Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accident. No Insurance

• 08-03-2010 1:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7

Hi I am in awful bad situtation.. I am single mother, i renewed car insurance in dec 08 meant policy out 2009. But my direct debits ended up colliding in the bank and failed, in june 09, it got cancelled, and as i never had much need for car at this stage. i didnt bother to continue with it, but in nov 09, i moved to new house out in country. i have a very sick baby who was 10mths old and i had ran out of milk so i was on my own had no choice to take car ( without insurance ) to drive four miles to shop. On my way. As i stopped and turned right onto main road. I was driving in third gear when all of sudden a car hit my back driver side wing. Her car was badly damaged. But she wanted to keep this outside insurance. So just swopped numbers. She wanted me to pay first and i thought well ok. But then i realised i had procession of the road taken up when she hit me. it was her passenger side of her ca, she was as if she was overtaking me but couldnt. No guards we called, no witnesses. Now 3 mths later guard called to my door looking for licence and insurance, I have licence, full Clean ( not after this), Never ever in trouble with anything, never even got speeding fine or for parking, nothing/ But I was going to hand down the details of the policy that was on it but i cannot find the actual cert your suppose to show, only disc and all doicumentation the insurance send out. And then hope for the best. But can they check this up on screen. The guards are not gettin involved with accident, they leaving that up to us. BUT NOW<,, what happens with 1. my insurance with guards and 2 the accident . can she do much 3 mths after accident?? What is best thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭thebiglad

pippy2010 wrote: »
    2 the accident . can she do much 3 mths after accident?? What is best thing to do.

There is not much she can 3 months or even 1 day after the accident as you chose to take the car out without insurance

She will have to seek her repair costs from you and judging from your post, that would a thankless task, so you will get away with driving without insurance whilst others suffer.

By the way I do not believe this was the 1st and only time you have driven that car without it being insured and probably none of the others on this forum will either so probably not too much sympathy to come:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 pippy2010

It was the first time i drove this car as it was in garage for months to be fixed and when i got it back the engine went in it and i have proof of these purchases. usually the kids dad would be around but he was away working. he usually drives me to shop once a week and i stock up as i have proof of shopping costing me 160 euro a week. I know i was stupid, but when the baby was screaming and i knew she needed bottle. what could i do. What will happen now when i show licence etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

She hit the back of you . Its her fault . She cant do you on this .

But the insurance thing is another issue

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Agreed, OP she hit the back of you so its her fault.

However she has you over a barrell as you were driving without insurance. I know the gardai are involved now but suppose before hand you could have repaired her car and then agreed for her not to mention the non insurance. But now they are involved you may end up getting prosecuted.

Yeah, well i knew i had procession of the road taken and as i was in third gear i was gone a good it from junction. I cant sleep worrying about what is going to happen, this will be my very first offense EVER,

I think you might get a driving ban but thats my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

It was the first time i drove this car as it was in garage for months to be fixed and when i got it back the engine went in it and i have proof of these purchases. usually the kids dad would be around but he was away working. he usually drives me to shop once a week and i stock up as i have proof of shopping costing me 160 euro a week. I know i was stupid, but when the baby was screaming and i knew she needed bottle. what could i do. What will happen now when i show licence etc

Well I wouldn't go showing that invalid insurance form, you could possibly find yourself in more bother if you do.

If you really needed to go out you should have called for a taxi tbh but that's neither here nor there now. Please tell me you left the baby at home with a responsible person too and didn't bring him/her with you in an uninsured car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

I'd be of the same opinion. She ran into the back of you so obviously wasn't paying attention to what she was doing. There's not a lot she can do and I can't see the guards doing anything 3 months later after you had both agreed not to involve insurance companies.

EDIT - Actually after re-reading the OP I've changed my mind. It reads more along the lines of you pulled out from the junction in third gear into the path of the other car and they weren't able to avoid you.

I think you might get a driving ban but thats my opinion

Lets hope so.

I didnt have baby with me she was at home. And as for call for taxi . When i say i moved out to the country, i mean country I live 15 miles away from nearest taxi firm. How much would that have costed, which i wouldnt have to spend, as i said i am a single mother with four kids. I just want to know what will happen now, will i go down and produce licence only or leave it till i get notice in post?? what??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

the way I read it the OP pulled out onto a main road infont of someone. As the other driver would have had right of way it's the OP's fault regardless of the other person running into the back of them, how were they supposed to avoid it?

Based on OPS version, and if that was the case why was it not followed up with other driver for reimbursement of damages?

