Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cyclist crashed into me

• 07-03-2010 6:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭

I was involved in a collision with a cyclist during the week.
    I was walking along the street, on the footpath and came to a junction where a side street meets the main street that I was on - did the usual look to make sure there was nothing coming (its a very quiet side street - wouldnt see much traffic on it at any time). Anyways, as I'm making my way across the junction a cyclist comes along quite fast and is looking to his right, instead of where he's going (I think he was looking for traffic on the main street so that he wouldnt have to stop at the stop sign if there was nothing coming). He ends up hitting me - nothing serious but when he starts accusing me of being in the wrong - that I shouldnt be there!, that I shouldnt be on the phone (I was on the phone but I was using my eyes unlike him)! and that I am an idiot.
    The part that shocked me most was that this guy was middle aged and fully kitted out in lycra and helmet etc i.e. he looked like a serious cyclist and not some knacker that happened to be on a bike.

Its funny the way that some cyclists seem to have a superiority complex and cant accept that they are ever wrong - especially this guy.

Anyways, watch out for pedestrians guys - the respect and duty of care that you seek from motorists is owed by you to pedestrians - please remember!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Billy Whizz

Its funny the way that some cyclists people seem to have a superiority complex and cant accept that they are ever wrong - especially this guy.

I've fixed that for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I hope you're OK after the collision, but I'm puzzled as to how he managed to hit you if you saw him coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭victorcarrera

...did the usual look to make sure there was nothing coming.

... a cyclist comes along quite fast and is looking to his right!

Sorry for your troubles there but the first two questions a judge would ask you are.

1. If you looked along the side street how did you not see him approaching.

2. If you didn't see him how did you know he was glancing to his right before he hit you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Fair point raised Fencer. I have been hit once several years ago by a courier cycling on a footpath. He started to accuse me, so I actually resorted to physical violence and beat him with my briefcase. I felt stupid at the time, but as a cyclist myself I understand where you are coming from.
    My general impression as a cyclist, pedestrian and recent car driver, is that as a nation we are remarkably poor at (1) observing safe commuting, (2) observing the rules of the road (3) taking responsiblity (4) somethimes accepting that we are in the wrong. In this country we have very little ability to interact safely and politely with other road users IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭glic71rods46t0

Lumen wrote: »
    I hope you're OK after the collision, but I'm puzzled as to how he managed to hit you if you saw him coming.
    I'm fine - no damage done ..... to answer your question: he was coming fairly fast and I couldnt get out of the way quickly enough.
    It was his rudeness and lack of apology etc that amazed me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭whippet

I've fixed that for you.

that really proves the OP's point!!!

He wasn't talking about the attitude of people in general but of some cyclists, hence posting in this forum. Your post just proves what he is pointing out.

I have had too many close calls with cyclists where I have had to take avoiding action to prevent damage to my car (as they don't have insurance and it would be hard to claim from a corpse) and from my experience its the cyclists who seem to have gone to the cycling shop and bought every bit of clobber who are the worst offenders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

Sounds 50/50 with neither being totally observant. Glad you're ok

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Gald you're OK but I don't think preaching in here is particullarly beneficial. As Billy Whizz is correct when he shows it's a person and not just a cyclist. Shall I post in the soccer forum about when I got hit by a soccer ball? I didn't post in the motoring forum when I was mowed down by car last year.
    That is all

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

I was involved in a collision with a cyclist during the week.
    . Anyways, as I'm making my way across the junction a cyclist comes along quite fast and is looking to his right, instead of where he's going (I think he was looking for traffic on the main street so that he wouldnt have to stop at the stop sign if there was nothing coming). He ends up hitting me - nothing serious but when he starts accusing me of being in the wrong - that I shouldnt be there!, that I shouldnt be on the phone (I was on the phone but I was using my eyes unlike him)! and that I am an idiot.
    The part that shocked me most was that this guy was middle aged and fully kitted out in lycra and helmet etc i.e. he looked like a serious cyclist and not some knacker that happened to be on a bike.

Its funny the way that some cyclists seem to have a superiority complex and cant accept that they are ever wrong - especially this guy.

Anyways, watch out for pedestrians guys - the respect and duty of care that you seek from motorists is owed by you to pedestrians - please remember!

A serious cyclist is like a taxi driver ..... they believe that they have a devine right to use the road above everyone else as they are on it more......and its never their fault - obviously !!!

Hope you werent too shook up OP - if it happens again take a pic of him/her and report to gardai ..... am really annoyed at the moment with the amount of cyclists on the road that ignore the rules of the road. (flying through red lights/stop signs etc)

whippet wrote: »
    ... and from my experience its the cyclists who seem to have gone to the cycling shop and bought every bit of clobber who are the worst offenders.

