make little of us without you joining in!:mad::mad::mad:

Very well said, i was thinking the exact same.. :)

jwshooter wrote: »

Sorry but your ither a anti, or ranger...:confused:

Fallow wrote: »
    Sorry but your ither a anti, or ranger...:confused:

why mick ,because i dont want to kill everything i see .

you will find the longer your involved in hunting/shooting you will gain more of a respect for all animals you hunt.

Eddie B wrote: »

Suppose if I was getting €10-€12 for a live rabbit I take 'em all too. I eat what I shoot I don't expect to make money from it. And all the farmers I shoot for have no complaints about my method but a good few of them have complaints about the other "hunters".

I have no problem with lads with lurchers and ferrets who treat it as sport. What I do have a problem with is lads who clear an area and leave no sport for anyone else.

this is disturbing ,im agreeing with bunny a lot lately

".

I have no problem with lads with lurchers and ferrets

Clearly, ye do..:rolleyes:

Fallow wrote: »
    Clearly, ye do..:rolleyes:

I'll repeat myself..........

I have a problem with lads with lurchers and ferrets clearing an area and leaving no sport for anyone else especially if they are selling live rabbits in order to make money. These people have no right to call themselves "hunters" ! In my opinion ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

Suppose if I was getting €10-€12 for a live rabbit I take 'em all too. I eat what I shoot I don't expect to make money from it. And all the farmers I shoot for have no complaints about my method but a good few of them have complaints about the other "hunters".

I have no problem with lads with lurchers and ferrets who treat it as sport. What I do have a problem with is lads who clear an area and leave no sport for anyone else.
    Who said anything about making money or selling rabbits! Once again your trying to give lads who use lurchers and ferrets a bad name, tarring us all with the one brush!

This crap about clearing an area of rabbits is just laughable! Id be lucky to get four or five rabbits on a good day! Fair enough, there's lads that do use a lot of ferrets and get big numbers, but there's also lads that go lamping with rifles that shoot big numbers! But im not stupid! i won't come on here ranting and raving about lads shooting this or shooting that because i know that there's the odd idiot involved in every form of the sport, who do stupid things (some illegal) and that the majority of lads have respect for their quarry!

bunny is well capable of talking for himself , but this my take on it.

any one thats puts a ferret down a rabbit burrow at this time of the year wants horse whipping .