Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

.22lr

• 08-03-2010 5:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭

me and a cousin of mine have a shotgun each, mines mint, his is a crock of ****, all rusted up. he mentioned to me he was going to trade it up for another shottie, but i mentioned to him to get a .22. he said he wouldnt have work for it, but that he'd go halves on one with me and we'd get a dual licence.
    so we're looking to get something for rabbits, and the very very VERY odd fox. was thinking .22lr, but no experience with rifles. any advice at all appreciated. got maybe 200-400 notes to part with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

im just waiting to hear back from applying for my first licence, got a savage in 22 wmr. when i was looking into what rifle to get i heard great things about cz, and the cz 22lr are meant to be very accurate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭s-cogan

thanks for the info.
    not sure whethter to go for .22 or .17hmr
    any info/advice much appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

If I had to choose one of those mainly for bunnies I'd choose .22lr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭Feidhlim Dignan

buy a cz 452 in .22lr and youll never look back, super gun. about 425 euro new

thanks feidhlim, i was thinking about one of them, but tbh we'd nearly rather a second hand one, mainly because in the local rfd shop all the second hand ones have scopes and it just seems handier

Easy to add a scope to a new one too :p

This would be a good buy I reckon

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=64802510#post64802510

Just get a dealer here to import it for you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭Feidhlim Dignan

s-cogan wrote: »
    thanks feidhlim, i was thinking about one of them, but tbh we'd nearly rather a second hand one, mainly because in the local rfd shop all the second hand ones have scopes and it just seems handier

if you can get it secondhand go for it, no harm in a small bit of wear(so long as its not in your pocket):D

thanks bs but ive no interest i importing if i can help it.

any knowledge on grico rifles??
    i saw one in the shop never heard of them im not sure if thats the name but it sounded like that anyhoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Thomasofmel

CZ is one of the most popular choices in the world - I have the CZ453 American .22 - perfect for bunnies - would not use any other :D

Have only seen a few older Krico 22's BUT they were very accurate

CZ is a good place to start

might take a look at a cz silhouette next week so.
    much appreciated lads..

BS, the krico was about 225 in the shop, would you say this would be a good one if it came down to it, had a scope and all on it??

They used to be imported here years ago from what I can gather and I think Lakelands Shooting Centre has started to import them again.

As I said the ones I saw were old but very accurate. Depends on the state of it and what they are new. Hard to tell without seeing it or a picture, sorry. The ones I saw were a lot cheaper at €100ish as most lads wanted CZ's etc

What dealers charge for scope in this country compared to the UK would make you mad. Chances are the dealer could be charging more for the scope than the rifle. My advice get a price on the rifle and buy the scope private or off the net.

see, i know sweet **** all about scopes, (or rifles for that matter), so i'd prefer a gun with it on so i have a fair idea its set up ok. if you see what i mean??

I'm at it a while and I wonder if I know anything at this stage ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

see, i know sweet **** all about scopes, (or rifles for that matter), so i'd prefer a gun with it on so i have a fair idea its set up ok. if you see what i mean??

The fact that there's a scope sitting on a rifle realy means nothing. If push comes to shove and you find the right rifle without a scope a suitable scope for a .22lr is quite easily sourced and mounted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭dCorbus

hey s-cogan
    ive no interest i importing if i can help it.

As bunnyshooter mentioned this earlier, I'd suggest you PM the lad selling this: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=64802510#post64802510

I've dealt with him directly myself and he's sound to deal with. He should be able to help you out with the importation. Very simple. So maybe PM him and see what the deal is?

Although, I have a CZ452 silhouette myself - Cracking little rifle:D
    Might be parting with it to finance another purchase:eek:, but won't be for a while. Although, a man should always have a 22 sporter in his gun cabinet IMHO:D;)

The fact that there's a scope sitting on a rifle realy means nothing. If push comes to shove and you find the right rifle without a scope a suitable scope for a .22lr is quite easily sourced and mounted.

ya i know but thats more cash outlay.
    if i can buy one with a scope thats 200 more in my pocket.

Not sure i fully follow your train of thought on that?:confused:
    ya i know but thats more cash outlay.
    if i can buy one with a scope thats 200 more in my pocket.