I find it is evenly spread. I observe nearly all cyclist I encounter on the road. The red light jumpers, dangerous cyclist, not looking where they are going come in all shapes and size and ride all manners of bikes. Just like car drivers. Its not just white van men or Merc drivers. Any car is likely to be driven by a careless driver or a considerate one IMO. I have had road courtesy from boy racers with souped up cars, and I have been nearly driven ionto the ditch by a middle aged women in a small town car. There is no way to judge a bad road user by looks, only actions. This should not be about car versus bike versus ped. More about trying to be more aware of our surroundings while on the road, to make it safer for all users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Today I wore my white knee warmers, white arm warmers, white gloves, white shorts (with tactical black sections), white jersey, white helmet, white shoes... all on a white bike. Now if that's not displaying superiority then I don't know what is.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

He wasn't talking about the attitude of people in general but of some cyclists, hence posting in this forum. Your post just proves what he is pointing out.

I have had too many close calls with cyclists where I have had to take avoiding action to prevent damage to my car (as they don't have insurance and it would be hard to claim from a corpse) and from my experience its the cyclists who seem to have gone to the cycling shop and bought every bit of clobber who are the worst offenders.

Maybe you should talk to the cyclist at the time or are you unconfrontational and feel better suited armed with a keyboard? Have a go at the guilty ones not at the cycling frat in it's entireity.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

chakattack wrote: »
    Were you crossing where there was a green man or just crossing a quiet road?

As you said it was a quiet street, I'm guessing that there was no designated crossing and he had right of way.

pedestrians have right of way in that case. Once the OP started crossing the road, cars and bicycles should give way to him..

Sorry for your troubles there but the first two questions a judge would ask you are.

1. If you looked along the side street how did you not see him approaching.

2. If you didn't see him how did you know he was glancing to his right before he hit you?

Hi Victor,
    The manner in which you posed the questions makes me think you are representing the defendant!!!:eek:

1.The cyclist was going fairly fast and there was no sign of him when I started crossing - though, even if I did see him, I would still have crossed as I had right of way as I was there first and he had a stop sign to obey.

2. When he came into view I saw that he was not looking where he was going.

As you said it was a quiet street, I'm guessing that there was no designated crossing and he had right of way.

You're entirely wrong here. Whoever reaches the junction first has right of way.
    If the pedestrian was already crossing before the cyclist had reached the junction then the cyclist is completely in the wrong. Basic rules of the road. The same applies to motorists.

Edit: Beaten to it by Copacetic!

Maybe you should talk to the cyclist at the time or are you unconfrontational and feel better suited armed with a keyboard? Have a go at the guilty ones not at the cycling frat in it's entireity.

i'm a cyclist myself, and yes I have have confronted plenty over the years for their stupidity and reckless cycling.

I ain't a keyboard warrior by any means, but the initial response to the OP's post infuriated me.

You're entirely wrong here. Whoever reaches the junction first has right of way.
    If the pedestrian was already crossing before the cyclist had reached the junction then the cyclist is completely in the wrong. Basic rules of the road. The same applies to motorists.

Whoever that guy was he sounds like an ass. Glad you weren't too badly hurt OP. Just remember we're not all as clueless as him.

It doesnt actually matter. If someone or thing is in a junction, then another vehicle turns into that junction, you owe a duty of care to stop for who is already there. Whether they have the right of way is actually irrelevant. If you hit someone, in most cases it proves that you couldnt stop in time, which is dangerous driving.

Sounds 50/50 with neither being totally observant. Glad you're ok
    Nothing 50/50 about it. I had right of way and this guy was attempting to run a stop sign - I was not asking for advice on who was at fault - I know it was the cyclist, my point was his arrogance and inability to accept that he was wrong.

Fixed
    I have had too many close calls with carscyclists where I have had to take avoiding action to prevent damage to my car injury, scarring and broken bones (as they don't have insurance and it would be hard to claim from a corpse can walk away unscathed they're not too worried and tend to drive carelessly

So you primary concern is not being able to recoup the losses of a new paintjob and some light panel beating from the cyclist who almost got killed or seriously injured?

Sure some have a bad attitude but most cyclists decked out in all the "clobber" are experienced and know how to ride assertively and safely.

I drive just as often as I cycle and I rarely have to take evasive action for cyclists. I look out for others and anticipate hazards on the road. Sometimes my journey might be slower by 1-2 mins but everyone arrives alive.

ROK ON wrote: »
    It doesnt actually matter. If someone or thing is in a junction, then another vehicle turns into that junction, you owe a duty of care to stop for who is already there. Whether they have the right of way is actually irrelevant. If you hit someone, in most cases it proves that you couldnt stop in time, which is dangerous driving.

