Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fast food trays - Dump 'em or leave 'em?

• 07-03-2010 11:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Was in KFC on Friday afternoon with some friends from college and when we were done I left my tray on the table while they emptied theirs themselves into the bin.

We had a discussion about it and they called me lazy for leaving my tray there but to be honest it's not my job and there's no signs around the place to say to clean up after yourself.

So do you leave your trays on the table or do you empty them yourself?

Dump 'em or leave 'em? 370 votes

Leave them on the table
    0% 0 votes
    Dump them myself
    11% 41 votes
    That guy is a lazy SOB
    80% 297 votes
    Atari (grease covered) Jaguar
    8% 32 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

i have my man servant dump them for me

in all seriousness though, i dump my own tray, i mean, it takes 2 seconds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I empty them myself. I hate going to a table and seeing trays left over and have to clean them up myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Bin them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Always empty them. It's is complete arrogance to leave your mess there and expect someone else to clean it up if it's only a bit cardboard on a tray.

It doesn't take much effort ffs.

• I do it cos I'm not pig ignorant. The people working in there usually seem to have enough to do without picking up after people. The bins placed all around the place are sort of a hint that you're supposed to use them.

I propose we beat rubbish leavers up from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭dannyboymed

I dump sometimes and I leave sometimes. Depends on how I'm feeling really. I know I don't HAVE to do it, but sometimes I just do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Ya I hate when people just leave them,With some excuses being "They're paid to do it"

If so thenwhy is the tray bin put in the customer section,jaysus have a bit of curtisy.

Plenty of times I've been the only person to do it:rolleyes:

Only the odd time would I leave it,and even then it annoys me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Dump them myself.

fúcking inconsiderate when people don't.
    people who work in the places have it shít enough 90% of the time as it is without cleaning up your fúcking mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I usually dump them but in some Burger Kings they actually seperate the food,plastic,cardboard etc and they are more often that not nowhere near the door so i usually leave the tray on the table in them cases-save someone having to go rooting through the bin sorting stuff..other than that i dump things myself.

I don't leave my food scattered all over the table though-if i am leaving my tray for sorting i pile it into the sections on the tray so all they have to do is lift the tray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Diabhal_Glas

I think they have a hard enough job in there just dump it as said earlier it takes feck all of your time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Dump them. I figure they've got horrible enough jobs without having to clean up after me. Only takes a few seconds anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,589 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I dump them.

But then I got thinking, it may be ignorant, but it's a job no? If nobody dumped their trays they'd probably need to employ someone to do that.

Same with a road sweeper. If everyone used bins, there'd be no need for them.

Then again, having someone to wipe your arse in the jacks would be a job. But I'm not going to stop doing that any time soon.

o1s1n wrote: »
    I dump them.

But then I got thinking, it may be ignorant, but it's a job no? If nobody dumped their trays they'd probably need to employ someone to do that.

Same with a road sweeper. If everyone used bins, there'd be no need for them.

Then again, having someone to wipe your arse in the jacks would be a job. But I'm not going to stop doing that any time soon.

There isn't a person who's the 'rubbish clearer' it's usually the cleaners. Sweep the floors, wash the tables, clear away after the pig That Guy :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Dump if staff are pleasent, leave otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Dump them, it doesn't take much effort but, like all good manners, makes the world a nicer place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭jahalpin

That_Guy wrote: »
    Was in KFC on Friday afternoon with some friends from college and when we were done I left my tray on the table while they emptied theirs themselves into the bin.

We had a discussion about it and they called me lazy for leaving my tray there but to be honest it's not my job and there's no signs around the place to say to clean up after yourself.

So do you leave your trays on the table or do you empty them yourself?

I would always dump the tray myself and believe that people that leave the trays on the table are just lazy slobs.

As for there not being any signs advising you to clean up after yourself, there aren't usually signs telling you what to do after you go to the toilet, but I'm sure you can work out what has to be done there!!

The cleaning up after yourself in the college canteen is different as there are usually plates, bowls and cutlery that has to be put onto a tray holder to be cleaned, whereas in a fast food restaurant all that has to be done is that you carry the tray on your way to the door and empty the contents into the big box with an illustration of someone putting rubbish into the box (ps make sure that you don't throw the tray in as well!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Ok ok. I'll put my tray in the bin the next time. Just please, for the love of god, don't hurt me. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I honestly don't remember the last time I didn't clean off a tray, I wouldn't expect anyone to clean up after me.
    Next thing ya know you'll be leaving rubbish at the side of the road for the corpo...