A s***e scope on a s***e rifle will indeed save you €200 in the very short-term. But after about 2 - 3 weeks of trying to get the damn thing to group, you'll be trying to get rid of both the scope and the rifle (i.e. either passing a pig-in-a-poke onto some other unsuspecting lad OR using the rifle as infill coz no-one will buy it off you). So that's your first €200 - €300 pi**ed away - And then you still have to go and get a half-decent rifle and a half-decent scope.:eek:

A rifle with a scope should be no more or less expensive than a rifle and a scope, give or take a couple of euro's. A scope can always be taken off a rifle - any dealer who can't / won't split the two, shouldn't get your business as he's not trading-fair. It's a buyers market at the mo' so don't let some dealer (your local fellow or otherwise) sell you some piece of rusty ol' scrap that he's actually already charged some ol' farmer lad to "take off his hands" as the old farmer-gentleman can't get his head around the new licencing.

Or some dealer who's trying to pawn off some trade-in crap that he's taken in.
    the krico was about 225 in the shop, would you say this would be a good one if it came down to it, had a scope and all on it

For example, IMHO this sounds like a godawful piece of crap to me - €225 for a rifle AND a scope - You're neither going to get a decent rifle NOR a decent scope for that price - let alone the two together. But I may, of course, be (as ever) wrong and the Firearms Dealers of Ireland are now in the charity business and are giving away rifles and scopes at such crazy knock-down prices to deserving shooters......I wish!:D

Listen to the good advice the lads are giving you here: A decent rifle (second hand or new) and a decent scope (second or new) - You won't go wrong. Don't let yourself down by buying rubbish - you won't save a penny in the longrun and will undoubtedly spend more.

Just noticed this:
    in the local rfd shop

SHOP AROUND!:D There's more than one RFD on the Island! At least, pick up the phone and ring around the other respected dealers and ask what they have in stock and for how much. Just beware the dealers who tell you they have what you're looking for - you drive halfway across the country to look at the rifle, only to find it had "just been sold" but here's a crock-of-crap we're trying to get rid of.:mad: We all know who these dealers are and have probably experienced such behaviour - No need to tolerate it anymore!;)

Buy well, cry once - as the saying goes.

(If things are tight, as they are for many of us, put off the purchase til you've got more cash together and spend the extra time shopping around - you'll find a deal out there and will have spent your money well and wisely)

there was a nice lookig savage synthetic with a scope for 475. is this more like a respectful package for the money??

(im not being cheeky when i said that, by the way, i really appreciate yeer advice, im just terminally cheap)

Not up on my Savages - One of the other lads will have to help you there.

To put it in context a brand-new out-of-the-box CZ452 Silhouette will cost you €450 from Duffy's in Galway right now (Check their website for the prices). Stakelums in Thurles would probably be in the same ballpark. A Tasco or Similar 9 - 24 scope should set you back around €250 depending on where you get it. Then a half decent set of mounts and rings (DO NOT buy cheapo mounts and rings - They'll have you driven demented!)

So that's somewhere between €650 - €750 for a brand-new set-up of reasonably decent kit and you're ready to go.

Without having seen the Savage you're talking about or the condition it's in or the scope that's on it - it's hard to say, but €475 seems reasonable enough, but don't take my word for it.;)

Also, make sure the scope you get suits your purposes, i.e. bunny popping! Those in the know on such things will be able to help you out on what the best choice of scope for you for bunny and fox destruction. (Another trick to watch out for: Make sure the scope is for a rimfire rifle and not an airgun).

My best advice: Ring and speak to Sean Harding in Stakelums (Thurles), John Lambert in Camolin, Paul O'Halloran in Drangan (I've heard nothing but good reports about these three dealers) or some of the other dealers on this list: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055831037

No worries on the "terminal cheapness" score - we all have to cut our sails to match our cloth these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,109 ✭✭✭clivej

My son picked up a good second hand CZ 22lr Lux for €225 from

Connolly's Red Mills
    Red Mills, Goresbridge, Co. Kilkenny

Ring Martin. 059 9775800 or 086 3734749

well worth a ring too, as well as the dealers above as they all have good names around this part of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭J.R.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭jamesomara

S-Cogan,
    What are you questioning: the gun or the round?

Have you settled on the round? If you do not have a 22lr - go for it. It is a great round, cheap, and fun to shoot.

If you get the 22 long rifle gun, you can shoot 22 short, 22 long, and as mentioned the 22 long rifle. 22magnums are fun, but they cost more.

When it comes to choosing a 22 rifle, there is only one choice: the Ruger 10/22. Do a quick google search for accessories and you'll see how well supported this firearm is.

Unless you are looking for a bolt action, go with the 10/22. I have had several over the years and they are just the best.