The other driver must be fairly confident in their argument if they have taken the issue to the Garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

if i read it right, the other woman hit the back drivers SIDE of the car so Im assuming that was because the OP pulled out across the front of the car coming from her right. So it isnt necessarily the other drivers fault.

However (if this is the case) reading between the lines the OP has no dosh to pay the woman who would be best advised to ask her Ins Co to put in a claim to the ununsured drivers fund (dont recall the full name)

As for driving with no Insurance, i have no sympathy (except to say i hope the baby is OK now)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

How much would that have costed,

A lot less than car repairs and a fine for driving with no insurance! ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

thebiglad wrote: »
    By the way I do not believe this was the 1st and only time you have driven that car without it being insured and probably none of the others on this forum will either so probably not too much sympathy to come:(

Agree with this. Also wonder what other bs is in the original post and how much of an "emergency" going to the shop was too.

Hopefully OP gets a driving ban. Its because of people like her that the rest of us have to pay exorbitant insurance premiums. The Motor Insurance Bureau of Ireland dont just conjure up the vast somes of money they pay out each year to victims of uninsured drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

I didnt have baby with me she was at home. And as for call for taxi . When i say i moved out to the country, i mean country I live 15 miles away from nearest taxi firm. How much would that have costed, which i wouldnt have to spend

Who was minding the child? Couldn't they have run down, no neighbours about?

That cost of that taxi will look small compared to the worry this seems to be causing you and the cost the crash will incurr.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

To be honest, this all sounds a bit fishy.
    Going to get milk for the sick baby has a hint of the 'too good an excuse to be true' about it. Anyway, that's not really a concern for motors forum.

What concerns me is "all of sudden a car hit my back driver side wing". The other car didn't fall from space. Was it behind you while you were pulling out, was it going straight when you pulled out in front of it (at whatever distance), or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭dirtydiesel

We are all paying extra on our insurance because of people like you who take a car out in an emergency and drive without insurance. THANKS

corktina wrote: »
    if i read it right, the other woman hit the back drivers SIDE of the car so Im assuming that was because the OP pulled out across the front of the car coming from her right. So it isnt necessarily the other drivers fault.

However (if this is the case) reading between the lines the OP has no dosh to pay the woman who would be best advised to ask her Ins Co to put in a claim to the ununsured drivers fund (dont recall the full name)

As for driving with no Insurance, i have no sympathy (except to say i hope the baby is OK now)

And so again we all end up paying for another person driving uninsured.

Approx €50 of every insurance premium goes into the fund - hope all the posters here supporting OP are happy to see their money being put to good use.

There must be zero tolerance of driving without insurance.

Ok, Lets things right. I never ever comitted a crime in my life, I did not pull out in front of anyone. I was stopped. I looked NO CAR.. I was driving down road , when she hit me, i could not see the car at this stage out back window she was at my drivers door . She had clipped me . I was well and truly out on the road, and i did not PULL out in front of anyone, and i know ye have yer opinions, but ye must have no problems. I have no one to help me support me, My family wont help me, never have. I dont drink i dont go out all i do is look after my kids and to be judged by ye as if i was a criminal is just not fair. I only came on to look for advice not for ***t to be thrown at me. And as for my baby ,, bno she's still not well , she needs two operations starting in april. Oh i have enough grief. I just wanted some friendly advice since i have noone else to talk to . Thanks

. I was stopped. I looked NO CAR.. I was driving down road ,s

:confused::confused::confused:

so were you stopped or not. That makes no sense at all.

We are all paying extra on our insurance because of people like you who take a car out in an emergency and drive without insurance. THANKS

Approx €50 of every insurance premium goes into the fund - hope all the posters here supporting OP are happy to see their money being put to good use.

You all should get off your High horses . Some one crashed into her remember:rolleyes:

In fairness, if the other driver is in fact an innocent victim, then thats what the fund is there for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭Cionád

hope all the posters here supporting OP are happy to see their money being put to good use.

I don't think anyone here is supporting her... mighty fine day for a lynchin' though.

Ok, Lets things right. I never ever comitted a crime in my life, I did not pull out in front of anyone. I was stopped. I looked NO CAR.. I was driving down road , when she hit me, i could not see the car at this stage out back window she was at my drivers door . She had clipped me . I was well and truly out on the road, and i did not PULL out in front of anyone, and i know ye have yer opinions, but ye must have no problems. I have no one to help me support me, My family wont help me, never have. I dont drink i dont go out all i do is look after my kids and to be judged by ye as if i was a criminal is just not fair. I only came on to look for advice not for ***t to be thrown at me. And as for my baby ,, bno she's still not well , she needs two operations starting in april. Oh i have enough grief.

