Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you marry for money?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

No.....unless she kept herself looking unbelieveable hot with surgery!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Nope. Can't stand the idea of being a "kept person" under any circumstances, so all the things money could buy would just feel spoiled to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

LMAO @ the obvious feminism-conscious female respondant answer ratio in this poll. Two words: My arse.

(Although boards.ie doesn't exactly provide an accurate sample of typical female opinion...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

consultech wrote: »
    LMAO @ the obvious feminism-conscious female respondant answer ratio in this poll. Two words: My arse.

(Although boards.ie doesn't exactly provide an accurate sample of typical female opinion...)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

In a situation like that- someone will always get hurt.

Personally, I wouldn't trade my poor hubby for all the money in the world and a husband I didn't love. I'd rather die laughing without a penny in my pocket than live a bleh life where I wasn't happy at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

I wouldn't marry in the first place.

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭PostHack

Depends on the amount of money.... Surprised no one has mentioned that.

If we're talking multi millionaire than quite possibly!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,544 ✭✭✭veryangryman

No way. I can make my own cash. Never can see a need to be with someone for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Yes, definitely. I'm bitter and twisted and don't believe in true love. If I'm gonna go through the whole tedious ritual of getting married I might aswell make a few euros out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Nope. But I'd say a few would be wondering what would happen if she was to die... early?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,965 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I would have a couple of conditions, such as:
    • in the same age range as me;
    • sane
    • pre-nup must be absent or heavily biased in my favour. :pac:
    Otherwise... I'm a flexible, adaptable guy, I think. I could get used to many things, and keep to myself for the rest. Love isn't just something you feel, it's something you do.

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut

• Registered Users Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

Love > Money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

No, nay, never. Marriage isn't a word, it's a sentence. And think of the poor shnook you're marrying - every other suitor he or she meets could be nothing more than a worthless gold-digger.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

bronte wrote: »
    God no, I'd rather have sweet f.a. and be truly in love than with someone I wasn't crazy about just because of bloody finance. What a sad existance for both involved. :(
    Amen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Well if they ticked all the right boxes and you had never been in love, and it looked like you would both make each ither happy, and she was loaded (!) then I think that I might

I'm a little cynical anyway, I think love turns into dependency in most marriages anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

And with such a high rate of male 'yes' answers... we're the bitches.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Yes I would , followed by me boning her good looking 18 year old daughter from a previous marriage which precipitates divorce action where I get a shed load of money and then move to the Bahamas with my true love Megan Fox where we get married on a sun kissed tropical beach.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Sigh... Ya can't win...

I can categorically state: if I was on minimum wage and struggling, I wouldn't marry for money. I'm more interested in things like the kind of person he is, and actually wanting to be with him for HIM rather than his bank account.
    But the above is obviously not possible and a bunch of lies because I'm a woman, therefore a gold-digging bitch.

Why do you hold your shit experiences of women against all women just because they all possess a vadge? Maybe you should stop going for bitches too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

well i don't ever want to get married so no.

but if i did, i still wouldn't marry for money, i'd kill them in the end.

my aunty is always sayin to my cousins (the girls) that they should find a rich man. sick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Poll is missing a couple of options

"Yes (Im a prostitute)"
    "No but Id marry for citizenship!"

• Registered Users Posts: 724 ✭✭✭jonsnow

I think most rational people weigh up the whole package.Most people tend to go for someone with around the same earning capacity as themselves.Ireland has clear class parameters.People might date people from other social backgrounds but they almost invariably settle down with someone from around the same background as themselves.ie guards/teachers/nurses/social workers, accountants, engineers and solicitors, doctors and dentists.You are mad if you marry someone purely because they have money and you are equally mad if you do not consider it a factor to be taken into consideration at all.You are trying to build a life together what you both earn does and should matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Dudess wrote: »
    I'm more interested in things like the kind of person he is, and actually wanting to be with him for HIM rather than his bank account.