I get the impression you are trying to make out that I am wrong some how. Maybe I'm reading it incorrectly but my post was in direct response to someone else saying the cyclist had right of way.

Anyway, apart from that, I agree with you for the mostpart. You should be looking into a junction to ensure the way is clear before entering it.

i'm a cyclist myself, and yes I have have confronted plenty over the years for their stupidity and reckless cycling.

I ain't a keyboard warrior by any means, but the initial response to the OP's post infuriated me.

That's good and continue. It's just I don't appreciate one cyclist does something bad and someone feels they should have a go at all of us, especially when it's their first post. We've been down this road before with one cyclist does something bad and then someone feels they should have a go at us all. I follow the rules of the road and don't need to hear the sort of carp the OP is dishing out.

Nothing 50/50 about it. I had right of way and this guy was attempting to run a stop sign - I was not asking for advice on who was at fault - I know it was the cyclist, my point was his arrogance and inability to accept that he was wrong.

I know you had right of way but you still need to look. Green lights mean proceed with caution. I learnt this the hard way and was almost killed when someone decided to run a red light.

Fixed

So you primary concern is not being able to recoup the losses of a new paintjob and some light panel beating from the cyclist who almost got killed or seriously injured?

Sure some have a bad attitude but most cyclists decked out in all the "clobber" are experienced and know how to ride assertively and safely.

I drive just as often as I cycle and I rarely have to take evasive action for cyclists. I look out for others and anticipate hazards on the road. Sometimes my journey might be slower by 1-2 mins but everyone arrives alive.
    The rules of the road requires you to drive/cycle/walk/run defensively not assertively. The cyclist I encountered was quite assertive but also quite wrong

I get the impression you are trying to make out that I am wrong some how. Maybe I'm reading it incorrectly but my post was in direct response to someone else saying the cyclist had right of way.

Anyway, apart from that, I agree with you for the mostpart. You should be looking into a junction to ensure the way is clear before entering it.

Not at all. For example, if I cross a road that has no ped crossing, a car/bike/whatever coming down the road cant just proceed just because they have the right of way, until I am clear. This situation happens countless times every day. Particulalry crossing roads where the vehicle is perceived to be far enough away to cross 'safely'.

Fixed

My primary concern as a motorist or as a cyclist is to get from A-B in the same condition as I started.

And as I said, I drive in a manner that allows me to have the best chance of avoiding all other idiots on the road. However, I do have it in the back of my mind that should I be involved in a collision with a pedestrian or cyclist regardless of who's fault the accident is I will end up footing the bill. I don't like having to pay money for other's stupidity.

I know you had right of way but you still need to look. Green lights mean proceed with caution. I learnt this the hard way and was almost killed when someone decided to run a red light.
    I am at pains to remind you to read my original post - I did look - he wasnt there when I started to move across the junction!!!

Where did he mention lights? I think you should read the OP yet again. He did look, he then proceeded to cross safely and a cyclist proceeded to break a stop sign and bang into the pedestrian.

The rules of the road requires you to drive/cycle/walk/run defensively not assertively. The cyclist I encountered was quite assertive but also quite wrong

I'm talking about being assertive (i.e. keeping a safe distance from parked cars in case a door suddenly opens in front of you) not aggressive and within the confines of the rules of the road. You had right of way but didn't cross the road defensively. I don't want or mean to chastise you, being hit through no fault of your own sucks bigtime but learn from it.

Where did he mention lights? I think you should read the OP yet again. He did look, he then proceeded to cross safely and a cyclist proceeded to break a stop sign and bang into the pedestrian.

I'm talking in general terms and using green lights as a synonym for having right of way. There's no point being right and dead!

Crossing safely means looking carefully for oncoming traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Billy Whizz

Wow, flawless logic there.

You had right of way but didn't cross the road defensively. .

Maybe you could explain exactly how he should have crossed the road?

Edit: Beaten to it by Copacetic!

I misread the original post. See my edit. I recognise that the OP had right of way

Maybe you could explain exactly how he should have crossed the road?

Safe cross code

I asked you to explain it, I can provide links to prove the cyclist is in the wrong if that's what you want. (oh, and see step 6!)

How exactly do you think he should have crossed the road? What do you think the OP could have done to avoid a collision?