Driving without insurance is a crime - you are a criminal the moment you set off on the journey.

What you want is for Boards members to say it is ok, well most of us don't think it is, perhaps the other side of the view will take up a collection on your behalf.

bladespin wrote: »
    Who was minding the child? Couldn't they have run down, no neighbours about?

That cost of that taxi will look small compared to the worry this seems to be causing you and the cost the crash will incurr.
    No she was a neighbour but she doesnt drive, so i had to, taxi.. Easy know you have plenty of money..

Ok, Lets things right. I never ever comitted a crime in my life, I did not pull out in front of anyone. I was stopped. I looked NO CAR.. I was driving down road , when she hit me, i could not see the car at this stage out back window she was at my drivers door . She had clipped me . I was well and truly out on the road, and i did not PULL out in front of anyone, and i know ye have yer opinions, but ye must have no problems. I have no one to help me support me, My family wont help me, never have. I dont drink i dont go out all i do is look after my kids and to be judged by ye as if i was a criminal is just not fair. I only came on to look for advice not for ***t to be thrown at me. And as for my baby ,, bno she's still not well , she needs two operations starting in april. Oh i have enough grief. I just wanted some friendly advice since i have noone else to talk to . Thanks

Nobody is ever going to give you much sympathy for driving uninsured, my insurance costs a lot and I have to give up a lot to pay it.

Are the guards waiting for you to produce insurance now?

In fairness, if the other driver is in fact an innocent victim, then thats what the fund is there for.

100% agree for the other driver - if they are innocent they should have access to the fund.

My point is why does OP feel have to feel so aggrieved for taking flak at driving uninsured and finding out why it is compulsory in Irish Law to have insurance to take a car onto a public road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭dirtydiesel

You are on the wrong forum to find someone to talk to,we all have problems,maybe not the same as yours but problems all the same.
    When you come on the motors forum and tell people you drove without insurance your going to annoy people and get the responses you did.
    I wish you good luck and hope your baby makes a full and healthy recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Smoggy

I was stopped. I looked NO CAR.. I was driving down road , when she hit me

I read this that she was stopped at a T junction, saw no cars, pulled out [a car came around the corner] and hit the back end of the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

No she was a neighbour but she doesnt drive, so i had to, taxi.. Easy know you have plenty of money..

I'm afraid I don't, mine goes to supporting my child too but if you're looking at over a thousand euro fine and a 6 month ban (read the local courts thing in the papers) for driving uninsured, not to mention damage to the other car (not sure they're entitled to anything) then the cost looks small, I'd have walked it.

Why do you have a car that you don't use? A bicycle would have saverd all this.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

I don't think it covers property damage in the case of uninsured drivers, I could be wrong though

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

Thats all irrelevant to the issue at hand. Complaining about support does not wash. We live in a welfare state with massive handouts for everything from the government. You also said the childs father is in work.

You basically pulled out at a junction in front of another car without properly looking. The other driver tried to swerve to the right but could not avoid collision. And you were uninsured. I have sympathy for the other driver.

I think the OP was wrong driving without insurance . But if the other person is at fault for Driving into the back of her that has nothing to do with all your insurance premiums

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,576 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

and to be judged by ye as if i was a criminal is just not fair.

but you are one

from http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/travel-and-recreation/motoring-1/motor-tax-and-insurance/motor_insurance

You must have motor insurance to drive a car in your own name or as a named driver on someone else's policy.

Failure to have motor insurance or driving without insurance in Ireland is generally punishable by:

A fine of up to €2,500
    Disqualification of one year or more for a first offence and two years or more for a second offence, and
    At the discretion of the court, a term of imprisonment not exceeding six months.
    In the case of a first offence of driving without insurance, the court may decide in special cases not to impose a period of disqualification or to impose a period of disqualification of less than a year.

Since 1 June 2003, where the courts in Ireland decide not to impose a disqualification, drivers convicted of a first offence of driving without insurance will incur 5 penalty points on their licence record in addition to any other penalty imposed by the court.

sorry but thats the law, as far as i know i th uk your car would be taken away and crushed

(not much sympathy here just paying out 600 quid to get my car through the nct )

sesna wrote: »
    You basically pulled out at a junction in front of another car without properly looking. The other driver tried to swerve to the right but could not avoid collision. And you were uninsured. I have sympathy for the other driver.

I've read back over the posts 4 or 5 times and this is what I think happened, I can't read it as meaning anything else...