I want a Twister meal now :(

Depends, if the place is busy as in people waiting for tables, I will dump - otherwise I leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Lazy f*cking people leave their trays. The same sort of people that were used to having their mother pick up after them at home.

Selfish little inconsiderate spoiled brats who think they're above people because they work in the service industry... "it's their job to clean up my mess." Some people really are lazy little f*cks whose eyes have never stung from the sweet sweat of a hard days work.

Yeah, it's someone's job to clean the toilets too but it doesn't mean you sh*t on the floor now does it?

Bit too harsh, maybe? Did the bad man make you cry by being mean to you?

Too f*cking bad, clean up after yourselves for once in your lives you inconsiderate slobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Bit too harsh, maybe? Too f*cking bad, clean up after yourselves for once in your lives you inconsiderate slobs.

And that's why I don't live with you no more .. :p

The amount of times I bring my tray up and the the damn container is full and you end up having to leave it on top anyway.

Or most of the time they come and take your tray while your eating.

That's my fault though as I tend tidy up before I eat and have the tray to the side with the empty sugar sachets etc

I also clean the table up and leave it pristine, especially if there's a hot waitress I like.

There's an italian waitress in Malahide that is soooo cute and everytime ..

Nevermind :)

OutlawPete wrote: »
    And that's why I don't live with you no more .. :p

The amount of times I bring my tray up and the the damn container is full and you end up having to leave it on top anyway.

Or most of the time they come and take your tray while your eating.

That's my fault though as I tend tidy up before I eat and have the tray to the side with the empty sugar sachets etc

I also clean the table up and leave it pristine, especially if there's a hot waitress I like.

There's an italian waitress in Malahide that is soooo cute and everytime ..

Nevermind :)

Or you could ask her to wipe the table clean and hope she's wearing a unbuttoned shirt ;)

I once tried to open those ketchup packets with my keys and ended up covering my jumper in it :mad:

IvySlayer wrote: »
    I once tried to open those ketchup packets with my keys and ended up covering my jumper in it :mad:

Did you leave your fingers at home?

They are impossible to open. Even with the marker thingy. Teeth and keys are used to open them in my case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,073 ✭✭✭✭bnt

At some point in your life, your character will be judged on the little things you do, including your behaviour towards those who serve you in some way. If you get used to doing those little things that help others, it becomes natural, and you won't have to think about it too hard. Just because you can leave something for someone else to do, it doesn't mean you should. :cool:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,969 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

I'm hungry now, and there's no food, thanks.

When I was 16, me and my mates when to Wexford for the weekend (don't ask why :p) and we were in this cafe. My mate gets up and goes to the jacks and my other mate, knowing Mate # 1 was a ketchup fiend, unscrews the cap.

Mate comes back waffling about something and we're trying not to laugh as he just looks at us and says: "Muppets, what's so funny.." grabs the ketchup bottle, pulls and face and says: "Spas!!"

Then gives the bottle a shake like he's **** an fcuking elephant and dowses the whole wall and ceiling with the fcuking stuff!

We were crying laughing, asked to leave we were :pac:

When I was 16, me and my mates when to Wexford for the weekend (don't ask why :p) and we were in this cafe. My mate gets up and goes to the jacks and my other mate, knowing Mate # 1 was a ketchup fiend, unscrews the cap.

Mate comes back waffling about something and we're trying not to laugh as he just looks at us and says: "Muppets, what's so funny.." grabs the ketchup bottle, pulls and face and says: "Spas!!"

Then gives the bottle a shake like he's **** an fcuking elephant and dowses the whole wall and ceiling with the fcuking stuff!

Oh Petey, I love you.

Easy, have you been eating Love Hearts :D

Sounds good :D But if you had of messed with my ketchup, you would've died :mad:

Speaking of hilarious fast food stories, my college friend Missy (long story) bought a McFlurry and spilled it all over some mans shoes who went MENTAL!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I usually dump them

It's part of someone's job to clear the tables, but it's someone's job to clean the toilets too, doesn't mean I should sh*t on the floor just to keep them occupied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Puck

My dear mother raised me well enough to clean up after myself. What would she say if I turned out to be the kind of man scoundrel who left his rubbish behind him? I'd break her heart!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I clean up after myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

i dump it myself

not because i want to save the staff the hassle, but coz im not ignorant enough to make some other poor punter have to clear my stuff away themselves ive the place is busy and they want a seat

Easy, have you been eating Love Hearts :D

Non txt speak ones though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Vertigo100

If you dump your trays in a fast food place be sure to bring all your glasses to the bar in pubs as well guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭IrishManSaipan

Vertigo100 wrote: »
    If you dump your trays in a fast food place be sure to bring all your glasses to the bar in pubs as well guys.