I'm talking about being assertive (i.e. keeping a safe distance from parked cars in case a door suddenly opens in front of you) not aggressive and within the confines of the rules of the road. You had right of way but didn't cross the road defensively. I don't want or mean to chastise you, being hit through no fault of your own sucks bigtime but learn from it.
    I dont know what I can learn from the incident. I will make the same crossing again tomorrow morning and will do the exact same thing as I did in this case - i.e. I will still look before I cross and hope I dont meet an anti social, rule breaking, non observant cyclist coming at me

Is there there a sharp curve in the sideroad that meant you couldn't see him coming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

2r59b1v.jpg

I asked you to explain it, I can provide links to prove the cyclist is in the wrong if that's what you want. (oh, and see step 6!)

How exactly do you think he should have crossed the road? What do you think the OP could have done to avoid a collision?

Step 6: When there is no traffic, walk straight across the road.

The cyclist was oncoming traffic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭victorcarrera

Well its a good job you stopped him so because if the cyclist saw nothing comming from his right either he could be dead now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

( shxt happens ) get over it no one died :)

Is there there a sharp curve in the road that meant you couldn't see him coming?

No. It's not even relevant if I saw him coming or not as he was supposed to stop at the stop sign, so even if I had seen him I would have assumed that he was going to stop. I didnt see him in this instance and I put that down to the speed he was travelling at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I once crashed into a pedestrian while I was cycling. I was cycling on a cycle lane, as you do, on a long straight. However as the long line of traffic alongside me was stopped, a pedestrian decided to cross and simply walked out without looking in front of me and I knocked him straight down. I took pleasure form his sheepish look at me as he knew he hadn't thought of any bikes on the cycle lane while traffic was stopped. The only thing I'm sorry about is that I didn't start a thread on it here.....

It's not that straightforward, because this occurred at a junction.
    From the rules of the road:
    You must always yield to:
    • pedestrians already crossing at a junction,
    • pedestrians on a zebra crossing,
    • pedestrians on a pelican crossing when the amber light is flashing, and
    • pedestrians and traffic when you are moving off from a stationary position (for example from your position at a stop sign or a parking space).

My primary concern as a motorist or as a cyclist is to get from A-B in the same condition as I started.

And as I said, I drive in a manner that allows me to have the best chance of avoiding all other idiots on the road. However, I do have it in the back of my mind that should I be involved in a collision with a pedestrian or cyclist regardless of who's fault the accident is I will end up footing the bill. I don't like having to pay money for other's stupidity.

That's a narrow minded view. If you are in the wrong then fair enough you or your insurance company will have to pay for damages to the other person. If you are in the right, most decent people will pay for the damages.

I know if I rear ended someones car when cycling and did some damage I'd pay for it. Alot of serious cyclists have third party insurance through cycling ireland.

I once crashed into a pedestrian while I was cycling. I was cycling on a cycle lane, as you do, on a long straight. However as the long line of traffic alongside me was stopped, a pedestrian decided to cross and simply walked out without looking in front of me and I knocked him straight down. I took pleasure form his sheepish look at me as he knew he hadn't thought of any bikes on the cycle lane while traffic was stopped. The only thing I'm sorry about is that I didn't start a thread on it here.....
    Your post highlighting the pleasure you took from knocking down a pedestrian betrays an obvious nasty streak in your personality. Counselling might be appropriate. Never mind about your sorrow for not starting a thread on your pleasurable collision ... just hijack someone else's thread - wait, you already did!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

jaysus people. It was an accident. Your man didnt mean to do it, hence the word accident. It doesnt matter if it was a car,bike, wild e coyote who bumped into him. He wasnt hurt thank feck and is only saying that the person was rude. No use going off having one of the cyclist versus car users debates over it.

The cyclist was not in view whilst the pedestrian began to cross therefor he could not have been considered as oncoming traffic.

The cyclist then broke the law by A. Not stopping at a stop sign. and B. Not giving right of way to a pedestrian who was already crossing.

No. It's not even relevant if I saw him coming or not as he was supposed to stop at the stop sign, so even if I had seen him I would have assumed that he was going to stop. I didnt see him in this instance and I put that down to the speed he was travelling at

My point is it doesn't matter who is right or wrong. People do stupid things all the time and you need to proactive.

I was milliseconds off being maimed by a car who broke a red light and it thought me an important lesson of observance even when you're 100% right and not expecting oncoming traffic.

You were on the phone so chances are you gave a furtive glance across the road and failed to see the cyclist coming. Max he would have been going on a flat road is 55kph which is average speed for a car.

Learn from it and move on. The cyclist was a dick and you're still alive and well.

seanybiker wrote: »
    jaysus people. It was an accident. Your man didnt mean to do it, hence the word accident. It doesnt matter if it was a car,bike, wild e coyote who bumped into him. He wasnt hurt thank feck and is only saying that the person was rude. No use going off having one of the cyclist versus car users debates over it.
    Fair play Sean, that sums up the situation perfectly.