Your a rarity so.
    Dudess wrote: »
    ... Gold Digging B***

Women are rarely blatant 'gold digging b*****' but without doubt the mans financial status is in quite high up that check list that all women have.

Men have a checklist too but it's quite short and money is hardly ever on it.

If Angelina Jolie worked selling donuts in that little kiosk on O'Connell St, I can guarantee it that there would be a thread entitiled:

"Anyone see that babe selling Donuts??" :eek::eek:

If George Clooney was unknown and was a builder most women wouldn't look twice. Few horny chicks might.
    Abitar wrote: »
    And with such a high rate of male 'yes' answers... we're the bitches.

The men are being honest, wimminz be trying to save face :cool:

/legs it :o

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Your a rarity so.

Women are rarely blatant 'gold digging b*****' but without doubt the mans financial status is in quite high up that check list that all women have.

Men have a checklist too but it's quite short and money is hardly ever on it.

If Angelina Jolie worked selling donuts in that little kiosk on O'Connell St, I can guarantee it that there would be a thread entitiled:

"Anyone see that babe selling Donuts??" :eek::eek:

If George Clooney was unknown and was a builder most women wouldn't look twice. Few horny chicks might.

you're callin me a liar?????!!!! :mad:

you're probably right about the george clooney thing except its not money that makes him more attractive, its the roles he plays etc, we get swept up in it.

but in real life, i would not marry a man because he was rich, tbh any wealthy lads i've come across are complete toss pots and i cannot relate to them, give me a poor, well hung man anyday :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

/trips pete up

Troll! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

you're callin me a liar?????!!!! :mad:

Yes, but your cute when you lie, makes me want you :cool:
    you're probably right about the george clooney

Damn straight sister.
    thing except its not money that makes him more attractive, its the roles he plays etc, we get swept up in it.

This is no offense to you personally, more to women in general (:pac:) but women 'get swept up' in life, not just movies.

I have mates getting married and the women are in cloud cuckoo land spending money they do not have and the guy are afraid to say anything in case they wake up like Mr Bobbit did :cool:

They are all about the dress, the flowers, the hair etc etc.

Same with women's magazines, they are fantasy magazines.

At least when guys have magazines we just wanna see your bits, but women's magazines airbrush the fcuk out of each other.
    but in real life, i would not marry a man because he was rich,

No, I don't think you would, however are you not going to be more attracted to a guy who looks like he can look after you and protect you but he isn't that great looking?

Over a guy whos good looking alright but he's in debt, no job and he can't provide for you.

Which one would would you be more attracted to?

Both have massive knobs by the way :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

no
    i'd have to be really into the guy mentally, emotionally and physically to marry them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Definately not. Money cant stop someone being a tool and driving you mad

Is that a long way of saying 'in love with'?

Yes, but your cute when you lie, makes me want you :cool:

whats your bank balance like? :P
    I have mates getting married and the women are in cloud cuckoo land spending money they do not have and the guy are afraid to say anything in case they wake up like Mr Bobbit did cool.gif

They are all about the dress, the flowers, the hair etc etc.
    ew.
    No, I don't think you would, however are you not going to be more attracted to a guy who looks like he can look after you and protect you but he isn't that great looking?

Over a guy whos good looking alright but he's in debt, no job and he can't provide for you.

Which one would would you be more attracted to?

Both have massive knobs by the way pacman.gif
    honestly? i've never had much money and don't really think i ever will. so its always going to boil down to personality, looks, knob size etc.

suppose i can't really answer your question because i need to know the two men in question. and also, thats his debt, not mine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Yes I would. I'd have no problem with that. If they wanna divorce me after I do my bit of philandering, I get half their money anyway. They'll just have to put up with my drinking, gambling, going to see Chelsea games ad nauseum, screwing around and so on. Once I'm not on a leash, I'd defo marry for money: preferably a blind, deaf, mute, nymphomaniac billionaire who owns Diageo, a casino and shares in Chelsea Football Club

(yes, I am a complete misanthropic scumbag. You gotta problem with that?!):D