I do in pubs. I am sad, I know.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

I do in pubs. I am sad, I know.:(

I like you now ;)

I dump em. Bin is on the way out so why not? I don't like walking in and finding tables covered in food and trays from a customer who has left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

There are no signs saying 'Please do not leave a steaming turd on your table' either. Do you always live your life according to signs and notices?

My mother is a cleaner and I'd like to think that someone somewhere is doing something to make her daily job that bit easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ronano

It depends on my mood,i usually clean it off dumping it in the bin but i don't feel an obligation. If im paying 10 euro for fastfood,i see being able to leave it there and walk as one of the perks.

m@cc@ wrote: »
    There are no signs saying 'Please do not leave a steaming turd on your table' either. Do you always live your life according to signs and notices?

My mother is a cleaner and I'd like to think that someone somewhere is doing something to make her daily job that bit easier.

Misplacing turds is abuse of facilities, but, always cleaning up after yourself is courtious but unncessary in a resturant that has staff to do the job, except when it's busy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭IrishManSaipan

Misplacing turds is abuse of facilities, but, always cleaning up after yourself is courtious but unncessary in a resturant that has staff to do the job, except when it's busy.

How hard is it to gather your rubbish, put it on the tray and put it into the bin on your way out?

Same in the boozer, when you finish your pint bring the empty glass back upto the bar with you whilst you order an other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'm going to make a sweeping generalisation and say that people who habitually leave trays on tables in fastfood tables were treated like little princesses who could do no wrong by their mothers who picked up everything after them all the time.

Spoiled inconsiderate children grow up to be useless inconsiderate adults.

You can be guaranteed that this sort of thoughtlessness isn't reserved only for their visits to fastfood places but extends into other areas of their lives too. Some people need a good boot up the hole so they do.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I'm going to make a sweeping generalisation and say that people who habitually leave trays on tables in fastfood tables were treated like little princesses who could do no wrong by their mothers who picked up everything after them all the time.

Spoiled inconsiderate children grow up to be useless inconsiderate adults.

You can be guaranteed that this sort of thoughtlessness isn't reserved only for their visits to fastfood places but extends into other areas of their lives too. Some people need a good boot up the hole so they do.

*pours Anono a Whiskey and gets him to sit down*

Relax :p

What's really inconsiderate are the fcukers who destroy the place with food and spill **** everywhere. That's what takes them ages to clean up.

Parents letting their kids spill ketchup all over seat covers and wooden floors, little brats.

Spilling Sugar sachets, pouring tea all over the table, down the cracks.

People were born in, in, in .. someplace .. I dunno :o

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

i always do put my tray in the bin cos I know what its like to have to clean up other people's crap

but i clicked the wrong option (damn tired brain) so read the above result with one more for in the bin and one less for just leave it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

[quote=[Deleted User];64803487]I do it cos I'm not pig ignorant. The people working in there usually seem to have enough to do without picking up after people. [/QUOTE] Like what exactly? They serve pre packaged food and for the most part don't have to serve that food beyond putting it on a tray.

I'm pretty sure I do dump it but I don't usually go into fast food places when I do get McDs or the likes it's usually through drive through.
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

ScumLord wrote: »
    Like what exactly? They serve pre packaged food and for the most part don't have to serve that food beyond putting it on a tray.

I'm pretty sure I do dump it but I don't usually go into fast food places when I do get McDs or the likes it's usually through drive through.

What McD's have you been to that isn't usually understaffed? Of course, they are, that's how they make profits. By squeezing every penny when it comes to food and personnel. The process is easy, the job isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

m@cc@ wrote: »
    What McD's have you been to that isn't usually understaffed? Of course, they are, that's how they make profits. By squeezing every penny when it comes to food and personnel. The process is easy, the job isn't.
    I can't think of any to be honest. McDs is a fairly tight ship and all credit to them on that count, I can only really speak of the McDs in Galway and ever since they dumped the local kids for foreign staff it's been a completely different experience. Maybe in the bigger places it's a bit hectic but in my experience McDs for the most part supplies a service that I can't complain about.