Ok, . I have no one to help me support me, My family wont help me, never have. i

"usually the kids dad would be around but he was away working. he usually drives me to shop once a week "

doesnt quite add up does it....

SmoggyV2 wrote: »
    I read this that she was stopped at a T junction, saw no cars, pulled out [a car came around the corner] and hit the back end of the car.

In another post mentions was in 3rd gear which would would imply moving - or did OP just drive through the junction in 3rd gear as thought the was clear (when obviously it was not).

End of the day I don't care if OP is innocent - if she takes a car on the road without insurance then that there are laws for that, Garda now involved so that will be sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

"usually the kids dad would be around but he was away working. he usually drives me to shop once a week "

doesnt quite add up does it....

thats the exact same thing ive been thinking youve just been contradicting yourself.

But unlike most i would have some sympathy well a little for the opseems like she just made a stupid mistake which weve all done at times nobodys perfect.

Off Topic :

I hope all you are paying your TV Licence coz it cost me a fortune

On Topic :

If it goes to Court dont plead Guilty . Keep reminding yourself that the car drove into the back of your car . Not your Fault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭high heels

ban of a year and what ever the judge feels fit of a fine..

You wont have to fix her car but you probably wont get any money to fix your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

OP,
    you'll be summonsed to court for failure to produce a cert of insurance (cos you don't have any) and for driving without insurance. This is under Section 69, Road Traffic Act 1961-2006. Most of the time, this results in a ban if convicted. I've seen the sick baby scenario been given in court in the past and she got banned.

I'm leaving my personal opinion out of this one.

if she goes to court it will be for having no insurance...how can she plead NG to that?

Onkle wrote: »
    I don't think it covers property damage in the case of uninsured drivers, I could be wrong though

If you do not have TPFT insurance and the other driver is identified then the MIBI will deal with the claim but the excess is €440.

If you have Comp insurance then you must claim against your own policy, pay relevant excess and lose NCB.

Who still has sympathy for an uninsured driver???

if she goes to court it will be for having no insurance...how can she plead NG to that?

im sure it will go to court first over the other driver claiming for damages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Off Topic :

I hope all you are paying your TV Licence coz it cost me a fortune

On Topic :

If it goes to Court dont plead Guilty . Keep reminding yourself that the car drove into the back of your car . Not your Fault

She won't be summonsed for the accident, she'll be summonsed for no insurance. It doesn't matter who was at fault in the accident. There didn't even need to be an accident. All it needs is the Guard to make the lawful demand for production of cert of insurance or exemption to a garda station within 10 days. This can happen at a checkpoint, traffic stop, car crash or or any other time a guard believes a vehicle has been driven in a public place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,314 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

usually the kids dad would be around but he was away working.
    which i wouldnt have to spend, as i said i am a single mother with four kids.

There are a lot of inconsistencies in your stories and this is just one I have highlighted.

She won't be summonsed for the accident, she'll be summonsed for no insurance. It doesn't matter who was at fault in the accident. There didn't even need to be an accident. All it needs is the Guard to make the lawful demand for production of cert of insurance or exemption to a garda station within 10 days. This can happen at a checkpoint, traffic stop, car crash or or any other time a guard believes a vehicle has been driven in a public place.

If the other Driver had cut her losses why would a Guard turn up at the OPs house if the other Driver didn't go to the Guards

Possibly because the other driver wanted to go through insurance. None of us here can say who was at fault in the accident by just hearing one side of it.

And yes I did pay my TV license, bloody sticks in my gut that I have to do it but I do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Off Topic :

Without knowing the exact circumstances and/or location of the crash that's not neccessarily true. If the collision was unavoidable for the other driver then she can be held responsible, as many people pulling out on to a main road have. It's the same as if a car changes lanes in front of you and you rear-end them, generally it's held as their fault.

OP, you say that you have never committed a crime in your life, so was theis the very first time ever that you drove without insurance? Truly?

Now that the Guards have asked for details you are obliged to produce them. Go to them with your licence and tax disc and tell them that you didn't have insurance. Forget about the long winded excuse as they don't care at this stage and will almost definitely prosecute you regardless.

Judges listen to excuses for peoples behaviour every single day so I wouldn't be expecting too much leniency from them - and understandably so. Obviously it will depend on the area you live in and the presiding judge but a lot of them nowadays are very intolerant of driving offences. Be upfront and honest and give an explanation without seeming to look like a poor downtrodden victim of all this. Judges are human and appreciate honesty and it might keep the fine to a minimum. Expect a year off the road though.