Pick up a Burris Fullfield II scope in 3-9x40mm for a great combo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭ghostmantra

i had a savage 22lr :mad: could not wait to get rid of it. cz lux 22lr now would not part with it :) buy once not twice like me:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,679 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

jamesomara wrote: »
    When it comes to choosing a 22 rifle, there is only one choice: the Ruger 10/22. Do a quick google search for accessories and you'll see how well supported this firearm is.
    Just because the Yanks like sticking all manner of bits onto a 10/22 does not make them the best .22 rifle, I wouldn't buy a rifle based on the ability to stick a folding stock or a plastic heatshield on it
    and if you are after accuracy forget the 10/22, stock its like a shotgun.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

i had a savage 22lr :mad: could not wait to get rid of it. cz lux 22lr now would not part with it :) buy once not twice like me:D

what did you find wrong with the savage, i bought a 22wmr savage i think its a great gun judging by the few rounds i fired from it when looking at guns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

thanks for the info.
    not sure whethter to go for .22 or .17hmr
    any info/advice much appreciated
    17MMR You wont regret it ideal or what you want have one for a long time super calibre

CZ 22lr best you will ever get. Out of the box best gun. end of story.

It started out looking like this
    CZStyle22lrsideon.jpg

And now it looks like this
    CZStylewithnewstock3.jpg
    CZStylewithnewstock2.jpg

It will shoot 1/2" groups all day long @50m

me gets the feeling ill be getting a cz 452.
    if i can afford it.
    ill call in tomorow, take a look for one, and i might get back to ye with a price, work done, and to check if the scope on it is any good.
    i trust yeer willing to advise me on that lads??
    thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Save more would be my advice. A decent scope and decent mounts will save you no end of heart ache. An inaccurate rifle, due to whatever, is frustrating to a degree probably only a woman could compete with.

Calibre is correct for bunnies, .22lr is cheap as well as fun.

Hold off on buying stuff, take names and models of rifles and scopes and stick them back up on this thread. Not to be insulting, but lads are genuinely trying to help :)

no offence taken john, (didnt see the insult myself but ill take your word for it), i know the boys here are trying to help, and i genuinely appreciate it.
    thanks everyone, honestly

no offence taken john, (didnt see the insult myself but ill take your word for it), i know the boys here are trying to help, and i genuinely appreciate it.
    thanks everyone, honestly

I'm often blunt when explaining things, just my way, this has in the past led to offense being taken where none was meant. Basically I was being overly cautious :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭lefthooker

Out of interest what was it that you didn't like about the savage? Have 1 myself & cannot fault it. Definitely 1 intend holding onto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Goosie

clivej wrote: »

CZStyle22lrsideon.jpg

Hey up Clive,

That looks suspiciously like more than half my rifle you got there!!!!;):D

right, called in today, had a cz 452, timber stock, (forgot to ask which model), looked in fairly good condition, 250 euro, hawke sport hi-def 4x32 scope, 48 euro, what are yeer thoughts? he also had a new 452, tmber stock, 445 euro
    again, any help appreciated

I wouldn't buy that scope, too low magnification for me plus I am just not a fan of Hawke.

CZ rifles seem fairly good, had the butt of the stock a slope on it? http://www.czub.cz/en/catalog/80-rimfire-rifles-cz.aspx

Rifles like the Lux have a stock that's shaped for shooting open sights and will present a problem shooting with a scope, where as the stock on an American, Varmint, Style etc would be much much better suited to scoped shooting.

no it was the conventional style stock

what magnification do you recomend for bunnies??
    i had it in my head that i could shoot out to 200 yards with a .22 but i dunno.

also. a cousin of mine has a gamo scope, where you twist the forward bell of the scope for different ranges, it had markings from 15yards out to 200 yards. its on a tikka t3 .243 would this scope be suitable for a .22??
    because i know damn all about zeroing scopes,

edit: i think the gamo was 6-24x50 but im not certain. would that be too high magnification for rabbits??

I have a 10mag by 40mm Objective lens (that's the lens on the end of the scope) on my 22lr and find it good. It's what they call a fixed mag scope.

You will NOT be shooting at 200yards with a 22lr as you will MISS MOST times.

We were shooting clay's @110m today in a good cross wind and hitting them all, and then went on to shoot the broken pieces. If you limit yourself to about that range you will find it is far better and you will get the most enjoyment from the gun

Most of the rabbits I shoot are from 35m-75m so the 22lr is best as it is good at those ranges.

I have a 10mag by 40mm Objective lens (that's the lens on the end of the scope) on my 22lr and find it good. It's what they call a fixed mag scope.

You will NOT be shooting at 200yards with a 22lr as you will MISS MOST times.

We were shooting clay's @110m today in a good cross wind and hitting them all, and then went on to shoot the broken pieces. If you limit yourself to about that range will will find is far better and you will get the most enjoyment from the gun

Most of the rabbits I shoot are from 35m-75m so the 22lr is best as it is good at those ranges.

+ 1

We were :p

And good fun it was ;)

no it was the conventional style stock

what magnification do you recomend for bunnies??
    i had it in my head that i could shoot out to 200 yards with a .22 but i dunno.

also. a cousin of mine has a gamo scope, where you twist the forward bell of the scope for different ranges, it had markings from 15yards out to 200 yards. its on a tikka t3 .243 would this scope be suitable for a .22??
    because i know damn all about zeroing scopes,

edit: i think the gamo was 6-24x50 but im not certain. would that be too high magnification for rabbits??

Something like a 3-9x50 or 4-16x50. You won't need a 56mm scope on a .22lr. Fixed magnification like 6x42 or 7x50 would also do the job. I would stay away from a scope that has adjustments on the forward bell, they are more difficult to reach in a hunting situation and are better suited to target shooters IMO (who are an awkward lot by nature :D *ducks & covers*).

6-24 is too much IMO. I'm not familiar with Gamo scopes, I'm thinking they'd be more geared toward air rifles. Often on lower end or budget scopes there will be trouble at higher magnifications.

Turrets are another issue, covered hunter types or turret types again more suited to target shooting. I used the SCB reticule on the MTC Viper and never needed to use clicks for a shot as I knew my aim points on the reticle, so IMO the turrets on the Viper were surplus to my needs. Though not all reticles will have a lot of aim points.

Zeroing a scope is quite easy. The challenge in usinbg your .22lr will be recording and remembering the Point Of Impact of your bullet at different ranges, as that calibre often has it's trajectory described as "loopy" - the opposite to "flat" shooting.

I think I'm rambling at this stage :o

Oh yeah, the lads are right. You're not going to be doing 200 yard shooting with it :) Farthest kill for my .22lr was a 130 bunny, crawl before ya walk, walk before ya run, practice lots ;)

Here's my 22lr drop chart. Rifle is zeroed in @55y/50m
    Clicks = 1/4" @100y. Cross wind = 10mph.
    So if I range a target at 100y I dial in 24 clicks of up OR as it shows a drop of -6.3" just aim that 6.3" higher. Easy ;) NOT
    But then I have target turrets on my scope so I can dial in the extra clicks quickly.

22lrdropchart.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭puheen

evening all,
    you are getting some great advice s-c, the cz's are great little 22lrs. I have one a while now no complaints. Had a bruno before that which was the predecessor to cz as far as i know, was a grand gun too. Keep your eye out for an anschutz as well the brother has one and it is also a fine gun, he got it from our old man who says its the best gun he ever owned.
    Get 100 yards into your head and you will have many the happy evening or early morning on the bunnies.
    Would also suggest to make sure which ever 22lr you go for make sure its threaded for a mod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭puheen

janey mac clive that chart reminds me of the old log tables we used in school !
    The technical stuff goes straight over my head, i really should learn more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Goosie wrote: »

CZStyle22lrsideon.jpg

Hey up Clive,

That looks suspiciously like more than half my rifle you got there!!!!;):D

Looks like a baby version of mine, Rabbit 276m :D
    I gave up on .22lr years ago as the feilds got bigger and the ditches less and less!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭noodle650

Heres my baby i picked up late January! CZ 452 lux in .22lr flavour. shoots half inch groups at 85 yards with subsonics on a still day.
    post-5345-1268330537.jpg
    post-5345-1268392371.jpg

puheen wrote: »
    Would also suggest to make sure which ever 22lr you go for make sure its threaded for a mod.

would you say so?

i thought .22lr was a relatively quiet rcalibre. i saw vids on youtube of people shootin g.22lr with and then without a mod and the difference was barely noticable.
    but the description said sound was poor on the vid

noodle, what kind of a scope have you??
    price for one??

would you say so?

i thought .22lr was a relatively quiet rcalibre. i saw vids on youtube of people shootin g.22lr with and then without a mod and the difference was barely noticable.
    but the description said sound was poor on the vid

As said make sure it's threaded for a mod, And yes it will make a difference even if it is only a 22lr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Just because the Yanks like sticking all manner of bits onto a 10/22 does not make them the best .22 rifle, I wouldn't buy a rifle based on the ability to stick a folding stock or a plastic heatshield on it
    and if you are after accuracy forget the 10/22, stock its like a shotgun.:D

+1 on that. I'd rather buy a 25 year old Anschutz for the same price as a new Ruger 10/22. I'm not saying that the Ruger is a bad rifle but it appears that it needs a lot of tweaking before it'll shoot as straight as an out of the box German or Czech rifle which doesn't require trigger replacements and the like before it reaches satisfactory levels of accuracy.